BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/05/2014

Green Arbor Landscaping LLC

(206) 877-2896View Additional Phone NumbersPO Box 2956, RentonWA 98056-0956 Send email to Green Arbor Landscaping LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers landscaping services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/05/2014

BBB has determined that Green Arbor Landscaping LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Green Arbor Landscaping LLC's rating include:

  • 3 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Green Arbor Landscaping LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Green Arbor Landscaping LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
10/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We had some work carried out on July 7 at our place. Mainly, GreenArbror removed some trees, and installed some new sod on our front yard + planted trees to create an hedge. On the backyard they thatched, aerated and reseeded the lawns.
Before and during the work I found GreenArbor to be efficient and courteous.
They made a mistake with the lawn on the frontyard - they removed all existing lawn when they actually expected to keep some of it and install sod elsewhere. That actually was not clear on the quote. But anyway, they had to make things good to they installed sod everywhere. But some of the sods were already burnout badly. They told me that everything would come back if we watered the lawn. One of the trees also did not look in great shape.
We have been watering the lawn everyday for the last 2.5 months and the lawn is very green where it was good and still burnt-out (in very bad shape), where it was already in bad shape. 2 trees are dead - all the other ones are perfect. On the backyard, despite heavy watering there are still big portions with zero grass.
Towards the 3rd week of August I contacted GreenArbor to let them know that I wished someone came back. I left messages (not one of my calls has been returned), eventually reached out to someone who told me they d call back, reached again to someone who said they had been on holiday and that someone would come back to me. I also left messages to our "handler" and sent him an email. It has now been 4 weeks and I still don't know whether GreenArbor, intends to a) Call me back and b) offer support to fix the things that are wrong. I paid $6000 for the work. I paid straightaway. They d told me they would come back if needed. I would expect much higher customer service and I am hugely disappointed I trusted their service.

Desired Settlement
I only want them to fix what is wrong urgently... and have the courtesy to respond to my calls

Business Response
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We have resolved this issue by replacing the dead sod and trees.

Thank you,

***** **

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


08/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We contracted with Green Arbor Landscaping to clear part of our property, irradicate the weeds in the area by applying an industrial strength weed killer, and then barking the area. The area was cleared and barked by the company, but no industrial weed killer was put on the area. A few days after the project was completed, we began to see weeds begin to develop in the area again. We have now contacted Green Arbor Landscaping several times to come and address the issue and irradicate the current weed issue and apply the weed killer, which the company agreed to do, but this still has not been completed. They are now not responding to us, and the work has still not been completed.

Desired Settlement
We are requesting that Green Arbor Lanscaping come and complete the job that they agreed to do (now irradicating the weeds that have grown all over the area and applying the industrail strength weed killer) or provide us with partial reimbursement for the job so that we can hire another company to complete the job.

Business Response
This issue has been resolved. We came back and met the client and resprayed for the weeds.

Thanks!

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


12/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have asked for and Green Arbor Landscaping LLC has failed, refused and/or neglect to provide us with an answer.

Specifically, we wanted to know what is the gravel material that they have placed behind the retaining wall and if it is compliant with contract specifications and requirements.

Desired Settlement
Provide material proof that the gravel material they used is compliant with contract specifications and requirements, as it is not functioning properly today.

Business Response
Hi,

The material we used was 5/8 crushed rock. The issue that you bring up is due to settling of the rock which is normal. We received your email a few minutes ago and will do a visual inspection of the wall on Thursday and also to fill any gaps that we find (as a courtesy) for you. Please note that aside from filling the blocks with concrete, some settling will occur.

If this becomes an issue, you are well protected under your warranty .

Thank you,

Green Arbor Landscaping, LLC

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Experts from the gravel company viewed the rocks and deemed it as less than 5/8 which is less than contract requirements, Green Arbor is to provide documentation proof from the company which they buy the gravels from, stating the date of purchase, size of gravel purchased, quantity of gravels and the price paid for the gravels. These documentations are important as it will prove that Green Arbor cut corners and use materials which are lesser than contract requirements.

Final Business Response
We purchase our materials from several vendors. We have a cash account with all of them and did not keep the receipts for the rock. The rock was a mix from ******* topsoils, ****** materials and Hi Grade bark. The places we buy from the 5/8'' rock is usually the cheapest stone that you can purchase because it is so readily available and used so often. I assure you that we would not have purchased a more expensive smaller stone. That would make no sense from a business perspective. When I came to inspect the wall, the only areas that were not draining were areas that were not to the right grade. Most of the customer's soil in that area is pure clay and the water is not readily absorbed into the ground. I did not witness any pooling of water above any rock layer, only on raw soil.

Further more, the areas that the customers were concerned about had not failed and were infact intact. There is one area near the back yard patio where the tail end of the wall (2-3 blocks) had sunk. We have acknowledged that as a defect and are willing to fix that.

We did not cut any corners while building this wall. As a landscape professional, I can say without a doubt that these customers were the most meticulous customers that we have ever dealt with. Had we cut any corners, they would have known. They had video surveillance on us the entire time so had we cut any corners, I would have heard about it the next day.

I am still willing to schedule a time that will work for both parties to complete the "defects."

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I wanted to work with you to amicably resolve this situation but you are not giving me anything to work with.

I have given you all the evidence (photos, video and site materials) of your wrongdoings and your attempts to scam me but you have denied your wrongdoings only with words and without providing any evidence despite our request to you to do so.

Smaller rocks are cheaper and not more expensive. We have verified this fact with several rock sellers experts. You are trying to lie to us.

Smaller rocks for a drainage also does not work as it does not drain as well so it does not make sense for you as a professional to use smaller rocks. This put your credential as a landscaper at stake if you go along this argument.

From an accounting point of view, we are talking about 50-75 cubic yards of crush rocks here, that works out to a few thousand dollars of rocks. It is unbelievable that you are able to purchase a few thousand dollars of crush rocks without invoice? Even if you buy with cash, there is a receipt, at least for a few thousand dollars of rocks. Unless that business is trying to evade tax or all of you have something to hide.

If you and the business have nothing to hide, can you produce a letter from your supplier letterhead that you purchased 50-75 cubic yards of rocks from them on a purely cash terms for a few thousand dollars and there is no receipt, no paperwork and no invoice associated with this purchase of a few thousand dollars. Prove to us and everyone else that you have used 5/8 rocks as the contract specify and that you are not cutting corners by using a cheaper smaller rocks that does not work.

Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

Industry Comparison| Chart

Landscape Contractors, Hardscapes, Landscape Contractors - Commercial, Concrete Contractors, Grouting Contractors, Artificial Rock Scapes, Landscaping Clean-Up - Spring & Fall, Landscape Maintenance, Drainage Contractors, Brick - Concrete, Pumice, Contractor - Decorative & Specialty Concrete, Concrete Repair/Leveling, Patio Design, Contractors - Retaining Wall, Patio Cover, Patio & Deck Builders, Walkway Design, Lawn Maintenance, Land Clearing & Leveling, Lawn & Tree Care, Stone Setting - Interlocking Pavers, Retaining Walls, Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Landscape Designers, Patio Builder, Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems, Driveway Preparation, Lawn Installation Service, Concrete - Restoration, Sealing & Cleaning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/05/2012Business started: 02/01/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW
Tumwater, WA98501-5414
(800) 647-0982
http://www.lni.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jimmy Le (Member)Mr. Danny Pham (Member)
Business Category

Landscape Contractors, Hardscapes, Landscape Contractors - Commercial, Concrete Contractors, Grouting Contractors, Artificial Rock Scapes, Landscaping Clean-Up - Spring & Fall, Landscape Maintenance, Drainage Contractors, Brick - Concrete, Pumice, Contractor - Decorative & Specialty Concrete, Concrete Repair/Leveling, Patio Design, Contractors - Retaining Wall, Patio Cover, Patio & Deck Builders, Walkway Design, Lawn Maintenance, Land Clearing & Leveling, Lawn & Tree Care, Stone Setting - Interlocking Pavers, Retaining Walls, Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Landscape Designers, Patio Builder, Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems, Driveway Preparation, Lawn Installation Service, Concrete - Restoration, Sealing & Cleaning

Hours of Operation

Monday - Friday
7:00am - 6:00pm


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Green Arbor Landscaping LLC has received 4.23 out of 5 stars based on 3 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • PO Box 2956 

    Renton, WA 98056-0956(425) 615-1565
    (206) 877-2896

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Green Arbor Landscaping LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (425) 615-1565
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

Industry Tips for Landscape Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.