BBB Accredited Business since

FloodSmart Insurance

Phone: (866) 277-0055 Fax: (866) 865-2010 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 274, Arlington, WA 98223 http://www.floodsmart.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers flood insurance through The National Flood Insurance Program.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that FloodSmart Insurance meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for FloodSmart Insurance include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on FloodSmart Insurance
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 07, 2005 Business started: 08/01/1980 Business started locally: 08/01/1980 Business incorporated 01/01/1990 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Insurance Agents Licensing
Insurance Building A-Q21, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 407-0341

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Terry Tyson, President / Senior Agent
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Terry Tyson, President / Senior Agent
Business Category

Insurance Companies


Additional Locations

  • PO Box 274

    Arlington, WA 98223 (360) 403-9583

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Floodsmart sold me a policy, telling me that they would do the paperwork necessary to cancel my previous policy with the old insurer and receive a partial refund. I found out seven months later that they never did this. After six months, no refund is given, so I am out $800. After innumerable emails and phone conversations with the old insurer, my mortgage company and floodsmart, ***** *****'s final stance was that it was not their responsibility to inform and guide me thru the transition and refund process, but that they only do it as a 'courtesy'. All the other parties involved say that it was Floodsmarts sole responsibility to help me to transfer the policy and get my refund. I am now in the unenviable position of having to sue Floodsmart to force them to compensate me for their mistake. The agent who sold me the policy is ***** *****. After their mistake was brought to light, I was handed over to ***** *****, who is denying any culpability, but unwilling to provide proof of his claims. He has tried to silence me by telling me that he 'takes umbrage' at my attitude, and that he has been selling insurance for 35 years, and never experienced this before, etc. etc.

Desired Settlement: $800

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/26) */ Please be advised that I have timely responded to this complaint via email with attachment's. I emailed my response to **********@thebbb.org on 12/26/2014 at 9.25PST. As I have stated in the email, I will be out of the country until January 20, 2015 Kind Regards, ***** ***** / President FloodSmart Insurance Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/12/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr ***** stopped responding to my emails when I asked him for proof of his assertions. He and his employees mishandling of my insurance change cost me $800 and he refuses to compensate me, forcing me to sue him. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2015/01/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Suffice it to say, Mr ***** is trying to bully me. I will not use this forum to state my case. I prefer to see him in court, or his wife rather. I am grateful for the information he provided me. Thank you BBB Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2015/01/20) */ Apparently no answer is necessary. Kind Regards, ***** *****