This business is not BBB accredited.

Shilo Beachfront Resort

Phone: (360) 289-4600 707 Ocean Shores Blvd NW, Ocean Shores, WA 98569

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Shilo Beachfront Resort include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Shilo Beachfront Resort
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 18, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1994 Business started locally: 01/01/1994
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd SE, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 525-0127

Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Shilo Inn

Additional Locations


    707 Ocean Shores Blvd NW

    Ocean Shores, WA 98569 (360) 289-4600


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 5, 2013 I booked a Jr. Suite with the Shilo for the night of July 4th. This was done so that my kids and grandkids could watch the fireworks without threat of injury, so that we could put little kids to sleep early, and so we could enjoy the evening together. I had two families travel from Utah for this event. When we tried to check in on July 4th we were told out reservation was cancelled on July 1. This was not requested. This was not authorized. We were not notified. All the rooms in the area were booked unless I wanted to pay twice as much as I reserved this room for. I was left with two one year olds, a three year old, a four year old, and a five year old stranded with no where to go. The beach was unsafe for the kids as they were pelted with debris from fireworks that were being launched by every group that came onto the beach. The hotel did nothing to rectify the situation nor to offer restitution or compensation. Our plans were ruined. Two families drove 1000 miles to be there and all the Shilo did for the incompetence of their employees was to say "sorry".

Desired Settlement: I want the Shilo to provide one Jr. Suite for July 4, 2014 free of charge so that we can have the vacation we were robbed of by their staff.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/07/26) */ The customer and his son each had a room reserved with us for the 4th of July holiday. On July 1 the son called and cancelled his reservation because he had elected to go to another hotel,which is also on the beach and has a view of the fireworks. The customer's reservation was mistakenly cancelled at that time, and when the mistake was discovered by us, we had no more rooms available. We found another hotel that had rooms left, and made a reservation for this customer, at a lesser price than he would have originally paid. He was called while driving to Ocean Shores and told that we could not accommodate him but we had made a reservation for him in another hotel nearby. He elected to not use the room we had reserved for him and went to another hotel. We talked with his son, who indicated to us that the entire family was quite comfortable in the accommodations that they were in, and experienced no inconvenience. We are very sorry for the customer's experience and are willing to give him a comp night, with the exception of our high season, and holidays, including the 4th of July. We take great pride in providing comfortable and safe surroundings for all of our guests, and did our best to provide the customer and his family quality accommodations. We hope the customer will take us up on our offer for a free night's stay with us. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 18, 2013/08/13) */ This general manager cannot seem to grasp the concept of listening. However, they still cancelled my Jr. Suite without my knowledge or request and they said they would comp me a room. How do I get the free room to make up for their mistake? Business' Final Response /* (4000, 15, 2013/08/12) */ Again, as stated before, we are very sorry we are not able to make this customer happy, even though we did provide him with an alternative hotel to stay in. Our guest rooms are not equipt to house 14 people overnight, as the customer has stated, they are meant for no more than 5 people. The customer's reservation was originally made for 2 adults and 2 children. We are very sorry for the mix up in the reservations, and have done everything possible to provide accommodations for this customer.