This business is not BBB accredited.

Kings Inn

Phone: (206) 441-8833 Fax: (206) 441-0730 View Additional Phone Numbers 2106 5th Ave, Seattle, WA 98121


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kings Inn include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kings Inn
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 02, 2003 Business started: 06/01/2003 Business started locally: 06/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd SE, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.doh.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 525-0127
hsqa.csc@doh.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Yoon Kang, Owner Mr. Jimmy Kang, Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jimmy Kang, Manager
Principal: Mr. Yoon Kang, Owner
Business Category

Hotels

Alternate Business Names
Kings Inn Hotel

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2106 5th Ave

    Seattle, WA 98121 (206) 441-8833 (800) 546-4760

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: From Sep9 to Sep 22, 2014, I stayed at the Kings Inn on XXXX Xth *** in Seattle. The name I used to register was ********* ***** *************. During my stay, I reserved an overnight room for Sep 13, 2014 for my son who was visiting with me. The reservation was done by a young, skinny male receptionist and I payed for my son's room with my credit card under the name ********* ******* After a few days, on Sept 16, 2014, I reserved another overnight room again anticipating that my son would visit again the following weekend, Sept 20. This reservation was done by an older male receptionist, who did not ask to see my credit card. He asked for my name and realized I was a guest at the Inn already. He just clicked on something on his computer screen and said the reservation was ok. When my son arrived for a visit on Sept 20, he informed me that he would not be staying for the night. So, I went to reception right away to cancel the reservation. The same younger receptionist from Sept 13 was there to accommodate my request for a cancellation. Looking through their computer, the receptionist informed me that he did not see any reservation for another room under my name. I then told him that the reservation was made by an older receptionist on Sept 16, Tuesday. I asked the younger receptionist to keep looking, and once again he informed me there was nothing. And he told me not to worry about cancelling since there was no record of a reservation and that everything should be alright. In the beginning of October I received my credit card bill that showed charges made by Kings Inn on Sep 13 for $103.68 and Sep 16 for $161.79. Immediately I called the Kings Inn (long distance from the Philippines where I live) and asked about the $161.79 charge that I did not authorize. I was told to call back when ****** the bookkeeper or finance person was around. I also asked for an email so I could write to the Inn's management. Since it is quite expensive to call long distance and also quite difficult connecting long distance due to typhoons in the Philippines, I wrote twice to **** via email regarding the matter of the charge to my card for $161.79. The reply I got each time was simply to call ****. When I was finally able to call at the right time and talk to **** on Oct 18 (Philippine time), **** told me he could not find my record regarding this matter since it was over a month ago that the transaction was made. And that another factor was that I had checked in under ********* ************* but made the reservation with a credit card using the name ********* ******* which was why the younger receptionist could not locate the reservation under my name and therefore cancel it. This being the case, they could not help me in reversing the charge. If the older receptionist did not need to see my actual/physical credit card to make the reservation, then it must be that they have my credit card information in their computer. But to help me in reversing charges, **** could not seem to find my record or information. Incidentally, **** was very brusque in his tone with me and even refused to help me identify the younger receptionist and the older receptionist. He even told me it was pointless trying to find out who the receptionists were. When I told him that the younger receptionist told me that everything was alright regarding the cancellation, **** told me that was beside the point and that the card was charged already for the reservation. I don't see how this could be beside the point when the error is on their part and the burden on me. They had my credit card information on their computer and readily charged me even when I tried cancelling and was told everything was ok, and now they say they cannot help with reversing the unauthorized charge. In the end, **** told me to call my credit card company to try to get the charges reversed. I have reported this incident to my credit card company and they will contact the merchant. I hope this error gets corrected and the charges get reversed.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see the charge of $161.79 reversed. I hope that when the credit card company contacts Kings Inn regarding this matter, that the merchant complies in helping with reversal of charges.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/10/22) */ Customer made a hotel reservation under a certain name and then failed to mention the correct name at the time of check in, and then registered in another room. Therefore, the reservation was processed as a "no-show" the next day. The customer has admitted of mentioning the different name. We usually do not charge the "no-show", but in this particular case, we were 100% occupied and because of the customer's mistake, the room remained un-occupied overnight. There's nothing we can do from our side, but the customer was given an advice on how to pursuit her refund already. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/10/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I told the older receptionist that I was a current guest at the Kings Inn under the name of ******-****** (my married name). He then made the reservation which required my credit card which is still in my maiden name of ******. This credit card was used the first time I reserved another room for the weekend prior; I gave the actual/physical card to the younger receptionist to pay for the first reservation. The next time around, the older receptionist did not ask for my credit card. He simply clicked on his computer and said the reservation was done for the following weekend. This being the case, I believe they already had my credit card information in their computer which should link me as the guest who holds that credit card (with a different name). And besides, I was told by the younger receptionist there should be nothing to worry about (regarding cancelling the reservation) after he told me there was no record of a reservation. I do not understand how they can do one thing (help with a reservation and charge my credit card) and then tell me another (there is no record of a reservation, and not to worry about it) when I took the steps to actually make the cancellation of the reservation. If the last piece of advice the Kings Inn finance department gave is that I could go to my credit card company and try to get the charges reversed, then it implies that they admit to their mistake.

4/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Given room 120 (heater was broken). Given 121 room (television was broken, plus lights in bathroom was not working). I asked for another room, discount, refund even receipt. None was give! Called all though the day of the 14th and never was the so called manager was given the phone! Also, enclosed is the note the clerk wrote in my behalf!

Desired Settlement: For this property and staff to be upgraded to "Code" plus, for I to receive a refund for the extra amount given to the Kings Inn.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/04/02) */ Dear Mr. Al ******, We are looking into the problem you have complained about. Our record shows that you checked in at 2:00am and have paid in cash without a credit card. You will have to come to our office to discuss about his matter. Also, we are reviewing various surveillance video recordings of that night. If we do find anything wrong we will take action to resolve it. Again, without your credit card record, we will need you to set a time and date and come to our office. Thank you.