This business is not BBB accredited.

Inn Of Packwood

Additional Locations

Phone: (360) 494-5500 Fax: (360) 494-5503 View Additional Phone Numbers 13032 Us Highway 12, Packwood, WA 98361 http://www.innofpackwood.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Inn Of Packwood include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Inn Of Packwood include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Inn Of Packwood
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2005 Business started locally: 01/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd SE, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.doh.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 525-0127
hsqa.csc@doh.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Micky Diwan, Owner Lesley Naidoo, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Micky Diwan, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Kimberly L Lamontagne, Manager
Business Category

Hotels


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13032 Us Highway 12

    Packwood, WA 98361 (877) 496-9666 (360) 494-5500

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 390

    Packwood, WA 98361

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern;8/14/2015 I am writing this to protect other consumers.On July 10th my husband and I along with 2 of our grandchildren checked into a hotel in Packwood, WA, the Packwood Inn (also known as the Inn of Packwood) located at ***** ****** Packwood, WA 98361. I rented two connecting rooms so that our two grandchildren would have their own room yet safe and connected. I was visiting Packwood (my hometown) for a memorial/funeral service the following day for my baby sister. As you can imagine, finding that this hotel is the only one with rooms available was already hard to take since just the cleanliness alone has a bad reputation and the reviews raise some concerns but with a service to worry about I simply put that out of my mind. Upon arrival at about 5 PM that night we checked in. I noticed that there was remodeling work and roofing work going on because each one of the roofs had packets of roofing tiles on them. And there was a long electrical cord hanging off of one of the roof tops where a man was up on top working. I inquired about the work and was told they are under brand new management and that many improvements were being made. I inquired about the pool which I was informed that it was closed due to liability insurance costs and that they were covering it over to make a game room. We spent a few minutes discussing why I was in town and that we would be quickly dropping off our luggage and then heading to the community center to set up for the next days service. Our two rooms were in the back building running along ******** grocery store. Top two furthest from Hwy 12. As we proceeded to drop off our stuff in the rooms, I had to warn my grandson to watch out for the power cord draped from the roof down the side of the building. I looked up again at the one man working on the roof with no tie downs. I notice these things because my husband worked safety for years so I commented to him how he would have fired him. There was some building trash and materials laying around that portion of the building where the pool is which was the same roof being worked on. Once at our rooms we had troubles getting into one of the rooms and my husband had to go exchange the key (they use real keys) but the ladies told him that he would just need to work it as it sticks. We entered and set up the grandkids area first. My husband pulled the comforter back off of the bed as our 8 year old grandson had his own blanket and I do not use hotel comforters even in good hotels. He didnt pay any attention that there was no top sheet or blanket on the bed. We set the pack n play up in front of the bathroom door therefore not using it at all until the next morning. We then left to run a few errands and go set up the community center for the next day.We returned at about 8 pm. Our grandson played baseball out back with some bigger boys for about 30 minutes and I walked with the 2 year old around outside. I stayed with her at the chair swings which were very high and we watched the boys. At about 8:30 we went in the rooms and got the kids ready for bed. Upon finding no remote for the TV in the (inside) room we set them up with us for a while in our rooms to watch TV. We then turned lights out at about 9:30 in both rooms and everyone fell asleep. At about 11 PM I was awoke to a van full of people checking in. They were not too quiet and that lasted until about 1 AM. I tried calling the front desk but no one answered. The next morning I got up at about 5:30 am and took a shower in the bathroom we had in our room (the same one we used the night before). Once I was completely ready I woke my grandson and started him a shower in that same bathroom. Then I woke the granddaughter and after a bottle packed up her pack n play to give her a bath in the bathroom we hadnt yet used. Thats when we discovered that there were no linens only a filthy cleaning rag in the bathroom. My husband brought me my towel from the other bathroom. We packed up everything. I put the comforter back on the bed and thats when I noticed there was no top sheet or blanket. I figured the maids just really didnt finish cleaning that room since it was the same room everything else was missing in and the same room that the lock didnt work very well. Upon checking out I mentioned it to the staff (same staff as before). They asked me to give a statement of the items missing saying they used it to help train the new staff. I did. We chatted a little about the day ahead and the fact that I would be at the community center all day for the service but first we were going to stop at cruisers for breakfast now that they have added their own full breakfast menu. I couldnt get a copy of my check out because they said their printer wasnt working so I asked them to email it to me of fax it and gave her a copy of my business card with the information including my cell phone number. We then left. We didnt leave the ******** ********* ****** until around 3 PM or slightly afterward. Now jump to one month later on 8/10. I checked my bank statement when it arrived to find that the hotel had 2 additional charges on my card, one on 7/11 for $150 and one on 7/19 for $60. These included the two rooms charged both on 7/10 for $109.79 each. I figured that there must be an error and simply called the hotel to inquire. I was informed that the first charge was for a cable box missing and the second was for linens/towels missing. I was very shocked. First of all, the desk was informed that the room was missing the linens/towels and that there was no remote control. When I reminded her of this she simply stated that I never told them about the cable box though. I asked her How would I have even realized the cable box if I couldn't even use the TV? I was told there was nothing she could do and I would have to take it up with the manager. I inquired about the second charge they did a week apart from the first and was told this was for the missing linens. The same

Desired Settlement: I want both an apology and a full refund! I also want this business looked into on the various serious concerns. This is not only a consumer fraud issue but many safety and health issues, possible tax issues and more.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

It's unfortunate that Kimberly has again changed her story. I just spoke with the Department of Health and they did not do an inspection because they are an unlicensed business. Their hotel license expired on January 2015 long before my stay.

Additionally, her statements here do not match the statements given to police which include that I did sign a paper at checkout stating that there were no linens, top sheet or blanket in the room in addition to a remote control. In the second statement they gave the police they state the linens were soiled changing their story yet again. The same claim they tried to tell me when I questioned them that there was another complaint on Trip-advisor stating that they charged another hotel guest on the same month for missing linens.

Also, they did refund me my money the same day they received a notice from the Attorney Generals office. Not because of a fired employee.

I will be sending a copy of Kimberly's statement made here to the Attorney Generals office.

As far as I am concerned there is nothing further that BBB can do about this complaint since my complaint wasn't one to get my money back but it was one to get this hotel staff stopped from committing fraud.

As far as I am concerned there is nothing more that the BBB can do to resolve this issue.

Thank you to the BBB staff for your time on this matter.

Sincerely,

***** *******

Business Response:

RE: ******** ***** *******

I Kimberly  L********* Manager of Packwood Inn. authorized the charge on ***** ******* card. After she checked out , I went to strip her rooms. ****** had two rooms #35 & 36. number thirty six was missing the blanket and towels and sheets. We at the time was short on maids. So I was doing the maid work myself. I do not forget to put sheets or blankets or towels in any room. Also # 36 and #35 I had cleaned the Night before. I have no dought the items were in the room.***** did not call to complain that the room was missing items Until she was charged. I have the right to charge patrons for damaged or stolen property. I have her signature on are are rental contract that she signed. ***** also called the Health Dept. And they came out and did an investigation. They said her complaint was unfounded. I have since credited her back for the items. Not because I think she innocent ... Because I recently fired an Employee for theft. And just a possibility that they could have retaliated. that employee got fired the day before ***** stayed. Thats why I know those rooms were made up right

--

Thank You.

Packwood Inn
***** ** *** **
P.O. Box ***
Packwood, WA 98361
************
www.packwoodinn.com


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Inn Of Packwood
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)