Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Hotel Deca

Phone: (206) 634-2000 4507 Brooklyn Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Hotel Deca include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hotel Deca
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 14, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd SE, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.doh.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 525-0127
hsqa.csc@doh.wa.gov

Business Management
John Bartlett, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: John Bartlett, Manager
Business Category

Hotels

Alternate Business Names
University Tower Hotel

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4507 Brooklyn Ave NE

    Seattle, WA 98105 (206) 634-2000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The hotel staff claimed that we had been smoking in a room that we had booked. They kicked us out and said that we would have to pay a $200 fine. The issue is that, we don't smoke. The front desk staff made up stories regarding this matter, saying that we had "admitted" that we had smoked in the room, or that some friends of ours may have done it. We didn't. However, we were charged for the room on a night that we were not able to stay there, and were told that there was basically nothing we could do about it.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed for the night that we were not able to stay there.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/05/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ******** ********, ** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *********************** After reading *** ******** statement I absolutely disagree with her comments and the claims she is making. As we mentioned to *** ****** during the numerous conversations we had with her we do not arbitrarily charge guests a smoking fee if we do not have 100% verification that is occurred. The room that her son was staying in did get smoked in. Our management team smelled the smoke and took pictures of the cigarette in the room. When we spoke to her son and told him of the additional charge he at first denied that he smoked in the room however he then came back and admitted that he did smoke in the room but did not want to pay the $250 fine. We recognize that mistakes happen so we adjusted the charge to $100 which he agreed to. As far as kicking *** ****** and her son out of the room we did not do that either. As we mentioned to ***********, when we are unable to obtain authorization on a guests credit card or the guest no longer has a cash deposit on the account we will disable the guests key so that they can come to the desk to arrange further payment. This is common practice for us and this is why we disable her son's key. Additionally, her son asked to change rooms so we arranged a new room for him and disabled the key to his old room. My team has had many conversations with *********** and I am no longer willing to discuss this issue. In order for this to be resolved I will reimburse *********** the one night she did not stay with us. This adjustment in no way indicates fault on our part. This adjustment is to simply resolve this issue and hopefully put this issue to rest. I will make that adjustment this afternoon and will appear on her credit card statement within the next 48-72 hours.

11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a hotel guest at the Hotel Deca (October 3-6, 2013, under last name ********** the first day of our stay (after a late night check-in), we noticed dried feces on the flipside of the toilet. We were mortified, but decided to address the issue with the hotel staff that morning, which I did. Upon return our return from Canada later that night. We received an apologetic note from the housekeeping manager for the oversight, a bottle of wine, and rose petals; unfortunately, we lifted up the toilet only to notice the dried feces was still on the flip side of the lid. I was again mortified by the lack of cleanliness.This also poses a heath issue. I immediately addressed the issue with the hotel staff. The solution was to temporarily relocate us until the housekeeping staff could clean our initial room PROPERLY. The hotel staff helped us relocate well after midnight;however, they failed to ensure the door was closed (Room **** when they moved our items back into our old room, thus leaving our room open until our return back to the hotel late that night. This factor also compounded the issue and could have lead to theft or an assault/rape. The hotel is poorly managed. I would expect these problems at a ******* chain. I advised the hotel by e-mail (**** *****/******** several days ago and I have yet to receive a response(**** did reply to my initial e-mail, but she and the general manager have yet to respond to my second e-mail). The door is the only door that I am aware of that does not automatically close. It is a shame that the staff has not taken the initiative to protect their guests.

Desired Settlement: Although **** refunded us the cost of parking per day and the 100.00, that was spent on the romance package ordered by my significant other, the settlement does not match the magnitude of the issues that significantly dampered our vacation. (1) Dried feces (unsanitary) under the lid of the seat. (2) After addressing the issue with the hotel, we returned to find the dried feces still located under the seat ( the night front desk staff also observed the stain) (3) Having to relocate to another room well after midnight and returning from an exhausting trip to Canada. (4) Not having the insight to ensure all hotel doors close automatically, thus subjecting their guests to theft and possible sexual assualts. I would like to be compensated the cost of the room for the two days we were inconvenienced.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/10/29) */ Hello this in ******** ******** the General Manager at the Hotel Deca. After reveiwing the guests comments and initiating my own internal investigation I beleive we did not handle the guest's concerns appropriatly. Therefore we will refund her for her visit and change the response on Trip Advisor. I did reach out to the guest directly and apologized for what occured. We did not handle this appropriatly. I apologized to her and explained the changes we are making to her account and to the post on Trip Advisor.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hotel Deca
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)