This business is not BBB accredited.

Great Wolf Lodge

Phone: (360) 273-7718 Fax: (360) 273-8406 View Additional Phone Numbers 20500 Old Hwy 99 SW, Centralia, WA 98531

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Great Wolf Lodge include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Great Wolf Lodge
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 18, 2008 Business started: 03/18/2008 Business started locally: 03/18/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd SE, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 525-0127

Business Management
Patrick Alvarez, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Patrick Alvarez, Manager
Business Category


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Great Wolf Lodge has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    20500 Old Hwy 99 SW

    Centralia, WA 98531 (800) 640-9653 (877) 407-6297 (360) 273-7718


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: this complaint is more on the breach in privacy side and as well as customer service. someone from our family called on behalf of us and great wolf lodge released our reservation information. once we found out this through our different family member we called great wolf lodge with great concern about this matter. GWL customer call center said that they take privacy very seriously and we should speak to a manager on duty. manger got on the phone and was not concerned at all and said "what do you want us to do" because she could not do anything about it. she suggested we speak to a director. Now this was past Sunday (4/5/15. she said she will have the director give us a call Monday, all day Monday past by we did not hear from the director. I called GWL on Tuesday and got a hold of the director on Tuesday voice my concern with director. Her name is ***** ******. ***** said she is not aware of this matter and that she will look into it and give us a call back. apparently the manager did not share this information with the director as she promised. ***** was not concerned at all either and was somewhat disrespectful and quite on the phone and not interested in answering any of my concerns. If this sounds *****l then I guess maybe I am just too concerned about my privacy. GWL gave them the date and time of my check in/out. I am not sure what other information was released. My credit card information is on GWL file too.

Desired Settlement: read above and what do you think should happen. I am reaching out to you because this kind of practice does not sound *****l to me.

Business Response: My name is ******* ****** (not *****
******)- I am the Director of Guest Services for Great Wolf Lodge Grand Mound.

Ms. ***** called my office stating that she was in distress over what she
called "security violation" and frustrated that I had not reached out
to her, stating that she had spoken with a Manager at our property and that I
was supposed to call her. I apologized and informed her that I hadn't received
any information about this incident, listen to her claims and asked if it would
be alright if I investigated this a bit and returned a call to her.

Upon investigation I pulled the audio files from our central reservation desk
and listened to her unfounded accusations and other statements directed at
them; she claimed that “a person” had called in and was given her private
information.  Later she stated that it
was a family member and that they were able to access her private information.  CRES made it clear that the only way that information
is released is if the person calling has specific information (this is similar
to our property), the information is as follows:

1. Reservation number

2. First and Last name with address verification supplied by the guest

3. Specific Date(s) of stay

this will only allow the caller to make date changes & suite style changes
to the reservation if there is no cost difference; please note any changes that
require cost will require credit card information that we have on file to be
supplied by the caller and match.

I contacted Ms. ***** and explained what I had learned and assured her that after
listening to the audio files, that there was no cause for concern. Further, I
explained the process outlined above and that none of her personal or financial
information was, nor would ever be, released. She did not appreciate the explanation
and stated that a family member called in and got information that they should
not have been able to get- when I asked what that was; she replied that they
were able to confirm my arrival.

 I explained that in order to do that the
caller would already have that information and reiterated our policy. She
replied that she didn't like it, didn't feel that we cared that her security
had been violated. I responded by apologizing for how she felt and that we do
in fact care but that her security had not be violated by us. She then chose to
end the conversation.  GWL in no way
compromised Ms. ******* private information, nor shared it; safety is our guest
priority one.  If you have any questions, I'm here to help!


******* ******
Director of Guest Services

12/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called four times and left messages and never received a call back. I was trying to schedule my sons birthday party there. He was sad to say the least because we were unable to get called back. I was disappointed in there lack of communication.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a discounted stay or one night free since my sons birthday was ruined.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/25) */ Although we are sorry that this guest feels like her child's birthday was not what she hoped, we have no record of her calling. Also, we have our phones staffed 24/7 offering many options for her to resolve her perceived issue. GWL provides many options ofr our guests to celebrate their special occassions, however it is up to the guest to initiate and complete the process of purchse; that did not happen in this case. Please let me know if I may be of any further asisitance. Warm regards. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/12/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) A friend of mine had actually filed this complaint for me after I told her about my experience and why I will never attempt to book a party with Great Wolf Lodge. I initially tried calling on the 10/17/14 but I received a VM for the party planned. I didn't leave a message so I went ahead and emailed the party planner. Here is proof that I emailed and never received a response: Great Wolf Resorts(****** 10/17/14 To: ********** Thank you for your message regarding Great Wolf Lodge at . Your comment or question is important to us and we value your feedback. A guest service representative will reply to your message with in 72 hours. Thanks again and have a Great Wolf Day! Please proovide proof that you responded to the initial request because I did not receive any record. In early November, I left two messages for the party coordinator requesting a call back. I never once received a courtesy call. I called again and the front desk transferred me to management but I was on my lunch and did not have the time to hold so I hung up. I do not want a free night at Great Wolf Lodge. I want you to know how unprofessional your party coordinator is by not responding to my online request or returning my calls. I have no intentions on ever booking a party, or a room at Great Wolf Lodge because I'm baffleded that a family oriented organization like yours would not follow up on voicemails or messages. If you want a record of my call, my name is ***** ********** and number is ************ (in case you can't understand my name in the voicemail.) Check the voicemails from early November. Also, it seems that your party coordinator is never at his/her desk because I was given a voicemail all four times that I've called and the front desk cannot help me book a party. If changes need to be made then I suggest that front desk should have adequate training in booking parties. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/12/12) */ Hello *****, We humbly apologize for any hardship that you may fee from this situation. We did find your email,and we understand that you may have concluded that "A guest service representative will reply to your message with in 72 hours", might mean by email, however- depending on the subject of the emails, some response are made via telephone; since you were inquiring about a birthday, I assume this may have been the case and the coordinator didn't leave a voice mail. Another possibility- we lost your message; either way, you didn't get the positive experience we want to provide our guests with. We are happy to offer you and your family return day passes to enjoy our waterpark in compensation for the this unpleasant situation. Also, please know that because of your feedback we have implimented new procedures in this area of operations in hope of preventing any issues of this nature in the future. Warmly, ***** ****** **** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/12/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Hello, Thank you for your apology. I'm glad that changes were made to better accomodate party planning for families. I understand that situations like these happen and it could be an honest mistake. I am pleased with the way this complaint was handled and the professionalism expressed through your email.

12/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We went to Great Wolf Lodge almost a year ago. We rented a locker to put our things in and we were assured that we would get a refund of $10 for the rental, which we never received. When we made our reservations, we got a deal where we got a $50 resort credit. We used that credit to purchase dinner at their buffet. The food was disgusting and we asked for a refund, to which the restaurant manager agreed. I received a partial refund of around $30, when we spent our entire resort credit at the buffet (which could have been used on the $100's of dollars of merchandise and food we purchased) on the awful food. I have contacted GWL several times to no avail. My daughter asks to return, but I cannot spend money on a place that cares so little about their guests.

Desired Settlement: Would like a full refund of what was spent on food and lockers.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/11/21) */ Contact Name and Title: ******** Director of GS Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******* According to our system documentation the guest did report disatisfaction about their meal and was issued a refund- authorized by our Director of Food & Beverage in the amount of %89.64. Also documented in the complaintant's guest folio, is a refund for the locker rentals in the amount of $31.64; both amounts were refunded to the credit card the guest provided for their stay. GWL works diligently to maintain and exceptional service level, and resolve guest issues "real time"; this matter was addressed at the time of their stay of 2/26/14-2/27/14. Please let me know if we may be of any further assistance.

4/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We visited the Great Wolf Lodge in Grand Mound, WA from 04/08/XXXX - XX/12/2014. We stayed at room 7037. We checked out on Saturday, 04/12/2014 at approximately 8:15a.m. We left for the airport and I arrived at the airport, I realized that I had left my engagement ring and wedding band behind at the resort. However since the airport was 1 1/2 hours away, we couldn't turn back. I called the resort when I got home to advise them that I had left my rings behind in the room on the counter where the TV and microwave was. They transferred me to lost and found to leave a message. No one called me back. My spouse called the following day and they transferred him and gave him the run around. He spoke to the Manager of the resort and they said they would call him back. No call. I called again in the afternoon and spoke to the director of the front desk and she said no one turned anything in at the lost and found. She said she spoke to the director of housekeeping **** and none of the staff has found anything. I was not happy with the answer and called again and they said **** was not available. I have made over 6 attempts to contact **** and she is never available. Sometimes when I call they transfer me to her voicemail. Sometimes when I call, they tell me she doesn't have a voicemail. Who are they transferring me to and where are my voicemails going? I have left a voicemail at lost and found and no one returns my call. They are completely handling my situation with disregard. The director of front desk tries to tell me that there house keeping found items more valuable then my ring and has turned it in so she is sure no one took it. The monetary value on my ring is over $10K, not to mention the sentimental value behind it. We offer a reward for locating the rings and they said that's not permitted. I know without a doubt that I left the ring behind and exactly where I left it. If housekeeping does thoroughly clean the room after each guest checks out, there is no way they didn't find the ring. The director proceeded to tell me that maybe it got vacuumed up and that they opened up all the vacuums and checks for the ring. That is ridiculous. There is no way the ring can be vacuumed up.

Desired Settlement: I want my rings back. I want to see a thorough investigation of the housekeeper that cleaned the room. I want to see what attempt was made to locate my rings that I know I left behind on the counter the room I stated at.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/04/15) */ The ring was never in our possession. Guest informed us that she found the ring. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2014/04/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 15, 2013 My family was injured in an accident in the arcade at the Great Wolf Lodge, Grand Mound, WA location. An employee was pushing an overloaded delivery cart through the arcade and this stack of heavy boxes fell on me and my family. My 26-yr old daughter sustained severe bruises to her upper arm and lower leg, my 6-year old granddaughter received a fist-sized red welt on her lower back, my 10-yr old grandson had a red mark on his calf. These were boxes loaded with licorice that probably weighed at least 10-20 pounds apiece. My granddaughter was hysterical and my adult daughter was crying from the pain. None of the arcade employees offered to help us and I had to ask them to call a supervisor. The supervisor called for a medic but never directly spoke to us. When the medic finally showed up she gave us ice, told us she would refund us 50% of our room bill and sent us on our way. At no time did anyone from management approach us to to inquire how we were. This accident was totally avoidable and the employee should have never been transporting unsecured merchandise through a crowded arcade. This incident totally ruined our stay at the lodge. Several days after the accident, a Great Wolf Lodge employee left a message on my home phone asking how we were. I had to call him back to speak to him directly. He never mentioned the 50% refund from our room and only offered a free return trip to the lodge as compensation. I had to ask him to personally call my daughter who was hurt the worst so he could offer his apology. It is now almost 10 days after our trip and we have received no compensation of any kind. We spent approximately $412 at the lodge for our room and another $400 on food and activities for the kids. The customer service behavior of the Great Wolf Lodge employees was totally unacceptable after this accident. Product_Or_Service: Room, food and amenities

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) At this point in time neither my family or I wish to return to the lodge for another visit so a free visit offer to come back isn't going to do us much good. 50% off our room bill is less than acceptable and we haven't receive it anyway. I want the total amount of money back we spent at the lodge in return for the injuries and trauma my family received.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/01) */ Issue has been resolved with customer directly Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/11/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept the response from Great Wolf Lodge regarding my previously filed complaint. I was contacted by phone on Tuesday Nov. 29th 2013 and offered a refund for our stay at Great Wolf Lodge. My biggest concern was that the accident we experienced wouldn't happen again to any future guests at the lodge. I was assured that procedural changes had been made regarding the improper movement of unsecured merchandise through public areas of the lodge. I appreciate the assistance from the BBB in resolving this matter.

11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I booked my stay at least 2 weeks in advance. I had my 2 grandsons coming from Portland. It was a surprise to them. They were beside themselves when we got there. When I checked in Nothing was said about the problem of the heating breakdown that had happened a week before our arrival. We dressed and went to the swimming area where we were to spend both days. The water was FREEZING. My 6 yr old cried right off. I tried many parts of the attraction which was totally freezing. I just stood there and shivered. We finally went to the small children area where my 4 yr old was playing with his adult supervisor and the staff said my 6 yr old was too old to play there. He cried again. Other adults were also complaining. A man told me to get a refund and that he had done so. What was I to do with my 2 grandsons for 2 days when there parents would be picking them up there. I went to get a refund and was told I could get another time adjustment. I said No I wanted a refund and to be able to stay there until there parents picked them up. The salesman took 4 attempts to refund my money. He couldn't do it so I asked for a manager. She came out and I explain what I wanted including that I would be staying overnight until there parents came at 9am to pick them up to return to portland. We then had to find other things to do to entertain them. The wands that followed a game throughout the lodge was way too old for them and without the many attempts to have help that was posted and the many attempts going back to get my 4 yrs olds wand fixed that turned out to be a total rip off and disappointing for my two grandchildren. To make matters the worst some manager hunted me down in 2 different places in front of people and said my story was different then the front desks. I asked him to leave me alone and he came back when we were eating

Desired Settlement: I want all money spent for the disappointment my grandchildren experienced, the embarrassment I went through when the manager hunted me down on 2 different occasions and said my story was different then what was agreed at the desk and for the company not calling me ahead of time( they had 2 weeks)so I could have made different plans. They were only interested in the money. Nothing else and we were treated like 2 class citizens and this has never happen to me and will never happen again because there r lots of other classy places to go and this isn't one of them. I will tell anyone who will listen of my experience and I will never go back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/17) */ Guest was refunded on September 21, 2013 in the amount of $324.48. This was the total amount paid for her reservation. The complaint may have been filed due to not seeing the refund immediately but it was processed on the date above. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2013/10/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am not going to get my bank to research all of the expenses from our two day stay at your outrages places. You look them up. I want payment for the rude treatment and the following me around and the loud voices used by your so called management in the lobby and the restrauants. I've said my peace and this is the last time I will be responding to your third class establishment. I will post this on the ****** Web site and next you will have a hearing in court. Sincerely, ******** ******** Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2013/10/31) */ We would be happy to consider reimbursement of incidental purchases as long as we have receipts to refer to when making the refund. We cannot move forward without receipts of purchases.

5/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Not only did they try to charge my card for money that I had paid in cash while I was there, but then after I fought that at the front desk, was told everything was fine and given my cash balance back, they charged my debit card for the amount without my authorization.

Desired Settlement: I would like the money refunded and a formal apology with notes as to what steps will be taken to ensure this will not happen again.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, ****/05/24) */ We have resolved all billing issues for ****** ******** and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. All steps have been discussed directly with Mrs. ******** and we look forward to having her visit again soon. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 7, ****/05/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They did resolve my personal issue. I'm worried it will happen again and will be wary of doing business with them again.

5/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Saturday April 20,2013 my family of 5 checked into the hotel at approximately 10am. At that the time employee of Great Wolf Lodge (which will be referred to herein as GWL)stated that they will be taking a $150 deposit for "charges". We agreed. They then gave us our room key/charge braclets and water park passes *** that they would call us once our room was ready for occupancy. We then started enjoying our family vacation, until our youngest child needed a nap, We went to the front desk to check and see if our room was ready. We talked to a young woman who said our room was not available so I asked if there was another one as we have a child who needs to take a nap and she replied " there is actually another one available I will switch you to that one" After she reprogramed our braclet room key we walked down the hall to our room #1051. Shortly after being in our room I received a notification from my bank that GWL took $205 out of my account with out my knowledge or approval. I then went down to the front desk and waited several minutes for the GWL employee to attempt to figure out what happened. The male employee stated" he is not sure why the computer charged another $150 deposit in addition to $55 that was charged on our braclets while in the parl ($35 for the arcade and $20 for a locker to secure our items while at the water park). I asked several times to speak to a manager and he replied they are all in a meeting. Approximately 15 minutes went by and Deanna "front desk supervisor" came out. Both of these employees stated many times that this unauthorized charge would be refunded. I asked to receive something in writing. Deanna offered to type a note but it would be a minute. While I appreciated her offer, I was un willing to continue to wait to have their error corrected therefore i asked her to write a note on a printed out that they gave me showing the $300 charges, she agreed and simply wrote that this authorization of $150 would be refunded. She gave me her card and said to contact her if I had any issues. Both employees of GWL stated that this has never happened before. Before I walked away from the front desk the male employee gave me a print out showing that they have credited my room account in their system for the $55 for charged above. On Sunday 4/21 We woke up to a piece of paper shoved under our front door. This piece of paper was a receipt for the total charges for our room. $40.99 for our breakfast vouchers which was authorized as a seperate transation with my debit card, and the room rental of $300.xx which was paid for at the time of booking and a $10 credit for the locker key deposit returned. We then left our room cleaned everything to the best we could walked to the front desk to inform them that we are done and they can start cleaning our room only to be greated by a rude male employee who replied " checkout is already done" I said well how to you know we were done in the room? he replied " checkout is automatically at 11am and they just go in" After how he spoke to me I was very displeased and just walked away. My husband Brandon Estep was very leary to leave the hotel without confirmation that our funds would be refunded back to us. I had to assure him that I was sure that the employees were telling the truth and we have all the proof in writing. We then left the hotel and proceeded home. On Monday 4/22 $150 was released back into our account from GWL. On Tuesday 4/23 we received the $10 refund from GWL for the key deposit. I called GWL at approximately 6:30pm and asked for Deanna front desk supervisor or any manager on duty, the woman employee responded " Deanna is not available neither is any other manager, but i can help you" i replied no i'm sure that you are unable to help me, she then offered me to the manager line to leave a message. In which I did indeed do. On the manager voice mail it even states that someone would call me back in 48 hours. It is now Thursay 4/25 at 10pm and I have yet to receive a call back from any kind of management from GWL or the additional money that taken out of my account. I have confirmed again with my bank and the $205 is still showing as a pending transaction and there is nothing I can do at this time.

Desired Settlement: I am wanting my $205 released.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/05/16) */ I spoke with guest on 05.13.13 and had all authorizations lifted. This has been resolved. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 10, 2013/05/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)