This business is not BBB accredited.

Grand Hyatt Seattle

Phone: (206) 774-6301 Fax: (206) 774-6311 View Additional Phone Numbers 721 Pine St, Seattle, WA 98101 http://www.grandseattle.hyatt.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Grand Hyatt Seattle include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Grand Hyatt Seattle
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 2007 Business started: 02/05/2007 Business started locally: 02/05/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd SE, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.doh.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 525-0127
hsqa.csc@doh.wa.gov

Business Management
Mr. Steve Visstozky, General Mgr Mark Stiebeling, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Visstozky, General Mgr
Business Category

Hotels

Alternate Business Names
Grand Hyatt-Elliot

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    721 Pine St

    Seattle, WA 98101 (206) 774-1234 (206) 774-6301

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a loyal, repeat patron of The Grand Hyatt since it was first built in 2000. I even remember when it was, for a brief moment, *** ***** ****** and had a cursive italic "E" on the throw pillows. Since getting married in 2008 and moving away, my husband and I have attempted to make it to Seattle annually for my birthday to celebrate. Our tradition is that we get a room at The Grand Hyatt with a view of the ******* Star in Westlake Center. Last year, for a milestone birthday of mine, I had a birthday party dinner at ******* ***** (the restaurant in the hotel) that was fabulous! The food was great, the service was exceptional and my guests were happy. However, The Grand Hyatt's performance was inadequate. An example of this incompetence is that my husband requested (weeks in advance) rose petals to be arranged throughout the room and champagne to be waiting for us when we return by nine in the evening. We arrived at midnight and the request had not been fulfilled. The most disturbing part in this example was my husband telling me with glee that there was a surprise waiting for me and then to see his face when we arrived to a dark, undressed room. That was a portion of last year's visit. My husband wrote the general manager of the hotel to complain and I wrote the manager of the restaurant to give praise. Shockingly, we received a response from the restaurant thanking us but absolutely nothing from the hotel. We were willing to give The Grand Hyatt one more chance after last year. This year, for our tradition to celebrate my birthday, we arrived one night early (we called ahead to make sure rooms were available on that Thursday evening) and were met by woman #1. She was professional in her verbiage and appearance but not her actions or concern for guests of the hotel. She explained that because we didn't reserve the night (like we did the following night) in advance that we will have to pay a higher rate, the difference was $7.95. That's laughable, right? We inquired if she was able to give us the room for the same price as the reservation night, again, a whopping $7.95 difference, and she was cold and indifferent and refused to. She then informed us that the room that we normally get (remember, ******* Star view) would be an additional $50.00 a night. By this time it was creeping close to midnight and we were absolutely exhausted. We didn't have the energy to debate any further. We were given our room key and went on our merry way. The rooms were awful. It was like their joke that they were purposefully sending us to horrible rooms after we were mildly difficult. After viewing three rooms, we requested to be moved to another hotel (their sister hotel, The ***** ** but were told it would also cost us more. We were totally and completely exhausted after hauling our luggage to three different rooms and back to the reception desk each time. We unhappily requested to be moved back to room #1, the least unpleasant. At this time we were met by Woman #2, whom was not professional in her appearance, and we were shocked to learn during check-out that she is a supervisor. Woman #2 was beyond rude. She was extremely combative and maliciously argued with my husband. She claimed that my husband was lying and that we only stayed in the ******** Star) requested room once, per our history that she apparently studied unsolicited. Feeling defeated and not having any energy to argue with her, we requested room #1 back so we could finally go to sleep. (For the record, we have stayed in that room at least four times per my memory and history of photographs from my birthday celebrations-which displays that their record keeping is also flawed.) Room #1 was the nicest of the three we saw at midnight on this check-in night. It had a somewhat good view and even had a view of the ******* Star...but only if you stuck your camera phone out the window for a photograph (please sense the sarcasm) as my husband did for me. This room, however, was quite gross and I've included photographs of this room for you to judge for yourself. Picture #1 is of black eye liner and a cigarette burn. The black eye liner was all over the floor near the sink. Picture #2 is after my husband turned on the bath the night before (what the water spots are from) and washed down little black hairs. What you see is a single remaining black hair, gunk around the drain and paint peeling off of the tub. Picture #3 is the bathroom sink which has mold on the undermount partwhere you place your face while brushing your teeth. Picture #4 might be insignificant but shows the overall detail placed into this hotel. It displays the buttons for the temperature control that appears to have been molested repeatedly by someone who has just eaten a bowl of deep fried chicken. *Please note that this was the least offensive room out of the three we viewed at midnight during our check-in. In conclusion, the overall cleanliness of the rooms and professionalism from the staff is seriously lacking. It feels as if they consider themselves the only hotel available and do not value any patronage. If you are still unsure if this is the hotel for you after reading this review, please take a look at the copy-and-paste, robot response this review will receive (probably from *****, like the other negative reviews), then ask yourself if that response would be enough to salvage your future business if you, too, have a repulsive experience? For the record, I'd like to mention that this complaint has also been submitted to the general manager of The Grand Hyatt but like last year's complaint, I'm sure it will also go unnoticed. Avoid. This. Hotel.

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/06) */ We apologize and regret when any guest stay is less than perfect and truly sorry that service fell short for a loyal Hyatt Guest. The main issue from our end stemmed from the guest arriving a day earlier from the day that their reservation was booked. This prevented us from putting them in the exact room the guest desired. It is obvious that other service deficiencies transpired and kindly request the guest to reach out to the hotel directly. We offered to make ammends while they were our guest and at the time seem pleased with follow up. Hotel also sent an apology email on 12/23(noted below) in response to the same information sent Hyatt Hotels Corp that was sent to BBB. Our offer to make ammends still stands and theguest has not replied. 12/23/14 03:53 PM * *************** (Hysat GSS General Manager) Subject: Your recent stay at Grand Hyatt Seattle Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for your email message regarding your stay at the Grand Hyatt Seattle. I certainly understand how valuable your time is and greatly appreciate that you have taken the time to provide your feedback. I am sorry to hear that we fell so short of your expectations and the accommodations & service were lacking and can completely understand your concerns. The service you describe is unacceptable and rest assured that I will be in contact with the associates and management team in an effort to address these concerns and to ensure that future guests do not experience the challenges that you have described. As a long time and loyal guest it is very important to us that we create positive and memorable experiences so that you will continue to return. Regrettably it did not happen and I wish to make amends and ensure you receive the exceptional service you have come to expect from Grand Hyatt Seattle. As compensation for your experience, I would like to offer you complimentary two night room accommodations for your next stay at the Grand Hyatt Seattle, upgraded to the corner room that you prefer. We ask that you make your reservations in advance so that we can ensure the availability and send you the reservation confirmation number. This offer is valid for one year and is based on availability. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide the excellent service that is indicative of Hyatt. If there is anything else with which I may assist you, please feel free to contact me directly. Best regards, Sincerely, ****** ******** Area Director of Rooms

2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Left our hotel room from 10:30 am to about 2pm to go to Pikes Place Market and lunch, while we were gone a bottle of vodka went missing, which we didn't realize until we were packing for check-out at about 1:30 am. (We had to leave early in the AM because my husband had to drive me home before going to work the next morning.) We informed the front desk immediatly when we noticed it was missing. At check-out they told us they would inform security and contact us back. When we got home, as we were unpacking, we also realized that someone had gotten into the bottom of my bag and taken 5 vicoden pills out of a prescription bottle, but the bottle was left behind. I called the hotel as soon as I realized those were missing. They said they would question the maid. Later I got a call from the security manager who told me that the made said she did not see it, though she could of placed the alcohol in the trash, even though it was with a bunch of other alcohol, all unopened. His solution was that he would talk to the maid and tell her that she shouldn't touch the guests stuff.

Desired Settlement: Seeking some kind of compensation for the unique bottle of vodka that cannot be bought in the US, and also for some kind of further investigation into the stolen vicoden, since this is a controlled substance. Need some other kind of explanation rather than, our maid might have thrown it away. It makes no sense that a maid would go into my bag, empty the prescription bottle, leave the bottle in my bag, and then throw away the prescription.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ** ******, Security Mgr. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **************@hyatt.com The Grand Hyatt Seattle has an upstanding reputation and is considered one of the top hotels in the Seattle area with an "A" rating with BBB. We take great care in hiring and monitoring our staff while holding them to the highest professional standards. As with all unfortunate cases of hotel liability, an investigation was conducted in regards to this issue and our results were inconclusive. We regret when any allegation of missing items cannot be recovered yet the duty of the innkeeper limits hotel liability against claims of an alleged item missing in the privacy of a guest room. The next step in escalation on our end would be to send a claim to our insurance company and allow them to investigate who may be liable for the loss claim. We can precede with this if the guest choses to purse the issue further. As far as reporting to the police, the Seattle Police department would require the guest to file a report as a victim and we are not permitted to process that for them. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/02/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There has been no proposed solution. We have been instructed essentially that the hotel has no customer service in regard to their guests. We were specifically told when we first reported the incident at check out, that we should not file a police report because they would handle this inhouse. This was reiterated when we talked to security, after we found out both prescription drugs and alcohol were taken. Judging from the hotels response at this time, we need to talk to the police and DEA. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/02/06) */ The next **** if the guest decides to pursue this issue would be for a police report or insurance claim to be filed. Please feel free to contact ***** ********* Executive Assistant to the General Manager if you would like us to assist you in filing either of these. She can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

12/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Reserved a block of rooms for a wedding through the sales manager **** ****** at Hyatt at Olive 8 from Oct 2, 2013 to Oct 7, 2013. Was guaranteed that guests would receive Hyatt Gold Passport points and night credits. However, none of the guests received any points nor night credits after their stays. Was then told that only 1 point would be given per dollar spent instead of the 5 point per dollar ratio advertised online for Hyatt Gold Passport members. Very disappointed with the dishonest sale practice and failure to resolve the issue.

Desired Settlement: Would like to receive 5 points per 1 dollar for each guest (plus the elite bonus when applicable) and credit the night credits to their respective Hyatt Gold Passport accounts as advertised during the sale of the rooms.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/26) */ Response to Consumer's Original Complaint: The Consumer contracted with the Hotel a discounted-group rate which was to include "Hyatt Gold Passport Planner Rewards". The Hyatt Gold Passport Planner Rewards Program offers a significantly-discounted room rate with 1 Gold Passport Point per dollar spent in the Hotel. The Hotel did assure the Consumer that he would receive Hyatt Gold Passport Points for his group reservations, and the Hotel honored this commitment upon the group's full payment to the Master Account. Upon departure, the Consumer expressed concern that his Status in the Hyatt Gold Passport Program (offering 5 points per dollar spent) was not extended to him. Per the terms & conditions of the Hyatt Gold Passport Planner Rewards: 2. Hyatt Gold Passport Planner Rewards program is valid for meetings in conjunction with qualified meetings/groups of 10 or more paid guest rooms or with qualifying catered/banqueting events and held at participating Hyatt hotels worldwide. 7. Planner will earn one Hyatt Gold Passport bonus point for every eligible U.S. dollar actualized in conjunction with group/meeting guest rooms, catering/banqueting charges associated with an eligible meeting or catered/banqueted event. Response to Consumer's Desired Resolution: The Hotel has met and exceeded our contractual commitment with the Consumer by awarding the Consumer with five (5) Hyatt Gold Passport bonus points for every eligible U.S. dollar actualized in conjunction with the Consumer's event. The Hotel has also awarded Gold Passport Points for each individual reservation that was paid for by the Group's Master Account, despite Gold Passport Points only applying towards the payment to the Master Account (per the terms & agreement of Hyatt Gold Passport Planner Rewards). The Hotel has also awarded nightly stay credit for each individual reservations as well as for charges billed to the Consumer's Master Account. The Hotel requests that the Consumer acknowledge that we have fulfilled and exceeded our contractual obligations, and that this resolution has been resolved to the Consumer's complete satisfaction. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/11/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am satisfied by the resolution that was carried out by the hotel. However, I feel deceived by the sales tactics that were used in the hotel in the first place as the sales department never mentioned that a different reward program would apply and I was never presented with this planning rewards program, not to mention its terms and conditions. Had I known about this fact in the first place, I would have avoided the sales department entirely and booked the rooms through Hyatt.com. I hope that the hotel would take measures to ensure full and correct information is provided to potential customers of the sales department so one can make well-informed decisions and can avoid situations like this from happening again.