Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Comfort Inn

Phone: (253) 538-7998 8620 S Hosmer St, Tacoma, WA 98444 https://www.choicehotels.com/washington/tacoma/comfort-inn-hotels/wa087


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Comfort Inn include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Comfort Inn
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2000 Business started: 09/27/2000 in WA Business started locally: 09/27/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd SE, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.doh.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 525-0127
hsqa.csc@doh.wa.gov

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ebony Burris, General Manager
Business Category

Hotels

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, Master Card, American Express ,Discover, 

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8620 S Hosmer St

    Tacoma, WA 98444 (253) 538-7998

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I checked into this hotel on 7/12/15 and checked out ( by Chirstan) the morning of 7/17/15 and was charged $586.35. A few days later I was charged an additional night at $126.35. I called many times and talked to Kanesha, who was very rude and told me that I didn't check out until the 18th. I was put on hold several times and finally asked to speak to the Manager. I was told that she wasn't in so I asked if I could please leave my cell # for her to call me back. Two days went by and I was still waiting to finish my Expense Report so I called back again and asked for the Manager. Again I was told that she was not in but they will have her call me. Again, I waited a day, no phone call so I called back and was told by Kanesha that they credited my card for the $126.35. I just received the credit card statement that shows the $586.35 deduction, the $126.35 deduction, the $126.35 credit back to the card and now an additional $126.35 deduction on the 27th......ten days later!

Desired Settlement: I need to have the sum of $126.35 refunded back to the credit card ASAP. Thank you very much. *****

Business Response:

Dear Mr *****.

I wanted to apologize for the time it took to refund your Visa card ending in ****.0n 9.4.2015 we issued a refund to your card in the amount requested $126.35.

 

Thank you for choosing the Comfort Inn in Tacoma for your hospitality needs.

Sincerly,

Ebony B.

Comfort Inn Tacoma ( WA087)

**** * ****** **

Tacoma WA 98444

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. It's a shame that they couldn't forward me the same reply. Thank you so much for your help.

Sincerely,

***** *****

10/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I checked into the Comfort Inn on Saturday October 10, 2015. I paid with cash also putting $100.00 down for a room deposit. The next day I went to check out and get my deposit back and the front desk lady said hold on I have to go look at your room, she left and was gone for about 5 minutes she then came back and said oh sorry I cant give your deposit back due to you having a pet in your room I saw the dog food in the garbage, and we saw you walk in with your pet on camera. So I stated that the front desk lady saw us with our dog and she didn't say a thing about a pet. I asked to speak with a manager and JOSIE front desk said there was no manager on duty. I spoke with Privileges of the company and they were leaving it up to management due to them not being able to look at video. I was from out of town so I left my phone number for Manager EBONY to get ahold of me the next day which never happened I called her twice and left voicemail till finally I got ahold her at the front desk, she said that they couldn't give me my money back since I signed the pet policy.. They weren't even trying to give me a receipt of my form of $100.00 payment they had to write it out for me. I am furious that I am out a $100.00. They have NO signs any where in the Hotel stating NO PETS. even at check in they don't mention you cant have a pet. when clearly the front deck lady saw our TEA CUP Chihuahua. He weighs less then 4lbs wouldn't do know harm or damage. Ebony the manager said they didn't have to have signs of no pets allowed.

Desired Settlement: I want my $100.00 deposit back do to the lack of Knowledge the hotel gave me on the pet policy. They clearly seen the dog when we came in with it, and had said nothing. No signs anywhere. Very, Very rude employees. Also them not giving me a receipt for my payment and saying they couldn't.

Business Response:

October 10,2015 at 8:51pm Ms ****** checked into the Comfort Inn at which time she was given a registration card stating that the hotel does not allow pets or smoking. She signed the card agreeing to the term and conditions. The front desk clerk went over the cash policy and informed the guest that if she did smoke or have a pet in the room as the registration card stats her room deposit would not be refunded. about 7 minutes into the check-in process Ms ****** husband is observed on the surveillance footage walking into the building with a large black Jordan duffle bag once at the counter he is often seen repositioning the bag. 

October 11,2015 at 12:13pm Ms ****** comes to the front desk to checkout and the Front Desk Agents informs the guest that before she can refund the room deposit she will need to inspect the room for any damages. at that time photos are sent to the hotel  manager of dog food left on the TV stand and on the floor. Once back at the front desk Ms ****** is informed that she will not be refunded because she broke the hotel policy by having the dog in the room. Ms ****** begins to call the front desk agent names and make threats to the desk clerk and housekeeping staff. Management (Ebony ) is called and speaks to the guest.

During my conversation with the guest she stated that she had the dog in her hand when she checked into the hotel. I informed Ms ****** that since I was away from the property and she did  sign the registration card which states that we do not allow pets I would be unable to offer a refund. Ms ****** proceeded to say that the person that checked her in saw her come into the hotel through the front door with the puppy in her hand. At that time I informed Ms ****** that I would review the tape on Tuesday and if she did come through the front entrance with the dog I send her a refund in the mail. She said ok and if I didn't she would be calling her lawyer and filing a complaint against myself and my staff.  Ms ****** was never seen on camera with the puppy, the puppy was hidden during her stay.

We are unable to provide a refund being that the guest had a dog on the property.

Ms ****** continues to mention the size of the pet ( 4lbs) We are not a pet friendly hotel regardless of the size of the animal.  

 

 

 

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Not once did I ever tell management that I had the dog in my hand when checked in. My husband had the dog in his arms when he walked through the door. Ebony (manager) keeps trying to put words in my mouth not once have I said I had the dog when I checked in my husband did an as for his Jordan bag I didn't know we couldn't bring our own clothes. Also when I arrived at check in the front desk lady did not go over any of the policy's with me she handed me a paper asked me to sign and gave me my room key. Not once did she say that if I had a pet in my room that they would take my deposit away. If they were to inform me about the pet policy to begin with I wouldn't have brought my dog into the Hotel. If they look at there security cameras and go over as I checked in and listen to our conversations the front desk clearly didn't do their job to explaining anything about their policy's. Manager (Ebony) called me a weeks ago arguing with me as I have recorded our conversation over the pool. She is trying to bring things into place that have nothing to do with the pet issue. I did hang up on manager Ebony as to not being very professional about her job.

 

    Manager Ebony wanted to know if I had an Attorney, because she was going on vacation. I am rejecting this complaint due to the management (EBONY) being so disrespectful and not working something out with me. She has acted like I ruined her hotel by having my dog in the room. All I want is my money back, and problem would be solved.

Sincerely,

******* ******

5/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On my recent 3/21/14 stay at the Comfort Inn my card was charged numerous amounts as was the other guests in my room. I spoke with the manager on Saturday, 3/22/14 before checking out and was told she would work on it. When I returned home on 3/22/14 and was able to check my bank account I found a charge of $101.24 as well as a charge of $65.32 none of which were mine. My charge amount should have been $32.66. I proceeded to call the hotel and was told I would have to wait and talk to the manager on Monday. On Monday I called the manager,*******, and spoke with her in length and THOUGHT things were being taken care of. On Tuesday I noticed the only charge that was removed was the $101.24. ANOTHER call to******* for more explanation. Again, she said things would be taken care of. Finally 5 days after all the error and hassles the charge was removed. 5 days, numerous calls andenormous stress in trying to get my money released!! The other 2 guests in my room had the exact same charges placed on their card as well as $500+ fraudulent charges on their account. They are currently working with a fraud investigator to get their situation handled.

Desired Settlement: We were absolutely given the run around and extremely poor customer service. The errors were on their part and I feel the fair and professional thing to do would be to refund my $32.66 charge for all the headache and stress and days worth of time spent trying to fix this issue. The other guests in my room had the exact same charges on their cards and actually have had fraudulent charges put on their cards and they are currently working with a fraud investigator to get their issue resolved.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/04/22) */ We apologize for any confusion to the customer regarding their stay at the Comfort Inn. Because the customers were splitting the rooms and then paying separately at checkout, there was a mistake in authorizing her card at check in which was credited upon checkout. This amount was only an authorization and not a sale. As was explained to the customer, authorizations will automatically drop off in 3 - 5 business days. The only amount that was captured was the $32.66 which was verified by our CC processor on 3/22/14. I have also spoken with the other customer regarding fraudulent charges on a pre-paid debit card. With debit cards the funds are immediately unavailable when authorized and any excess amounts are returned to the account in up to 10 business days. The only amount charged to her card was $99.61. In researching any additional charges that were fraudulently processed through our business, the customers have not responded in providing bank account details to support these claims. Once again, we apologize for any confusion or stress caused regarding the difference between authorization/hold and sale/capture amounts for both credit cards and debit cards. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/04/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Once I discovered the error of 3 charges on my card I had to pursue the hotel to get it fixed. The other guests card was charged the same charges. I had to spend days on the phone and numerous calls to get the charges fixed. Each time they said they had it taken care of but it wasn't. The time I spent talking to the manager I explained which charge was mine and she assured me she understood. I have travelled quite a bit and checked in with separate credit cards and never have had a problem. I am unclear as to why Comfort Inn had such a huge problem splitting payment on a room. I want my $32.66 credited back to my account for all the stress of trying to deal with their mistake and incompetence.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Comfort Inn
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)