This business is not BBB accredited.

Comfort Inn

Phone: (253) 872-2211 Fax: (253) 981-0063 22311 84th Ave S, Kent, WA 98032 http://www.comfortinnkent.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Comfort Inn include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Comfort Inn
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1998 Business started locally: 01/01/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd SE, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.doh.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 525-0127
hsqa.csc@doh.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Nam Suk Oh, Owner Miss. Melissa Gardiner, Asst. General Mgr.
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Daniel Moran, Member
Principal: Mr. Nam Suk Oh, Owner
Business Category

Hotels

Alternate Business Names
Pacific Hotel Investment LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    22311 84th Ave S

    Kent, WA 98032 (253) 872-2211

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/25/15 I chkd in to the hotel & was schd to stay for 3 nights but on the evening of the 2nd night I found out I did not need the extra night's stay so I went to the front counter where I told an African American clerk I was checking out on Sunday instead of Monday & reqt'd an updated invoice showing this change. She told me my credit card had a hold on it for the full amt & I questioned why had my card been chrgd prior to me checking out? She said she didn't know but she was unable to give me an updated invoice because of it & to come back in the morning and speak to the staff who would be able to assist. On Sunday AM I took my son to his baseball & I called the front desk & told them I'd be back to return my keys & check out. They said OK. Upon speaking to the front desk clerks (blond & Asian) I reqt'd an updated invoice showing I was checking out on Sunday instead of Monday & they told me they couldn't give me one because of the hold on my card for the full 3 days. i again asked why had my card been chrgd prior to me checking out & they said they didn't know but because of it they couldn't give me a new receipt. I asked for a receipt of the original & was also unable to get a copy. I told them how would I be sure my card would be credited back for the one night and not be chrgd for all 3. The clerks told me I had to wait for the hold to clear my card and they would credit for $127.14 (which was the extra night). I left the hotel without an invoice of the original or a revised as all clerks told me I couldn't get one. When I recd my bank stmt my card had been chrgd the full amt $384.42 & no credit for the $127.14. I called the hotel & explained the situation & was told they did not have an African American working for them - I told them that was who I spoke with on Saturday night behind the counter. I left 2 msgs for the manager to call me but never recd a reply. I have disputed with my bank. This is very suspicious & an act of fraud does enter my mind.

Desired Settlement: I want the hotel to credit my card for $127.14. If the hotel does not employ an African American clerk then what was she doing behind the counter Saturday evening & where was the original staff member? My son was with me Saturday night & will contest to this. Why would the hotel charge my card 2 days prior to departure & not on the day of departure which is very suspicious. When I returned on Sunday to check out I went back to my room 126 and found the maid was already cleaning it. I rtnd to the front desk & told them the maid was already cleaning & gave them my keys showing departure. I again asked for a receipt of the corrected charges & again was told they couldn't give me one due to the hold on my card for the full amount. In a letter to my card merchant the hotel manager told them he spoke with me explaining several things. I never spoke to the manager - he never returned my calls even though I left 2 msgs with clerks. Why would the manager lie? Yes, I was upset with reason.

Business Response: Let me clarify that I shouldn't have said I in the response to the credit card company, but when I sad "I" it was meant as a "we" as in we (the company) had talked to her and I apologize for that. I personally did not speak with this person but several people on my staff did. I do not work weekends and the first time ***** made contact was on a weekend. I did NOT receive a message to call her but was told by Tori, one of the staff members that she would call me on Monday, I waited and never received that call. When ***** called, I immediately received a call from my staff member about the situation. My staff member was detailed about her conversation with the guest.
First and foremost, I do not have an African American female on my staff and I have not since June. The last African American staff member I had was a male who left the company on September 5, 2015. When I arrived on Monday, I gathered all the information I had for this guest. I checked every record from registration card to housekeeping sheets. Every record I had was very clear that the room was occupied by this guest, the only conflicting information from what all the records showed was what the guest is saying.
In October 20, 2015, I received a dispute from the bank the card is issued by, and I provided our side of the story in addition to all the records we had showing proof the guest stayed here, the dispute was ruled in our favor and the charges stood. Banks always rule in favor of the cardholder unless solid evidence is provided to support the case of the merchant, this is common knowledge.
As far as billing goes, never at any time would a guest be denied a receipt for their stay regardless of any pending authorization that may still be pending upon checkout. When a guest checks in, they are not charged, their card is authorized for the amount that is expected to be needed to cover their stay. Since she checked in for three days, her card was authorized for three days. Had she checked out before that three day period, the additional authorization would have still been pending for at least 24 hours , then  fallen off and her account credited. Unfortunately, she did NOT check out a day early according to all the records we have on file. We secure the amount for the stay at check in, and room charges post nightly, then finally after the entire stay, a payment is collected from that authorization, if there is more authorization being held than is needed for payment, it is released. We authorized $384.42, the amount of the stay was $384.42 so we took payment for that from the authorization, leaving nothing else being held or to be credited.
We are a very busy hotel with a superior reputation there is no reason for us to take anyone’s money, we stay very busy. With that being said, the guest was only charged for the time they were here.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because of several things. The last documentation provided by the hotel for cleaning my room was clearly noted as 9/27/15 & throughout the entire letter to capital one he clearly implied he directly spoke with me. There are a number of uncharacteristic issues with this issue that are highly suspicious. Had I truly stayed at the hotel through 9/28/15 the hotel would have provided documentation dated 9/29/15 showing they cleaned the room after I left but none was provided. The last day my room was cleaned was 9/27/15. If there wasn't an African American employees at the hotel then why was there one behind the counter when my son & I went down Saturday, 9/26/15 to let them know I was checking out in Sunday who clearly told me my account had a hold on it for the full amount & there was nothing she could do. If she wasn't suppose to be there, then where was the regular clerk? The African American clerk was speaking to an African American guy who clearly said "I meet you later". This whole ordeal is highly suspicious. A GOOD MANAGER should also find this unregulated to business conduct & research further with his staff to find out who is not following procedure. I did not get a receipt of any kind & was clearly told I could not due to the hold on my credit card. Furthermore, why would a hotel place a hold on my card prior to me checking out? Other hotels do not do this. Considering the rating if this hotel along with poor staffing & management direction, the business is clearly trying to keep their  integrity instead of dealing with customer  satisfaction. Do you think I'd be fighting this hard to get the one night stay credited back on my card if I hadn't been treated with disrespect & dishonesty? Obviously the answer would be no. 

Sincerely,

***** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Comfort Inn
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)