Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn

Phone: (360) 289-2311 View Additional Phone Numbers 491 Damon Rd, Ocean Shores, WA 98569 http://bestwesternwashington.com/hotels/best-western-lighthouse-suites-inn


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 28, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1994 Business started locally: 01/01/1994
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd SE, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.doh.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 525-0127
hsqa.csc@doh.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ock Kim, Manager Hong-Kyoo Kim, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ock Kim, Manager
Business Category

Hotels Executive Suites

Alternate Business Names
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    491 Damon Rd

    Ocean Shores, WA 98569 (360) 289-2311 (800) 757-7873

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The first night we stayed at this hotel on 2 July 2015 we pulled out the hydabed/couch the mattress had blood stains there were old ********'s fries under the bed there was rotting wood around the door of the balcony my daughter hurt her foot on the broken weather stripping on the door. The curtain was torn the general manger was rude told us we were trying to get a freebie and that I was making her staff miserable. The general manager finally reimbursed one night stay after she over charged me for the hotel and I threatened to call corporate.

Desired Settlement: I would like the CEO of best western ***** **** to be notified of this matter I would like a full refund of my stay I would like the general manager fired and I would like all the staff to be retrained on better customer service.

Business Response:

Ms. ******* came into our hotel to register and was described by my Front Office Staff as "angry" from the time she walked in the door.  She was upset that our staff didn't know an Elevator Inspector came in and was looking at the guest elevator (unknown to us that he would come in on our busiest check-in day of the year).  He hadn't checked in with us and they were trying to find out and respond to her about the elevator when she informed them that the elevator didn't work. 

She came down early evening at Front Desk and wanted to see the General Manager.  I spoke with her directly.  She proceeded to accuse everyone at our Front Desk of being Rude.  She started showing me photos on her phone of was "filthy" and showed me photos ********'s French Fries under the sofa sleeper in her room.  I apologized, checked to make sure we had a roll-away bed available (which we did) and told her our Maintenance Man and myself would personally go to the room to get it ready.  She told me she shouldn't pay for the room.  I offered her a free night stay in the future (giving her the benefit of the doubt at this time).  

When we went to the room, the Maintenance Man and myself cleaned up the French Fries.  We personally cleaned up the Fries, although they did not appear to be old or dried out, which you would expect if they'd been under the bed since the previous guest 3 days prior.   The whole time we were cleaning, she kept telling us that this should never happen and if she came back she wanted a guarantee that nothing would be wrong as she'd stayed here the previous 4 years and didn't have any problems.  She kept repeating how it was horrible for them and I finally told her I wasn't sure what more we could do but apologize again and hoped her stay was good.   Since she would not stop about how disappointed she was the entire time we cleaned up the French Fries and made the roll-away bed up for her, I told her it may be better for her if we refund the first night's stay vs. a future stay since we're embarking on a 3-year renovation project & I couldn't guarantee there'd be no problems of any kind during the renovation.   We did not refund her as she claims because she threatened to call Best Western Corporate Office - all Best Western hotels are independently owned and operated and we made business decisions at the property level. I made the decision based upon what I thought was a better immediate solution for both the guest and this property.    Upon returning to the Front Desk, I did indeed refund $301 toward her stay. I then told her to personally let me know if there was anything else she needed, to check with me personally during her stay.

The next morning just as I arrived, the front desk staff said she was at the Front Desk and wanted to see me.  By the time I walked the 8 paces to the front from the office, they said she'd left the building.   I ran out to the parking lot to catch her before she left. She proceeded hold her phone up and show me excitedly told me how unsafe the room was and the deck on the balcony was falling apart and how uncomfortable the beds were.   I tried to answer her accusations and started by saying that we're sorry about the bed, but comfort of the bed is somewhat subjective --- she interrupted me as I was trying to get her to slow down the photos so I could look closer at the balcony door photos when she started accusing me of always sticking up for the staff and not listening to her.  She then started telling me how we are ruining her vacation and how nothing here was right and how filthy and unsafe everything was.  I felt if she did not want to be here, I would not hold her to her 3-day minimum requirement and asked her if she'd like us to find another place for her to stay since she was so unhappy with us.  I never told her she was making our staff miserable - she accused us of making her miserable.

I started to tell her we'd be happy to refund the next two days if she wanted to leave, but she took this as an insult instead of the goodwill gesture in which it was meant.  She started threatening us and me personally and said she was going to call our Corporate Headquarters.  I have no problem in any customer calling Best Western Customer Care, so I told her I'd be happy to do that for her and went into the building to do so.  She did not follow me in, but rather sat out in her car for the better part of the hour while I called Best Western to inform them of this customer's concern.

Due to her allocations of unsafe conditions, our Facilities Manager and I then went to check out her balcony and found the door frame was purposefully kicked out we took photographs of the wood shard 'splatter pattern" with fresh wood shards below and to the side in the one-directional kick pattern. We cleaned it up and removed any sharp wood shard.  I subsequently asked our Head Housekeeper and showed her our photos and she said she was personally on this floor's room balconies, washing the windows and this damage was not there (no other guests had rented this room in between).

Ms. ******* called Best Western and subsequently told them she had been treated badly and it was not about the money but wanted an apology.  We had already given her several apologies and the refund and Best Western informed her this was our final resolution. 

Upon check out, she complained the bill was not correct.   She did not wish to listen to the Front Desk Agent trying to explain the bill and show her the charges and left.   She called Best Western Customer Care again who called us.  We explained to them that her original bill was $903 but she had already been refunded $301 as indicated on her final receipt and that she paid only $602.   Front Desk tried to explain that she was refunded and that she'd  given us her Debit Card as the guarantee card and her bank may not have yet taken off the first night's stay pre-authorization amount (as some banks hold a pre-authorized amount anywhere from 3-15 days).  We have this information about Debit Cards posted on the front desk in our Lobby.  She refuses to listen to us for any explanation. 

Ms. ******* continues to say it's not about the money, but keeps asking Best Western and now the Better Business Bureau to have us provide her with a full refund.  She has not accepted any apologies offered nor wishes to listen to anything any staff member or myself say at any time.  From the time she walked in the door, she used angry and accusing tones toward all of our staff members and myself even when we were trying to assist her. 

We feel we acted in good faith to resolve any issues and refunded her the first night's stay for her inconveniences.  We feel this was a fair amount.  She did not wish to depart with full refund when it was offered and stayed the remaining two days.  We assisted her with anything we could when she asked for that was reasonably and appropriately requested until she became unreasonable, insulting and threatening to my staff and myself - talking over us, never letting us finish a sentence, etc., at which time we did not respond due to legal considerations (as this caused retaliation toward us by her with each interaction).    We have since learned that we are not the only hotel she has done this to in our area.  

We feel we offered her fair and reasonable resolution.

 

******* *******, General Manager

Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Really blaming my family for the damage to the balcony. These horrible conditions in this best western are not write. I have contacted corporate and forwarded her response to corporate. Are you seriously telling me that this manager is harassing me and blackballing me in the ocean shores community by calling other hotels to see if I complained. I cant believe the audacity of this manager. Calling me hostile lying and saying you didn't accuse me of asking for a freebie and yes you did say I was making you and your staff miserable. Yes you came up and brought a bed but only after you offered to put clean sheets on a nasty mattress and you only offered to give a refund after I said I was calling corporate. So you are going to turn this around on me and say that I am acting rude and hostile when are you going to take responsibility for your actions for the rudeness of your staff for the horrible condtions of your hotel. Of course Im going to be angry and ask for a refund look at what you have done to harass and blame my family. At this point in time I don't care about the money in my opinion you should be fired going as far as blaming a hotel guest for damages to a hotel after the guest departs for harassing the guest in the community for yelling and being hostile to me and my family. You have not taken responsibility thus far your so called apologies have been rude and sarcastic you have never admitted that this was complete fault to the hotel you have done nothing but make excuses and blame the guest instead of the hotel. I have never been so mistreated in my life. Yes I had an issue at a previous hotel but they were helpful and apologetic and were not sarcastic and went out of their way to accomidate my family and I. So although I chose not to stay there again due to their issues I was happy with the way things were handled you ******* ******* Manager at Best Western have been blaming hostile and no amount of money can make up for the way you have harassed and blamed my family and I for the horrible service and bad hotel condtions that your hotel has had. When you have sarcastic intention when you are not genuine when you are not sincere and don't take responsibility for the terrible actions of the staff and the horrible condtions of the hotel of course I am not going to feel satisfied of course I am going to feel frustrated because I felt blamed the whole time and rightfully so as you have gone as far as blaming me for the damage on the balcony. You cant just kick in the wood and pull up the stripping and I wouldn't do that my family wouldn't do that  we are good people we did not deserve this. I hope nobody ever has to endure what you have done to me and my family I just cant believe you have harassed my family and blamed us for what we didn't do instead of being sincere and working hard to fix the conditions of the hotel and taking responsibility for your actions and the actions of your staff. You have no buissness being the manager there and I have stayed at other best westerns and never have they ever treated me like this and they had clean rooms and great conditions and they were very friendly. I am scarred from this experience and now very worried to vacation in ocean shores again afraid that your harassment is going to give us a negative experience every time we vacation there. We didn't deserve what you have done. Its wrong and I hope you are held accountable for what you have done ******* ******* Best Western Lighthouse Inn Manager.


Sincerely,

******** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)