This business is not BBB accredited.

Best Western Lakewood Motor Inn

Phone: (253) 584-2212 6125 Motor Ave SW, Lakewood, WA 98499

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Best Western Lakewood Motor Inn include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Best Western Lakewood Motor Inn
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 28, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd St, Olympia WA 98501
Phone Number: 800-525-0127

Business Management
Ms. Jennie Joh, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jennie Joh, Manager
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Best Western

Additional Locations


    6125 Motor Ave SW

    Lakewood, WA 98499 (253) 584-2212


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were charged a pet fee when we had no pet in our room. There was a dog outside of our room that was not ours. The first two rooms we were assigned smelt of smoke and mildew. We have no pet and we were traveling with no pet. Because there was a dog outside our door the motel assumed it belonged to us. We have tried contacting the motel directly along with the Best Western Corp and still have not been able to get this pet fee refunded. This is horrible customer service and unacceptable. I hope that the motel has not tired this on any of their other guests. Product_Or_Service: motel room stay

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want the pet fee that was unfairly charged refunded to us as soon as possible.

Business Response: I apologize for her inconvenience and I understand her frustration but the property owner witnessed the dog walking into the room so the pet charge was necessary in order for us to deep clean the room after she checked out since the room is a Pet Free room. The management from the property is unable to refund the charge.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There was NEVER a dog in our motel room, we don't own a dog nor have we ever owned a dog. The fact that the owner refuses to talk to us personally over the phone should send a red flag. I sincerely hope that this establishment has not done this to other customers. My family will never stay in a Best Western hotel again. I strongly recommend not staying in this motel based upon our experience and based upon other reviews that we have read online about this establishment.

8/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I arrived at the BW Lakewood Motor Inn on 24 June 2014 searching for one night stay. I am a transferring US Army Sergeant being relocated to ***** I was in need of one room, on June 24th. As i was in the office booking my room, the agent assisting took my payment, for $102.29, then proceeded to complete my stay when she noticed she selected the wrong date for my stay. She had selected 26 June 2014, not the day I was standing in the lobby needing a room on 24 June 2014. She apologized and said the hotel was actually booked up with no availability for the night of 24 June 2014. I left, went to the ******* *** and stayed. About a week later, searching through my **** online bank statement, I noticed pending charge for $102.29 from Best Western Lakewood Motor Inn. I called and discussed it with a gentleman who told me to call back the next day if the charge posted. My fiancee called the next day on my behalf and spoke to General Manager ******, who immediately became extremely confrontational,jumping to the conclusion that I, a US Army Sergeant, lied and made a reservation and did not fulfill, and that is why I was charged. She informed my fiancee she needed 24-48 hours to gather information and discuss with employees, before granting a refund. She continued to be very confrontational and extremely unprofessional, as my fiancee became frustrated trying to explain the hotel charged us and we did not stay. I informed my fiancee to get corporate involved, and we did filing a complaint numbered #XXXXXX-XXXX, but was told on Monday no refund would be issued, end of story. I attempted to call & speak with ****** on several occasions trying to understand why she is basically stealing $102, but buteither my fiancee or myself are placed on hold for over 30 minutes, always to be told she is unavailable. I have contacted the Department of Revenue, Department of State, the BBB office, the Lakewood Chamber of Commerce trying to get contact information for the owner of this hotel, but only hotel address & phone number are listed, and all employees as well as ******, have told us they will not release owner information. This bogus hotel charge creates a very substantial integrity issue for myself, as long as a financial issue. I am required, by the US Army to possess and retain ALL receipts for travel, as I can turn them in when prompted. I have no receipt, because we never stayed there, but was charged. I find it the utmost unprofessional act that this hotel preformed, and stole $102.29 from my family and I. I have a very, very big problem with the fact that my integrity as a potential customer, a reward member, an active duty service member, a Noncommissioned Officer in the Army, was challenged, and I demand a refund and the corporation be reprimanded appropriately for this.

Desired Settlement: $102.29 refund to my charged***** account.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Best Western Lakewood Motor Inn
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)