BBB Accredited Business since

Quadrant Corporation, The

Phone: (425) 455-2900 View Additional Phone Numbers 14725 SE 36th St Ste 200, Bellevue, WA 98006 http://www.quadranthomes.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers development, building and managing of commercial and residential buildings, business parks and residential communities.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Quadrant Corporation, The meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Quadrant Corporation, The include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Quadrant Corporation, The
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 03, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1969 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1969
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ken Krivanec, President Ms. Bonnie Geers, Vice President Mr. Dave Mozzone, Vice President Mr. Chris Pallemaerts, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ken Krivanec, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Dave Mozzone, Vice President
Business Category

Home Builders Real Estate Developers Real Estate Building Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Quadrant Homes

Additional Locations

  • 14725 SE 36th St Ste 200

    Bellevue, WA 98006

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/29/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were given a one year limited warranty with our home. We were advised to compile all our concerns and share at once at the end of the year. While we went through this, some of our concerns were not addressed: Framing around window not meeting our standard. We were told to go to home depot and do it ourself...this was the quality we should expect. Then, our oven quit working. We continue to encounter issues. Next, our carpet has rippled. We've never experienced this in any other home. But it too is out of warranty. Finally, last night our sink came detached from the granite and we were told to fix it ourselves. We are appalled at the sub par quality of quadrant homes. It needs to be made clear to owners the shoddy craftsmanship and poor customer experience once keys are provided.

Desired Settlement: We want quadrant to have a vested interest in the poor craftsmanship of their homes. If so many things are falling apart, I would like them to take accountability.as a working mom, I have far too many things on my plate to deal with a home that is falling apart after only two years.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

Ms. ******* closed on her Quadrant Home at ***** ***** ** **, Duvall, WA  98019 on 10/23/2013.  As a part of the purchase, Quadrant Homes provides a new home warranty through the Residential Warranty Company’s Limited Warranty.”  The RWC “Limited Warranty” states that “Your Builder warrants that for a period of one (1) year after the Effective Date of Warranty, warranted items will function and operate as presented in the Warranty Standards of year 1, Section III.A.”  (See attached RWC Pg. 3, I.C.1)

Warranties are limited by nature with the premise that as additional time occurs additional factors like use and wear may contribute to repair concerns.  I regret since the warranty period has expired for Ms. ********* home as of 10/23/2014, Quadrant Homes will take no further action and repairs are considered homeowner maintenance.

Sincerely,

Megan C********
Warranty Operations Manager
Quadrant Homes
(800) 338-8733

1/21/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved into a quadrant house in the ******* neighborhood in ****** ****, ** in march of 2013. This past summer (2015) I noticed significant paint fade on the majority of the exterior of my home. When I consulted the homeowner resource guide on Quadrants web page it stated that the paint was through Sherwin Williams and it had a 5 year warrenty against fading. I consulted (sherwin williams) them about it and they stated that they have had no such warranty, especially when applied by a builder and the application variables that could be involved. I got back to Quadrant rep. with what I had discovered and they had taken the information off their website and told me that a web designer had included the false warranty info. as an attempt to be "thorough". I have picture documented and saved emails from them documenting this. I eventually was able to acquire the name of the painter that physically painted my house (M&D painting) the contact Mike stated that he was sorry that had happened and they did in fact only used one coat of sprayed on paint instead of 2 coats that is recommended by the manufacturer. I'm currently trying to follow up with Mike to have him come look at my inadequate paint job. I have also consulted several paint professionals in the area and they have informed me that the paint should have lasted much longer then 2 years even on a weathered side.

Desired Settlement: For Quadrant to honor the warranty they had listed on their website. Do an ACTUAL quality job repainting my house at their cost.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

Mr. ********** closed on his Quadrant Home at ***** ***** **** *, ****** ****, **  ***** on 3/22/2013.  He contacted the Homeowner Service Dept. on 8/31/2015 concerning exterior paint fading.  Quadrant Homes covers paint fading for the first year of home ownership via the Residential Warranty Company’s “Limited Warranty.”  (See attached RWC Pg. 13, III.A.3.25).  Per the RWC “Limited Warranty,” “Some fading is normal due to weathering. Mildew and fungus on exterior surfaces are caused by climatic conditions and are considered routine maintenance. Varnish or lacquer deteriorates quickly and is not covered by this Limited Warranty.”  Since Mr. ********** reported his concern well after the first year of warranty expired on 3/22/2014, further action to repair is considered home owner maintenance. 

Mr. ********** also inquired after the paint manufacturer, Sherwin Williams’, manufacturer's warranty.  At the time there was a link to a Sherwin Williams paint manufacturer's warranty on quadranthomes.com.  I advised Mr. ********** that manufacturer warranties were separate from any guarantees through Quadrant Homes, so if he had any questions about this warranty he should contact Sherwin Williams directly to see if it would apply for his concern. 

I also researched Mr. **********'s question about the product manufacturer's warranty.  While new home construction was not excluded from coverage anywhere on the manufacturer’s warranty document, in contacting Sherwin Williams I was told this warranty would not apply to new home construction, but rather a retail purchase where the homeowner is purchasing the product directly from the store.  As soon as we were made aware these warranties were not applicable, the manufacturer warranty links were removed from quadranthomes.com. 

Mr. ********** contacted the Homeowner Service Dept. again on 10/20/2015 and 1/11/2016.  Both times we explained, with our apologies, that since the one year warranty through Quadrant Homes has expired, Quadrant Homes would take no further action.  Manufacturer warranties are separate from any guarantee through Quadrant Homes and do not extend or modify the guarantees or coverages granted by Quadrant Homes.  

Sincerely,

Megan C********
Warranty Operations Manager
Quadrant Homes
(800) 338-8733

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I understand that Quadrant covers the products for the manufactures for the first year, and that is fine.  I'm upset with the fact that they had someone post false warranty information on their website without doing any sort of fact checking.  This seems very irresponsible.  Someone's home buying decision could rest on the information that is listed on their website and if its all false or subject to Quadrant's "interpretation" this is unacceptable.  Does this mean that depending on the problem they could just say "oops the website designer made a mistake" and not stand behind their work or the work? of a contractor they have hired?  As mentioned before I have followed up with sherwin williams and Rob (Manager of the ****** **** store) was very surprised to know of what Quadrant was telling people.  He pointed me towards the company that did the actual painting of my house and when I told Mike (Manager at M&D painting) of my problems he was apologetic, but also admitted that Quadrant only requires them to do a "color change" to the house which is only 1 coat of paint instead of 2 which is recommended by the manufacture. Knowing this, Quadrant sold me a home improperly painted.  I have spoke to other paint professionals in the area and they all agree that a house painted PROPERLY should not be showing any fading in only 2 years.

I would like Quadrant to take responsibility for posting false information on their website, hiring someone to an inadequate job painting my house.  This was not sherwin williams fault.  Quadrant and their contractor are the one that did poor work and won't stand by it.  Also recent calls to Mike (M&D painting) to follow up on our initial conversation have not been returned.  I have included pictures of how bad the fading is.


Sincerely,

*** **********

6/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/24/2015 we noticed that the outside faucet was leaking. The foundation was wet and water was actively leaking. We called a plumber to come out on 2/25/2015 and fix the problem. He stated that the connection was cracked under the house. His exact words were, "Found male connection to female hosebibb connection cracked at threads possibly due to over tightening or too much Teflon tape." When we called the manufacturer of the home (which we bought less than 5 years ago) they stated that they would not cover it. The repairs that we had to make because of their negligence were over 600 dollars. The repairs had to be done because of the mold issue and my Wife's asthma. Although Quadrant Homes say they stand behind their homes, they definitely do not and we have the broken parts to prove that. They say that there is nothing that they can do because it has been over 2 years. I would not and will not recommend or buy another home from the Quadrant Corporation. Product_Or_Service: Plumbing Account_Number: Invoice # ******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like them to cover the cost of the repairs (for today $619.07), the cost of the replacement insulation (To be determined) and if there is damage to the sub floor (also to be determined) that those repairs will be covered also.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

Quadrant Homes provides a comprehensive limited warranty from the Residential Warranty Company.  Plumbing is covered for a two year time period after closing with the premise that should a problem be caused by the original installation, a reasonable amount of time is provided to allow concerns to be raised and corrections completed. (RWC Pg 319.16, III.B) 

We received the owner's warranty service request on 2/25/15 and explained that since the two year warranty period had expired as of 3/17/2012, Quadrant Homes would no longer offer warranty repairs for a plumbing leak.  We also considered the information from the owner, who stated the plumber put forth a diagnosis of possible over-tightening as the cause of the crack.  Respectfully, another possible cause of a repair of this nature could be a freeze break after colder winter temperatures.  Since the leaking occurred several years after the home closed this possibility may explain why the leak occurred later and not directly after installation.  Since the 2-year plumbing warranty has expired and we do not believe the cause of the leak to be from installation, Quadrant Homes will take no further action in this matter.  After receiving another e-mail disputing this determination we also responded to the customer on 4/2/15 via e-mail confirming this warranty determination.

Depending on the homeowner's insurance policy, they might check with their insurance provider to see if any coverage would be granted for this repair invoice and for any associated repairs. 

Sincerely,

***** *********
Quadrant Homes Homeowner Service



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Quadrant Corporation, The
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)