BBB Accredited Business since

Carlson Mechanical

Additional Locations

Phone: (206) 533-0685 Fax: (425) 487-0732 View Additional Phone Numbers 4908 169th St SE, Bothell, WA 98012 http://www.carlsonmech.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers installation and repair services of custom boiler systems.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Carlson Mechanical meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Carlson Mechanical include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Carlson Mechanical
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 18, 2001 Business started: 04/01/1999 Business started locally: 04/01/1999 Business incorporated 08/12/2005 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Lori Lee, Vice President Mr. Tim Carlson, Agent Mr. Mark Lee, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lori Lee, Vice President
Business Category

Heating Contractors Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Contractors - General

Alternate Business Names
Nordic Mechanical Inc

Additional Locations

  • 4908 169th St SE

    Bothell, WA 98012 (425) 487-9852 (206) 533-0685

  • PO Box 13412

    Mill Creek, WA 98082

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: $4,500 was paid for a diagnosis and boiler repair. The boiler was not successfully repaired. Upon inspection from another licensed technician, the work by Carlson was not performed to building code. Carlson refuses to provide reimbursement even though they have acknowledged that the work was not done correctly. Other contractors have recommended complete replacement of the unit.

Desired Settlement: Complete Refund

Business Response: Carlson Mechanical has tried to resolve this issue with the customer Mr. ****. When Carlson Mechanical was asked to do the repairs to this boiler, it was just prior to Mr. **** purchasing the home in December
2014. Through the real estate agent and the escrow company, Carlson Mechanical
was asked to repair the boiler so that it was fully functional. In order to do
that, a few new components had to be installed to get the boiler firing. 
All of the equipment was installed correctly. The boiler was fully functional
and heating after our repairs were complete. The real estate agent, and the
escrow company who paid for the repairs ($3832.50 paid by the escrow company,
and $227.76 paid by the real estate agent), acknowledged that the boiler was
successfully repaired and functioning or they would not have been able to go to
settlement with the customer. During the repair our mechanic noticed that the
boiler pump was noisy and should be replaced. Mr. **** agreed and paid for the
new pump ($498.23).



On two other occasions after Mr. **** moved into the home, we were called by
Mr. **** to come out for new issues with the boiler, though it was still firing
and heating both times. We did not charge Mr. **** for these service calls. It
was on one of these subsequent service calls that our mechanic noticed that a
pre-existing valve needed to be re-located.  We have offered several times
to move the valve, installed by others, to ensure that the new safety controls
we installed would be up to code. We have offered to do this at no charge to
the customer. This may be what Mr. **** is referring to when he says:
".... they have acknowledged that the work was not done
correctly."  We reported to Mr. **** that the valve was not in the
correct place, and offered to move it for him. We have never acknowledged to
Mr. **** that the work we performed was done incorrectly.

 

The last time we went out to his home, on February 11th, 2015, it was to
check out some noises and a white substance leaking from the boiler. Our
experienced mechanic had never seen a substance like that and concluded the
possibility of an internal leak in the boiler might be the cause. The boiler
was still fully functional and heating at that time. No actual leaks were
visible and the boiler appeared to be holding pressure. After that we gave Mr.
**** a proposal to replace the boiler, and we did so at a very generous
discount, offering to credit him for the work we had already done towards the
purchase price.  Mr. **** has declined that offer.

 

Since then we have received many notices that Mr. ****
has been publicly misrepresenting the work performed by Carlson Mechanical. We
have always taken great pride in our customer service and stand behind the work
that we do with a full one year warranty. Our customers' satisfaction is always
our first priority of business.



In summary, all new components supplied by Carlson Mechanical for Mr. ****'s
boiler were installed properly and worked as intended. The boiler was fully
functional after the work was completed. Carlson Mechanical stands behind its
one year warranty on the parts and labor that we supplied. The fact that the
boiler later developed additional issues, which were not related to our work,
is beyond our scope of responsibility. Carlson Mechanical states in all of its
proposals that “any existing part of a heating system can fail or become
damaged when subjected to the normal stress of being worked on. While we will
use all due diligence and care when working with existing parts, Carlson
Mechanical is not responsible for the replacement or repair of any existing
part, component, radiator, pipe, etc. that breaks or fails while being worked
on.”

 

Carlson Mechanical has been in business for almost
twenty years. Our skilled mechanics have almost ninety years experience among
them. We take great pride in the work that we do and we always strive to exceed
our customer's expectations. Our efforts to resolve this with Mr. **** have
been sincere and with the high standard of integrity that we practice at
Carlson Mechanical.