BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1989

Washington Energy Services

Phone: (800) 398-4663Fax: (206) 378-66053909 196th St SW, LynnwoodWA 98036-5732

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and installation of furnaces, heat pumps and air conditioning units, gas fireplaces, windows, doors, siding, gutters, gutter protection systems, plumbing and water heaters. They also offer repair and maintenance services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1989

BBB has determined that Washington Energy Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Washington Energy Services' rating include:

  • 15 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Washington Energy Services' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues4
Problems with Product / Service11
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Washington Energy Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (15)BBB Closure Definitions
07/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: Attempted to contact *** ****** numerous times to resolve a repair issue. He will not answer emails or phone calls.

Initial Business Response
We are sorry for the difficulties Mr ****** has faced in contacting ***. *** had, at Mr. ******' request contacted a landscaper working for Mr. ****** to discuss the situation. The Landscaper had told *** that he would handle contacting Mr. ******, so *** didn't. *** did not realize that Mr. ****** was expecting him to also call. The landscaper was supposed to take the next steps but did not get back to us until this Monday. When *** received communication from Mr ****** this week, they emailed and spoke on the phone. Yesterday *** was in touch with Mr ****** to resolve his repair issues, prior to us receiving this complaint. We appreciate Mr ******' business and understand that the issue is resolved already.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: I had a WES technician out at the house 3 different times in April 2014 for the exact same problem with my heat pump. Now, 2 1/2 months later, the problem is right back. All of the money spent did not fix the problem. The system will be only 4 years old in September. I have found it extremely difficult to get ahold of anyone. They do not return calls in a timely fashion. They do not respond to the on-line service request. This is an issue that I believe their technicians should know how to solve. I am extremely disappointed in the level of service that they show to the customers. I would never recommend them to anyone.

Initial Business Response
We sincerely apologize for the frustration experienced by Mr & Mrs ****, and will work with them to fix the issue. We received correspondence from ***** in the morning of 7/8 and received this complaint around noon, before we were able to contact her. Our field service manager, **** ******** contacted her on 7/8 and made arrangements for us to visit her home and review the situation on 7/10 at no charge. It was found that the coil had failed. The most common cause of coil failure is manufacturing defect. A temporary fix was done that day. This part has a 5 year parts/1 year labor warranty and was installed 9/22/11. Therefore it is still eligible for the parts warranty. **** followed up with ***** on 7/11 to present and explain a plan, and she agreed to it. First the coil will be replaced. It is being ordered on 7/11 and the appointment will be set once it is received. A reduced labor charge has been agreed to by the customer. We will credit her for all prior repair costs and provide a free one year membership in our maintenance program, so we will be coming back to check on it and make sure it's working correctly. We will use her feedback on communication issues to do internal retraining as necessary. We appreciate their business and hope that the ***** will contact us directly if there are any additional questions.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
I was finally contacted later than my deadline that I had given WES. A technician came out. The following day I was contacted by the Service Manager, ****, and he has been following up and taking care of the problems that I am having. I am currently satisfied with the level of attention that my problems are now receiving and I have been assured by **** that everything will be taken care of.

We can close this out.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

11/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: New 2 stage furnace installed 11/10/2013.
A loud "oil can" noise is made during the "high fire" cycle at start up and shut down of the cycle.
Numerous visits were made by W.E.S technicians to try to resolve the issue (bracing added to the ductwork, York board replaced, re-programming of the software, etc.) but the loud noise persists.

Initial Business Response
Our apologies to *** ********* that we lost his communication to us that the problems he had were persisting. It had been a while since we had heard from him and made the incorrect assumption that it was fixed. Our Installation manager has now spoken to him and will be going out to the site to resolve the issue. We will go to his house and check the furnace, sizing and the air delivery and duct pressure. From there we will either change the furnace or modify the duct work to resolve the problems he has been having. We expect to be able to do this assessment within a week and will follow through to ensure the noise issue is completely resolved. ************ indicated to our manager on the phone that this action and proposed resolution will meet his needs satisfactorily.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: We requested annual maintenance service on the appliances we've purchased from Washington Energy Services, recently the furnace/heat pump serviced serviced our furnace and found extreme build-up inside the unit which will require intense cleaning. In observing this product we could clearly see this was a direct neglegence of the previous services we've received from former techs. The most recent serviceperson gave us a bid of $735.00 to do the intense cleaning needed in order that our air conditioner operate properly. As a result of their neglegence my husband who is a severly disabled veteran suffers from the condensation he breathes from the unit. We need Washington Energy Services to clean this unit without charge to us as we have paid over the last 7 years for annual maintenance.

Initial Business Response
Thank you for contacting us. We are always available at XXX-XXX-XXXX directly and are committed to ensuring your satisfaction.

Our serivce manager met with ******* last week. He addressed her worries of the coil blockage. This is a maintenance issue about cleaning the coil. Right now, the coil is being used for cooling and it needs to be not in use in order to be properly cleaned. Our manager will be contacting her in Sept when we are out of cooling season and can get the coil dry. We will be able to vacuum out the dried material and get the coil clean. This will be coved under her Guardian Maintenance program and she will not be charged.

We are committed to ensuring the ******'s satisfaction and appreciate their business.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: I had a fireplace "serviced" and I think Washington Energy Services need to get out of the fireplace business. The worker also did not discount me for military. He lit the pilot and then said the fireplace was broke - and needed a main gas valve and solenoid and to replace the main gas valve. It was going to cost me $800 and he stated I should just buy a new one as these fireplaces are only good for 20-25 years and then break The lady called promptly on Monday to come and give me a free estimate to replace it. I found the manual online, and it is only from 1995, Also the manual suggested I contact my gas provider which I did. He came out this afternoon and lit the fireplace. It works perfectly, from the blower, to the gas valve to the solenoid to the chimney output. It is sad to think of the elderly getting ripped off. I called them and took my information and said they would get back to me. I requested at the very least, a military discount but want a refund due to he performed only 1/2 the cleaning due to it being "broken and why clean?" THen he left me with the invoice stating the things wrong with it.

Initial Business Response
We spoke with ***** about this issue yesterday and apologized for the mistake of our technician in misdiagnosing the issue. It was an honest mistake.

***** was given a military discount on her invoice. Our technician may not have explained it. However, because the appointment for a maintenance did not conclude well, we did not charge her anything. So, her card was never charged.

When our manager spoke with ***** yesterday, he went over her concerns, explained that we did not charge her and we offered, and she accepted, to send a senior technician over to check in on her system and make sure everything is working properly. She told our manager that was okay and we hope we have mended our issue with her. We do value her as a customer and are sorry for causing frustration. If she has any further requests, she can always contact us at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating Contractors, Furnace Cleaning, Furnace Sales & Service, Sewer Pipe, Heating Equipment, Duct Cleaning, Energy Audits, Windows, Water Heaters - Dealers, Fireplaces, Doors, Heating & Air Conditioning, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors, Sewer Inspection, Sewer Contractors, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbing Contractors, Piping Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts, Doors - Repair, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1977Business started: 01/01/1957
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW
Tumwater, WA98501-5414
(800) 647-0982
http://www.lni.wa.gov

Contact Information
Principal: Ms Gretchen Marks (VP Marketing)Ms Tamara Davis (Internal Operations Manager)Mr. David Piscitelli (Vice President of Sales)
Business Category

Heating Contractors, Furnace Cleaning, Furnace Sales & Service, Sewer Pipe, Heating Equipment, Duct Cleaning, Energy Audits, Windows, Water Heaters - Dealers, Fireplaces, Doors, Heating & Air Conditioning, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors, Sewer Inspection, Sewer Contractors, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbing Contractors, Piping Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts, Doors - Repair, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
Northwest Water Heater
Industry Tips
Air Conditioning Service and Maintenance
Dont Get Burned by Furnace Fraud
Fall Inspections Make for Warmer Winters
Heating Your Home
Safety Considerations When Using Kerosene Heaters

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Washington Energy Services

3909 196th St SW

Lynnwood, WA 98036-5732

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3909 196th St SW 

    Lynnwood, WA 98036-5732(800) 398-4663

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Washington Energy Services is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.