BBB Accredited Business since

Pacific Air Systems

Phone: (253) 581-5272 View Additional Phone Numbers 12811 Pacific Hwy SW, Lakewood, WA 98499 http://www.pacificairsystems.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers heating and air conditioning service, repair, replacement and other related services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pacific Air Systems meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pacific Air Systems include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pacific Air Systems
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 23, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1984 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Peter Hungate, President Mr. Robbie Negron, Operations Manager Mr. Dan Quails, Field Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Peter Hungate, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Robbie Negron, Operations Manager
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors

Products & Services

Pacific Air Systems sells the following brand(s): American Standard, Bradford White, York

Pacific Air Systems offers the following product(s): Air Conditioner, Duct Cleaning, Electric Furnace, Emergency Repair Service, Gas Furnace, Heat Pump, Indoor Air quality Products, Installation and Air Conditioning Add On, Precision Tune-up and Preventative Maintenance

Method(s) of Payment

Cash

Check

Credit Card

Alternate Business Names
Air Systems Northwest Inc Air Systems NW Inc

Additional Locations

  • 12811 Pacific Hwy SW

    Lakewood, WA 98499 (253) 581-5272

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mother-in-law, an 88 year old widow who lives alone in Tacoma, had Pacific Air Systems of Lakewood come out due to a furnace problem. While there, the company's service advisor, **** ***** told her that her electric service panel is old and is a potential fire hazard. (I checked on ************************ panels myself and found that to be true) He then gave a verbal estimate of $3,495 for a new service panel. I learned of it and asked my mother-in-law to request a written proposal in the mail. Mr. ***** finally sent one. The total with tax is $3,717.52. I got another bid for the same work from another local electrical contractor, **************. That proposal totaled $1,011.02 w/o tax and an additional $100 charge for Tacoma City Power to come out and disconnect/reconnect the power at the meter. Pacific Air Systems would have charged approximately $2,520 more for the same work, i.e. over three times what the other contractor bid.

Desired Settlement: I want this overcharge practice to stop. If my mother-in-law had signed Pacific Air System's proposal and paid for the service it would have constituted elder abuse according to NCEA, National Center on Elder Abuse. www.ncea.aoa.gov. Please adivse via email how I can send copies of both proposals, the high one and the resonable one to your office as support for my complaint. Thanks in advance

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (12210, 9, 2013/06/10) */ We understand the customer's frustration and want to address the concerns. Some things of note #1 - The accusation that our company abuses the elderly or any member of our society is unfortunate and could not be farther from the truth. Our pricing is not subject to change on individual customers based on age or any other factor, we do not change our price based on the customer we are offering our products and services to, we have pricing guides that all of our employees use. We take pride in caring for our community as that is what our business truly is and why we have been successful in business since 1984. #2 - Our pricing models follow a very respected national model in the HVAC industry built by a large group of nationally recognized successful and customer focused contractors in the United States of America, we do not overcharge, but rather follow very strict guidelines created by several national contracting groups that make up some of the most well respected contracting companies in the U.S.. #3 - There are contractors out there who price differently than we do, though we can not comment on how the other contractor priced their work, we do know that our pricing is done correctly per our model that we follow and is fair with the products and services we provide. Unfortunately there are not so honest contractors out there that damage the reputation of our industry, we however are not one of them. Our respected A+ rating with the BBB as well as other respected agencies like ************ happen because we value our customers and our community as a whole. We are sorry Mr. ******* felt otherwise. Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 21, 2013/08/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 8/1/2013 I am offended by your attempt to placate me by offering to refund the prepaid tune up service my mother-in-law has with your company. Yes, I agree as you stated that "this particular issue ------ is strictly a price complaint" That is all it has been from the beginning. What will change the way you do business if I accept your offer? Nothing, I am afraid! You could go on charging approximately 300% over other contractors' prices using (in your own words from your initial response) "very strict (pricing) guidelines created by several national contracting groups that make up some of the most well respected contracting companies in the U.S." As stated in my original complaint," I want this overcharge practice to stop." I am requesting the Better Business Bureau of Washington review our responses, make a determination, then take appropriate steps so situations like this won't happen to others, especially the elderly. Concerning the precision tune-up contract: We wish to cancel this contract and be refunded for any services not yet performed by your company. A check mailed to my mother-in-law for that amount would be appreciated. A service call record related to that contract would also be appreciated if the refund is less than the full contract amount. Please, no personal visits to my mother-in-law. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 19, 2013/07/30) */ Unfortunately there is not much more we can address for this particular issue which is strictly a price complaint. To show the customer good faith in our products and services, we would be happy to refund the customers full amount on her prepaid service for a precision tune-up she has with us as a gesture of good customer service and on top of that willing to perform that service for free even after the refund. We would do this just as a customer service gesture to assure the customer we are not a company who is out to take advantage of anyone in our community.