Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Olson Energy Service

Phone: (206) 782-5522 Fax: (206) 782-1303 View Additional Phone Numbers 4415 Leary Way NW, Seattle, WA 98107 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.olsonenergy.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers HVAC equipment and service as well as equipment installation and service contracts on heating and cooling equipment. This company offers heating and air conditioning service and repair, as well work with fireplace inserts.  This company installs water heaters, ductless mini-split systems and works on boilers.  This company also offers electrical work.  This company offers air duct cleaning.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Olson Energy Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Olson Energy Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Olson Energy Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1969 Business started: 01/01/1926 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1926
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Phil Suetens, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Phil Suetens, Member
Related Businesses
Filco Company Inc Seattle Tank & Tacoma Tank Services
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Duct Cleaning Energy Management & Conservation Consultant Hail Repair

Products & Services

Olson Energy Service sells the following brand(s): Carrier, Bryant, Bradford White Water Heaters, Mitsubishi Ductless Systems

Olson Energy Service offers the following product(s): Furnaces, Heat Pumps, Air Cleaners, Air Conditioners, Ductless Mini-Split Systems, Air Handlers, Fireplace Inserts, Thermostats, Air Duct Cleaning, Electrician Services, Equipment Service Contracts

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express
Alternate Business Names
CNP LLC Olson Energy Service & Gas Appliance Service

Additional Locations

  • 4415 Leary Way NW

    Seattle, WA 98107 (206) 782-5522 (425) 637-0811

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My electronic air-purifier is making a weird noise. I made appointment. They said they would send someone out for a visit for an HVAC tune-up who would then examine purifier and tell me estimate of cost to repair which I could approve or not. When the guy gets here, I tell him the about the purifier problem. He says it's broken, it's old, no parts, not fixable. I then wait for him to start HVAC tune-up. No, he says, that's not included. That's $136 plus tax. I say, WHAT? I would not pay $125 for a guy to come out and tell me my purifier is broken when I knew something was wrong with it already.

Desired Settlement: I would like a discount of AT LEAST $50. It's ridiculous to charge me $125 (this includes tax)for a guy to come out here and tell me it's broken and that it is not repairable, and then do no tune-up. I would never have approved this appointment if I knew this was the case.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/09/26) */ I am very sorry for the misunderstanding with this customer. I overheard the original phone call and a tune-up was never mentioned, only the problem with her air cleaner. I want to stress that we never charged this woman for anything. She owes us nothing. Again, I'm sorry for the misunderstanding, but she was never charged a penny by us. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 15, 2014/09/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I confirm they did not end up charging me

4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Olson Energy Service replaced an old oil furnace with a new natural gas furnace and replaced an fairly new electric water heater with a natural gas water heater in a new location. There were several small issues with the job. One being that getting the ducts swept was implied to be part of the service when in fact it was not. Having our oil tank removed was also verbally promised (although the written quote used very general terms), but then they tried to get out of that too. In the end they did remove it after a couple months. At no time during the quote or installation process did anyone from ***** say that changing the location of the water heater would affect the ability to get consistent hot water out of the taps in the home. Since the installation of the new water heater we can only get hot water from one tap at a time (master bedroom shower or faucet or guest bathroom, or kitchen, etc). When we explained our issue to ***** they ignore us and when we finally got their attention they said that it couldn't possibly be a new problem, we must be imagining it. Finally, after saying we would not pay the balance until the problem was resolved, they sent out a person they said was a plumber. The worker who showed up was a very nice person, but was not a plumber. The issue was still not resolved. Meanwhile, the new water heater is costing us more money than the old one and we still can only get hot water out of one tap at a time. We asked they they return our old water heater or similar if they'd already sold it and they refused. They've never followed up with us, we've always had to follow up with them. They had the audacity to try and charge us financing charges on the remaining balance while we've been trying to work with them to find a solution.

Desired Settlement: Ideally, we would like them to fix the problem or return our old water heater. They have proved themselves incapable or unwilling to do either. We have paid the remaining balance minus the insulting "discount" of $150 on a $8,000+ job for our trouble. We are ignoring the finance charges. It says on their website that 100% Customer Satisfaction is their #1 Goal. They do not do business this way. We want other customers to be aware that this is a company you should not do business with, regardless of how good their quote appears.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/04/03) */ Good Morning, I will try and address these complaints in order: 1) Duct cleaning while possibly being discussed in the first visit was not promised and was not on the contract signed by ******** 2)) Tank removal is secondary to the installation job and is always done by a different crew when we have an opening in our schedule. Getting heat to customers is our number one priority at that time of the year; most customers understand that and are patient with it. If that was not communicated to the ********** clearly I apologize. 3) Since moving a tank does not create a problem 99% of the time, how could we inform them that it would happen? 4) In 24 years of running this company we have never refused to go back to an installation for any reason. Often customers have questions and we are happy to address them. It's simply not true that we would try and diagnose an issue over the phone. We would certainly discuss possible answers, but we would never refuse to go look at it. 5) The technician we dispatched is very experienced at installing water tanks and was sent to inspect for any defects in the installation not the ********* existing plumbing. 6) Old equipment is recycled immediately and could not be returned. As it turns out, that would not have solved the problem anyway. 7) The finance charge is completely our fault and should not have been applied. It's done automatically and we failed to change the setting on their account. 8) We did sent a certified plumbing company to check out the system and he diagnosed a systemic problem in the old galvanize pipe. His opinion was that nothing we did could have created the situation. The $150.00 dollar discount was an attempt to participate in the cost of a repair that was not caused by us but at the same time could not have been anticipated by the homeowners. While I did not deal with the ********** myself, our company philosophy has always been to stick with our customers until they are satisfied. I can't be sure how communications failed so miserably in this case and while I'm sorry that it did, in no way do I feel that we were negligent in any way. Sometimes unforeseen issues come up and a compromise is required. **** ********** GM

2/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 26 a furnace technician came to our house in the late afternoon to inspect our furnace, which was starting and stopping intermittently, especially at night. He told us that the circuit board was broken and and that we should consider replacing the entire furnace, as it was 17 years old. We declined, and he replaced the circuit board. He also told us that he could offer us the new circuit board for a 'discount' at $677 if we signed up for an E.S.A. Service Contract for $149. He said that without the so-called discount the 'regular' price for the circuit board would be higher than the cost of the Service Contract. We were told that this service contract agreement meant that our furnace would be serviced for free one year from this date. As it was late, extremely cold, and we trusted the technician, we agreed to this arrangement.The next morning we looked online and found that a new circuit board of the exact same specifications (Upgraded Carrier Furnace Control Circuit Board 325878-751) could be purchased for $199.99 from ******* This means that the company inflated the price of this part by more than 4 times, and then told us that a reduced price was a 'discount,' but one we could only get if we signed up for their service contract as ESA clients. We wrote a polite letter to Olsen Energy, attaching screen shots of the ****** offer and others, and requesting a partial refund (of the amount of the Service Contract), but never received a reply except for a receipt with the word PAID stamped in red. Inexplicably, a few days after that, we then received another bill, this one for a service contract for $163.16. We have no idea why we were billed again for yet another service contract. We wrote again on December 10th, but did not get a reply. Product_Or_Service: Furnace Control Circuit Board and installation Order_Number: Invoice XXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund We are asking for a refund of the $149 service contract, which we do not want, and which clearly is not related to a discount. We would also like the company to stop billing us for $163.16 for another service contract.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2014/02/10) */ We were called to the ***** *** *** ** by the homeowner due to an intermittent no heat situation with their furnace. Our technician arrived at 4:08pm and proceeded to diagnose the problem. When he determined the cause of the problem he then informed the customer of what the repair would cost. Typically this repair cost is not $813.95, it is $677.00.sed invoice. They were then told of an available discount is they became an Energy Savings Agreement customer (which they had been in the past). The customer purchased the agreement, we did the repair and they were charged accordingly. This agreement offers a 15% discount on needed repairs as well as an annual tune-up on the unit. They elected to buy the agreement and we gave them the discount even though technically the discount would only be available to customers who were under the agreement at the time of the call. After the call was completed and their furnace was running, they cancelled the service contract they previously said they wanted. We credited the agreement price to their credit card on the 18th of December and I've included the receipt for that in this correspondence. Additionally we did not then charge them the price the repair should have been without the agreement. As for billing them for the contract: They had already paid for it on their original invoice, what we sent was a statement of the terms of the agreement, not a bill, which I have also enclosed. Energy Savings Agreements are meant to provide a service to our customers and to develop a relationship that benefits all. The tune-up that is free with the agreement has a normal retail value of $236.00 plus tax and a discount of 15% on any no heat calls during the year. The annual cost is $149.00 plus tax. One of the largest benefits is our guaranteed service in situations where we have to turn away non contract customers at the busiest time of the year. As you can see this is a very good value to the customer, not a gimmick of any kind. As to the price of the repair: while I certainly understand it is expensive, I don't think most consumers understand what it cost to have the Factory parts on our shelves, educate the technicians, provide them with vehicles, auto insurance, health insurance and wages so that they are fully prepared to serve the public. Nor do they know the bad results using inferior parts sold on the internet under legitimate names. Please let me know at your earliest the resolution to this complaint. Thanks for your assistance, **** * ***** G.M. Olson Energy Service


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Olson Energy Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)