BBB Accredited Business since

Hayes Heating

Phone: (253) 893-0051 Fax: (425) 251-4031 19219 68th Ave S Ste M109, Kent, WA 98032 http://www.hayesheating.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential heating and air conditioning services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hayes Heating meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hayes Heating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hayes Heating
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 09, 2007 Business started: 04/01/2007 Business started locally: 04/01/2007 Business incorporated 02/09/2007 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Linda Hayes, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Linda Hayes, Member
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Repair Heating Contractors Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)


Additional Locations

  • 19219 68th Ave S Ste M109

    Kent, WA 98032 (253) 893-0051

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on Jan 12 I got a quote from Hayes Heating for having a heat pump installed in my house. 2 people - *** (owner) and **** looked at the furnace, and provided the cost for 2 options. I picked one of them and we agreed on the price. On January 14th I received the Installation Agreement in an email, which I signed and returned the same day. Then I called their office, and gave ***** the credit card number. The installation was scheduled for January 21st 2015. On January 21st 2015 two people came for the install - **** and *****. They stood in the same place where *** and **** initially stood for the quote, discussed for about 30 minutes and then they walked away and told me someone will be in touch with me. Later the same day *** called me and told me that they cannot do the job, because it would cost "at least a few thousands dollars more". So I wasted my time, turned down other offers and settled down with the idea that Jan 21st I'll start saving money on heating and my home will be improved. All in vain.

Desired Settlement: First I'd like to point that this is by far NOT the way a company which pretends to be an "A+" BBB rating company does business. You saw the job beforehand, provided a quote, so please respect yourself enough to actually do the job (for the amount you quoted). Second, I think they owe me for the amount of time spent while dealing with them, and for the missed savings, as I will need to spend more time finding another contractor. I don't think I want to do business with Hayes again, so I will try to find another quote for the same equipment, and I'd like Hayes to pay the difference between their quote and the one I'll get for a similar installation. This would be fair to me as a consumer.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
*******,

What I signed was an 'Installation AGREEMENT', not an estimate.
They made me a written offer, which I accepted through signature, so it became a contract.

According to our contract, they showed up at my house on the date we mutually agreed on. So they technically started on their part of the contract.

**** was present both at the estimate and on the day of the installation, so how can it be claimed that "**** noticed things that *** had not noticed", when it was **** looking at the furnace and the ductwork both the times ?
What I told them was not "go ahead but I would pay no money".
What I said was "please perform everything we agreed to be performed for the amount we agreed on".
I respected our agreement and performed all the actions I signed for - providing payment information etc.
Hayes Heating did not entirely honor their part of the contract.

This is a dirty way to do business. They first submit a good bid, to get the customer to sign on it and potentially reject other bids, as was my case.
Then they show up at customer's house and claim that there was a mistake during the estimate, and they want more money. Significantly more money.

This is not how people should be treated. Neither professionally or personally.

As for me being entitled to compensation I will consider hiring an attorney after this claim is closed.

Thank you.
******

Business Response:

Dear *******,

Thank you for sending the letter concerning ****** ****** @ ***** *** ** ** **** * Newcastle, WA 98059.

** ***** did sign an estimate for installation with Hayes Heating.  He also called in a credit card number which I did NOT process at any time.

On the day the job was scheduled *** and our lead installer came out and reviewed how we were going to approach the job.  On inspection, **** noticed things that *** had not noticed when he was out to initially sell the job.  After careful deliberation, *** and **** decided that *** had seriously underbid the job.  ** **** said we could go ahead and do the job but would pay no more money.

Since we had not signed the contract (quote) nor processed any payment, we decided to forego doing this work.  It would have cost us thousands of dollars in losses.

We did not walk out on the job.  "Walking out on the job" implies one has started the job.  We never started the job.

I'm sorry ** ******.  There was no money exchanged, we did no work for you and so you are not our customer.  We will not send you any money for a job that you obviously know will cost more to do.

We underbid the job and decided to pass. We are sorry for the error but you are not entitled to any compensation.  I do apologize for the mistake in the bid.

I wish you well.

Sincerely,

***** *****

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Hayes Heating: apologies accepted. I hope I am the last wrongfully-quoted customer.

Sincerely,

****** ******

11/20/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/15/14 Hayes heating came out replace my gas furnace pressure switch , it was stop working on 9/11/14 the part still under warranty , so they came out check it again , the person worked on my heat his name's **** , he's tear a part out of my heat and through it at front my face with out asking me , he's spend about 15 minutes in my house , he told me the part they we're replace is bad so it still under warranty , and he took a pressure switch away and told me need replace control board for $600 , my control was working good , I called them return my pressure switch they want charge me $249 for service if I want the pressure switch back

Desired Settlement: I would like they return my pressure switch back , and I not pay $249 they try charged me , they try scam me and so rude , 5 days we don't have heat in the house , my 3 little kids get cold, these people don't have sympathy , thank you

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 5, 2014/09/30) */ STATEMENT FROM***************** - SERVICE TECH OF 30 YEARS WORKING FOR HAYES HEATING On Sept 11, 2014 at 4PM, I went to *************** house at ************ ** in Kent for a NO HEAT call. I found out he had a bad pressure switch. I tried two other pressure switches and none worked. (they come in a variety of pressure ranges) and the circuit board diagnostic lights said that the pressure switch is bad. If the pressure switch is replaced and the diagnostic board lights still say the pressure switch is bad, then the circuit board is replaced. (The circuit board does not have a flashing code to replace itself) I told him that he needs a new pressure switch and possibly a new circuit board, and that I could not order both from ******* until Friday (tomorrow morning). I told him I would call him when the parts came in, not until at least Monday. I called him Friday and told him the parts would arrive on Monday. He called me Saturday and told me he was having some other heating company coming out to fix it. He was told that the pressure switch was under warranty, but he had to pay for the service call/labor. He refused to pay our charges of $119 service call and $109 labor plus tax. We have already been to ********* house once and he refused to pay our service call fee. If he wants his part back, he can call our office to come and pick up the part. Sincerely, *************, Owner Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) the statement from Hayes Heating wasn't true, on 9-11-2014 I did call hayes heating and told them the pressure switch stop working , and some one on the phone told me the part they're replace on 5-25-2104 still under warranty so he will send some one out , that person didn't mention any service charge with me ,and **** is person came to my house , the first thing **** did torn out the big insulation inside my furnace and throw it right at front my face with out ask or said anything to me and he's didn't replace the new one until now ,the insulation got nothing to do with the problems ,and then **** told me the pressure switch they're replace on 5-25-2014 was bad and it's still under warranty , also he want me replace the circuit board for $600 , I point it out to him the light is on the circuit board it was solid on that's mean normal operation ,it's show on the trouble shoot sticker came with the furnace ,and **** said He's guess the circuit board was bad ,after **** took out the old pressure switch He left all electric wires laided on top the furnace gas pipe I had to taped all electric wire for safety ,he doesn't care at all , and then he left my house with my old pressure switch , he said he'll call me later that day ,so I don't hear any thing from **** , I did call back the same day no one pick up the phone , I woke up next day 9-12-2014 call the Hayes heating again no one pick up the phone again , I did left few messages regarded the pressure switch , and no one call back , on 9-13-2014 I called back again and left more messages I need my switch back because at times my house was cold and I had 3 kids live in the house , and finally *** the person called me back after I complain with about **** did , Mr *** hung up on me with out said a word ,an hour later **** call me back , He said the pressure switch will be in on 9-15-2014 , one again no one call me on 9-15-2014 ,so I had to call them back , I believe **** was person pick up the phone and told me the part wasn't there ,I told him what's going on with the problems with his company service ,**** told me drop the pass don't complain and rude to me and then hung up phone on me , I can't deal with it no more , so I go bought one pressure switch from Hvac for $42 and replace by my self , now my furnace running good , don't need replace the $600 circuit board like **** told me , because **** didn't clean up the hose connect the pressure switch to the fan so dirt get clog up ,how do I known ,I did research on line , youTube and my neighbor hood , **** was in my house total 15 minutes didn't fix my furnace , but he try made damage to my furnace , like torn down the insulation inside the furnace and left 2 electrical wires laid on top gas pipe with out tape up , now they want charge me for service , what's service they did ? , the part they put in for me still under warranty , I should not pay for any service or part ,I did pay HAYES HEATING $90 service plus the pressure switch and tax total $209, they try charge me because I didn't replace the circuit board like they told me , I could take them to the court for destroy my furnace and scam ,and I got all phone calls record , they didn't call me to let me know when the switch be there , It's took me 3 days to tracked them down , Mr *** , **** and **** all 3 cover up for each other , if I'm the bad people I'm not pay Mr *** $209 for the first time came to my house , thank you for spend times to review my letter Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 16, 2014/11/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) THE PRESSURE SWITCH HAYES HEATING WAS REPLACE ON 5/5/14 LABOR PART AND SERVICE I PAID FOR $209, IT WAS UNDER WARRANTY FOR 1 YEARS , IT WAS STOP WORKING ON 9/11/14 , I DID CALL HAYES AND TOLD THEM THE PART THEY REPLACE WAS STOP WORKING AND SOME ONE TOLD ME ON THE PHONE HE WILL SEND SOME ONE OUT THERE FOR TAKE A LOOK AT , HE LOOK UP THEIR SYSTEM AND TOLD ME THE PART WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY , HE DIDN'T TOLD ME ANY SERVICE FEE, MY NEIGHBOR HAD THE SAME FURNACE WITH ME , AND HE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM ABOUT PRESSURE SWITCH , IT'S A COMMON PROBLEM , JUST CLEAN OUT THE PRESSURE AND IT WILL WORK AGAIN , BUT **** ***** EMPLOYER CAME TO MY HOUSE ON 9/11/14 , HE WANT ME REPLACE THE CIRCUIT BOARD FOR $600 , I POINT IT TO **** THE LABEL ON THE FURNACE , IT'S SAID (LED LIGHT ON THAT'S MEAN MY CIRCUIT BOARD IS NORMAL OPERATE )MY CIRCUIT BOARD LED LIGHT WAS ON , BUT HE STILL WANT ME REPLACE IT , AFTER **** LEFT , HE DIDN'T GIVE ME A CALL BACK , I DID CALL HAYES HEATING ON SAME DAY NO ONE RESPONSE AND I KEPT CALL THEM BACK THE DAY AFTER AND THE DAY AFTER , TOOK ME 3 DAYS TO GOT HOLD OF THEM , THEY DIDN'T CALL ME , THE BIG PIECE INSULATION **** RIP IT OFF , IT WAS GLUE REALLY GOOD , NO WAY IT CAME OFF , THE GLUE **** STILL ON MY FURNACE WALL ***** RIP IT OFF AT FRONT OF ME , **** DIDN'T EXPLAIN TO ME OR ASK ME BEFORE HE'S RIP THAT'S PIECE OFF ,IF THEY BE HONEST WITH ME AND DO THEY'RE JOBS , I'LL PAY THEM , BUT HAYES HEATING WASN'T HONEST THEY TRY SCAM ON ME , LUCKY MY NEIGHBOR TOLD ME BE CAREFUL , I THOUGH THE HAYES HEATING OWNER SHOULD LISTEN TO CUSTOMER COMPLAINT , BUT THEY DON'T , IF THEY WANT , I CAN GIVE THEM MY OLD SWITCH THEY TOOK FROM ME ,AND DON'T BOTHER ME , THANKS , HERE I FOUND ON THE'RE WEBSITE COMPLAINT Hayes Heating & Cooling XXXXX XXth *** S *** ****** Kent, WA XXXXX (XXX) XXX-XXXX Provided by ********** My wife and I purchased a ******* furnace from them that they installed at a cost of over $5000. Over the next 13 months the furnace quit running no less than six times! And 4 of those failures came in the first four months of ownership. My wife and I foolishly kept giving them chances to make it work properly and/or replace it. They couldn't and/or wouldn't. We had to hire another, much more competent/fair dealing, company to remove Hayes' mistake and install a furnace that worked. Incompetent service staff and and inattentive customer service are the hallmarks of Hayes Heating and Cooling. There are MANY much better companies to hire that are cheaper. Stay away from this company. Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2014/11/18) */ RE: CASE #********: ********** Dear Sirs/Madame: Hayes Heating did come out for the very first time to ********** house @ ****************, Covington, Wa 98042. We replaced a pressure switch and he paid us after tax a total of $203.67. This is the one and only payment ******** has paid us. We did not install the furnace. He was never charged any more money and we have repeatedly said that he can come by the office and pick up the switch. Please find enclosed the total refund ******** has spent with Hayes I am sorry you were unhappy with our service. I hope this resolves any issues with our company. My sincerest apologies. Thank you, *********** Owner ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hayes Heating
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)