This business is not BBB accredited.

All-Ways Air Control

Additional Locations

Phone: (253) 383-7718 Fax: (253) 383-7736 View Additional Phone Numbers 1515 Center St, Tacoma, WA 98409 http://www.all-waysaircontrol.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers heating and air conditioning services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for All-Ways Air Control include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on All-Ways Air Control
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 1997 Business started: 05/01/1992 Business started locally: 05/01/1992 Business incorporated 02/01/1993 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim Chapman, President Mrs. Bernadette Chapman, Secretary Mrs. Bernie Chapman, Secretary Mr. Dwayne Curtiss, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Bernie Chapman, Secretary
Principal: Mr. Jim Chapman, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Alternate Business Names
All Ways Air Control Inc All- Ways Air Control Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1515 Center St

    Tacoma, WA 98409 (800) 546-9554 (253) 383-7718 (877) 425-9297

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    27010 Florence Rd

    Stanwood, WA 98292 (360) 939-2637

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are the first owners of our home. We bought the home in 2007. We bought a brand new Lennox air conditioner that summer from All-Ways Air Control. They were also the company that installed the unit. EVERY YEAR since the install by All-Ways, the air conditioner has needed to be repaired. EVERY YEAR! We have called All-Ways to repair the issues REPEATEDLY. We were told that the AC unit was leaking freon REPEATEDLY. The company then checks for leaks. They know there is one, but, cannot find it. But EVERY spring when we go to start the unit, there is little to no freon in the system. Clearly, they have NOT fixed the problem. This year, once again, the unit is not working. Now, the compressor is ruined. I have two companies that stated that the primary reason the compressor isn't working is because it was running without freon in the system. The two companies that made that statement was All-Ways Air Control technician and******************************************** technician and owner. After calling All-Ways Air Control and explaining the situation, I was told by the manager to talk the owner, *****. I have left repeated messages for ***** to return my phone call to resolve the issue to which there has been no response. Clearly, All-Ways Air Control has either or both incorrectly installed the air conditioner, and installed a "lemon" of an air conditioner. The workmanship on the unit is clearly insufficient to resolve the problem. All-Ways claims that the unit is beyond the warranty period (5 years), however, as a homeowner, I have done everything possible and necessary to have All-Ways FIX THE PROBLEM. But, clearly they have not. Now they are choosing to NOT fix the reocurring problem after repeatedly delaying the ORIGINAL problem! Now,the problem has resulted in a damaged compressor. THE AIR CONDITIONER AND/OR ITS INSTALLATION HAS BEEN "A LEMON" FROM THE VERY BEGINNING.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that ALL-WAYS replace the AC unit (including compressor), the coil, and re-check or re-pipe the existing piping to installation standards. Since All-Ways chooses not to fix or respond to my calls (I have been very polite and level-headed), I've had to purchase air conditioning window units for my home because my wife has severe summer allergies and we cannot keep the windows open. Therefore, should we proceed with an attorney (which I have already contacted), I will also include the charge for all the AC window units I've had to purchase from Home Depot. Also, should I proceed with a lawsuit, which I will if we cannot get this issue resolved, I will hold All-Ways accountable for paying my attorney fees, which is standard protocol in cases like this. I would like to settle this out of court, however, should I not receive a positive response to this obvious problem, I will proceed with my attorney.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2014/08/13) */ All-Ways Air Control is going to replace the damaged parts and ensure that there is no leaks in the system.

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Never use this business's service. I bought a home that was newly built in December, 2012. When I was doing a house walk-through, me and the person who was guiding me found a problem with the fireplace and putted a blue-tape on it for them to fix it before we move it. After we moved in, the fireplace was still not working so we contacted the home builder and we were told to contact All-Ways Air Control to fix the problem as they are the contractors who worked on the fireplace. Currently, we are down to our 6th appointment and the following is what is going on: Issue with the fireplace: Fire come up and doesn't stay on. I have to master reset the system many times, usually between 5 to 10 times, to finally have the fire stay on. Once the fire stays on, I can turn it off and turn it back on using the wall switch, but when I leave it off for over 6 to 8 hours, I have to open the fireplace and do the master reset again and again to make it work again. First, we had schedule for an appointment to have a technician come out and fix the place, but they totally missed the appointment saying there was an emergency appointment. Well, I understand that emergencies happen and I should respect that as I might have to call in for an emergency, but the problem was that no one from this business called me and told me that they are not going to make it to my appointment. A day I took off from my work for this has just been wasted. Second, as they don't work on weekends I scheduled for the earliest time available so I can go to work as soon as possible, I made an appointment with them at 8:00 am, but no one showed up until almost 9:00 am. The excuse was that they start at 8:00 am and it takes some time to get to my house. (This made me think that this business is "All-Ways Excuse Control" business.) However, the technician left after he thought the problem was fixed, but when I tried the fireplace after coming back from my work, it had the same problem. Third, the technician replaced many parts on the brand new fireplace and somehow he made the fireplace to light up just like what I can do by doing the master reset many times. He left, I came back from my work, the problem was there. Fourth, the technician came out again and worked on the fireplace and told me that he has to replace another part and the wait time for the part to come in is about a month. He left, I left, then I came back from my work, the whole house was filled with the gas and I had to open all the windows and let the fresh air come in. I thought something might have happened while the technician was working on the place so it should be good, but I was wrong. When I woke up in the early morning because I smell gas again from my bed room, I figured something was seriously wrong with the fireplace and I had to shut off the gas valve and the smelling issue was gone. Fifth, they finally got the new part and came out and replaced the part. The technician somehow made the fireplace light up, but as he left and I came back from my work that night, it was having the same issue. I called the company and asked for other tech to come out and take a look at the fireplace as they are out of clue on what is wrong with the brand new fireplace, but the guy or manager who spoke with me told me that when the technician leaves the house the fireplace was working. Of course it works as I can make it work, too. The problem is not about whether the fireplace works by having the fire on or not, it is about whether the fireplace works every time when I turn the switch on and off. The manager guy got confused and did not understand what he was saying and keeps on telling me that the fireplace is working. It sounds to me like the broken car works if you do some trick and he believes that by making it to work TEMPORARILY, the problem is fixed and I am supposed to have the issue come back when it stops working....??? I asked him whether he can have the technician come out and work on the fireplace in the morning and come back at night to test it again to see if it is still working after 6 or 8 hours of the off time, but he told me that he has to talk to his boss to find that out. Without testing the fireplace after 6 or 8 ours of the off time, the problem can't be tested and this guy will keeps on saying that the fireplace is working!!! He made it sound like I am the one who broke the fireplace and doesn't understand the issue, but all it takes to operate the fireplace is just a simple on and off switch and my understanding is that the fireplace should work whenever I trigger the switch on. However, I wanted to talk to his boss and he told me to give a call between 6:30 am to 7:00 am in order to speak with him. Wait.. wha..what? I thought their business starts at 8 am in the first place and his boss is only available between 6:30 am and 7:00 am? What kind of a business is this? First, this business lacks in keeping the appointment, Second, this business lacks in identifying the problem, Third, this business lacks in understanding the customer's needs and "All-Ways" make excuses to have their customers to work for their needs. Now, I have to take off another morning off from my work to see whether they can fix the problem again.. Since the warranty lasts for one year and we are in the half way of the expiration for the brand new fireplace they installed, I asked them what happens if the problem still exist and they don't fix it until the warranty expires, and he told me that they will honor the warranty as long as it is the same issue, but I will have to pay for any new issues. Well, I never had a chance to try the fireplace in a normal state and how am I supposed to know whether it is having another issue or not? I complained and asked him for another technician to come out and take a look at the place, but they only have one technician available. The manager guy told me that since I am not paying for anything I should not be worried, but I am spending my time by taking my morning off from my work and all of these frustration that comes with the issue. After all these problems and issues, one thing that I really don't understand is that how can this manager guy believe that getting the fireplace working means the problem is fixed? Even though I have been telling him that I can get it to the working state by resetting it multiple times, but when you set it off over 6 to 8 hours, the fireplace doesn't turn back on. I really wanted to try other company, but my home builder will only allow having this company work on the fireplace to be covered under warranty.

Desired Settlement: They should provide compensation for my time that I had to stay home and take my time off from my work. As I am running a small business working as a CEO/Developer, I usually charge my clients $80/hour for remote work and $120/hour for onsite jobs. Ultimately, they should fix the problem. Without some kind of pressure like the compensation, I think they will never fix the problem and take care of the project seriously. When the whole house was filled with the gas after the technician worked on the fireplace, I felt this is a serious matter and I need some help.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 22, 2013/09/04) */ Contact Email: *******@********************** We have been out to this job numerous times and are having problems with the manufacturer to help us with this problem. We are still dealing with them to get one of their factory technicians and all we can get out of them is parts so far. We are currently waiting on more parts to come in and we will replace the burner assembly. We have had numerous problems with this brand and have fixed all but this one, and have since quit using this brand. Without the support from the manufacturer our hands are tied, but we will continue to work with the customer to get this issue resolved. Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 12, 2013/07/10) */ Always Air Control sent a technician yesterday to fix the problem, but as it always has been, it doesn't work again. When the technician comes on site and does his thing for couple of hours, the fireplace works temporarily, but after I set it off for couple of hours, it doesn't work again!! Now I am getting very impatient about the whole issue that I had to take over 6 mornings off from my work just to sit and watch them trying to repair.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on All-Ways Air Control
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)