BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/03/2005

All Seasons Heating & Climate Control

Phone: (253) 565-2942Fax: (253) 752-0968View Additional Phone Numbers10711 A St S, TacomaWA 98444-6023 Send email to All Seasons Heating & Climate Control

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers heating, air conditioning, boiler installation and repair.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/03/2005

BBB has determined that All Seasons Heating & Climate Control meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised All Seasons Heating & Climate Control's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on All Seasons Heating & Climate Control

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
12/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On Nov XX XXXX I had "****" from All Seasons Heating and Climate Control come out and see what was wrong with my Furnace. **** came out, pulled some wires, tested some wires, had me go in the house and turn on the heat. When I went back out he said that the flame had tripped out. He said I had a cracked heat exchanger and needed a new furnace. His actual hands on the Furnace were not more than 10 min, and most of that was talking. Then he told me he was going to get me a invoice for a new Furnace. He spent more time writing an invoice than he did looking at the furnace. To my surprise he wrote me a bill for $147.69 for his 10 min of work. Needless to say I questioned the bill due to him only turning, poking and testing a couple things. There were no parts added that would cost money, only his 10 min of time and fuel. He said that the $147.69 would go to a new furnace if I purchased through him. After my questioning of the amount he complained to me about getting his transmission fixed on one of his trucks. The next day I called around and got numerous quotes for $200 -$600 cheaper than his. Once company from **** ***** ********* ****** and *********** **** wanted to come out and give me a quote. A few days later Mr. ***** ******** from ******** ****** came to my house and checked the furnace. He did some of the some things that the guy from All Seasons did but he said that my furnace was working fine after he cleaned out a port and turned down the Flame. Mr ******** said I was going to need a new furnace eventually but as of now "No". He not only fixed my furnace but did not charge me anything. It was part of his free estimate due to me telling him that my furnace was broken because of what All Seasons told me. It has now been a week and my furnace is still working fine. I called All seasons for my money back because I feel he gave me a false statement about my furnace. He said he was the owner of the company and had been doing this type of work for over 25 years. I have no knowledge or working knowledge of furnaces and trusted him to give me the truth. I explained him that if I was a car mechanic and I had a battery cable disconnected; as a mechanic I should connect or replace the $2 wire and fix the car instead of telling him that he needed a new one, even if the car was 20 years old. He told me that he had to come out and re-look at my furnace to prove that it was working and I said no problem. We scheduled for Today, Fri 21st through his office and I also called him. I told them that I would not be home until after 4:30. They told me 4:30 was fine and **** from All Seasons still did not show up. I called the company at XXX-XXX-XXXX or XXX-XXX-XXXX and they told me "Any time after 4:30" I said that I could not wait at home for a generic time because I had other chores to do and places to go. I called **** and he told me that he would call me before he came over. It is now 9:00 PM and he told me that he was on his way from Federal Way which is about 30 min away. The money is not the big issue it is the false statement of him telling me that I needed a new furnace after only maybe 10 min of working/looking at it. If I had not researched and called around he would have charged me almost $3000 for a similar furnace that I did not need. I do not want him to rip anymore people off.

Desired Settlement
$147.69 and a Audit of his company due to the lack of integrity that he has displayed to me and probably many others.

Business Response
First let me start by saying our hourly rate is 135.00 per hr, one hour min. we do not charge by the minute. If a service call takes 5 minutes to repair or 60 minutes to repair, it is the same rate. The main objective is to fix the unit. Unfortunately, sometimes things take longer and
sometimes, it is a quick fix. We are professionals and just like a car repair shop, plumbers or even Dentist or Doctors, we charge by the hour. I came to *** *******'s, it was more than 10 minutes of diagnostic, first I found the air filter plugged
(with dust and dirt) and it needed replacing, I pulled that out. The roll-out switch was tripped, so i reset it, from that point I ran the furnace and watched the flame fire off. After 30 seconds the fan came on, now before the fan came on the flame looked great, but after the fan came on,
the left flame going into the Heat Exchanger started fluttering and pushing out, so I kept watching the flame, after some more time passed, more of the flame pushed out and finally tripped the roll-out switch.
This is a safety issue, you should never get air from the fan In this area, that is a good sign of a crack in the heat exchanger.
You do not alter the gas pressure so the air doesnt affect the Safeties. You fix the problem the correct way, it is better to replace the furnace than replace the heat exchanger
This is my professional opinion.
Yes, a furnace will work with a crack in the heat exchanger, it will also emit carbon monoxide that can kill you at the same time it is running.
As far as quotes for $200 to $600 cheaper than our quote. Cost of furnaces vary per company and is effected by how much their overhead is and the quality of their product. Example you would not compare an Lexus to a Kia for price and value.
We are not over priced for the top product we sell. A Rheem furnace is one of the top furnaces like a Lennox or a Cam'er. If you are getting quotes for a Payne or Armstrong fumance that would be like the Kia of furnaces not the Lexus.
The gentleman had the right to get more quotes, but that doesnt mean we were trying to rip him off because we charge what we charge. We also put a 5 year labor warranty on our installs most companies only put a one year labor warranty.
I know this because I have seen other companies bids when I go out to bid jobs. That is also how I know that I am in the same price range as many other companies. I also get permits and have inspections on my installs. By the way Auto Shops have hourly rates,
minimum rates they do not charge by the minute. If you take your care into a mom and pop shop you go to all the time they might not charge you for a quick wire fix, but you are driving there, they are not driving to you.
If you go to *********** to get a haircut and it is 14.99 that doesn't mean **** ****** that charges $40 to $80 for a haircut is ripping you off, that is what they charge for the quality service they feel they provide.
We provide quality equipment and service and we feel we charge appropriately for that service.
The Friday, Nov 21st call was scheduled for after 4:30 because *** ******* was not going to be home until 4:30. At the office we do not make exact time appointments and told *** ******* this because we do service work and have to repair and drive places.
We would call when we were on the way. We kept in touch with *** ****** and many times said we were sorry for the time put we had lots of customers with no heat and things were backed up.
I did show up at 9,00 and if he had somewhere to go he could have gone there and I would have called as we do and said I am on my way. This way a NO CHARGE follow up.
As the customer states it money is not the big issue, but he wants a refund. We have over 5,000 customers that might disagree with *** *******.
We would be happy, to have an audit as we have nothing to hide.
I am sending all the invoices I have on this home.
As you can see we have only one maintenance in 7 years on record, by a previous owner.
As you can see in 12/2007 we stated the Heat Exchanger was fine, by the way that is the same owner- technician.
I did call ******* ****** and talked to the owner about what happened, the owner told me and estimator was out to Mr.*******'s and did a bid, he did not fix the furnace, because he is only an estimator and does not work on furnaces, Not sure what happened there?
Sincerely,
***** ********
All Seasons Heating & Climate Control
Owner


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Furnace Sales & Service, Boilers - Sales & Service, Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Duct & Duct Fittings, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Water Heaters - Repairing, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps, Boilers - Repair & Cleaning, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/01/1996Business started: 11/01/1994
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW
Tumwater, WA98501-5414
(800) 647-0982
http://www.lni.wa.gov

Contact Information
Principal: Mr David Brigante (Owner)Customer Contact: Mrs Angie McDonald (Manager)
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Furnace Sales & Service, Boilers - Sales & Service, Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Duct & Duct Fittings, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Water Heaters - Repairing, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps, Boilers - Repair & Cleaning, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for All Seasons Heating & Climate Control

10711 A St S

Tacoma, WA 98444-6023

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 10711 A St S 

    Tacoma, WA 98444-6023(253) 565-2942
    (253) 473-2778

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*All Seasons Heating & Climate Control is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (253) 473-2778
  • (253) 840-3392
  • (253) 840-3393
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.