Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Virginia Mason Medical Center

Phone: (206) 223-6600 View Additional Phone Numbers 1100 9th Ave, Seattle, WA 98101 http://www.virginiamason.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers physician health care services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Virginia Mason Medical Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Virginia Mason Medical Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Virginia Mason Medical Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1972 Business started: 01/01/1920 Business started locally: 01/01/1920
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd SE, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.doh.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 525-0127
hsqa.csc@doh.wa.gov

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Business Management
Mr. Gary Kaplan, MD/CEO Jennifer Bradley, Director
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Jennifer Bradley, Director
Principal: Mr. Gary Kaplan, MD/CEO
Business Category

Health & Medical - General General Medical and Surgical Hospitals (NAICS: 622110)

Alternate Business Names
Virginia Mason Dept of Plastic Surgery

Additional Locations

  • 1100 9th Ave

    Seattle, WA 98101 (206) 223-6938

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/19/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/30/15 I called Virginia Mason to inquire about the process of having a surgery pre-approved by my insurance company. I spoke with Julie the scheduler in the provider's office who told me I should come in for an initial consultation, then they would send out for pre-authorization to find out how much my insurance would cover. I followed all those steps, and on 10/2/15 Julie called me back to tell me my pre-authorization came back saying my insurance would pay for 100% of the surgery costs after my $1,300 deductible was met. She said "pre-op appointments, everything for the surgery, and post-op appointments, everything will be covered 100% by your insurance after your deductible is met." I repeated back to her "so if I understand you correctly, you are saying I will only have to pay $1,300 for the whole procedure, nothing more?" She agreed and let me know I had between 10/15/15 - 12/31/15 to have the surgery. I scheduled for 10/21/15 and again verified that the full cost to me would only be $1,300. In November I started receiving EOBs claiming I owed VM close to $5,000 for the surgery. I thought maybe Julie had read me the wrong pre-authorization, so I called her, asked her to look at my file and reiterate what my pre-authorization said. She again said "Insurance will pay for 100% after your $1,300 deductible is met," and I again repeated back to her what she was telling me and she agreed. I thought maybe the problem lied with my insurance so I have been in touch with them. They told me their pre-authorization only said "surgery is approved based on medical necessity" and the cost to me would be 20% coinsurance after my $1,300 deductible was met (they would only pay 80% not 100%). They verified no one ever contacted them to find out how much I would owe after surgery. I feel manipulated and helpless because I followed all procedures the hospital recommended, trusted the staff's expertise, and now I am stuck with a bill that is 4x what I was anticipating.

Desired Settlement: I want Virginia Mason to honor the $1,300 total that their staff communicated on multiple occasions would be the only charge to me. I would not have had the surgery had I known it would be so much more, so I feel deceived and it leaves an awful taste in my mouth for VM as a whole. I want this kind of communication between staff and patients to be investigated so that it is not something that happens on a regular basis as a means of bringing more "suckers" in.

Business Response: Patient is already in contact with our office and the Director of the department.  We will work with her to understand her concerns and come to a resolution.  She likely has the number but she can always call 206 223 6616 if she is in need of more information

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Thank you for taking the time to consider my situation. 

Sincerely,

***** *******

6/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/12/14 an invoice was generated, in error, by Virginia Mason for $801.00 on Invoice number ** for anesthesiology. The invoice was subsequently paid by the patient on 3/25/15 with patients check # 536 (copy available upon request) After multiple phone calls and emails the invoice was reversed on 4/9/15 by Virginia Mason . Virginia Mason has to date not issued a refund for the $801.00. Virginia Mason needs to issue the refund for the $801.00. See Virginia mason Ref. # **********

Desired Settlement: Virginia Mason needs to issue the refund for the $801.00.

Business Response: Mr. *******,

The patient relations team is attempting to call you now at the number you provided.  We have checked in with the billing team and have some information for you.
We can also be reached **************

Thank you

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I spoke with Virginia Mason and they have still not been able to process or issue the refund.
I was told that perhaps at the end of the month they could process the refund; but I have been told that several times in the past and nothing has even been accomplished. That is the problem. Virginia Mason is either unable or unwilling to honor their obligations.


Sincerely,

******* *******

Business Response: Mr. *******,

We are reaching out to you today to update you on your account.  A credit is in process as we discussed.

Thank you

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* *******

11/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Have now received and paid 4 bills for the same service. Called twice now to remedy issue. Talked to customer service today and informed again that they will correct. Service on 4/12/14 for an ultrasound. First bill I have is dated 7/20/2014 for $312 and it was paid on 7/31 Bill amount was $312 paid amount was $312 Second bill came on 7/26/14 showing $108 charge pending with insurance for this same service. Third bill came on 8/17/14 that included other services and showed the $312 payment pending with insurance. I was uninsured at the time so not sure how this could be. I paid for the other services on is bill Fourth bill came on 8/23 for $108 that was the price if it were billed through my previous insurance carrier. This bill never should have come. I paid it anyway. Fifth bill came on 9/14/14 for $312. I called on 9/22 and they told me they would correct the issue. Sixth bill came 10/12 for $624 now for this same service. Called today and they told me again they will fix the problem and send me an updated bill. This process is completely unacceptable and I believe intentionally criminal. This would have never been called out and caught if not for me tracking. They would have sent me to collections for false bills. This practice must be stopped and the general public must be notified of their practices.

Desired Settlement: Refund for overpaid expenses $108 plus interest. A complete review of their billing practices by an outside agency at Virginia Mason expense to ensure that this is not an isolated incident as it feels like this billing practice is policy. full admission of guilt.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/31) */ October 30, 2014 *** ***** ***** *** *** *** S **** Seattle, WA XXXXX Re: *****, ******* Account: XXXXXXX BBB case: XXXXXXXX Dear *** *****: Thank you for your recent inquires to our Patient Relations department and to the Better Business Bureau. I appreciate your patience as we researched the transaction activity on *******'s account. The following summarizes the activity on *******'s account by date of service: Date of Service: 4.12.14 Total Professional Charges $108.00 These charges were initially billed to you as we had no record of insurance. On 7.22.14 ******* requested we bill the services to United *********** ****** denied the claim as coverage had terminated. We then balance billed you. On 8.29.14, we received an on-line payment in the amount of $108.00. Balance due = $0.00. Total Facility charges $312.00 These charges were initially billed to you as we had no record of insurance. On 7.22.14 ******* requested we bill the services to ****** *********** ****** denied the claim as coverage had terminated. We then balance billed you. On 9.22.14, you contacted our office and requested we bill ******** ******* denied the claim as 'unable to id' for that date of service (your benefits were not in effect until 4.13.14). The balance was then billed to you. Balance due = $312.00. Date of Service: 7.02.14 Total Professional Charges $410.00 These services were billed to ******** ******* paid $119.40 leaving a patient responsibility of $290.60. On 8.1.14 we received an on-line payment from you of $290.60. Balance due = $0.00 Total Facility charges $737.00 These services were billed to ******** ******* paid $397.52, leaving a patient responsibility of $339.48. We received an on-line payment from you on 8.1.14 in the amount of $312.00 and an additional $27.48 on 8.23.14. Balance due = $0.00. I have attached a spreadsheet with this information for your records. If you believe you have made additional payments beyond what we reflect, please contact me directly with copies of the payments so I can investigate further. Based on the information at hand, it does appear there remains an outstanding amount of $312.00. I am very sorry for the frustration you have experienced with the billing process. It is never our intent to create more complexity to the already complex process of healthcare billing. To acknowledge your frustration, I have requested the billing office adjust the remaining $312.00 outstanding. As of today, the balance on *******'s account is zero. I hope this information provides the clarity you were requesting. Please feel free to contact me should you have any additional questions, etc. Respectfully, ** ****** Manager, Revenue Stream Operations ************ *********@virginiamason.org Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/11/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Virginia Mason Medical Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)