This business is not BBB accredited.

C T M Granite

Phone: (253) 946-7667 View Additional Phone Numbers 1710 S 344th St, Federal Way, WA 98003 http://www.ctmgranite.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the installation and sales of marble, granite, ceramic tile, countertops, fireplaces, and tables.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for C T M Granite include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on C T M Granite
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1983 Business started locally: 01/01/1983 Business incorporated 06/01/2002 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mihail Chirila, President Ms. Denise Aakre, Manager Mrs. Lorna Chirila, Vice President Ms. Erin Gillwenwater, Sales Manger Ms. Marcia Melvin, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mihail Chirila, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Erin Gillwenwater, Sales Manger
Business Category

Granite Marble - Natural Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers

Hours of Operation
Mon - Fri: 9AM - 6PM
Sat: 10AM - 5PM
Sun: Closed
Alternate Business Names
Ceramic Tile Marble & Granite Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1710 S 344th St

    Federal Way, WA 98003 (253) 946-7667 (253) 946-0212

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: CTM's quality of work and HONESTY is very poor. Just some of the problems are listed below: - First and foremost, CTM tried to charge us for a slab of granite and labor (over $3,000.00) that was NOT installed in our home. - Asked to have old piece of granite buffed, resealed and re-caulked. The work was never done but attempted to charge us for it. -New slab of granite and back splashes were installed. The caulking between the back splash and granite was not done. They returned to caulk, again, and still did not complete one section. -The sink was set but not sealed/caulked. -The caulking/glue used to adhere the back splashes to the wall bubbled out of the top of the back splash causing damage to the paint and sheet rock upon removal. -Corner of back splash was not flush with wall and was attempted to be filled in with black tar that was spread onto the wall. Paint and sheet rock were, yet again, damaged upon removal. -A straight edge razor blade was stuck in a 3"x 3" piece of cardboard (with some type of caulking on it) and left on our kitchen floor after they were done working. Thankfully, we found it before our 3 year old did. -The counter was not level/straight so a large amount of caulking was used to fill in the "space"- so much so, that when sitting at the bar you can look across and see the white caulking under the counter top. -There were a large number of "fissure" in the granite that you were able to stick your fingernail in and run along the fissure. -There is a chip in the edge of the piece of granite that is very obvious and should have been seen when granite was being sealed. -Estimate for 9 baseboard rounder's (which can be purchased for $2.50 each) was over $200.00. -Last but not least, I am refereed to by my fathers name (who live 200 miles away) when the said business calls and leaves a voicemail. They do not even know their customers name. Ridiculous. We spent countless hours negotiating with CTM about solving the problems. We did get some of the issues resolved but not without dishonesty, inconvenience, time wasted, and the pulling back of negotiations. They are quick to say they will come back and complete the job but each time something is forgotten or ruined even further.

Desired Settlement: They have already been paid 50% of the total bid. This was plenty considering the poor quality of work that was completed, the DISHONESTY, inconvenience and the poor quality of granite installed in our home. I would like to have the remaining balance of the invoice voided.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/08/27) */ CTMGranite apologizes to ******* ********* for the misunderstanding that took place when installing her countertop. CTMGranite had the best intentions to please *** ********* and to make her satisfied and happy with the countertop as she is a repeat customer. CTMGranite had the granite fabricated and brought to her home and found out it was to replace the existing granite that was a perfect match. Due to the weather and the very steep stairs to take the heavy granite up CTMGranite suggested to recondition the existing granite instead of taking the new piece up the stairs and *** ********* agreed. CTMGranite does apologizes that **** the owner did not stop and absolutely confirm that there was no discount on the granite as the piece was already fabricated. CTMGranite did go back to *** ********* and installed the original piece in the kitchen. CTMGranite does apologize and is very sorry for the misunderstanding BUT CTMGranite's quality of work and honesty is of the highest standard. We have been in business a number of years and have never had a complaint like this before. We feel *** ******** does own the remaining balance. ****** ****** Office Adminstrator Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 33, 2013/10/25) */ This complaint should not have been closed. I will not stand for misinformation to be presentED on the 'final notice' from the business. It is absolutely incorrect that I expected a FREE slab of granite. I was being charged for a piece of granite that was NOT installed in my home - nobody in their right mind would pay well over 4000.00 for a slab that was not in their home. I do not care if it was rendered useless to the business - that is not my problem. It was the OWNERS recommendation to NOT install the slab of granite because it matched the new piece that had already been installed. I agreed, but then turned around and got charged for it. I confronted CTM as to why I was being charged for something that was not installed and they indicated it had already been fabricated and was useless to them! That is not my problem - that is the owners problem who suggested it not be installed! THAT IS NOT MISCOMMUNICATION - THAT IS FRAUD. I also would like to address the fact that CTM is claiming we asked for $80.00 per hour to fix the torn up areas of our kitchen - which was torn up by the contractor. Had we hired an outside contractor to come in a fix ALL the areas that needed to be fixed - they would have been lucky pay $80.00 an hour once labor, overhead and material were factored in. Why should we settle for less because we chose to fix to fix the issues CTM created. We did not want them back in our home fixing anything after the experience we had. This is absolutely unacceptable for a business to put a customer through and still feel like they are owed something. The response letters aren't even written by someone who has direct knowledge of the events that took place - they are written by the office administrator who we had NO direct dealings with. Therefore, much of the information is inaccurate and untrue. After all is said and done, I am exhausted with the dishonesty of CTM and will agree to pay what WE FEEL IS FAIR for the other half of the job that was completed poorly - $1,267.64. Final Business Response /* (4000, 26, 2013/10/09) */ First and foremost we would like to address the fact that we are very HONEST, we have no intention to ever cheat anyone. In this case it was a misunderstanding between *** ****** and CTMGranite. CTMGranite went to install the piece of granite we had fabricated, **** (owner) saw that the piece she already had matched her island perfectly. Her kitchen was flooded and slab had to be removed to fix the floor. *** ******** agreed with **** to keep the slab but to have CTMG make it look new again. When *** ******* got her bill she thought she was going to get the slab free, this is where the misunderstanding occurred. There would be no reason for CTMG to keep the fabricated slab, shop foreman can verify. There would be no reason for CTMG to keep the fabricated one as it is not a common shape and has a large cut out for the stove top. We offered a painter to come but *** ******* wanted $80.00 an hour for her husband to do the work. We gave *** ******* a discount of $475.00 for sheet rock and paint compensation. We tried our best. The price of the granite and labor totals $5913.00 and we will give her another 15% discount on this cost which is $1037.05 which leaves a balance of $3074.55 that *** ********* owes to CTMGranite. ****** ****** Office Administrator ******@ctmgranite.net ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on C T M Granite
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)