BBB Accredited Business since

DistribuDoors

Additional Locations

Phone: (206) 443-1640 View Additional Phone Numbers 421 Warde St., Algona, WA 98001 http://www.distribudoors.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers garage door and opener sales, service and installation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that DistribuDoors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for DistribuDoors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on DistribuDoors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 17, 2004 Business started: 11/01/1988 Business started locally: 11/01/1988 Business incorporated 01/01/1996 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Kocher, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. JD Kocher, President
Principal: Mr. John Kocher, President
Business Category

Garage Doors & Openers Garage Door Repair Doors - Repair Door & Gate Operating Devices Doors Doors - Commercial Doors - Rolling

Products & Services

DistribuDoors sells the following brand(s): Clopay, LiftMaster, Northwest Door, Wayne Dalton

DistribuDoors offers the following product(s): Accessories/Parts, Garage Door Openers, Garage Doors

Hours of Operation
Monday-Friday
8:00am-4:30pm
Saturday
9:00am-3:00pm
Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Credit, Check
Alternate Business Names
Sound Home Improvements Inc
Products & Services

Garage Doors
Garage Door Openers
Garage Door Repair
Garage Door Service
Entry Doors
Garage Door Parts


Additional Locations

  • 12428 Hwy 99 Suites 54 & 55

    Everett, WA 98204

  • 421 Warde St.

    Algona, WA 98001 (206) 443-1640 (888) 433-1800 (253) 931-8320 (253) 735-3242 (253) 804-4339 (253) 630-2664 (253) 931-1093 (253) 735-3293 (253) 397-4767

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I just got 2 garage doors and a garage door opener installed with this company through Home Depot today. When I got home I wanted to see where my previous garage door was. I realized that the tech from Distribudoors took my garage door opener that was only a year old with him without my wife's permission. My wife was at home during the installation and was never asked if we wanted to keep the door or not. When I realized this issue, I immediately called the company and asked them to return my garage door opener within a few hours of them completing the job. I was put on hold for about 5 minutes and then told that they were sorry but the tech had already taken my garage door to the dumpster. Person that answer the phone was all happy even though this opener was my only proof to get my refund back from the garage door opener company. She had the guts to tell me that they just took the door and don't have to tell us if we want it or not. Now I cannot file a claim with the Chamberlain due to this incident.

Desired Settlement: I would like this company to return my Chamberlain 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener that I paid $158 + tax last year. If they don't have my garage door opener, I would like them to refund me this amount. They did not have my permission to take away my property without my knowledge or permission.

Business Response:

Unfortunately as the customer states this was a service purchased thru a third party. The customer did not pay us for any service or product at all. They paid the Home Depot. Through their purchase with the Home Depot they were offered remove and dispose of their existing doors and openers. Unless stated otherwise on their paperwork provided by the Home Depot our installer would have followed exactly what the customer had paid for. The reason that we could not simply hand them their opener back was because our installers either dump all their remove and dispose items in a dumpster on our lot or they stop at a transfer station every day after their work is completed. This allows them room to load their next day’s work load into their vehicles. There would have been no reason to ask the customer which items to dispose of and which not to unless the customer had made previous arrangements for that to be done. Our company provided a service thru Home Depot exactly as we were expected to based on our contract with them. We feel badly that this was not what the customer had desired. As for the person answering the phone, we apologize if they seemed to take this complaint in stride, it would never be our intention to treat a customer’s issue as anything but our own and this has been discussed with them. The customer would have been directed back to the Home Depot for any sort of refund as this is where their money was spent.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

It took this business over 30 days to respond to my complaints and they neither apologized nor took any responsibility even though this whole issue was caused by their incompetence.  This company claimed that they go above and beyond to make sure the customers are satisfied because they got some positive reviews from people.  They did a terrible job with my garage doors, you took a barely used garage door opener and supposedly recycled it, your tech did not even lubricate the doors’ mechanical parts, on top of that you claimed my wife told the tech to install the wall control on top of the other one, the gal you have answers the phone has no clue what she is doing, she was sarcastic and unprofessional. 

There were 4 garage door openers in my garage that day and the tech picked the second newest garage door opener and left 2 over 10 years old openers  

The wall control was relocated, when I asked the tech why he changed the original location when he was working on correcting his original installation job, he stated that he did not want to split the light switch.  I am not sure why JD decided to claim it was the person at home that wanted it relocated. 

I have a question for this business, why did not your tech ask my wife which one of the 4 garage door openers we wanted to keep then?  Since you claimed he asked her about the wall control location.  Let’s not go there… 

Just because we use a third party does not mean I don’t deserve the same treatment as their regular customers.   

James from the Home Depot takes no fault on your tech’s decision to remove my property without my knowledge.  He also stated that the Tech should have asked since the opener was almost new and the opener was not considered a junk.   I read what I sign and I don’t assume things the way this company operates.  There is no instruction on removing a garage door opener.   I suggest they stop defending their errors and take some responsibility. 

This one was my third time that a garage door company came to install a garage door opener/doors and I can clearly say it was the far worst installation job I have ever seen.  This company has no clue how to treat a customer, I will make sure people know my experience with them.

Sincerely,

***** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on DistribuDoors
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)