This business is not BBB accredited.

Vision Quest Lake City

Phone: (206) 417-4715 12015 31st Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98125 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.visionquestsportandfitness.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers an integrated wellness center, spa and fitness center, as well as a conference center for rentals.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • BBB does not have sufficient information to issue a rating on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Vision Quest Lake City
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 12, 2011 Business started: 12/01/2002 Business started locally: 12/01/2002 Business incorporated 12/20/2002 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Aylin Medina, Corporate Relations Ms. Ashley Swartz, Member Mr. Brad Swartz, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Aylin Medina, Corporate Relations
Business Category

Fitness Centers

Additional Information

According to information provided to BBB, this company's assets were purchased on December 30, 2013; therefore, this company is no longer operational under the previous ownership. For more information about this company under its new ownership, refer to its BBB Business Review at http://www.bbb.org/alaskaoregonwesternwashington/business-reviews/exercise-and-physical-fitness-programs/l-a-fitness-22005406.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12015 31st Ave NE

    Seattle, WA 98125 (206) 417-4715

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a membership with Vision Quest on February 24, 2014 and my credit card was charged for first and last months dues for a total of $41.61. I had a contract that said that I could cancel the contract within 3 business days with a full refund if I presented a letter of resignation to the club. I returned to the facility on February 26th and submitted my letter of resignation. The manager was not in so the front desk employee, dated and signed a copy of my resignation letter, filed the original in the safe and told me that I'd be sent a followup email the next day. I DID receive the email indicating that my refund would be processed soon. I have called the club on three separate occasions to talk to the manager to see where my refund was and I was told that she would call me back. I have not received a call back. I do not have a credit on my VISA card or a check for the amount.

Desired Settlement: I want my full refund and I want the business held accountable so others don't have to jump through hoops to receive a refund in the future. I'd like this reflected on their rating and receive an apology from the manager.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/04/22) */ The membership that was enrolled on 2/24/2014 was cancelled and a refund was issued for the amount collected. On 3/1/2014 an electronic refund was issued for $41.61 back to the credit card used ending in ****** Since receipt of this complaint our management has left a message to complainant to discuss her concern. We also suggest contacting her financial institution to verify her refund back to her account. Thank you

2/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cancelled my membership when we moved to North Bend. On August 1st, 2013 I filled out the membership cancellation form at the front desk of the gym. The girl working assured me that only August 6 payment would be taken, per their policy and that my membership was closed. I have a physical copy of this membership cancellation, signed by their agent. In December, I noticed that VisionQuest has continued to take a monthly payment on the sixth of the month. They took out payments of $20.81 monthly in September, October, November, and December under the name VisionQuest ABC. On December 18th, my wife and I went to the gym with our copy of the cancellation form. A blond gentlemen agreed that we should be refunded our money and went to talk to his manager. He came back with a story about how they had cancelled someone elses account by mistake, that they had corrected the error and that the money would be in our account in 5-10 business days. This stated action did not occur as promised by VisionQuest's agent. On January they took another payment of 20.81 and a maintenance fee of $25.00. Also in January the name on this debit changed from VisionQuest ABC (as previously noted) to***********. I have never been a member of***********. My complaint is that they did not honor my original cancellation request (which is valid per my original contract,of which I also have a copy. In that I meet the criteria of both having been a member for more than a year AND have moved more than 25 miles away from the gym). Also, my complaint continues in that when I sought resolution at they gym in person, my request for cancellation and reimbursement were not honored a second time.

Desired Settlement: I would like 1) My account permanently cancelled. 2) $20.81 per month refunded for the months of September, October, November, December of 2013. As well as for January 2014 and the maintenance charge of $25.00. This is 5 months x 20.81/month + 25.00 = $129.05. 3) No further debits to be removed from my account, ever.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/10) */ Your membership is cancelled and the refund for August through December has been processed and will take a few days to return to your checking account. I contacted ********** to do the refund for January and make sure the account is cancelled in their system. Sorry for the confusion and please let me know if you need anything else. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We will consider this complaint closed when we receive the remaining funds from **********, along with confirmation that the account has been closed. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/01/24) */ This is from ******* the District Coordinator for Fitness International AKA LAF. You should see the refund in a few days. Again sorry for the inconvenience, but I am glad we are getting your account fixed! "the refund is still pending but it has been refunded and cxld"

11/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pulled Unauthorized fees from a card that was on file with no authorization to do so. This happened twice. Paid one of the fees in person with cash so it could be credited back to the card. Never credited back card. Double paid a month and never got the money put back. I went to the gym in person spoke with the manager (****) and billing person ****** was told to my face it was going to be taken cared of on that specific day. ended up going back on 3 different occasions and made numerous calls with no resolve. When wanting to cancel was told that as long as it was before 6pm on a week day there would be no problem. However the schedule conflict was a problem. Finally this weekend my fiancee was able to go to the gym only to be lied to that there was no manager to cancel. The assistant manager along with another employee insisted the manager who could take care of the cancellation was not there, when in fact he was! **** the current manager is the one who signed us up and is the only manager I have ever tried to resolve the issues with. All I ever got was excuses and the run around. I was once told that it was a name/account mix up and that they got our account mixed up with another persons with the same name and birth date which to me seems pretty far fetched being each member has his/her own bar-coded account. I have a copy of the cash payment that they said I never made and for some odd reason could not look it up in their computer.

Desired Settlement: Since seeking the time and frustration I've wasted with this company is not something I can get back; what I am seeking is exposing their shady and underhanded business practices. If they are doing this to me I'm sure there are more people who are being treated unjustly and probably not even know what is being charged to their accounts. This gym particular has employed sex offenders. They also offer daycare services. We are no longer members of this gym. For these reasons. Stealing money out of our account and unsafe employees. As a customer I need to feel safe and comfortable. People need to know that this is going on.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (12210, 5, 2013/10/21) */ We have done a one month reversal back to the card it was drafted from for your account and your membership is cancelled. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/11/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept the response because Vision Quest Sports and Fitness has yet to refund the dues that they were not authorized for. No reversal was ever drafted back to the account. On October 21, 2013 **** ****** personally spoke with my fiancee to confirm that the transactions would be refunded. As of November 02, 2013 there has been NO dues credited back to the bank account. I was hoping this would all be wrapped up by now. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/11/07) */ The payment that was reversed was the Sept. 2013 payment and that was done on 9/13/2013. The reversal took place because there was a cash payment made in the club the day before this payment was drafted by the billing company. The membership is cancelled now and the last payment was the October 10th 2013 payment. The membership cancellation was processed on 10/21/2013 the day we received the bbb complaint. Please let me know if there is anything more I can do for the previous members. Thank you.

5/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Vision Quest on March 29, 2013 to cancel my membership because I was moving. I spoke with the manager who told me that because I had not completed the 6 months on the contract, I could either pay $99.00 to cancel it then, or send a certified letter from my new address cancelling my membership. This would cancel my membership after the six month mark costing me just the $16.43 montly payment versus $99.00 for cancelling early. I went to the post office on April 15th with a cancellation letter, my keychain membership card and a note from the gym with my member number. I sent this certfied as they had asked. I got the letter back from the post office about two weeks later marked "return to sender." This afternoon, May 3rd, I called Vision Quest to find out if I had the address wrong. I asked them what the address was and they told me XXXXX XXst Ave NE, Seattle, WA XXXXX. This is the same exact address I had on the certified letter that came back. ***, who had answered the phone and given me the address asked me to hold. I waited and someone else came on. I asked them the address and after he told me the same thing, I asked to speak to a manager. Someone named ***** answered. I told him my situation with the returned letter and how I just want to cancel my membership. I asked if he had a fax number and he gave me one. XXX XXX XXXX. I told him that I was going to fax him a copy of the envelope marked return to sender and the contents of the letter. The fax number ***** gave me is not a fax number. I called back, *** answered and I asked to speak to a manager. He told me that all of the managers are out at a meeting. I then asked to speak to the person who is in charge. I then got ***** back on the phone. I asked if he had received the letter and he asked if he should be picking up the phone when the fax machine rings! I told him no and that I would try faxing again while on the phone with him. I tried again to fax the letter and the number just rang, not picking up a fax at all. When I mentioned this to *****, I realized that he had hung up on me. I believe that they either are so incompetent that they don't know how to handle a cancellation, or they are trying to prevent a cancellation. Due to them not accepting the certified letter, I now have to make another payment for May. I want my membership cancelled immediately with no further charges past April 27th charge of $16.43.

Desired Settlement: No further charges past April 27th and immediate cancellation of membership.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/06) */ Your membership is cancelled and no further money is owed. I apologize for the hassel with USPS. We have been trying to correct the forwarding on the mail. If you need anything else please let me know. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/05/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

4/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In August 2012 my husband and I requested that our membership at the VisionQuest gym be put on hold as we were moving away from Seattle. Despite being told that putting a membership on hold was possible when we signed up for the membership about 8 months earlier, the club told us that they could not put the memberships on hold. We told them to cancel the membership. August 2012 we moved from Seattle, WA to Washington, DC. We have not visited the gym since August 2012. In February of 2013 we began receiving automated calls saying that my billing information for this membership needed to be updated. My husband called them and was informed that my membership had not been cancelled as requested and I had a past due amount. I want the account closed and all billing since August 2012 to be wiped out. My account # is XXXX-XXXXX

Desired Settlement: Closure of my membership backdated to August 2012 when I made the request to have my membership closed. Whatever fees have accrued since August 2012 need to be wiped out. I would like a letter from VisionQuest stating that the account has been closed, the balance owed is zero, and no further billing attempts will be made.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/03) */ I just looked at your account and it looks like this request was processed on 3/27/2013 for your account. I am sorry for the confusion.

4/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service