This business is not BBB accredited.

JD Installation

Additional Locations

Phone: (360) 649-4998 19164 Karl Pl NE, Poulsbo, WA 98370 http://www.jdinstallation.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers fireplace repair and installation services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for JD Installation include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for JD Installation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on JD Installation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 29, 2012 Business started: 08/01/2011 Business started locally: 08/01/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. John Dipino, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Dipino, Owner
Business Category

Fireplaces Building Contractors Mason Contractors

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 9am - 5pm
Saturday by appointment
Closed Sunday
Alternate Business Names
JD Installations

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    19164 Karl Pl NE

    Poulsbo, WA 98370 (360) 649-4998

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    19164 Karl Pl.

    Poulsbo, WA 98370

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Installed a new wood stove and pipe. Leaking in the roof occurred with the first rainfall thereafter. Called dozens of times--unaswered messages left. Finally 9 months later an appointment to repair was made: no show. New appointment made: no show. Also, $165.00 worht of extra parts we paid for were never refunded. Ultimately we paid $400.00 to another contracto to repair the damage.

Desired Settlement: Want the $165.00 for parts refunded--they possess the parts. Want reimbursement for the $400.00 we paid the independent contractor to repair the damage.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/27) */ Ok first off the parts that you returned to the local fireplace shop had nothing to do with my company . Those parts were to be installed on your fireplace so it would meet code like I told you they needed to be you didn't want them on so I left them because they were part of the job that were and are needed still. Your job was done in 2013 and I have never heard anything about a leak till I received a letter From the bbb. I did talk to your daughter about the parts and explained to her that they needed to be installed to meet code and she said i quote ( my dad has Alzheimer's and doesn't remember a lot ) I have tried to call several times after that and have never heard anything back. My cell phone is my office and work phone it goes where I do. You said you had a handy man come out and tell you we installed the wrong size connector ? I would like to know his certifications on chimneys and fireplaces. The chimney that was installed prior to my company coming out was 8inch and so was the flashing on the roof that had already been leaking cause we pointed that out to you when I cut into your wall . We removed the old 8inch and installed new 6inch and fixed the flashing that was leaking prior to our install to code then over a year later I get a complaint from the bbb about a leak I don't know what to make of that . If you would like your parts that need to be installed on your fireplace I would be more than happy to install them if not then your going to need to send me a good phone number and adders to send you the difference for the parts . Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The work you did was done in January. We paid you half of the amount ($2302.97), check #****, on 12/17/13 in order for you to order the parts; the balance to be paid on the day of completion, Check #****, $2302.97 on 1/8/14. On that day, you did not have time to complete the job, so you left parts to be done the next week. They were not parts "to meet code" or we assumed you would have finished before you left. You did not come the next week. We called after two weeks and you told us that they were not necessary and if we didn't want to use them, you would refund the $$. You stated that you were coming up this way soon and you would get them from us. All of this time, we thought you were subcontracted by the local ********** in Hoodsport. She had given us your contact number and indicated that you were up in this area once a week. We had NEVER been aware of any leak in this house. We have lived here for 13 years and the only leak we have ever heard was after you installed a new stove and stovepipes. The leak began with the first hard rainfall. We actually waited a week before calling, thinking maybe it would stop. When it became louder and louder, we again called. I spoke with you and you said you would be up the next week--did not give a definite day. No show. We called again, no answer--left a message. At this point, my husband went down to the local ********** to inquire when we could expect you and leave the parts with the owner. This was when we discovered you were not working for the shop but had done the job independently. Again we called, and never got a response or return call. As the summer months went on, we called periodically. Many times there was just no answer and once or twice you indicated you would be coming up this way soon. This went on for months. Finally, I asked my daughter to call because I suspected you were choosing NOT to answer calls from our phone number. She called you on Sept 2. You answered and claimed that your phone had been out of order on and off. She said you were quite cooperative and told her to call us right away and have us call you and make an appointment to fix the leak and you would refund the $$ for the parts when you came. We called that day and there was an appointment made for the next Wednesday. She would have had no reason to say my husband has Alzhiemers's because he does not. When you did not come on the appointed day, we called again and someone named *******, said that there was no appointment on the books for that day. She called back and made an appointment for the following week. Nothing. We called that week, as well , and the phone was not answered. In an email from the owner of the **********, she indicated that she had asked you if you had taken care of the refund for the parts that she had turned over to you. She said you told her you had paid us. I told her that was untrue. As the fall set in and the rains were harder, I became concerned about the amount of water I could hear coming down the wall in my bedroom. I hired not a "handyman" but a local licensed and bonded construction company to come fix the problem before the water damage was too extensive. There has been no leak since he did his work. We paid him $400.00 to stop the damage.

5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 11, 2014 **** from JD Installation went went to a duplex I own in Bothell to repair a gas fireplace because the pilot light would not remain lit. **** serviced the fireplace and replaced a part for $282.62. **** phoned me that day to say the work was complete and told me it was working great. I paid him that day with over the phone with a visa card. The next daythe tenant called **** to say that the fireplace was not working. **** told the tenant that he would check his schedule and call him back to arrange a time to come back. **** told the tenant that the next part may be faulty. Several weeks later the tenant called me to say that **** had not called him back. I called **** who told me the same thing that it may be a faulty part and that he would reschedule a visit. **** never called. I checked my phone log and I have had left five voice messages and two text messages for **** since March 5 and his has quit responding to both me and the tenant about when he'll return to do the repair.

Desired Settlement: I would like a complete refund of the $282.62 that he charged. The fireplace still does not work and I do not feel as though I should be charged. The poor communication is terrible customer service.

1/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service