Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Rainier Dental - Bonney Lake

Additional Locations

Phone: (253) 826-8800 Fax: (253) 447-2203 View Additional Phone Numbers 18209 Sr 410 E Ste 300, Bonney Lake, WA 98391 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers family dentistry.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rainier Dental - Bonney Lake
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 08, 2005 Business started: 10/02/1995 Business started locally: 10/02/1995 Business incorporated 09/13/2001 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd St, Olympia WA 98501
Phone Number: 800-525-0127

Type of Entity


Business Management
Dr. Dale VanDerschelden, Owner Ms. Kathia Platz, Regional Office Manager Ms. Nicole Remington, Executive Assistant Dr. Dale Vandershelden, Dentist
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Dale VanDerschelden, Owner
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Dale L Vanderschelden DDS Chartered Dale L Vanderschelden DDS PS Rainier Dental - Sumner Rainier Dental - Tacoma Rainier Dental Puyallup

Additional Locations


    15208 Main St E

    Sumner, WA 98390


    18209 Sr 410 E Ste 300

    Bonney Lake, WA 98391 (253) 826-8800 (253) 891-9100 (253) 846-5588 (253) 759-3366


    18710 Meridian E STE 216

    Puyallup, WA 98375


    5003 Tacoma Mall Blvd STE 103

    Tacoma, WA 98409


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/31/2015 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am in need of emergency treatment for the improper and incomplete root canals done on my teeth, #s 5 & 6, by **** ****** I wish to express my extreme dissatisfaction with your entire operation. *** ***** was unprofessional and exhibited a callous disregard for my health and well being and made derogatory comments about my weight. Upon arriving for my last appointment with her, I was told by the receptionist that I was being referred out. I had waited 3 days for the appointment, in extreme discomfort and *** ***** did not even have the courtesy to see me. The office could have called me with this information, rather than making me drive 1/2 hour to be rudely turned away. As evidenced by the x-rays taken in your office, *** ***** ********* in Enumclaw and *** ****** ******** in Renton, have determined that *** ***** did not finish the root canals on either tooth, and, left infected nerve in both teeth. When first coming to your practice, I informed the staff of my needs and financial limitations. Being a single mother, I had to save for many months for your fees. The office manager told me that your office would work with me, but at each visit demanding payment in full. When I asked to make arrangements, I was told "we'll work something out". No details or plans were ever forthcoming from your staff. I had requested accountings from your office at each visit and have yet to receive any data. I was told each time, "You'll get something in the mail". I respectfully request that all funds I have paid be refunded immediately. Due to *** ******** incompetence, I have suffered grievous physical, emotional and financial harm.

Desired Settlement: I respectfully request that all funds I have paid be refunded immediately. Due to *********** incompetence, I have suffered grievous physical, emotional and financial harm.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2013/12/27) */ response sent via email directly to ******* ********** @ ****************** Final Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2014/01/15) */ Thank you for the follow up opportunity to respond to the complaint. This is difficult to fully address this specific patient's complaints with regards to keeping in compliance with HIPAA, but I will do my absolute best. I will use direct examples of our correspondence with her to rebuke this claim. To clarify first and foremost, as it makes a huge difference to our field, that the teeth in question are in fact #4 & 5, not #5 & 6 as *** ********* states in her complaint. As you will see in the letter dated December 16th from *** *********'s own dental insurance company, ***** ****** of Washington, her complaint that the root canal therapy treatments were inadequate, ***** ****** finds that there "is insufficient evidence to support that the standard of care was not met in the treatment provided to *** *********". I would like to submit the correspondence between our office and Delta Dental in regards to these claims, but I feel that the BBB should acquire a HIPAA release form from *** ********* to protect her medical condition. Next, I would like to point out that *** ***** was nothing more that polite and exhibited great follow up care for *** ********* during her care here at Rainier Dental. I am attaching *** ******** written response to the complaint dated November 6, 2013 with our examples of complete regard for her care. This letter was faxed to *** ********* as well as mailed via Certified Mail. In the complaint originally faxed to Rainier Dental, it did not reference the claim of derogatory comments about *** *********'s weight which in knowing *** ****** is completely farfetched that anything like that would have been said at all. She is a consummate professional as is needed in her field of work. For *** ********* to accuse of anything different is shy of slanderous. In addressing the next point in question, I have attached our company's financial policy that *** ********* signed on November 27, 2012. Our policy clearly states "Patient portion is due at the time of service". This is also posted in our waiting room. As a courtesy, we did allow *** ********* to make payment for the root canal therapies on teeth 4 and 5 that were performed on April 9th after the date of procedure. She came in later that same week on April 12th in alignment with her payday, for a post-op check and made payment for the April 9th 2013 treatment at that time. How can she say that we "demanded" payment when we allowed her to delay making payment at the time of treatment and hence going against our written and signed financial policy as a courtesy to her? *** ***** has been shown to not be "incompetent" by a review board of ***** ******* Rainier Dental has even offered to refund monies to both ***** ****** and *** ********* after going forward with treatment for teeth #4 and 5 by an endodontist as shown in the response letter from November 6, 2013. *** ********* has yet to forward an endodontist's findings to our office. We would like to apologize for the time that was needed to review this matter while waiting for final confirmation from ***** ******* However, *** ***** has conducted herself with clinical integrity and kept her patient's care as the main priority. Due to her decision to not follow *** ******** clinicial recommendations, we cannot take responsibility for her current dental state. *** ***** attempted to refer the patient to an endodontist, to which she declined. She tried to arrange an evaluation appointment, to which *** ********* cancelled. Finally, *** ***** tried to contact her directly to discuss her treatment to which she also declined. Rainier Dental has made every effort to address *** *********'s concerns but she has refused to cooperate at every step. We would respectfully request that this complaint be disregarded by *** *********. Sincerely, ****** ********* Business Manager for

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Rainier Dental - Bonney Lake
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)