BBB Accredited Business since

Lake City Smiles

Phone: (206) 365-2244 Fax: (206) 365-2256 12733 Lake City Way NE Ste 201, Seattle, WA 98125 http://www.lakecitysmiles.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers dental services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lake City Smiles meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lake City Smiles include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lake City Smiles
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 15, 2008 Business started: 02/11/2003 in WA Business started locally: 02/11/2003 Business incorporated 02/11/2003 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd SE, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.doh.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 525-0127
hsqa.csc@doh.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Seng T Yea DDS, President
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Seng T Yea DDS, President
Business Category

Dentists Dentist - Dental Implants Dentistry - Cosmetic Offices of Dentists (NAICS: 621210)

Alternate Business Names
Lake City Smile Seng Yea DDS PS

Additional Locations

  • 12733 Lake City Way NE Ste 201

    Seattle, WA 98125 (206) 365-2244

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in on 04/15/2013 to have a crown that had fallen off cemented back on. Four days later, it fell off again. I contacted the dentist office the next day they were open, and was told to come in that day, 04/22/2013. The receptionist told me that there would be no charge to have it redone since it fell off so quickly. The dentist cemented the crown again, and I left. The next day, the receptionist called and said the dentist wanted another $75. I reminded her that I had been told prior to returning that there would be no charge, and she said that he still insisted that I pay. I told her that since I was told it was to be done free of charge, I would not pay. I then received a statement stating I owed $75 more. This is not right, and his way of doing business is not moral. I refuse to pay since his authorized representative had assured me both prior to and following the brief 5 minute appointment that this was done for free.

Desired Settlement: I insist that **** ***, D.D.S. PS remove this $75 charge from my account.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1010, 9, 2013/07/12) */ July 8, 2013 Lake City Smiles XXXXX **** **** ** ** **** Seattle, WA XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX RE: Case #********:****** ******* *** came in on 4-15-13 because his permanent crown (tooth #7) came off. We did an exam, took x-rays, and re-cemented the crown. Prior to the re-cementation, *** was advised of the differences between the permanent and the temporary cement. *** has a cavity on the adjacent tooth and a cavity on the crown abutment. *** elected to have temporary cement because of the cavities and because he feels that he only needed the crown to stay on long enough for his job interview in a day or so. I informed *** that because of his very tight contact of the crown with his opposing dentition, I cannot assure him of how long the temporary cement will last. Clinical exam revealed that the patient has a history of severe incisal and occlussal wear on his dentition, probably due to his missing back teeth and/or bruxism. *** was aware and made aware of his complicated occlusion, and he still chooses to have the temporary cement. *** was very gracious and happily left the office. On 4-22-13, *** came in again because the same crown came off. *** chooses to cement with a permanent cement. *** left the office without any issues and he stated that he’ll come back to get his other dental work done. I believed that my front desk didn’t charge *** for the permanent cementation at the day of service because she thought that we were re-cemented again with a temporary cement. Out office protocol is that we don’t charge again for the same work that was done, whether it’s the patient’s fault or not. In ***’s case, he was charged again because we used a permanent cement instead of a temporary cement. If we had used a temporary cement, then he would not have been charged again. NOTE: On 4-15-13, *** was only charged $75 for $200 worth of dental procedures (exam, x-rays, temporary cement). In addition, he was given a $10 courtesy because he didn’t have dental insurance. His final fee was $65 ($75-$10). *** paid $80, so he had a credit of -$15 ($80-$65) on his account. *** stated that he was appreciative and grateful for our services, kindness, and courtesy discount. On 4-22-13, ***’s permanent cementation was $95 but he was given a $5 courtesy, so his balance was only $90. With his prior -$15 credit, his new balance came out to be $74 ($90-$15). Therefore, he was sent an invoice of $75. Sincerely, *** *** DDS Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 6, 2013/06/25) */ Lake City Smiles immediately called and offered to remove this uncalled for fee. As long as they do not try to recharge for this mistake, I am satisfied that they have resolved the complaint. Thank you BBB! *** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Lake City Smiles
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)