This business is not BBB accredited.

Jeffrey A Stewart DDS

Phone: (253) 756-8644 1919 N Pearl St Ste B4, Tacoma, WA 98406 http://www.besttacomadentist.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers family dentistry.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jeffrey A Stewart DDS include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jeffrey A Stewart DDS
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 15, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1989 Business started locally: 01/01/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Health Dental Disciplinary Board
PO Box 47867, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 236-4860

Business Management
Thelma Betts, Office Manager Mr. Jeffrey Stewart, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Thelma Betts, Office Manager
Business Category

Dentists


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1919 N Pearl St Ste B4

    Tacoma, WA 98406 (253) 756-8644

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This office recently instituted a policy to offer a fluoride treatment to all of their customers. I have told them multiple times to NOT offer this service to myself or my wife because ************ does not cover this service unless the patient is pre-teen or a senior citizen. They claim that they ask each time about the service, and we are required to tell them no. My wife did not get offered the option to say no last time, and they will not waive the fee.

Desired Settlement: It's the principle of the matter, that they need to admit that they do NOT ask each and every patient if they want the treatment, as my wife said she was not offered an option. I had to pay an addition fee to cover this cost, and would like it reimbursed, $17.80.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/05/20) */ Your wife was offered fluoride and she accepted... because she is an adult, we went forward with treatment per her acceptance. The treatment was performed and is ultimately your responsibility. There was documentation supporting your wife's acceptance in her file. This is the same protocol that we have used on everybody regarding fluoride since Jan 1, 2014. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 15, 2014/05/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My wife was on nitrous oxide, so she does not recall being asked. The service was forced on her, and I trust her recollection. I want other people to understand that they are not required to have this service. Adults are not covered by most insurance for fluoride, so it appears to be a way for the office to generate more revenue. It was not an option for my wife. Final Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2014/06/10) */ I have responded to this before, but somehow it hasn't gotten to you. *** *********'s wife came in and had fluoride treatment as an option. There is documentation in the chart that insurance mav not cover it. However it i$ suggested from *** ******* as well as the ADA for oral health. His wife accepted the fluoride knowing that it may not be covered by insurc;ince. *** ******** was not in the office making the decision, but his wife was here for HER treatment and accepted the responsibility knowing that insurance may not cover it even though it is recommended. We do not treat insurance companies, we treat people and treat them with the up most respect and standard of care. We stand by our decisions and have documentation in the chart. He was not here for her appointment, and she is a consenting adult. If you have any additional questions please don't hesitate in contacting our office. ****** ***** OM Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 24, 2014/06/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Sadly this is the office's word versus my wife's word. The office should require a signature acknowledging service acceptance. I would argue that ****** ***** was not in the room when my wife was offered the service, so there is no way they can guarantee to anyone that my wife said yes. Again, my wife was under nitrous oxide at the time, and would not agree to something that would not be covered by our insurance. I consider this matter closed, and hope that this office does not take further advantage of others with this service in the future. I will give a word of caution that other customers should request proof in writing when being offered services. And I want to clarify that we have no complaint about the dentist himself...****** ******* is wonderful, it's the front desk and billing that turned into a nightmare of the last few years.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Jeffrey A Stewart DDS
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)