BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2000

Brent A Skovmand DDS PS

Phone: (360) 825-2191Fax: (360) 825-18302617 Griffin Ave, EnumclawWA 98022-2380 Send email to Brent A Skovmand DDS PS

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers family dental services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2000

BBB has determined that Brent A Skovmand DDS PS meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Brent A Skovmand DDS PS' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Brent A Skovmand DDS PS

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
09/23/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: Poor communication,was told i was covered by my insurance for procedure,then after procedure i was told i would have to pay. Then i was told it was my responsibility to contact insurance company before having any work done,they failed to inform me of that before hand. Was told i needed a tooth extracted,went to another dentist,and the tooth they wanted to extract was fine it was the tooth in front of it. Had a crown done,and dosent fit correctly. The staff told me they would go over these issues with the dentist and get back with me,never heard anything,until i recieved a letter 8-27-13 saying they had turned it over to collections. Didnt recieve any contact,billing,etc. before this and that was several months ago ,so i figured they decided to forgo the bill.

Business' Initial Response
The complainant came to us in Sept 2011 as an emergency patient, seeing us on and off during the year when he was in pain. On 9/25/12 he came in for a crown. We did not know that a newer employee had provided incorrect information about his remaining insurance benefits. Our computer showed that the majority of the charges would be covered by insurance. That was incorrect information, but it is always the patient's ultimate responsibility to know their insurance benefits. We provide an estimate of benefits, but do not guarantee coverage. As soon as we discovered the insurance companies were not covering the charges as we had estimated, my office manager contacted the complainant to make a payment plan. He had a long list of complaints that we had never heard and was rude and argumentative. His response was offensive to my staff member. She sent a bill on December 6, 2012 asking him to call us to make payment arrangements. We did not hear from him.

In July 2013, our staff member approached the doctor about the possibility of writing off the remaining balance of $1,173.00 and requesting the complainant find another dentist. Doctor agreed, since the trust level between the patient and our office was compromised. We wrote off the balance on 7/31/13. On 8/27/13 I prepared a letter stating Doctor would no longer see the complainant as a patient after 30 days. In sending this letter I mistakenly reported that his account had been turned over to collections. I did not realize my mistake until we were contacted by the BBB. Upon reading a copy of the letter I was mortified to see my mistake, for we had generously written off the entire balance the previous month. I extend my apologies to the complainant for this miscommunication.

At present, the complainant has a zero balance on his ledger and we have inactivated his account. Our only request is that he find another dental provider, as this will be more comfortable for all parties involved.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/01/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Dentists

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/01/2000Business started: 06/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd SE
Tumwater, WA98501-5570
(800) 525-0127
http://www.doh.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1988, WA

Contact Information
Principal: Dr Brent Skovmand (Owner)Customer Contact: Mrs Judith Skovmand
Business Category

Dentists

Alternate Business Names
Advanced Dental Group

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Brent A Skovmand DDS PS

2617 Griffin Ave

Enumclaw, WA 98022-2380

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2617 Griffin Ave 

    Enumclaw, WA 98022-2380(360) 825-2191

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Brent A Skovmand DDS PS is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

Industry Tips for Dentists

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.