BBB Accredited Business since

Brent A Skovmand DDS PS

Phone: (360) 825-2191 Fax: (360) 825-1830 2617 Griffin Ave, Enumclaw, WA 98022 http://www.dentistenumclaw.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers family dental services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Brent A Skovmand DDS PS meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Brent A Skovmand DDS PS include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Brent A Skovmand DDS PS
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 2000 Business started: 06/01/1988 Business started locally: 06/01/1988 Business incorporated 06/01/1988 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd SE, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.doh.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 525-0127
hsqa.csc@doh.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Brent Skovmand, Owner Mrs. Judith Skovmand
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Brent Skovmand, Owner
Customer Contact: Mrs. Judith Skovmand
Business Category

Dentists

Alternate Business Names
Advanced Dental Group

Additional Locations

  • 2617 Griffin Ave

    Enumclaw, WA 98022 (360) 825-2191

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Poor communication,was told i was covered by my insurance for procedure,then after procedure i was told i would have to pay. Then i was told it was my responsibility to contact insurance company before having any work done,they failed to inform me of that before hand. Was told i needed a tooth extracted,went to another dentist,and the tooth they wanted to extract was fine it was the tooth in front of it. Had a crown done,and dosent fit correctly. The staff told me they would go over these issues with the dentist and get back with me,never heard anything,until i recieved a letter 8-27-13 saying they had turned it over to collections. Didnt recieve any contact,billing,etc. before this and that was several months ago ,so i figured they decided to forgo the bill.

Desired Settlement: forgo the billing,

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/09/04) */ The complainant came to us in Sept 2011 as an emergency patient, seeing us on and off during the year when he was in pain. On 9/25/12 he came in for a crown. We did not know that a newer employee had provided incorrect information about his remaining insurance benefits. Our computer showed that the majority of the charges would be covered by insurance. That was incorrect information, but it is always the patient's ultimate responsibility to know their insurance benefits. We provide an estimate of benefits, but do not guarantee coverage. As soon as we discovered the insurance companies were not covering the charges as we had estimated, my office manager contacted the complainant to make a payment plan. He had a long list of complaints that we had never heard and was rude and argumentative. His response was offensive to my staff member. She sent a bill on December 6, 2012 asking him to call us to make payment arrangements. We did not hear from him. In July 2013, our staff member approached the doctor about the possibility of writing off the remaining balance of $1,173.00 and requesting the complainant find another dentist. Doctor agreed, since the trust level between the patient and our office was compromised. We wrote off the balance on 7/31/13. On 8/27/13 I prepared a letter stating Doctor would no longer see the complainant as a patient after 30 days. In sending this letter I mistakenly reported that his account had been turned over to collections. I did not realize my mistake until we were contacted by the BBB. Upon reading a copy of the letter I was mortified to see my mistake, for we had generously written off the entire balance the previous month. I extend my apologies to the complainant for this miscommunication. At present, the complainant has a zero balance on his ledger and we have inactivated his account. Our only request is that he find another dental provider, as this will be more comfortable for all parties involved.