BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Atkinson Family Dentistry

Phone: (360) 856-4540Fax: (360) 856-1777727 Trail Rd, Sedro WoolleyWA 98284-9335

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers general dentistry services including children's, cosmetic and endodontics.

BBB Accreditation

Atkinson Family Dentistry is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Atkinson Family Dentistry's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Atkinson Family Dentistry

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
05/05/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I went to this dentist over a year ago to get a tooth filled. They diagnosed me and said I would require a crown. I had made arrangements to make payments towards a crown then once those payments were finished I would get a porcelain crown for my damaged tooth and since then had paid in payments a little over a thousand dollars. They had applied a temporary cap to the tooth it did not last and I had to seek else where to get this job finished as I had relocated out of town. I requested that my money be returned for work that has never been done. And this office says regardless of what work has not been done I am required to still pay them for that incomplete work.

Desired Settlement
I would like a reasonable portion of my 1000$ payment back from this business as they had not finished the crown work. And the rest of the fee waved gone since nothing has been done to complete the job I had been making payments towards.

Business Response
**** was seen in our office 12/18/2012 for a crown prep on #18. **** had experienced a lot of pain with #18 we had tried both resin and amalgam filling and it wasn't feeling better. in Dec 2012 tooth was prep and a temporary crown was placed. Patient was to remain in temp for a month to see if tooth calmed down. Dr ******** advised tooth may be going to RCT and we wanted to watch it before placing permanent crown. In the mean time since **** could not pay for all of crown at the time of service we allowed her to make payments. **** had made $430 in payments from 12/18/12-2/10/14. Patient never returned to seat permanent crown. We refunded $930 the cost of crown back to patient's account and refunded her by check the amount of payments made to her crown, $430.00 on 4/18/14, . Patients balance is now a zero balance.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Dentists, Dentistry - Cosmetic, Dentistry - Children, Endodontics

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/03/2008Business started: 10/01/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd SE
Tumwater, WA98501-5570
(800) 525-0127
http://www.doh.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 2000, WA

Contact Information
Principal: Dr Brandon Atkinson (President)Customer Contact: Ms Kristi Cook (Business Manager)
Business Category

Dentists, Dentistry - Cosmetic, Dentistry - Children, Endodontics

Alternate Business Names
Brandon L Atkinson DMD PS

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Atkinson Family Dentistry

727 Trail Rd

Sedro Woolley, WA 98284-9335

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 727 Trail Rd 

    Sedro Woolley, WA 98284-9335(360) 856-4540

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Atkinson Family Dentistry is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

Industry Tips for Dentists

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.