This business is not BBB accredited.

Windstar Cruises

Phone: (206) 733-3096 View Additional Phone Numbers 2101 4th Ave Ste 210, Seattle, WA 98121 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers leisure cruises along the Columbia, Snake and Willamette Rivers.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Windstar Cruises include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Windstar Cruises
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1988 Business started locally: 01/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985

Business Management
Mr. Nick Burger, Director of Guest Relations Mr. David Giersdorf, President Ms. Diane Moore, President Mr. Doug Pendleton, VP of Sales Mr. Joel Perry, VP Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nick Burger, Director of Guest Relations
Business Category

Cruises Travel Agencies & Bureaus

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Windstar Cruises has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    2101 4th Ave Ste 210

    Seattle, WA 98121 (206) 292-9606


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/9/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 25, 2014, I booked a Barcelona to Italy Windstar cruise over the phone. In that discussion, my Windstar agent offered travel insurance. Frankly, I had not considered it, but given my work schedule and a sick Dad, I asked her to describe the plans. She went through a few plans but I emphasized I may have to cancel the trip for ANY reason, work, parent issues. Upon hearing that she encouraged me to select the most expensive plan, the ******** provided FSP Plus Plan. I believe there was no misunderstanding that I wanted the expensive plan for maximum flexibility and for a full cash refund of my deposit, which after purchasing the plan and deposit, would be $645. When I did have to cancel for work issues, I was quickly passed over from Windstar to ******** and my claim was promptly rejected. My ******** Claim *******, basically said I needed a medical reason. Windstar ignored me. After prodding, they did mail me a typed record of my voice exchange. In it, after I make the comment to the agent, so "everything will be paid up if something goes freaking sideways 30 days out if I'm gonna do the super plan I'll get everything back." The agent responds "Yup, yup." Instead I received a credity for $645, exactly what I did not want. I have traveled all over the world. As a Navy officer, for business, and for pleasure. I truly believe I was misled and would like the BBB to determine if this is standard practice and whether Windstar colludes with ******** on this practice. If I was misled others may be being misled as well.

Desired Settlement: Upon cancellation, a Windstar agent indicated ******** would execute a claim of $645, based on my deposit of $1301 - $656.00 paid for the FSP Plus Insurance Plan. I would still request that refund from Windstar or ******** (**** **** ******** ***** ***, Kansas City, MO, 64114). I would also ask the BBB to investigate whether or not Windstar and ******** collude in any way to mislead consumers. I have traveled all over the world, Navy, business, and pleasure, and never encountered this issue.

Business Response: The Guest has not included the pertinent part of the transcribed conversation provided to him, wherein the salesperson explains the following:

***: We have 2 different plans with the plan I’ve first mentioned if you cancel for a medical or covered reason everything comes back to you in cash, and if you cancel for any other reason that’s not covered you’ll get future cruise credit so no matter what you’ll get reimbursed. With other plan, the standard plan you get reimbursement if you cancel for a covered reason you get cash back."

Beyond the recorded phone excerpts, (transcripts of which were provided previously to Mr. *****,) the full terms and Explanation of Benefits are provided to all guests who opt into the program, and are summarized on each invoice sent to the customer. Mr. ***** received such invoices, inclusive of the Insurance EOB, on 4/25 and again on 6/2, four days before his cancellation was requested. 

It is unfortunate that Mr. *****'s recollection of the phone conversation is not correct, but the audio recording of this conversation stands on its own as proof that the insurance program was sold in good faith and with summary disclosure of coverages.  

Thousands of customers purchase FSP/FSP+ annually, this is the first such complaint regarding an expectation of receiving cash for "non-covered reasons," we've received since the inception of this program in 2011.

Windstar Cruises considers this matter fully closed.

Windstar Guest Relations
Windstar Cruises, LLC
Seattle, WA