Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Smart Cremation

Find a Location

View Additional Phone Numbers 2528 S 38th St Ste B, Tacoma, WA 98409 http://www.smartcremation.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers cremation planning and services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Smart Cremation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Smart Cremation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Smart Cremation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 23, 2009 Business started: 10/01/2008 in 0 Business started locally: 10/01/2008 Business incorporated 12/11/2008 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Vincent Faccinto, VP of Operations Mr. Sam Upton, Vice President of Sales
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Vincent Faccinto, VP of Operations
Business Category

Cremation Services Cemeteries and Crematories (NAICS: 812220)

Alternate Business Names
Smart Cremation of Washington LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Smart Cremation has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/23/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called them and have already asked them to take me off their mailing list. I did this about 6 months ago, yet I am still getting their flyers in the mail! This is crazy! The people I talk to at the company don't deal with it, and wind up hanging up on me~!

Desired Settlement: I do not want to receive any more flyers from this predatory business

Business Response:

We have received and reviewed this complaint.  We apologize that this hasn't been resolved sooner.  We have contacted our third party mail distribution company and have removed Ms. ******* from our mailing list.  Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance.

Vinnie F*******, SVP Operations SMART Cremation

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I have already been assured by your company that I was taken off of the mailing list. Obviously this was never done as I am still getting your marketing materials.

 

Sending these sorts of materials out randomly to the unsuspecting population make your company a predator! Nobody wants to get this sort of mail. I suggest that you use a more direct approach and stop sending mail to people.

Sincerely,

***** *******

10/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: company not honoring requests to stop junk mail, stop contact, remove from mailing list.

Desired Settlement: remove from mailing list, do not share my info.

Business Response:
It is never our intention to send mail to households that do not wish to receive it. We will notify the list vendor to remove your name and address immediately.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ***********

8/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have been often receiving unsolicited advertising about smart cremation offers for my husband, and it is not acceptable because of the nature of the business. This advertising is of abusive nature and does affect my husband badly, particularly now as he goes through some health-related issues.

Desired Settlement: BBB mentions this issue linked to this business on BBB website and the business stops their advertising to our address.

Business Response:

We apologize for any discomfort our mail piece has caused.  We have removed your name from our mailing list. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** *************

5/30/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 8-year-old daughter received a flier in the mail on April 9 about "a cremation plan" addressed to her in the mail from Smart Cremation, **** ** ***** ***** *, Tacoma, WA 98409.I do not think it is appropriate to market this kind of information (my daughter does not even know what cremation is) to children.I called the number on the flier twice (4/13/15 and 4/14/15) and left messages to ask to speak to a manager from Smart Cremation. No one has called me back. The very pleasant customer service folks did remove my daughter's information from their database, they said. But I want to speak to someone in charge to find out how they got this information in the first place. The call center representative said it's from "public records" but my daughter is only 8 and the only public record she should have is her birth certificate. I want to file a complaint against the company who sold the list to Smart Cremation and I want Smart Cremation to assist me in tracking down this list.Also to note: my daughter's birthday was a week away from when the flier was received at our house. I find it offensive that these fliers are potentially timed to birthdays (hey, you're getting older, consider a cremation plan!).

Desired Settlement: 1. I want the name of the company that has my daughter's information that was presumably sold to Smart Cremation so it can be removed. Her name shouldn't be on any mailing lists.2. I want Smart Cremation to be more careful about screening its lists for children. Young children shouldn't be having conversations about what "cremation" means when they pick up the mail.3. I want the BBB to be aware of this marketing scheme to children, which is offensive.

Business Response: SMART VP of Sales and VP of Operations scheduled a
conference call with Ms. **** on 5/13/2015. 
The third party marketing group also participated on the call.

It was found the grandmother had bought a magazine for the
granddaughter and that is how the granddaughter’s name was on the mailing list
with the age of 71. (The grandmother’s age.)

Not only did SMART take measures to remove the daughter off
of all our mailing lists, we also assisted in removing the daughter’s name off
of major List Companies. 

Ms. **** was appreciative for the help and extra care.  Upon completion of the phone conversation,
she was fully satisfied with the outcome.

5/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I canceled my agreement with Smart Cremation on March 2,2015 at which time costumer service said they would refund my down payment, which was $299, plus $70 for two months advanced payment; $369 total. I was told it would be totally refunded within 10 business days. As of today, April 16,2015, I have not received it. I have called three times on different days and each time have been told it will be mailed in a couple of days. As a senior on social security, Smart Cremation has not complied. Please help me.***** ***** Product_Or_Service: Cremation service Account_Number: ************

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Refund $369

Business Response: We received Mrs. ***** cancellation letter on 3/2/2015.  We waited to issue a refund until her merchandise was returned.  We received her merchandise on 3/30/2015.  A full refund was issued on 4/7/2015.  Mrs. ***** has received her refund and is fully satisfied.

2/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed and paid for a Smart Cremation contract on my mom, ***** ** *****, on 6/15/10 - paid $1,199.89. My step father no longer wanted my mom so we moved her to Nebraska. I called Smart Cremation to inform them of the move, I talked with ******* ***** - XXX-XXX-XXXX, to let them know I moved my mom to a nursing home in Lincoln NE. She stated that we were all set, that was in July 2013. My mom passed away last night at 10:45, I called ******* and did not get an answer, I left a voice mail for her, I called XXX-XXX-XXXX, and the gentleman stated he needed to talk to the nursing home, ****** ****** *******, a nurse at the nursing home, called the same number and gave them my mom's information. I continued to try to call and e-mail ******** Smart Cremation is refusing to honor the contract, account number XXXXXXXXXXXX, the only thing that they will do is cancel the contract and send my money to ***** ********** the funeral service that is handling my mom. So, they are keeping 5 years of interest and refusing to honor the contract to cover the cost of my mom's funeral which is $1,800.00

Desired Settlement: I just want them to honor the contract, that is all, they should pay the cost. They are pocketing my interest on this. My mom had 2 bags of clothes and 500 dollars in her bank account when my step-father no longer wanted to care for her. She has little more than that now. This is deplorable.I have proof on my phone of all phone calls and e-mails made.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/02/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ********, SRVP Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************@smartcremation.com Our Regional Manager,***** ****** spoke to *** ******** and as a result has fully satisfied the consumer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 11, 2015/02/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They honored the contract and apologized for the error. ***** was sincere and that is all that I asked, for them to honor their side of the contract. I am satisfied with their response.

11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: DEAR SIR: I WOULD LIKE TO FILE A COMPLAINT WITH A COMPANY NAMED SMART CREMATION. IN 2012, I PAID $1741.11 TO A MAN NAMED *********, ON RECEIVING A LETTER FROM SMART CREMATION STATING THEIR CO HAD CHOSE TO END THEIR RELATIONSHIP WITH *************** AND TRANSFER THE PRENEED CREMATION TRUST ASSETS TO SUCCESSOR TRUSTEE, **************. I CALLED ********* ON JULY 23, APPROX. 10 AM. THE PHONE NUMBER IS ************. A LADY NAMED ***** ANSWERED. I SAID I NEEDED A REFUND ON MY MONEY. SHE SAID I WOULD ONLY BE ABLE TO GET BACK $483.65 OF PRENEED FUNDS. I ASKED HER COULD I TALK TO *******. SHE CALLED HIS CELL #*** ********. HE CALLED ME APPROX 11:45 am. I EXPLAINED I NEEDED MY MONEY. HE THEN TOLD ME SOME OF THE MONEY WAS PAID IN EXPENSES, i.e. TRANSPORTATION, URNE, A WOODEN BOX , OF WHICH I TOLD HIM HE COULD PICK UP. I EXPLAINED TO ******** THAT I HAD NO INTENTIONS OF USING HIS SERVISES. I AM STILL ALIVE. HE THEN EXPLAINED HE WOULD CALL HIS MANAGER ON THE RETURNING OF MY $1790. HE RETURNED MY MESSAGE JULY 24. To GET MY $483.63 1 WOULD HAVE To WRITE A LETTER 0F CANCELLATION. I ASKED ********* TO SEND ME A COPY OF MY SIGNED CONTACT AS I DID NOT RECEIVE NOR MISPLACED MY SIGNED COPY. I AM REALLY CONFUSED. BEING ON FIXED INCOME, I AM ONLY ASKING FOR THE MONEY I PAID, UNKNOWN TO ME ABOUT PRENEED FUNDS FOR WHICH I AM SURE THEY RECEIVED INTEREST ON MY MONEY. YOURS TRULY, *************** PS: THE LADY NAMED ***** SAID SHE TRIED TO CONTACT THE OWNER IN TEXAS, ************/ SHE FAILED TO REACH THEM.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) See Attached.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 19, 2014/09/16) */ Please see attached letter provided by **********, Sales Manager Smart Cremation 8/29/14 Ref; ************** Complaint To whom it may concern, On July 24, 2014 I sent ************* his contract copies with Smart Cremation along with instructions on how to cancel his agreement since he had miss-placed his copies. I explained to ************* as we spoke on the phone that per his contract he was entitled to the refund of his Trust Account but there would be no refund of the Travel Protection or Retail Merchandise. Obviously he was not happy with the answer he received. I apologize if the customer misunderstood the terms of his contract and hope that he can see the value that our package presents to his family. Regards, ********* Sales Manager Smart Cremation *************************** Scottsdale, AZ 85082 ********************************* Cell

11/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We responded to a mailer regarding pre-paid cremation services. Instead of receiving info in the mail, a sales person showed up at our house - without an appointment - while I was home alone - and pressed me to let him into the house to speak with my husband. The man DID give me his card, but if I had not said no thank you several times and then closed the door in his face, I think he would have pushed his way inside my house. This was very unnerving and what kind of sales person shows up to pitch a sale without an appointment? Fortunately, I was on a cell call at the time and asked my friend to stay on the phone while I answered the door so heard the whole interaction and was telling me on the phone to just say no and close the door.

Desired Settlement: Please advise Smart Cremation to remove our name from its list and to never attempt to contact us again in any way.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 18, 2014/09/18) */ Customer name and address have been removed from our mailing list. If you have any further questions please call Customer Service at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX and ask for ******* *****, Customer Service Manager. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 20, 2014/09/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would like an assurance that Smart Cremation will stop placing phone calls to my home phone. I thought that removing my name and address from the mailing list would be enough, but apparently that is not the full solution. Final Business Response /* (1000, 33, 2014/10/31) */ All Sales Representatives in this area have been notified by management to remove this number off of all their calling lists. Your name has been added to the DO Not Call and Do not Mail lists maintained internally and by our external vendors.

7/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The contract is revocable and when the refund was requested, they did not refund the full amount. Amount of the contract $1,840.06 refund $1,411.06 shortage of $429.00.

Desired Settlement: I want the $429.00 refunded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2014/06/04) */ Mr. ****** contacted the CA Consumer Affairs and we were contacted by **** from their office. ******** in our home office, explained to **** that the $429 asking to be refunded is a travel protection plan and went into effect the moment the plan was signed. There is a 30 day provision on the travel portion for cancellation but not beyond that as the plan holder is covered. We refunded the full amount of the Smart Cremation plan. This was explained to ****, who indicated he would relay this to Mr. *******. Any questions, please give me a call. thank you

5/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Smart Cremation
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart