BBB Accredited Business since

TwinStar Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 258-3115 Fax: (360) 459-0894 4525 Intelco Loop SE, Lacey, WA 98503

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers financial services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that TwinStar Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for TwinStar Credit Union include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for TwinStar Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on TwinStar Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 28, 1988 Business started: 12/01/1937 Business started locally: 12/01/1937 Business incorporated 12/31/1937 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
Phone Number: 800-451-7985

National Credit Union Administration
1775 Duke St, Alexandria VA 22314
Phone Number: (800) 827-9650

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Erin Christopherson, Director Administrative Services Ms. Sierra Burton, Event Coordinator Mr. Jeff Kennedy, President/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Erin Christopherson, Director Administrative Services
Business Category

Credit Unions Credit Unions (NAICS: 522130)

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

TwinStar Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am tired of their Check Sentry Fees. They charged me $150 in check sentry fees. $60 of which I was charged when I didn't even have a negative balance. I have a screenshot of my mobile bank statement proving it too. My account is in a positive standing balance right now and so the fees are covered. Since they wrongly charged us those fees it caused an automatic payment to be added to the overdraft which then caused another $30 in fees and for that business to charge me and extra $50.

Desired Settlement: It would be great if they would excuse the fees all together for the trouble and unnecessary charges they racked up for me when I wasn't in the negative in the first place.

Business Response: January 31, 2015

RE: Case #********

The Better Business Bureau has recently forwarded your complaint to TwinStar Credit Union and I am responding to your concerns today.

I have reviewed your written complaint and I understand your frustration regarding the recent Check Sentry fees assessed to your account. As I understand it, you were charged 5 fees earlier this month when it appeared there were funds in the account to cover some of the charges. There is a difference between the "balance" in your account and the "available balance" - this is primarily due to debit card swipes that place a hold on the funds in your account. In that case, the money hasn't left your account (is part of the "balance"), but isn't a part of your "available balance" for determining if you have sufficient funds and if Check Sentry becomes activated.

As a courtesy to you though, I have reversed all 5 of the fees, resulting in a credit of $150 applied to your checking account. Please be aware that the "available balance" is the key amount needed to avoid incurring additional fees in the future.

I did call the number we have on file (************) yesterday afternoon and left a voicemail. If you have further questions or need additional information please contact me directly at *************

Thank you,

Account Solutions Manager (BBB Moss response - CS fees.docx)

11/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: TSCU did not disclose key facts regarding mobile deposits and overdraft protection ahead of time, withholding mobile deposit funds from one TSCU account to another. While transferring $ within TSCU using mobile deposit, one of my accounts incurred ~$400 in check sentry fees. I called on this the day it happened and then deposited more $ into the account ... they continued to charge me check sentry fees even after I called to make it right. They did not offer me solutions nor were they very helpful in preventing this from happening in the future. They refunded half of the fees but are unwilling refund the remaining 6 check sentry fees totaling $180. I was not told until after the fact that I should just "call and transfer the money" Also, two accounts were set up recently and not linked to my main account for overdraft protection. This could have all been avoided had this been set-up this way form the beginning. It appears that TSCU is setting up accounts this way to charge fees from members. I called multiple times on this account and only on my last call did I "ask" the right questions and found out that two newly created accounts were not linked to the overdraft protection on my main account. I had representative make the appropriate changes.

Desired Settlement: I want all of my overdraft fees related to this event refunded to my account. 6 remaining fees totaling $180.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/24) */ October 24th ***** ****** XXXXX******************** Olympia, WA XXXXX-XXXX RE: Response to Complaint Mr. ******, The Better Business Bureau has forwarded your e-mail complaint to TwinStar Credit Union. We have investigated your concern and reviewed your request for fee waivers. Our review has determined your complaints are likely regarding an account you are not a signer on, and as a result, we are unable to provide any specific details regarding that account. Upon opening an account, members receive and are asked to sign a disclaimer titled, “What you need to know about overdrafts and overdraft fees.” We have included one for your review. If the individual on the account would like a copy, they may request it. It provides specific information about options available to avoid or reduce charges for overdrawn situations. We apologize we were not able to provide more specific information. Please contact us for further questions or concerns. Sincerely, **** ****** AVP, Channel Services TwinSar Credit Union ************

4/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5-19-97 I opened a savings account for my daughter when she was 2 years old. This account remained in place for 15 years. On 5/30/13 my daughter opened a checking account at the age of 18. This checking account went to collections. ****** ************* was notified by ***** *********** in November of 2013 that I owed for my daughters account. I had no idea of this situation until it went to collections.In November 2013 I walked into the office and provided a hand written dispute to ****** ******** (1-22-13 at 12:18 PM) I have argued numerous times with ***** *********** over this account. The staff is RUDE and unwilling to look at the evidence that I do not owe on this account. I was mailed a letter by ***** *********** on XX-XX-XX that they would "code the account" to not reflect in collections. I thought they were talking care of the situation. In March of 2014 I was notified by ****** ***** that this is now reflecting on my credit report. I have a copy of the contract signed by me in 1997. I have a copy of the contract signed in 2013 NOT SIGNED BY ME but a statement of REFUSAL TO SIGN. This is ruining my credit. There is fraudulent activity happening with this account. A business can not just ASSUME a person is responsible for a contract. I refuse to pay this debt as it is not mine. I have filed a dispute with transunion. I am also contacting the Attorney Generals Office of WA, The Dept of Financial Institution (for failure to comply with correct banking and collection laws) I want this taken care of and the staff at ****** just ignore my on going pleas to get this fixed. I will contact an attorney and go to the news if I have toPlease help. Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Removal of my name from collections from all three reporting agenciesAn apology

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/21) */ March 21, 2014 Dear Ms. ******: The Better Business Bureau has recently forwarded your complaint to ********************* and I am responding to your concerns today. Let me first begin by saying that I've read your written complaint, and from a common sense perspective, I agree with what you've said and with what you are asking for. The signature card you signed back in 1997 technically covers all shares under that account number, but it's clear to me that your intention was for this to be your daughter's account only and that you made attempts to accomplish that. I'm not sure where the breakdown in communication happened, as we should've worked with you and your daughter at the time she turned 18 to remove you from the account if that was what you desired. For that, and for the resulting frustration you've had dealing with ***** ***********, I apologize! We were made aware of your situation on March 15, 2014, when you contacted TwinStar to dispute your obligation to the debt on the joint account with ********* By March 17, 2014 TwinStar had worked with ***** *********** and had you removed you from the collections account so that you are no longer considered liable for your daughter's debt. I have confirmed that TwinStar has not reported this debt to the credit bureau and ***** has confirmed that they haven't reported it to the credit bureau either. I'm not too familiar with ************ and what they have told you is being reported to the credit bureaus, but we would certainly be willing to work with you to get it corrected. Please feel free to work with ****** *******, our Account Solutions Manager, at XXX-XXX-XXXX to talk further about correcting any possible issues with credit bureaus. If you'd like to speak with me, you can reach me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Best regards, ***** ******

3/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Twinstar credit union is claiming that I did not make my January payment on my truck when I made it on January 11, 2014. I went in on February 11, 2014 to make my truck payment and the bank refused the payment due to my credit account being overdue. I work part time and my vehicle is more important to me than a closed credit account especially when I don't have a credit card. Due to the bank refusing my payment, they have issued a repossession on my 2006 Toyota Tacoma Pre-Runner. I find it illegal that they would do such such a false act when they are refusing my payment to call my account default since January 14, 2014. I will not be responsible for the banks mistakes. It is my money and if I choose to pay on my truck rather than a closed credit account, I have that free will. I work three days a week and if I lose my truck I lose everything. It will destroy my credit and I won't be able to work or attend school. I have tried to make partial payments each paycheck and the bank clearly refuses to work with me so they are more than willing to take my vehicle away from me which is unfair because this is not my fault. To make up an excuse and tell me that I need to make my credit account and checking account current before I can make a truck payment is absurd and trying to pin their mistake on me and make it look like I am at fault when I am not.

Desired Settlement: I would either like the bank to wipe this mistake away and make my account current and I proceed with my payments or since they are refusing my payments I will assume ownership of the truck and they can turn over the title. If they do not fix their mistake then I will take legal action.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/24) */ March 24, 2014 RE: Case ********* *** ******** The Better Business Bureau has recently forwarded your complaint to TwinStar Credit Union and I am responding to your concerns today. I have reviewed your written complaint and I understand your frustration regarding your recent attempts to make your loan payments. As I understand it, you called us this January and acknowledged that you did not make a truck payment in December 2013. However, since you had made a January payment your concern was that you should not be considered delinquent. The collector you spoke with tried to explain that a full payment is required in each monthly cycle, and if one is missed it gets added to the amount owed on the next month's statement. In February you came into a branch to make the truck payment, and it appears there was confusion from one of our staff about which loan needed to be paid first (between your VISA and your truck payment). I apologize for this confusion, as this should not have happened. After the complaint was filed with the BBB, you have been in contact with us and we have an arrangement that is working toward paying both loans current. Moving forward, payments will not be refused on either loan because the other loan is delinquent. I appreciate you working with us to resolve this and by keeping your loans in good standing with the credit union. If you have further questions or need additional information please contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you, ****** ******* Account Solutions Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would like for the bank to fix their mistake and accept responsibility for their actions. I want the loan on my truck to be noted as current so I may move forward. They have destroyed my credit and I will not tolerate this activity. The bank knew that I wouldn't make my December payment because I didn't have the money, and I was not notified that when I made my January payment that it went toward the December payment. When I was in the bank in February the loan officer (*****) told me that the Visa needs to be current before I can make a truck payment which put me further behind on my payments because it was rejecte3d. The bank is not really willing to work with me because they want $1,000 and I don't have it. I only work part time and they don't care about that. The bank wants me to pay a full payment each paycheck and I can't afford that so I want the bank to make my account current so I will only my payment each month. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/03/25) */ March 25, 2014 RE: Case ********* *** ******** The Better Business Bureau has recently informed TwinStar Credit Union that you did not accept our response, so I am responding to your rebuttal today. The December 14, 2013 payment for your truck was not paid, as you had indicated. Your loan note clearly states that you are required to make a monthly payment by the 14th of each month in the amount of $335.01. Since this did not happen, regardless of the reason, your loan is considered delinquent. When you made your payment in January, you wanted it to be applied to January's payment but that's not how the loan works. Any payment that comes in has to satisfy the delinquent payment before it can be applied to a future payment. I've included verbiage from the Retail Installment Sale Contract that was signed by you on August 30, 2012 to help better explain how your loan operates: 1c. How late payments or early payments change what you must pay. We based the Finance Charge, Total of Payments, and Total Sale Price shown on the front on the assumption that you will make every payment on the day it is due. Your Finance Charge, Total of Payments, and Total Sale Price will be more if you pay late and less if you pay early. Changes may take the form of a larger or smaller final payment or, at our option, more or fewer payments of the same amount as your scheduled payment with a smaller final payment. The late payment referenced in this complaint is not a mistake on TwinStar's part; rather, it's because you didn't make a payment in December according to the terms of the contract of the loan. Also, keep in mind that if a payment doesn't complete the monthly amount due or if the payment is missed entirely, this causes delinquency. That's not the result of an error on TwinStar's part, but the result of the monthly payment obligation per your loan note not being met. The VISA has similar terms, so you are responsible for making those payments as well on a monthly basis. TwinStar has spoken to you since the original complaint was filed on March 17, 2014 and we've come up with arrangements that you have indicated would work for you. What we can't do, however, is make corrections to a credit bureau for a missed payment that truly wasn't made. We can work with you on how to get your loans caught up and back to good standing, however, and are more than willing to do that. Please give me a call directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you, ****** ******* Account Solutions Manager Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/03/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is TwinStar's fault that my February payment wasn't made because they denied it. I want the bank to accept responsibility for their lack of communication and lack of help. It is not ok to deny someone's payment then turn around and threaten them with a repossession. That's not my fault. The bank can and should fix their mistake since they have ruined my credit I can't get approved for anything, and no the bank doesn't want to help me cause they denied me the consolodation loan and have refused to help me since November when my hours at work dropped from 28-12 a week. The bank has made it clear that they have no intentions of working with me., I have other responsibilities that I am accounted for and can't afford to pay the 600 they think I can. I will go forward with my monthly payment until my new credit union is able to finance the truck and I hope twinstar goes out of business for their rude customer service and not taking care of their members. I have banked with twinstar for 12 years and never had a problem until now when I need help financially, they refuse to help me and sit back and watch me sink farther into debt because I can't afford to pay every single bill I have so a couple bills have been unpaid for almost a year because the bank denied me the consolodation loan.

11/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been the victim of fraud and my account at TwinStar became overdrawn due to fraudulent and unauthorized checks being written on my accounts. I communicated with their fraud department, filed a fraud report with local law enforcement and did everything I was required to do. Their fraud department contacted me and informed me that they no longer wanted me as a customer because I had not "protected my bank information". I was eventually told that this debt was being sent to collections. I have another relationship with *************** and have had fraud at their institution. After their investigation my accounts were credited . When I told them about what TwinStar did to me they suggested that I contact BBB and file a complaint. My attorney concurred

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the debt cleared as I have been a victim of fraud, the police are conducting an investigation and I do not feel that it is legal or fair that I be held accountable for checks that have been stolen and forged. I have also contacted the collection agency and have filed a letter of dispute with them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/08) */ I have reviewed the complaint filed by *** ***** in reference to being a victim of fraud. In July 2013, TwinStar received contact from *** **** regarding transactions occurring on his business account, *** ************. TwinStar late returned four checks totaling $3,000 and cleared the negative amount from his business account. On August 15, 2013, the business account became overdrawn due to ACH and NSF transactions, which were eventually paid on October 8, 2013. In addition, *** ***** personal account became negative on August 16, 2013 due to Fed Return checks. Collection attempts to clear the negative account were unsuccessful. On October 17, 2013 we offset funds from *** ***** business account and applied to his personal account and the business account was closed. *** ***** personal account also had fraud occurring which involved ATM/Debit card PIN transaction during the following time frame August 2013 to October 2013. *** ***** contacted our Loss Control Department to discuss the fraudulent transactions. Through research and conversations with *** ****, it became apparent his PIN number was not secured and the individual using the card could possible be his son. At the time, *** ***** refused to file fraud paperwork and stated he would attempt to get the funds from the son. The personal account was charged off and sent to a collection agency on October 17, 2013 after no response to calls and letters regarding negative checking balance. Due to the ongoing fraud on both accounts and *** ***** stating that he was unwilling to follow through with any prosecution for person(s) involved in the fraud, all additional fraud claims were denied. If you have any further questions or need additional information please contact me at *** *** **** **** Thank you, ****** ******* Account Solutions Manager