Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sound Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (253) 383-2016 Fax: (253) 597-7610 View Additional Phone Numbers 1331 Broadway, Tacoma, WA 98402 http://www.soundcu.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers financial products and services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sound Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Sound Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sound Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1980 Business started: 06/14/1940 in WA Business started locally: 06/01/1940 Business incorporated 04/16/1985 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Financial Institutions Division of Credit Unions
PO Box 41204, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 902-8700

Type of Entity

Nonprofit

Business Management
Mr. Don L. Clark Jr., President & CEO Ms. Christine Shenkel, VP/Chief Branch Officer Ms. Jenny Tharp, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Don L. Clark Jr., President & CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Christine Shenkel, VP/Chief Branch Officer
Business Category

Credit Unions Credit Unions (NAICS: 522130)


Additional Locations

  • 1331 Broadway

    Tacoma, WA 98402 (253) 383-2016

  • PO Box 1595

    Tacoma, WA 98401

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/5/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 10 days ago I got a letter from Sound credit union / PHH Mortgage on Sound Credit Union letterhead. Saying we miscalculated your mortgage escrow for the first fourteen months of the mortgage. So adlib here they are saying I owe them around 1000.00 in back escrow and I owe them approx. 61.00 more on each payment going forward I don't believe my taxes went up that much so how could their original calculations be off so much and why did it take fourteen months to contact me. So I call every day for a week trying to find out and no one will give me an answer or return my calls with the answer to that question. So I called and threatened to sue and turn them into the BBB if they don't help me make this right. So then today both my wife and I tried to use our debit cards they won't work but we have around 2000. or more in our accounts I tried an ATM and sound let me log in but had deleted all our transactions and information. I call and give them account info and they tell me they are not allowed to talk to me per notation in the computer. Accounts closed you will be mailed a check. So without notice they make my primary source of money inaccessible and maybe not enough time to stop my next paycheck from being deposited there. Help they have put in dire straights. And I can get my money in some nebulus time in the future. No notice in advance and they confiscate my money lock me out from all my info. So they do that this A.M. on 2-2216 . And in the P.M. at 4:00 P.M. 2-22-16 I get a letter saying abusive talk to our employees can get you membership revoked not telling me that they did close it. I have auto deposits and auto debits out of that account. This was very vindictive of them (threaten to sue and we'll create financial hardship on you.) No notice seize my money and put with no access to it. They won't explain anything since they said the computer says we are not supposed to talk to you.

Desired Settlement: Return all my monies promptly and no no wait for some payment date they locked me out. Also return future deposits made to that account until I can stop the direct deposits and redirect them my paycheck is due to be deposited any day. Pay me now. Not sending a note to pay me at some future date to their accounting department. Make restitution for miscalculating the escrow and waiting fourteen months to notify me. They must contact their mortgage arm PHH mortgage and tell them to pay up my taxes. While we are getting this settled and Supply me a letter of explanation that my account was closed before I was notified so I can satisfy any complaints from auto pays out of that account when they come up NSF. Please help me this was a pretty vindictive move in retaliation for threatening them with going to the BBB and saying I would possibly retain legal help since I felt defrauded. The Bank employees said the computer says we are not to talk to you.

Business Response:

This customer’s mortgage escrow account is accurate. The reason the mortgage payment has increased is because of increases in taxes and insurance, and the timing of the initial escrow analysis. We have repeatedly attempted to explain this to the customer in person and over the phone, and he refuses to listen.

Sound Credit Union has a Board-approved policy where members who are abusive to our employees can have their membership revoked and their account closed. This was the case with this customer.

As a courtesy, we have temporarily reopened the account so that outstanding items can clear.

In summary, there are no errors on this customer’s escrow account, we have repeatedly attempted to explain the escrow analysis to this customer but he refuses to listen, his account was closed due to verbal abuse of several of our employees, and as a courtesy we have temporarily reopened his account so outstanding items can clear.

Business Response:

This customer’s mortgage escrow account is accurate. The reason the mortgage payment has increased is because of increases in taxes and insurance, and the timing of the initial escrow analysis. We have repeatedly attempted to explain this to the customer in person and over the phone, and he refuses to listen.

Sound Credit Union has a Board-approved policy where members who are abusive to our employees can have their membership revoked and their account closed. This was the case with this customer.

As a courtesy, we have temporarily reopened the account so that outstanding items can clear.

In summary, there are no errors on this customer’s escrow account, we have repeatedly attempted to explain the escrow analysis to this customer but he refuses to listen, his account was closed due to verbal abuse of several of our employees, and as a courtesy we have temporarily reopened his account so outstanding items can clear.

 

We also offered to have the member come in to meet with representatives from the mortgage department to review his documents and history to help explain, and that was met with rejection and personal insults to staff.  His escrow account was set up correctly, and in accordance with all state and federal regulations.  His account later became short due to both his property taxes and homeowners insurance significantly increasing after his loan closed.  These future changes were unknown and unpredictable at the time when he got his loan.  When his annual analysis was completed, this resulted in a shortage to pay those higher expenses, which were paid by our servicer PHH prior to the analysis.  His escrow payment was then adjusted to both catch up from the past shortage and allow continued payment of the higher tax and insurance amounts in the future.  All of these were done correctly, in accordance with all state and federal regulations.

10/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from dealership **** ****** of Seattle May 25, 2015. The vehicle ended up being financed through Sound Credit Union. When the dealership was on the phone with the bank, they requested proof of insurance the same day. My husband called **** and provided proof of insurance to the dealership to give to Sound Credit Union, along w/ other requested items. I receive a letter from Sound Credit Union a few weeks later to provide the same requested items. I contacted Sound and went into a branch on Pacific Avenue a couple of times to provide this proof in person. I also attmepted to contact the institution via phone numerous of times and left plenty of messages. I then receive a letter stating that proof of insurance was not provided, so they added an additional balance onto my loan (original loan was about 64k, now 78k.) Sound then contacted **** for proof of this policy and per **** regulations they are not to relinquish this w/o my consent. Before deploying, my husband has since then changed our policies on all vehicles for out household to *****. ***** informed me this is an FTC violation for a bank to back charge me for a service that the company did not provide during that time period. ***** also stated they cannot relinquish my policy information to the lien holder as well. Please investigate as Sound Credit Union has charged me for services that has not been rendered or requested for my vehicle. VIN: *************** 2012 BMW 750XI. I have filed an FTC complaint as advised from ***** and ****.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Sound Credit Union to adjust the amount of my loan back to the original amount as I was originally financed for. I have made my normal payments as suggested by the representatives. My original note payments are 850.00 I am told I now have to pay 1200.00 for insurance coverage from 05/2015~09/2015. I have provided proof of coverage numerous of times and no one seems to call me back. Please remedy this.

Business Response:

Hello,

Please see the attached response to the complaint and let us know if you have any additional questions or concerns.

Thank you!

 

Dear ** *****,

I am writing to respond to the complaint submitted by *** * *********.  ****** ******** ***, an Indiana limited liability company (******) provides tracking and insurance services for Sound Credit Union's ("Lender") collateralized loans.  Under the terms of a Service Agreement with the Lender, when the collateral securing a loan is determined to be uninsured, Allied will force place collateral protection insurance on the vehicle to protect the lender's interest.  Such insurance was forced placed on ** ************** 2012 BMQ because ** ************* did not have insurance coverage on the vehicle until she provided a ***** policy effective 9-9-2015 and the effective date of her loan was 5-25-2015.  The insurance coverage was placed in accordance with the Service Agreement to protect the Lender's interest in the vehicle as collateral securing the loan.

Below is a history of events for ** ********* loan:

06-11-2015     Loan added to the system

06-20-2015     New Loan Notice Sent

07-14-2015     Final Notice Sent

08-07-2015     Collateral Protection Policy issued effective 5-25-2015.

08-25-2015     Received on line submission for insurance with ****

09-03-2015     Was unable to verify coverage with ****

09-08-2015     Received ****** Policy effective 9-9-2015

09-22-2015     CPI partial refund notice sent

09-30-2-15     ****** called both ***** and ****** to verify coverage and was able to verify ******* policy but not the ***** policy.

There is a lapse in coverage from 5-25-2015 to 9-9-2015.

Coverage     5-25-2015 to 5-25-2016

Premium     $11,280

Cancelled     9-9-2015

Partial Refund     $6542

Earned Premium     $4738

If ** *********** can provide ****** with proof of comprehensive and collision coverage from 5-25-2015 to 9-9-2015, we will refund the earned premium.

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the complaints raised by *** **********.  Should you have any questions or require additional information, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best Regards,

Gena F

Carrier Relations Manager

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

 

7/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wrote a letter to to sound and it seems like they haven't fully done a through investigation into this matter for me! Here is the letter I wrote to Sound which they did receive but felt as thou they blew me off! Any questions please done hesitate to call or email with questions To whom it may concern, I’m very unhappy and very concerned about my personal information at Sound Credit Union after receiving threats of mishandling of my banking accounts information from one of your employees Trista who works in your Corporate Office in Consumer Lending department. I have stopped all contact with her for a week. On Friday June 26, 2015 she called me from Sound Credit Union’s phone number on my personal phone. This phone call had nothing to do with any business within my accounts at Sound Credit Union. I hung up both times and wrote an email to her explaining not to contact me anymore and to seek professional help as you can see in the email I wrote and her reply from her work email is truly un professional and goes against your mission vision and service promise to anyone that banks with sound credit union. An hour after this incident I received another phone call and it was her and this time I accepted and listened to the call. During this phone call Ms. B**** made verbal threats of getting my info and getting me terminated out of sound and told me to never bank at Sound Credit Union or show up to any sound branch again. I feel that I have done nothing to Sound Credit Union to deserve this treatment; I’m worry about my banking information as well as my personal information getting into the wrong hands! I am writing this letter to make sure this get addressed to the proper authorities at Sound Credit Union In resolving this issue since this happened from a Sound email and also a telephone number connected with Sound Credit Union acco

Desired Settlement: Explanation that everything is worked out and the safeguard of my account and make sure this never happens to any consumer or customer at sound credit union

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

Please see attached response to complaint ID ********. Please notify me if you do not receive all 15 pages. Thank you.

Kim M****
Sound Credit Union
VP HR
************

RE: ID ********


To Whom It May Concern,


On behalf of Chris S******, I, Kim M****, Vice President/Human Resources, am responding to complaint
ID ******** filed on 06/30/2015 at 10:03:16 PM from our member ****** ******. Please see attached
Exhibit A/4 pages; Exhibit B/3 pages; Exhibit C/1page; Exhibit D/3 pages, Exhibit E/2 pages,
demonstrating Sound Credit Union's responses to Mr. ******'s concerns of our employee, Trista B****
allegedly threatening the mishandling his account/information.


Mr. ****** initially brought his concern to the attention of our Contact Manager (Call Center
Manager) Stacy G***** on Monday, June 22,2015. She took his concern seriously and took immediate
action to secure his account to not allow Ms. B**** access to it. A security block was placed on
his account at 12:12 PM. Mr. ****** was notified shortly after via a phone call from Ms. G*****.

Following this, on Sunday, June 28,2015 at 1:02 PM Mr. ****** sent a complaint letter and copy of
email exchange between him and Ms. B**** dated Friday, June 26, 2015 to the Credit Union's general
email box- see Exhibit B, which in turn was forwarded to me on Monday, June 29, 2015 at 2:16PM- see
Exhibit B. Mr. ****** also placed a copy of the same letter and email exchange in the Credit
Union's Kent B***** night drop mail slot, which was discovered the morning of Monday, June 29,2015.
That documentation was immediately forwarded to Corporate Management. At 4:30PM via email, I
responded to Mr. ****** by acknowledging the receipt of the letter and email, thanking him for
bringing this to the attention of Management, and assuring him the Credit Union was taking his
complaint seriously and would ensure
the safekeeping of his account- see Exhibit D page 2.

Over the next couple of days Mr. ****** repeatedly contacted me via email- see Exhibits D and E
continuing to voice his concern whereas I continued to assure him the Credit Union had taken all
necessary precautionary measures to ensure the safekeeping of his account. In an email to me dated
Tuesday, June 30, 2015 at 12:37 PM, Mr. ****** actually thanked me for doing an investigation and
conveyed his appreciation for my "hard work and concern"- see Exhibit D page 1. However, later that
evening at 10:03 PM, Mr.. ****** filed this complaint, and then again emailed me on Wednesday, July 1,
2015 regarding the situation.

Please be aware, in his initial conversation with Ms. G***** on June 22, 2015, Mr. ****** relayed
that he and Ms. B**** were in a close personal relationship that recently ended. In speaking with
Ms. B**** she confirmed this was true. Exhibit C page 1of 1 dated June 22,2015 at 7:40AM
demonstrates Ms. B**** requesting that Mr. ****** have no further contact with her.

Sound Credit Union recognizes its reputation and success is built in part by the trust gained in
the accurate handling of our members' financial affairs. We further understand the Credit Union's
reputation can be seriously damaged by someone revealing confidential information concerning our
members, employees, volunteers, or any sensitive business information. Therefore Sound Credit Union
takes all complaints of this nature very seriously.

An. investigation was performed on Mr. ******'s account and File Maintenance activity. Additionally
a review of emails between Ms. B**** and Mr. ****** was completed. In both cases there was no
evidence of the mishandling of his account/information or threats from Ms. B****. Appropriate
corrective action was taken on Ms. B**** for using Credit Union property for personal use and using
profanity to a member on Credit Union email- Exhibit A page 3 and Exhibit C.

Thank you for reading this response and assisting us in reaching a mutually agreeable resolution
with Mr. ******. Please feel free to contact me at ************ or ******@soundcu.com should you
have further questions.

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

1/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Visa was denied in a company called *** ******** in Redmond WA. My card was/is in good standing as it is usually paid in full each month. I was advised that the processing center was in Virginia, an area where there is fraud. The manager of *** ******** advised me that no other Visa was declined for this reason. Sound CU will not advise me of other locations that their card will be declined and essentially their Visa is useless because a member now cannot be assured their Visa will be approved or declined by any business. My wife and I deal and shop in this business from time to time and it caused us extreme embarrassment to have a card declined when we knew the card was in good standing. Sound Credit union advised me that they continue to block certain companies, and wont tell me (or their members) who!

Desired Settlement: A personal apology from the President of Sound Credit Union for the embarrassment they caused us, and to advertise the fact on their web site and letters to their members that their Visa could be declined arbitrarily Visa and that Sound CU cannot tell in advance or provide a list of companies that their Visa is of no use.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/18) */ Sound Credit Union apologizes for the embarrassment caused to *** ********* when his Credit Card transaction was declined at *** ********. Our debit and credit transactions are monitored by a 3rd Party vendor for suspicious and potential fraud activity. To minimize fraud losses we do have certain merchant and state blocks in place. These blocks change regularly and are in place to protect our member's and the credit union from fraudulent activity and losses. Our goal when setting these blocks is to minimize member impact when using their debit or credit card and would not intentionally cause inconvenience or embarrassment to our member's. In the instance, the merchant clears their transactions from the state their corporate headquarters is in, which happened to be on our blocked list at the time. The reason we do not post our merchant and state blocks on our website is they can change daily and provides information to the fraudsters to know where they could use stolen or counterfeit cards without being denied. Members do have the option to opt-out of fraud monitoring and these blocks which was offered as an option to *** *********. Our President will write a personal apology letter to *** ********* and mailed to the address above.

12/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Credit Union customer service department put a hold on my account for exactly the same amount already charged to me by, in this case, *******. I called to have the obvious double charge released from hold, where, according to their website, it would stay held until 12/4/2013. I could not afford this hold. Despite my having, *******, in this case, on the line confirming that the verification of funds request that was erroneously processed as a withholding of funds, and was duplicate of the payment already received and showing in the transaction list and also that they had released said verification on 11/27, today being 11/29, the "Customer Service" department manager would not perform the physical release of funds, despite the obvious hardship this hold had caused my account. I put Customer Service in quotation, because apparently to them this means being as rude, unfriendly (even to the ******* rep), discourteous and unhelpful as possible. Few businesses have fax machines anymore, particularly inaccessible to them are the customers service departments most people would have to deal with to resolve such issues, so why does it make sense that my credit union, of which I'm supposed to be part owner, would have an onerous policy that requires businesses send fax information to release obvious duplicates?

Desired Settlement: I want the obviously duplicate hold amounts released. Further, I want an update to their hold policy to make it easier for customers to have duplicates released without requirement of antiquated faxing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/05) */ ***** telephoned our Contact Center on November 29, 2013 requesting a $30.64 duplicate transaction hold be released. Two charges of $30.64 were authorized on two separate days therefore it was not considered a duplicate charge. Sound Credit Union requires authorization to release holds as we are required by **** to settle an authorized charge. The account hold has expired and the funds are available. Exceptions are case by case and can be approved by management. I will follow up with the Contact Center Manager to ensure she understands a fax, secured e-mail, or in some cases verbal authorizations are acceptable.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sound Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)