Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers retail financial services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Seattle Metropolitan Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Seattle Metropolitan Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1968 Business started: 01/01/1933 Business started locally: 01/01/1933
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
1775 Duke St, Alexandria VA 22314
Phone Number: 800-755-1030

Business Management
Mr. Richard Romero, President Mr. Timothy Hendon, Accounts Recovery Manager Quanda L Paden Mr. Brent Richins, VP Member Services
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Brent Richins, VP Member Services
Principal: Mr. Richard Romero, President
Business Category

Credit Unions Credit Unions (NAICS: 522130)

Additional Locations

  • 120 Andover Park E STE 120

    Tukwila, WA 98188

  • 303 NE Thornton Pl

    Seattle, WA 98125

  • 3621 33rd Ave S STE C1

    Seattle, WA 98144

  • 365 Kirkland Ave

    Anderson Island, WA 98303

  • 3925 196th St SW

    Lynnwood, WA 98036

  • 500 S Michigan St

    Seattle, WA 98108

  • 801 3rd Ave

    Seattle, WA 98104 (206) 398-5500

  • PO Box 780

    Seattle, WA 98111 (206) 398-5757


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In March of 2015 Seattle metropolitan credit union sold me a refinance service to refinance my car. As part of the agreement they agreed to handle title, Licensing, and Plates. I paid them as part of the loan to handle these items. The Tabs on my car expired in July. I contacted them in March to give them plenty of time. They initially told I would receive new plates in a month. I never received them. They never contacted me to let me know there was a problem. Each time I contacted them to see where the plates where I was told that either the plates were on their way. Or that they needed more forms signed. It's now August. My plates have expired and they continue this same behavior. They've asked me for the same forms 3 times now and have indicated to me that the plates are not on the way. They haven't once contacted me to let me know there was a problem with the Service I purchased from them. They only respond when I ask when I will receive the service. The people I've been speaking to there are Kanani W**** and Tracy S********. It's been more than 5 months and I can't legally drive my car now because of their negligence in delivering the service I purchased from them,. They seem to have no intention of providing the service.

Desired Settlement: I only want two things to resolve this issue. First - I want the plates for my car Ordered and delivered to me so that I can drive it. Second - I want them to refund the payment I made to them for the month of July and all future months up until this issue is resolved. It is 100% their fault that I can't legally drive my car. So they are basically charging me monthly payments for a car I can't use due to their negligence. I've asked them for help to resolve this several times per month since March. They started charging me payments in May before they had delivered the service. Further, they have offered to differ the payments until this issue is resolved. That offer is unacceptable because it affects my credit and increases the length of payments on an asset that is depreciating and can't be used. If they had simply delivered the service this would not be an issue. They've had 5 months to deliver a service that most other companies deliver in a couple weeks.

Business Response: This complaint has been escalated to management for resolution and the member has been contacted.  SMCU has taken appropriate action to resolve the monthly payment as requested on the loan while actively working with the member toward obtaining the necessary titlework documentation in order to complete the title transfer.  The member is working closely with SMCU’s Manager of Consumer Lending toward resolution.    

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

They are working with me on the complaint. However the issue is still not resolved and seems to have no timeline to being resolved and no end in sight.


**** *******

Business Response:

SMCU is in ongoing communication with our member and is working together with him regarding the required paperwork for resolution.  Resolution is based on the completion of that required paperwork to and from a number of sources.  As a result, no timeline can be established.  We do estimate completion within 60 days. 

8/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I financed a vehicle which was totaled in an accident. The insurance payoff occurred within a month of the accident. The credit union continues to require me to make payments on a totaled vehicle, which I have already made one. I have gap insurance on the loan and owe nothing. I believe this to be a deceptive lending practice in having me continue to pay so that gap insurance is no longer relevant. The credit union also did not cash the insurance payoff check for a month. I have had numerous conversations to no avail.

Desired Settlement: Close my account as having been paid in full, and refunding me a July car installment, and a prorated June car installment. Also there is to be no negative credit reporting.

Business Response:
This complaint has been escalated to management for resolution and attempts to reach the member have been made.  SMCU has taken appropriate action to expedite the processing of GAP Insurance and will continue to work with the member until this is resolved. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


****** ********

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Seattle Metropolitan Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)