BBB Accredited Business since

School Employees Credit Union of Washington

Additional Locations

Phone: (206) 628-4010 Fax: (206) 676-3638 325 Eastlake Ave E, Seattle, WA 98109 http://www.secuwa.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a credit union for school employees and their families.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that School Employees Credit Union of Washington meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for School Employees Credit Union of Washington include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on School Employees Credit Union of Washington
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 2003 Business started: 05/01/1936 Business started locally: 05/01/1936 Business incorporated 04/01/1949 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Financial Institutions
PO Box 41200, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.dfi.wa.gov
Phone Number: (360) 902-8700

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brad Boydston, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brad Boydston, Controller
Business Category

Credit Unions Credit Unions (NAICS: 522130)

Alternate Business Names
Washington School Employee's Credit Union

Additional Locations

  • 325 Eastlake Ave E

    Seattle, WA 98109 (206) 628-4010

  • PO Box 576

    Seattle, WA 98111

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Opened an individual savings account in september 2002, no VISA, no checking, individual account,individual credit. Along with that account I requested $10,000 for an used truck. Sometime after that, my wife (now exwife) was allowed access to the account and obtained $18,000 in VISA credit line. She was also allowed to change the mailing address, request autopay for the VISA card, and any other actions she wanted to do. After seperation, she took the debt to pay(this complaint is not about the ownership of the debt...I know about community property law). When she has been unable to pay, negative credit has been posted to my credit report (again, I know the CU doesn't care about divorce decrees). I have spoken to SECUWA many times since separation in 2011, trying to gain information about how the account got to be to the point it was (who thinks $18,000 in VISA card is okay?). Finally I requested information from the CU president, ***** ******* He claimed it was a joint account and sent me a copy of the masterapp contract, clearly showing an individual account. When I questioned that, he sent the issue on to risk management (*** ********* After a period of discussion and investigation, he forwarded the issue to corporate counsel ***** ********** He finally wrote me saying that the account was a joint account, even though, clearly (and verified by the WA Dept of Financial Institutions) the account was an individual account in my name only. I have requested specific documentation of SECUWA's claims (including an application for a supposed joint checking account that Mr. ******** claimed existed). The CU has ignored my requests for what is necessary to show how the account evolved from an individual account to a joint account with large extensions of credit. They have been very evasive, even when requests for information have come from the DFI/division of credit unions. Mr. ******** made an offer a month ago to request removal of negative credit, remove the remaining debt from my name, and terminate my membership with the CU. At the same time, he refferred to the masterapp saying that it was always a joint account, when again, it is clearly and individual account in my name only. I feel that the CU mishandled the account and allowed access to unauthorized individuals. The account was purposely individual as was any request for credit. Since my inquiries, the CU has indicated that they have documentation that shows otherwise, yet despite repeated requests for that, they will only send me selected documents. Much of the (apparent) business done with the CU has been online (there are no local branches). The CU has also ignored my requests for documentation of online profiles and how account changes (change of address, denied application for home equity loans, etc) have been made and processed. It is my financial life that they have record of. I have requested a copy of my account file (showing, again, how the account chaged over the period of time from Septemeber 2002 to April 2011). The contract that I signed in September of 2002 was for an individual savings account. That account became a joint account with a huge credit card. It has caused damage to my credit as well as a great desl of my time and affected my health and well being every day for a few years now. The credit union has been very uncooperative, selectively releasing documentation, and acting contrary to good faith and fairness in relation to the interpretation and administration of the contract that supports the account in question.

Desired Settlement: I would like the CU to do as they said they would: remove the negative credit reporting, remove my name from the remaining debt balance, and terminate my CU membership. I am also asking that the CU refund to me (at least a portion) of the interest paid on the VISA to date, that was obtained by my exwife (and used largely to pay off her individual debt). She shouldn't have been given the authorization to obtain credit on an account that wasn't hers or even partially hers. The account was mismanaged, and a money shouldn't be made by the credit union when things are done that way.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 10, 2014/10/06) */ Dear **************: I am General Counsel to School Employees Credit Union of Washington (SECU). As requested, this letter is submitted to Better Business Bureau serving Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington (BBB) in response to the above referenced complaint of **************. I will not try to recap the many communications between the parties. Be assured, SECU has been attempting to reach an amicable resolution with ************. My August 15, 2014 letter to him (copy attached), which was in response to a complaint he filed with the ************************ ********************** (***), includes a proposed resolution. When I spoke with ************ on September 3, 2014, I did not hear him accept the proposal to resolve the issues between him and SECU, which generally center on the creation of a master account in 2002 and various services, accounts, and transactions with the credit union and ************ and his former wife over time. More recently, ************ forwarded to me a September 14, 2014 email he apparently sent to the ***s *************** which, along with many disparaging comments, included the additional comment that, Yes, the offer ******** made was fair and I want to be done with things..." Agreement is needed for there to be a resolution. If ************ agrees to the attached letter agreement (which will be separately mailed to him), then SECU is prepared to take the actions set forth in that letter ad previously proposed in my August 15 letter. Sincerely, ********** ******** General Counsel ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/10/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 10/7/2014 In reference to BBB complaint #XXXXXXXX against School Employees Credit Union of Washington (Seattle): I did accept Mr. *********** offer to do what they said they would do in his letter on August 15th, 2014. He stated no (to the BBB) that I didn't accept the offer. I told him that those things would be the right thing to do. I also had questions regarding the offer that Mr. ******** ignored. I also had questions about the account in question that Mr. ******** continued to ignore all the way up until last week when his office sent me papers to sign to put into motion the things they said nearly 2 months ago they would do. I had to pay an attorney $300 to sort out all of this. Then, the credit union refused (by ignoring) my requests for documentation of the history of the account, to include documents that opened a joint account and applied for joint credit. Why wouldn't they send that documentation to me, especially when Mr. ******** referred to those "credit union record" in emails and the *** requested that he send all that was necessary for me to understand what happened with the account? As far as I know, the credit union could have used a forged signature back then to change the individual account to a joint account. I even asked for some information as to how the online credit union with no local branches verifies signatures. Mr. ******** ignored that. All of that leads me to believe that the credit union has things to hide. I had to hire a lawyer. That is one reason why I requested some of the interest from the VISA card be refunded to me, as obviously the whole thing is problematic. The credit union wouldn't have offered to do what they offered if everything was in order. The business has been evasive and tried to starve me out for 3 years (in my opinion); hoping I would grow weary and give up on what I knew (and know) is messed up I signed Mr. ********'s offer. It has been too long now that the credit union has let the credit damage remain with questions as to the fairness of the credit reporting. I needed to have them do what they said they would two months ago. Now I'm stuck with a lawyer fee because I had to hire one to help me sort out the mess. I could have gone through the process of filing a suit. Of course, that would have taken more of everyone's time, and I'm thinking more money from both sides. I'm not satisfied with the outcome of this; even to the extent that a compromise was reached. They waited two more months...Now it could be several more before the credit is fixed. Mr. ******** took part of one line I wrote out of context and provided it in his letter to there BBB. There was much more said. Doesn't anyone wonder why a customer would be dealing only with the corporate lawyer? There was a problem. It needed fixing. It cost me money and much much more to fix it, and it still isn't fixed. That isn't right. ***** * ******** From emails two weeks ago: I didn't open a joint checking in 2002, requesting a VISA or giving my spouse unlimited access or authorization to make changes on the account or obtain credit under XXXXXX. You say credit union records show that? There would be an account change authorization; an application for a joint checking account. That would be the proper "credit union records" that would open that account. Account XXXXXX is my credit union account. Please send that ASAP. Mr. ********, Thank you for your email. I'm sorry for the delayed reply. Credit union records indicate the joint checking account was opened in September 2002. I am not aware of any more than one checking account having ever been created under Account XXXXXX. I believe records that were provided to the *** for forwarding on to you include a representative Addvantage Checking account checking summary from January of 2007 that indicates the account was joint. Bill ******** General Counsel School Employees Credit Union of Washington ph. XXX-XXX-XXXX fax XXX-XXX-XXXX Mr. ******** "Credit union records" of a joint checking account opened in September 2002? What is that? Why didn't you send that? I have asked specifically for that. Why would you send some "representative checking account checking summary" from 5 years later in 2007 (sent to the ***) and now refer to CU records of my account from 2002? I have asked for a complete file of all records of the account. Obviously, I don't need randomly selected monthly statements (or for that matter monthly statements). I have asked for specific documentation and the CU has ignored that. Read the letter I sent to you in reply to the one you sent on August 15th. I don't know why I'm still explaining what I've explained and asking for answers to questions and for documentation I've already asked for. You said SECUWA would repair the credit reporting, remove my name from the debt, and terminate my membership. I said that would be a good thing to do. You also tried to say that the master app sent to me was for a joint account. That was untrue. SECUWA is a business and I am a customer (also a member). I have been treated as an adversary. You are not customer (or member) service. You are a lawyer. It is obvious that what you are doing here is not part of an effort to work anything out with me in good faith or otherwise. I believe you are just messing with me. ***** ******** Mr. ********, Had a quick question. I don't know if you know the answer or not. Last time I opened an account at a local CU, I had to go into the branch with identification and sign things in front of the CU employee helping me with my account (the account application, a signature card, etc). How does an on-line CU verify signatures or identification (or how did they do it back in, say 2002)? Or do they verify things like that? Thank you, ***** ******** No response Final Business Response /* (4000, 28, 2014/12/05) */ The credit union has done all it can to arrive at a mutually agreed upon resolution to this issue. This is evidenced by the fact the consumer willingly signed a letter of resolution. Our position is that this is a closed matter and no further response is required, nor would it be productive. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 31, 2014/12/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The CU DID NOT DO WHAT THEY AGREED TO DO IN THE "WILLINGLY SIGNED" AGREEMENT OF RESOLUTION. tHE CREDIT UNION DELETED TRADE LINES, RATHER THAN REMOVING THE DELINQUENIES AS AGREED.THE STANCE THE CU IS TAKING IS NOTHING NEW. THEY HAVE MADE UP THE RULES AS THEY WENT ALONG, FROM OPENING ACCOUNTS AND GIVING ACCESS TO UNAUTHORIZED INDIVIDUALS WITHOUT THE ACCOUNT OWNERS PERMISSION, TO OFFERING RESOLUTION AND THEN DOING THINGS OUTSIDE OF THE AGREEMENT. A+...REALLY?