BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/28/1988

B E C U

Phone: (206) 439-5700

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

42 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues16
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service25
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints42

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (42)BBB Closure Definitions
01/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
BECU sending letter of negative funds and charging NSF fee for an auto loan that has been paid off in full, threatening to provide negative information reporting to credit bureaus.

Desired Settlement
Letter confirming that the auto loan for account number XXXXXXXXXX has been paid off in full and has no outstanding balance.
Letter confirming that no negative reporting information has been submitted to credit bureaus for above mentioned loan that has been fully paid off.

Business Response
*** ********* had an auto loan with BECU that he paid in full on December 5, 2014. He incurred a late fee of $25.00 because he had a payment due on November 27, 2014 and there were no funds in his account in order to make the payment. Since *** ********* paid off the auto loan, BECU waived the $25.00 late fee as a courtesy on December 12, 2014.

On December 15, 2014, BECU released the vehicle title. *** ********* should receive the title in January 2015.

We believe the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** ***
Compliance Department


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The issue of no funds in the account was based on a fault on BECU's side to set up the automatic fund transfer from a checking account. This started the complaint which is now resolved with the NSF fee of $25 waived and a dissatisfied customer paying back the loan in full to end the business relationship with BECU.

12/10/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On Sunday morning 11/16/14 I woke up and discovered my car window smashed in outside my home, with my wallet stolen from the car. I of course do not keep my wallet in my car normally but it had falled out of my purse the night prior and did not realize. I filed a police report with Snohomish County PD. Then I called BECU and reported my card as stolen/closed the card. The person from the call center I spoke to told me to call on Monday to file the fraud paperwork and order a new card, and that she had turned off the card. There were 3 fraudulent transactions that I could see in my online banking from the debit card that was stolen.

On Monday 11/17/14 I went to the new Bothell location on my lunch break to get a new card and fill out the fraud paperwork. ******* I believe her name was told me 'these are usually handled in 48 hours'. A few days pass and I don't hear anything, I call and they say 'because it required a pin, the investigation takes 7 to 10 days'. It's now been 2 weeks and the 3 fraudulent charges totalling ~$300 has not been credited back to my account.

I'm assuming it's taking this long because it was a debit card ATM withdrawal which requires a pin. I have the police report saying my car was broken into and wallet stolen, I have my************ CC that had fraudulent charges too, I don't know what else to do to show that this was legitimate fraud. I can't just go into the stores and ask for the security camera footage to prove it was a thief. I switched banks to BECU for BETTER customer service, which is not what I am getting. I understand taking a while to conclude an investigation, but why not call a 'valued member' to follow up? FOURTEEN DAYS during the holiday season missing $300...that's not okay.

Desired Settlement
The 3 fraudulent ATM charges refunded immediately and an apology for lacking attention to detail and sense of urgency.

Business Response
BBB Complaint #XXXXXXXX
********* *****
December 9, 2014

I have researched Ms. *****' claim regarding her stolen BECU debit card and her request that BECU credit her account for the three fraudulent transactions that she reported. We understand the Ms. ***** is upset that BECU did not credit her account immediately. I have checked the status of her Ms. *****' Member Advantage Checking Account and as of December 1, 2014, BECU has credited the account $306.00.

It does not appear that Ms. ***** overdrew her account between the time she reported her card stolen and the time it took to deposit the funds in her account, so no overdraft fees were incurred and therefore, no overdraft fees need to be refunded.

We thank her for bringing this matter to our attention and trust that this issue has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** ***
Compliance Dept.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


12/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
BECU did not hold up to their word in closing mortgages (qty 2) on time. Continue delays on BECU's part due to a lack of qualified processors/underwriters and tools prevented loans from closing on time. Was continued told loans would be closing in a week or so but turned into months. Submitted loan applications on May 15th didn't close until September 18th. The delay by BECU cause out of pocket expenses on myside which should be reimbursed by BECU. Have give BECU the opportunity to address my claim (email sent to them on September 19th but over a month and a half later still no fulfillment of my claim has been made. I would also like to add that at this time I have not asked for the higher interest rate verse the lower interest rate refund.

Desired Settlement
Due to the poor performance of BECU, I would like to request a refund of my main house appraisal ($450) and a refund of ($175) for the loan extension with ********** on August 26th. If needed please contact **** ******* with ********** bank on this issue as well with the poor performance of BECU. If you have any questions on the loan extension, please feel free to contact ****. I ask for the $625, due to the out of pocket money I spent for not closing on time, which again is due to the poor performance of BECU. I would appreciate your help in bringing my claim of $625 with BECU to closure.

Business Response
Hello,

The inquiry has been forwarded to the appropriate department for review.

Sincerely,


***** *****
Email Support Representative

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
BECU responded and met my request. Thank you BBB for your support.

10/27/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I applied for Credit Card insurance around 2010. They charge over 1% of my balance as insurance. I have wanted this removed since 2012. I have faxed a request to have it removed by nothing has happened. I want the insurance collection on the credit card removed. It's not fair that I'm asked to fax my request a second time.

Desired Settlement
Correct my credit card account so that I'm no longer using their insurance product. I seek reparations for being overbilled.

Business Response
September 23, 2014

BBB Complaint #XXXXXXXX
*********** ****

BECU received Mr. ****'s request to remove the Loan Payment Protection coverage on his Visa card on September 15, 2014. BECU removed the Loan Payment Protection coverage on September 16, 2014. Prior to that date, we had no record of any request to remove the coverage from Mr. ****'s account.

Mr. **** is no longer responsible for paying the premium on this product, as it has been canceled.

***** ***
Compliance Dept.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am still seeing charges for Loan Payment Protection on my latest statement.

Final Business Response
BBB Complaint # XXXXXXXX
*********** ****
October 16, 2014

Response


Mr. ****'s Visa statement cycle closes on the 8th day of each month. BECU received his request to cancel loan payment protection ("LPP") on the 16th of September, which is when BECU removed it. Since Mr. ****'s statement cycle had already closed for the month of September this explains was why he still saw an LPP payment posted to his account. Beginning in October, when his statement cycle closes on the 8th, he will no longer see the line item LPP charges.

If Mr. **** sees an LPP payment on his account when he receives his October statement, we would like him to contact us at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX, ext. 1399. We will remove the payment and re-credit his account.

Thank you.

***** ***
Compliance Department

10/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I deposited a check into the bank for $1724, it was from the **** *** *********** which has been in business for 75 years.I have deposited several checks from them into my account and never have they held a check before. The bank for some reason put a hold on this check and held it for an unreasonable amount of time 7 days. I had paid bills off of that check and had no idea they were going to hold this check. They returned one of my bills and potentially more now will be returned. This is costing me overdraft fees for uncollected funds as well as fee's from the returned bills. This is not OK. The money is there in the account so they should never have returned a thing.

Desired Settlement
I want the NSF fees put back into my account and all of the fees I am charged by these bills that are being returned reimbursed to me by BECU and a letter to each creditor explaining that the money was in my account and that THEY (BECU) returned their payments because they opted to hold my check.

Business Response
October 2, 2014

BBB Complaint # XXXXXXXX
******* ******

BECU responds to the complaint that Ms. ****** submitted to the BBB on September 25, 2014. In her complaint, Ms. ****** states that BECU inappropriately placed a hold on funds that she deposited into her account for the amount of $1,724.00. We have reviewed her complaint and provide the following response.

Ms. ****** agreed to the terms and conditions of the BECU Account Agreement booklet when she applied for membership. The Account Agreement states that, for check deposits made into accounts owned by a primary member who has had an active Member Share Savings account for more than 90 days, BECU generally makes non-cash deposits available for withdrawal on the business day following the date of deposit (noting that the date of deposit will be counted as the following business date when the deposit is made on or after 3:00pm PST).

However, there are exceptions to this policy, as disclosed in our Account Agreement. When an account has overdrawn repeatedly in the last six months (as had occurred with the account in question), all accounts owned by the same primary member as the affected account may be subject to extended funds availability holds for all check deposits. These holds may delay the funds availability until the fifth business day following the date of deposit. This explains why BECU placed a hold on the funds that Ms. ****** deposited.

Should an extended hold policy become necessary for any of the reasons stated in the Account Agreement, BECU's policy is to notify the primary member of the account(s). BECU also informs the primary member when the funds would be available for withdrawal (see attached documents).

In Ms. ******'s case, thirteen NSF fees posted to the account in question during the one year period from September 22, 2013, through September 22, 2014, including five NSF fees posted during the six month period prior to September 23, 2014 regarding the deposit in question in the amount of $1,724.00. The account into which Ms. ****** made this deposit shares a daily provisional credit limit of $500.00 for check deposits, under which the first $500.00 of all check deposits made on the same deposit date, with all other deposit accounts owned by the same primary member, are immediately credited to the account (see attached notice).

An additional deposit was made into the account in question on the same deposit date for $66.40. These funds from the deposit were immediately available. Regarding the $1,724.01 check that Ms. ****** deposited on September 23, 2014 via ATM, BECU made $433.60 of these funds immediately available therefore fully satisfying the daily provisional credit limit of $500.00.

According to the extended hold policy as previously stated, the remaining $1,290.40 was placed on hold, to become available on Tuesday, September 30, 2014 (the fifth business day following the date of deposit).

Regarding Ms. ******'s claim that BECU should reverse the NSF fee that accrued on the account in question, our records indicate that BECU reversed, as a one-time courtesy, an NSF fee in the amount of $25.00. As stated in BECU's Account Agreement, if a member withdraws funds that have not yet cleared for final payment via the banking system (those funds that are treated as not yet payable or finally paid, e.g. the $1,290.40 that was on hold from the $1,724.00 deposit), thus causing the available balance of an account to be overdrawn, BECU assesses an NSF fee of $25.00 for each uncollected item.

In the future, if Ms. ****** spends funds that are subject to exception holds prior to the date the hold(s) is released and then subsequently overdraws her account, BECU **** not reverse any NSF charges that she incurs.

Sincerely,

***** ***
Compliance Department

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was charged 2 NSF fees and only one was reversed. I will be looking for another bank to do my business.

Final Business Response
BBB Complaint # XXXXXXXX
******* ******
October 16, 2014

Second Response

Ms. ****** indicates that she does not accept BECU's response dated October 2, 2014. Specifically, she requests that BECU reverse not one, but two NSF fees that posted to her account. In our prior response, BECU clearly described its policy regarding provisional credit of funds/check holds deposited into an account. In Ms. ******'s case, since she had a history of returned items and NSF fees, BECU's written policy, as documented in the Account Agreement (the terms to which Ms. ****** agreed), clearly state that she will be subject to check holds.

Also in our prior response, BECU indicated that we would reverse one NSF in the amount of $25.00 as a one-time courtesy only. We notified her in that letter that should have any other NSF fees or incur any other NSF fees in the future, we would charge her an NSF fee of $25.00.

Therefore, based on BECU's Account Agreement and based on our communication to Ms. ****** in our response dated October 2, 2014, BECU will not reverse any more NSF fees.

Sincerely,

***** ***
Compliance Dept.

Page 1 of 7
02/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
There was an agreement in January 2012 to reduce payment and interest rate. The payment was reduced, the months were added on to contract without reducing the interest rate. The rate was to be reduced from 9.75% to 7.75%. I noticed in approximately July 2014 when my overall amount due seemed so high, that it was never applied. I inquired about this and they claimed they reduced the interest but it was only for a couple months they went back and gave me credit for about $1000 which does not add up to 2.5 years of interest. The car loan started in November 2007, amount of $6000 was added to loan and undetermined for what. I have paid for 7 years and the balance is still $17000 which does not add up, nobody pays for 14 years to get car paid off! I inquired several times about the payments etc., I asked for an audit of the payments and loan contract but they stated they do not have an audit department. They have repossessed my vehicle with the amount owing after paying for 7 years. I believe the calculation of the loan is incorrect and I do not owe that much balance.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking an internal audit of payments, the interest rate not being applied or an offsite audit of the loan and balance. I believe I do not owe that much left on the car.
They need to prove the amount of interest reduced for that 2.5 year period.
I have it all in writing.

Business Response
******* ******* BBB Complaint # XXXXXXXX
December 18, 2014

In her complaint to the BBB, Ms. ******* raises a few issues with respect to her auto loan. She wants the following issues resolved: (1) a record/audit of her payments; (2) whether the interest rate of 7.75% was applied to her loan; and (3) why her balance has not been paid down despite the fact that she financed the loan in November 2007 for 72 months.

Regarding the first point above, we are attaching a detailed payment history of Ms. *******' auto loan from the date she financed the loan with BECU. This payment history shows the imposition of charges for collateral protection insurance which added to the balance of the loan and was only partially reversed given an actual lapse in insurance coverage, along with several late payments and the resulting late charges, as well the impact of a number of loan modifications agreed to by the borrower, including periods of interest only payments.

Regarding Ms. *******' second point above, BECU did modify her loan in January 2012. Although the modification contract that Ms. ******* agreed to does not reference any reduction in her interest rate (the original contract rate was 9.75%), when questioned by Ms. ******* in 2014, we agreed to honor the lower interest rate of 7.75% based on conversations held with her in 2012. We backdated the reduced rate to the date of the 2012 loan modification, but because of system constraints, performed calculations outside of the loan record and made a one-time adjustment to the account with funds credited against the loan balance. Had Ms. ******* received the lower interest rate dating back to the January 2012 modification, Ms. *******' auto loan would be reduced by $1,184.56. Therefore, BECU applied this amount to Ms. *******' auto loan and reduced the balance.

All of these factors help explain why the loan balance has not been reduced in a manner consistent with a customary repayment schedule in which payments remain at the scheduled amounts and are paid on time, without penalties or other charges. Despite the several loan modifications and BECU's efforts to assist in allowing her to retain the vehicle, it was ultimately repossessed last month.

Although the redemption period has expired, we continue to hold the vehicle and if Ms. ******* would like to redeem it, she can pay the loan current, including the repossession and storage fees within the next 10 days.

If she would like to talk with a BECU representative to answer any lingering questions, she can contact BECU's at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX, ext. 5370 and we **** be happy to more fully explain the loan history.

Sincerely,

***** ***
Compliance Department

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I need the interest rate reduction of 7.75% in writing showing dates of when reduction started, balance of principal/interest on date started and showing for the 2.5 years the numbers reduced and the total outcome. You can state all you like but it needs to be calculated in writing in the ledger to be accurate.
Also, I received a statement of still owing and I do not owe as of November 4, 2014 when the car was repossessed and is not in my possession.



Final Business Response
January 30, 2014

Ms. ******* is not the primary borrower on the account in question so she would not be receiving any statements. BECU sends statements only to the primary borrower. BECU does not send statements to the primary borrower after the debt has been charged off.

***** ***
BECU Compliance Dept.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I get all the statements and letters etc., so not sure what you are talking about but it has always come to me and my address. My response last time was that I WAS receiving the statements after repossession and I wanted to know why, where is the car, has it been sold etc??

03/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I used BECU's home loan department loan application process to apply for a loan however the process has become faulty due to the fact the website has been plagued by the online loan application steps. Somewhere during loan application steps, it gets to the stage where it checks for a credit check retrieval and page will sit there forever. Problem existed when I first time apply for home loan back in jun/11/2012 and after more than a year later, I went through same application process and the online application webpage hangs at the exactly same spot where it is retrieveing the credit information about applicants. This signifies BECU's lack of quality and responsiveness to their customer complaints and should be resolved. As a result, I had to call their customer service to finish the loan process which incurs me an additional time, stress and effort.

Desired Settlement
300$ for additional unnecessary time, effort involving calling customer service representative to finish the loan process because of their faulty web design.

Business Response
November 14, 2013
BBB Complaint # XXXXXXXX
*** ***** *********

To Whom It May Concern:

We are in receipt of *** *********'s complaint to the Better Business Bureau regarding his frustrations using BECU's online mortgage application process. I have researched the facts and provide the following response.
Our business records indicate that *** ********* applied for BECU mortgages on three separate occasions via the online channel (June 9, 2012, June 11, 2012, and again on June 11, 2012). The reason he was not able to receive his credit reports is that, at the time he initiated the online application process late in the evening, the site was down for system maintenance. When that happens, the applicant receives the following message: "Our automated credit report retrieval has not completed. This page will automatically update once the results are received. If this page does not forward automatically within the next two minutes, please click the Help button below to contact us for assistance." This explains why his application "hangs." Unless *** ********* contacts BECU at this point for the purpose of ordering the credit report, his application will not be processed. It appears that *** ********* did not contact BECU.
On August 11, 2012, *** ********* again initiated a mortgage application via the online channel. He initiated the application when the system was down for maintenance, so he received a message asking that he contact BECU. He contacted BECU and we were able to order a credit report the next day. His application was therefore complete. We then disclosed the loan terms. Originally, *** ********* intended to purchase property for primary use (owner-occupied). He then decided to purchase the property for investment purposes. Therefore, since the use of the property had changed, the underwriting standards also changed. After that there was additional communication between BECU's loan representative and *** *********. On September 10, 2012, *** ********* requested that the application be put on hold while he made up his mind about the purchase. BECU's loan representative contacted *** ********* on November 20, 2012, but he did not call us back. As a result, BECU canceled *** *********'s application because the credit report became stale and we could no longer rely on it for purposes of extending him a loan. After notifying him that the loan was canceled, we did not hear from *** *********.
On October 19, 2012, *** ********* again initiated a mortgage application (for the purchase of investment property) via BECU's online channel. This time, because he used the site when it was not down, we were able to generate a credit report and therefore, we began the underwriting process and generated the requisite disclosures. BECU contacted *** ********* on October 22, 2012 and he responded "please let me look at my application and get back to you." We did not hear back from *** ********* until January 23, 2013 when he responded via email that he had terminated his search for a home and would be in touch with BECU soon. That same day the BECU loan representative sent *** *********'s mortgage file to the underwriting department and the underwriters declined the loan for lack of adequate reserves (meaning that the borrower had insufficient assets remaining after closing). As required by law, BECU sent *** ********* a denial letter.
On November 6, 2013, *** ********* initiated another mortgage loan via the online channel BECU generated an error notice and requested that he contact us. *** ********* called BECU and conveyed his frustrations with the application process. A BECU loan representative corrected the error **** ********* had incorrectly typed his address) and BECU generated a credit report. We then informed *** ********* that he could complete the online application process. Two days later, on November 8, 2013 BECU sent a courtesy e-mail reminding *** ********* to complete his application. On November 9, 2013, *** ********* completed the application process via the online channel. We submitted the application for underwriting and generated the requisite disclosures. Our records indicate that *** ********* viewed the disclosure and since that time period, we have no additional information to report. At this point, if *** ********* is still interested in purchasing a property, he will need to find one that is suitable for his needs as this loan remains in a "To Be Determined" status.

***** ***
Legal Department

11/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Before traveling to Costa Rica on business, I called BECU to notify them of said trip. They placed a note on my account to make sure that my account would be available to me during my trip. I asked what would happen if my card was lost or stolen, and I was advised that my card would be over-nighted to me and that BECU would take good care of me.

A few days later, murphy's law struck and I lost my card the night before traveling to Costa Rica. Having been reassured that I would be taken care of, I called, notified BECU of the loss, and was told I could request a new card the following business day as it was after hours.

On Monday, September 16th, I was told that I needed to fax in a request to have my card sent to an alternate location, and that my card would arrive in Costa Rica in 3-4 business days.

I sent in the fax, and when I called to make sure that it was received, I was told that I wouldn't be receiving a tracking number until Friday the 20th of September(and I certainly wouldn't have the card by then).

On Sunday, September 22nd, I sent in an email, as I had not yet received my tracking information. Monday, I got word that the tracking number was available. I tracked my package with *****, and it turns out they had attempted to deliver twice, at the wrong address. I was able to arrange to pick up the package at the local ***** facility and paid $28 in cab fare to get to the location before it closed.

Turns out all that had arrived was my PIN--and the address was input incorrectly and completely differently than the address I had faxed over to BECU. This is why ***** had had so much trouble delivering the package--twice--before I was able to get the tracking number and arrange for pick up.

Multiple phone calls and messages to the bank proved futile. No one would provide me my tracking number for my card. I was told I would receive it the morning of September 24th at the latest. By noon on the 24th, I still hadn't gotten a tracking number, and I desperately emailed the bank requesting a tracking number as I feared that the address was input incorrectly and that my card would get sent back to the US after 3 attempts to deliver--without me ever getting the tracking number for the package.

Finally, around 4 pm local time on September 24th, one hour before my local ***** location would close, I got word that my tracking number was finally available. Not that it would do me any good, as the card was already back in the United States.

Frustrated, in tears, and feeling completely helpless, I looked up the tracking information to find that my card had been sent to COLOMBIA. Not Costa Rica.

I called BECU once more, furious, upset, and having been without access to my funds for more than a week and a half. They offered no ownership or sincere apology, said that it would take days to ship my card back out to me, offered to follow-up by end of day, but didn't and I'm at a loss.

At this point, I'm down to my last few dollars, and while a wire transfer to a colleague's account helped, it's not a long term solution and I am again unable to pay for my hotel stay, my transportation, etc. while I am on a business trip.

The lack of empathy and completely inferior customer service has made it clear to me that BECU is no longer a place where I feel safe leaving my funds. I fully plan on withdrawing every cent from their appallingly disappointing institution the moment I get back to the United States. In the meantime, someone/anyone at their customer service center, needs to take responsibility of the horrific ordeal I've been put through and get my card to me this week. I would also like to be reimbursed for the countless phone calls, lost time during work that I spent begging them for tracking information and follow-ups, as well as the cab fare I had to spend some of my precious last few dollars on to make sure my PIN didn't get sent back to the US due to their faulty communication skills.

Any assistance in this matter would be greatly appreciated.

Desired Settlement
The lack of empathy and completely inferior customer service has made it clear to me that BECU is no longer a place where I feel safe leaving my funds. I fully plan on withdrawing every cent from their appallingly disappointing institution the moment I get back to the United States. In the meantime, someone/anyone at their customer service center, needs to take responsibility of the horrific ordeal I've been put through and get my card to me this week. I would also like to be reimbursed for the countless phone calls, lost time during work that I spent begging them for tracking information and follow-ups, as well as the cab fare I had to spend some of my precious last few dollars on to make sure my PIN didn't get sent back to the US due to their faulty communication skills.

Any assistance in this matter would be greatly appreciated.

Business Response
BBB Complaint #XXXXXXXX
****** *********

BECU Response
October 7, 2013

In response to our member *** *********'s complaint to the BBB, BECU has been working with her on a recurring basis since September 24, 2013. On September 16, BECU ordered *** ********* a new debit card as she requested. We sent it the same address she provided to BECU and verified that it was indeed sent to Costa Rica, not Columbia. However, the card was returned to BECU as undeliverable to the address *** ********* provided to us.

On September 25, 2013, BECU again ordered a new debit card for *** *********. We requested a tracking number, which we provided to her on September 26. Please note that BECU is sending the card to the address that *** ********* provided to us.

Regarding *** *********'s claim that someone at BECU promised that her card would be received within 24 hours, BECU wishes to state that it is not something that BECU would promise, as it is unlikely that replacement cards can be received in such a quick time frame.

Nevertheless, because *** ********* has been frustrated with the process of obtaining a new debit card, BECU is willing, as a courtesy, to reimburse her for any fees (including foreign transaction fees) that she has incurred to date. If *** ********* can provide us with a breakdown of the fees she has incurred as a result of not being able to use her debit card in the manner that she is accustomed, we will be happy to reimburse her.

We apologize for *** *********'s frustrations, and wish to let her know that we have been working diligently to send the replacement card to her.

Sincerely,

***** ***
Legal Department


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Again, *** ***'s response demonstrates BECU's complete lack of ownership in this matter.

To further illustrate BECU's incapacity to understanding of basic Latin American geography, *** *** refers to the country my card was sent to as ColUmbia, a country that has never existed in South America. But I digress. BECU did indeed send my card to Bogota, COLOMBIA, as per ******** website: https://www.fedex.com/fedextrack/?tracknumbers=XXXXXXXXXXXX&cntry_code=us. So unless BECU sent me the wrong tracking number for the original card I was sent, in which case they should be apologizing for having put me through that ordeal--they indeed sent my card to the incorrect country.

Additionally, I have copies of the address that I provided BECU via fax, which never said Colombia, or Heredela, again, a city that doesn't exist in Costa Rica (where I am currently located--a country between Panama and Nicaragua, if it helps BECU to look it up on a map).

The address I provided was:
** ******* *********
Amazon.com
**************************
*** ************************* ********
********* * *********
Heredia, Heredia, Costa Rica
Central America

I could not have made it any clearer. And STILL, I wound up making countless phone calls that took me away from my training project (the reason I am in Costa Rica), and sending dozens of emails requesting that BECU provide me a tracking number so that I could MAKE SURE that I could pick up my card. In the end, the only way I received my card was by making sure I could pick it up at the ***** location in Heredia--as they couldn't find a city called Heredela--which doesn't exist anywhere in Latin America. ******** site can confirm the city that the package label had was completely incorrect: https://www.fedex.com/fedextrack/index.html?tracknumbers=XXXXXXXXXXXX&cntry_code=us

This wasn't a matter of BECU just putting in the incorrect address, though. This situation was made infinitely worse by every promise broken, and every time BECU failed to follow through with providing me essential information while I was without funds in a foreign country. Additionally, this is about BECU's unwillingness to accept their lacking customer service during a particularly difficult time for one of their own clients. Rather than following up with me on a regular basis, and letting me know what was going on, I was made to chase my card TWICE--and make provisions to receive it due to their inability to read and pass on a foreign address to a well-established mail carrier. ***** behaved wonderfully and helped me receive my card in SPITE of BECU's horrific typography mistakes.

Again, I seek adequate recompense for the wasted time I spent begging BECU for assistance, and making provisions to correct their errors in geography and spelling. I also seek a sincere apology from someone who actually understands the terrible experience this company put me through--rather than someone who contradicts the information in front of this customer, if only to save face. It would be nice if they also knew what countries in Latin America were called.

Thanks.

09/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Way back on X-XX-XXXX we filed a chargeback with BECU regarding an ink cartridge purchase through ******* The carts were represented as new, OEM. In fact, they had expired some three years before the purchase and did not come in *** packaging and were products of Third World countries marked not for resale. The amount in dispute was $69.88 which was posted to BECU account number XXXXXXXXXX on 3-20-2013.
This was a no-brainer. This was dog-simple. Unfortunately, enter stage left, Boeing Credit Union.
The chargeback was received and duly processed by BECU and the amount was provisionally credited back to my account. BECU then began asking for documentation. We prepared all requested documentation, including pictures and faxed it in. BECU received it. Then BECU asked for the same documentation. Again we sent it in. BECU then asked for the same documentation. Again we sent it in, this last time on 5-4-2013. That letter was very pointed and it explicitly pointed to all of the answers to their questions and showed these questions being answered in previous communications.
Shortly thereafter we received a letter from BECU stating that the dispute had been decided in our favor and that the matter was PERMANENTLY closed. The credit was allowed to remain in our account.
Case closed? One might think so, but of course we're dealing with BECU here so the nightmare continues.
On about X-XX-XXXX we received a letter from BECU dated 7-9-2013,stating that they had "forwarded our letter to the appropriate representative who would contact us if need be". No case was referenced.
Of course we had not recently sent any letter to BECU, so, fearing some kind of attempted fraud, we wrote to BECU online and advised them of that fact and asked what the letter was in reference to.
As usual, we received only unhelpful nonsense from BECU through their website. We finally concluded that the letter dated X-X-XXXX was just another BECU clerical screw-up and we ignored it, assuming they would figure it out in the end.
But of course we're still dealing with BECU here, so the nightmare continues.
On X-X-XXXX we received yet another letter from BECU, dated 8-5-2013, stating that BECU had not received a response from us and that the amount of $69.88 was being removed from our account.

Desired Settlement
BECU must straighten this matter out, send us copies of ALL correspondence, including their letter to us stating that the dispute was decided in our favor PERMANENTLY, and BECU must leave the funds in our account or put them back into our account.

Business Response
August 26, 2013

BBB Case # ******** (***** ****)

BECU has reviewed Mr. ****'s allegations and will respond accordingly. At the outset, BECU wishes to clarify that Mr. **** contested two charges from ****** at differing times- one in the amount of $69.88 on March 27, 2013 and the other in the amount of $126.83 on July 30, 2013. Both of the disputed charges involved the purchase of ink cartridges.

First Dispute

On March 27, 2013 BECU received Mr. ****'s request to investigate a dispute in the amount of $69.88 for charges incurred through ****** involving the purchase of ink cartridges. The next day, BECU posted a provisional credit to Mr. ****'s account pursuant to the MasterCard rules and operating procedures. A provisional credit is applied to an account during the pendency of the investigation. Once the investigation is concluded, the credit remains or is reversed depending on the outcome of the investigation.

On April 4, 2013 BECU sent Mr. **** a letter informing him that in order to further investigate and process the charge-back of $69.88, we needed more information. Again, we were operating within the requirements of the MasterCard rules. In that letter (attached) we informed Mr. **** that we needed the invoice or description of merchandise from the merchant, the name of the product that he ordered and received, and if the merchandise was returned, we needed proof that he returned the item.

BECU completed the process and submitted the charge-back to the merchant bank. On April 29, the merchant bank denied the provisional credit. BECU informed Mr. **** in writing of the merchant bank's determination. In that same letter, we informed Mr. **** that if he intended to appeal the merchant bank's denial of the charge-back, he would need to review the merchant bank's documentation which impacted the decision to deny the charge-back.

On *** 6, 2013, Mr. **** consented to BECU's further investigation of the matter. As a courtesy, BECU allowed Mr. **** to keep the $69.88 provisional credit without any further investigation. BECU notified Mr. **** of this fact by letter dated *** 7, 2013 (attached).

Second Dispute

On July 30, 2013 BECU received a dispute form from Mr. **** in the amount of $126.83 for charges incurred for the purchase of ink cartridges. On August 1, BECU posted a provisional credit to Mr. ****'s account pursuant to the MasterCard rules and operating procedures.

On August 4, 2013 BECU informed Mr. **** in writing that a provisional credit in the amount of $126.83 was posted to his account and we requested additional information from him in order to investigate the matter. The request for additional information is a requirement under the MasterCard rules and operating procedures. Mr. **** informed BECU that he had returned the merchandise on July 19 and had not received a refund. In this situation, BECU is required to allow the merchant 30 days to the post the refund (credit) to the member's account before BECU can process the dispute. Before BECU had the opportunity to further investigate the matter, the merchant ******** credited Mr. ****'s account in the amount of $126.83 on August 21, 2013.

On August 23, 2013, BECU sent a letter to Mr. **** informing him that the provisional credit of $126.83 would be reversed since Amazon had credited his account for the same amount.

We regret that Mr. **** was frustrated by this process and did not believe BECU was responding to his requests, but as a financial institution with contractual obligations to MasterCard, we are duty bound to honor the MasterCard process, which means we must adhere to the MasterCard rules and operating procedures regarding disputes of charges. MasterCard requires the documentation that BECU requested Mr. **** to provide. While it *** seem unnecessary and irrelevant to Mr. ****, the documents are relevant to MasterCard as a condition of investigating the matter.

Our understanding of this situation is that Mr. **** has now been made whole as the transactions have been reversed and a total of $196.71 has been credited to his BECU checking account *********

Sincerely,

***** ***
Legal Department


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Once again, for probably the twentieth time, BECU has refused to comprehend even the basics of this case and it is so, so, so simple. I find this beyond incredible. They were told over and over and over and over and over that this problem had nothing to do with the second chargeback of $123. This has to do ONLY with the first chargeback of $69. Here is the problem, YET AGAIN. This has been explained to BECU more times than we can count, and we have faxed them copies of these two letters. Yet STILL, after all this time and all these dog-simple explanations, BECU seems to be purposefully, willfully "misunderstanding" this problem. We don't see how that can be possible unless it is deliberate. Once again, for the bloody record, here it is: On May 7, 2013, we received a letter from BECU stating that our chargeback in the amount of $69.99 had been honored and that a PERMANENT credit had been issued. Indeed it had. Simple so far, correct? No one is confused thus far, right? Done deal, end of story, everyone is happy. But, of course, we're dealing with BECU, so NOTHING can be that easy. Now, on August 5, 2013, fully four full months later, we received a letter from BECU stating that since we had not responded to some non-existent query of theirs, the amount of $69.88 would be debited back off our account. Obviously that is a problem and that is the ONLY problem we are complaining about. We wrote to BECU about this, and they misunderstood it. We wrote again. They misunderstood again. We wrote over and over and over and over and over, explaining it in every possible way, first by using their website contact system, then by snail mail and fax. In every single instance, even after we twice faxed them these letters, they CHOSE to misunderstand this and would only respond to something entirely different which we had never complained about! At one point we told them we needed to interact with someone with an IQ over 11 and we meant that literally. We see that ***** ***'s IQ is even lower than that, and we mean that literally! This is now a public website. This is beyond any stupidity we have ever encountered, even in Third World countries. This is documentable mental retardation. BECU: Figure this out and offer an intelligent reply. Seriously. You're making fools of yourselves in a very big way and we're beyond disgusted with you -- we're frankly scared of you. No financial institution anywhere, not even in Afghanistan, can afford to be this inept and downright bloody stupid.

09/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Loan number XXXXXXXXXX
***** and **** *********

PMI removal ordeal

I have never been treated like this by anyone I am doing business with. I have all dates and names of people who did not do what they say they would do if you choose to verify.

I called BECU on 10/18/12 and talked to ***** to start the PMI removal process. I was given a number and told to fax the request which I did on 10/22/12.
I called BECU on 11/9/12 and left message that I had faxed the request and wanted an update.
I called BECU on 11/14/12 and talked to ***** to find out what the status was and was told I was not over 2 years on the loan which was 12/9/12 they said they sent me a letter that I never got and would have a PMI Specialist call me who never did.
I called BECU on 1/7/13 and ******** who told me to refax request now that loan was over 2 years old. I refaxed on 1/8/13
I called BECU on 2/22/13 and talked to ******** who said my second request from 1/8/13was never logged in and they had no record of it. I explained that I had proof it was received as my wife works for a government agency that does business with Boeing. He asked me to fax the transaction journals showing they were received . These were faxed to him on 2/24/13.
I called BECU 2/26/13 and talked to ******* who said the re-fax was forwarded to the PMI department and they would call me in a day or two. They never called.
I called BECU 3/8/13 and talked to ****** who said it was escalated. I asked what it takes to get PMI removed and she gave me the same info from the letter I finally received in January 2013 that used the numbers and LTV from my original loan of 12/10/10 over two years before. I explained this to her and she said I could order an appraisal. I explained that I had already done so but nobody ever called me. I then asked to talk to a supervisor. I talked to supervisor ****** who was very apologetic and said she would talk to the PMI department and call me back. She never did call me back.
***** ** from BECU called my wife's work number on 3/11/13 and left a message that he would like to help us with our mortgage needs.
I called BECU on 3/12/13 and talked to a *** who said I needed to escalate it. (I was thinking doesn't anyone there even look at our file?) I explained that I already had escalated it before. He then said I needed to talk to a supervisor. I said I already had. He tried to supervisor ****** to the phone but could not. I then talked to a different supervisor ******* who said she could not understand why this was happening either. I asked her about all of the extra PMI payments and the appraisal fee she asked me to send. I explained nobody had ever asked me to mail it in. She said she would see what they could do for me. She said I would need $18000 cash if my home appraised at $332,000.
She said she would look into it and call me back. She called back and left me a message that she would call me tomorrow about removing the PMI. She never called back.
I mailed the appraisal fee of $450 on 3/14/13 to the address the supervisor ***** * gave me.
I had the appraisal done on 4/5/13 which was completed on 4/8/13. It appraised at $360,000.
I called the appraiser on 4/19/13 who said he could give me no information but gave me a number to call for a company called LSI. I called LSI and they had me call BECU.
I called BECU on 4/19/13 and talked to ******** I asked for the appraisal amount. She said she did not have it but the PMI removal date was effective April 18th. I then asked to talk to supervisor ***** * I had spoken with before and was told she was in a meeting. This person sent her an email that I wanted the appraisal amount and the appraisal itself mailed to me and to call me. I never got the appraisal amount, the appraisal, or a call back.
Received a letter 4/29/13 that PMI was removed effective my June payment.
I called BECU on 4/29/13 and talked to a ***** who had me explain everything again. I also requested the appraisal again. She had me talk to a different supervisor ******* ***** who said he would have the other supervisor ***** * call me. She called me and left me a message as I missed the call. I called her right back in less than 5 minutes. After being screened I got her voice mail. I left her a message that none of this was my fault and I was not happy.
I called BECU on 5/2/13 and talked to supervisor ******* and asked for a third time for the appraisal. She said they were working on some sort of resolution for me and would call me tomorrow. Of course she never did.
I called BECU on 5/6/13 and talked ******* and was transferred to supervisor ***** *. voice mail. I left a message asking again for the third time for the appraisal to be sent to me and what was the amount.
On 5/7/13 PMI department emailed the appraisal to me.
I called BECU on 5/10/13 and talked to ******* who transferred me to supervisor ***** P voice mail. I left a message asking the supervisor why she never calls me back after she says she will.
On 5/10/13 supervisor ***** P called me back. She said she escalated to the manager of the PMI department. She said either the manager of the PMI department or she would call me back no later than 5/14/13. Nobody called me.
I called BECU on 5/16/13 and talked to Lynne who transferred me to ***** P voice mail. I left a message for the supervisor ***** P asking why she did not call me as she said she would.
I called BECU on 5/20/13. I left another message for the supervisor ***** P to call me. I received a voice mail from the supervisor ***** P that the PMI department was cutting me a check for $96.00 today and that was all they would do. I never got a check or a call back as usual.
I called BECU on 5/20/13. I explained to the supervisor ***** P that this would not work for me. She said she would escalate to a manager higher up and call me. I am still waiting on this call back as well.
Towards the end of all of this a mortgage broker that I have used 5 or 6 times in the past called me. Being totally disgusted with BECU I had her proceed and was approved in less than a week at a much better deal than I had with BECU.
I still have another house, two autos, and a credit card with BECU. Payments are all on auto deduct.
Had one single person from BECU called me as they said they would none of this would have happened. If the PMI department had called me back as I was told they would I would have sent the appraisal fee check as instructed.
I would not have made $579.60 in additional PMI payments. If I had known I would be treated this way I would have just refinanced away from BECU and not had the $450 appraisal fee to remove PMI that I no longer was required to have. I also would have never even looked to refinance away from BECU.
The way I see it, I am owed an apology and a refund of the PMI and appraisal fee for a total of $1029.60
This in no way compensates me for the time, grief, or dead phone batteries. I would also like to know what steps **** be taken so that another BECU member in good standing never has to go through this again.

Desired Settlement
$1029 for the money I paid due to nobody including supervisors doing anything they said they would do. They would not even respond to an email that I sent to them directly at the Tukwila branch. The way they treated me is not acceptable for any business.

Business Response
***** ********* BBB Complaint Response
Case # XXXXXXXX
August 15, 2013

First and foremost, BECU regrets that *** ********* had a less than optimal experience with BECU. We would like to offer an apology if any of our representatives made him feel like he was not a valued member. We take member service seriously and expect our representatives to address members professionally, courteously, and timely. We will make sure that our representatives are reminded of the importance of member service.

We appreciate that *** ********* took the time to provide a comprehensive summary of his concerns. I will address them now.

BECU has determined that there were delays associated with *** *********'s request to remove the private mortgage insurance ("PMI") on his BECU mortgage loan. Ultimately, the PMI was removed at a later date than expected. As a result of these delays, we refunded two monthly PMI premiums that *** ********* had already paid. The monthly premium amount was $96.60. Furthermore, as a courtesy, BECU refunded $450.00, which constituted the appraisal fee that he paid to BECU. *** ********* received $643.20 from BECU. BECU notified him of this fact by letter dated July 22, 2013 and enclosed the check.

We cannot honor *** *********'s claim for reimbursement of $1,029.00 because this amount had no bearing on the delay.

Sincerely,

***** ***
Legal Dept.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
If ***** *** would read the initial complaint she would see that I received the November 1st letter in January 2013 as I stated. She states that neither conditions 1 nor 2 apply for my PMI removal. She is incorrect as number one did apply as proven by the appraisal. Number 2 applied on December 10th when the loan became 2 years old as per their numbers given to me and my original loan documents. She claims my PMI was removed on April 22nd which is also incorrect. It was removed after my May 2013 payment that had PMI in it. *** *** also states that I received payments totaling $739.80 which is also incorrect. If she would read the complaint she would see that on 5/20/2013 I talked to ***** P. who said I was to get a check for $96.60 which I stated in the original complaint I never received. If she disagrees I am sure she can provide a check number and proof that I cashed is as she works for BECU. All I have ever received is the check for $643.20 received in a Fedex on 1 August 2013. I have not cashed this check.
*** ***** *** would rather state misinformation as fact than look into the actual case as to what really occurred. Just perpetuates the treatment I have received all along. Just pathetic.
Let's say I agree to PMI reimbursement from January through May even though my loan was 2 years old on Dec 10th 2012. Take my original Request of $1029.60 minus $96.60 for December and I am still owed a total of $933.00 of which I have a check for $643.20 that leaves a balance due me of $289.80 using numbers she agrees to.
Please send me a check.
***** *********


Final Business Response
August 26, 2013


***** *********
BBB Complaint #XXXXXXXX
BECU Second Response

BECU has refunded *** ********* a total of $739.80 on two separate installments. As we stated in our earlier response, *** ********* is responsible for the remaining $289.80 because this amount had no bearing on the delays he experienced regarding removal of the private mortgage insurance.

In a letter dated November 1, 2012 (attached), BECU explained that *** ********* was not eligible to cancel his private mortgage insurance. Because *** *********'s loan was sold to Fannie Mae, Fannie Mae's requirements apply in this case. In order to approve the removal of private mortgage insurance, Fannie Mae requires either: (1) that the principal balance of the loan must reach 80 percent of the original value of the property; (2) the loan must be at least two (2) years old at the time of the request to remove private mortgage insurance; or (3) the current loan-to-value ratio must be 75 percent or less. Loan-to-value ratios are obtained by dividing the current property value by the current unpaid balance on the loan.

In *** *********'s case, neither conditions #1 nor #2 applied in his case; therefore, BECU could not remove the private mortgage insurance at the time he requested. By our calculations, *** ********* would not have been eligible to remove the private mortgage insurance until January 2013. Ultimately, BECU removed *** *********'s private mortgage insurance on April 22, 2013. By our calculations, *** ********* was eligible for a refund of three months' payment of private mortgage insurance (February through April), which we have already refunded. As a courtesy refunded the $450.00 appraisal fee that *** ********* paid to BECU. To date, *** ********* has received a total of $739.80 in refunds.

BECU will not refund any additional amounts because to do so would create a windfall to *** *********. *** ********* did not qualify for removal of the private mortgage insurance at the time he initially requested.

BECU considers this matter resolved.

Sincerely,

***** ***
Legal Department


Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Unions

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.