This business is not BBB accredited.

Above The Board Construction

Phone: (253) 535-5930 Fax: (253) 535-5932 13117 Canyon Rd E, Puyallup, WA 98373 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.abovetheboardconstruction.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers commercial and residential construction services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Above The Board Construction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Above The Board Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 10, 2006 Business started: 10/29/1998 Business started locally: 10/29/1998 Business incorporated 01/29/1998 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Schrader, Vice President Mrs. Kimberly Schrader, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Schrader, Vice President
Business Category

Contractors - General Excavating Contractors Gutters & Downspouts Home Builders Painting Contractors Patio & Deck Builders Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Contractor - Commercial Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Concrete Contractors Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Alternate Business Names
Back to Basics Maintenance & Construction Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Above The Board Construction has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13117 Canyon Rd E

    Puyallup, WA 98373 (253) 535-5930

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired this company and paid for work performed in full the end of January beginning of February 2015. The company (and I wrote checks to both Back to Basics and Above the Board - who are owned by the same parties), built a garage and half barn for me. There were issues with the cement floor and cracking early on which the owner David S. agreed to fill when the weather got warmer. I indicated I purchased ghost seal to absorb into the cement for longevity of the cement and water absorption protection. We had this conversation in March/April 2015. I started calling David in September and he indicated he would come out, then I noted water coming up in one of the cracks he did come out twice to assess the situation and indicated he would come fix them and the leaking gutter his company installed (which they repaired three times and it still leaks) which will cause dry rot on my facia board of not fixed. It is now December 7, and David has not shown up at least 6 times to work on these issues. I have text messages to prove it. I called his office in October/Nov time frame and indicated I would file a report if he did not follow-through, which is likely why he came out again and has been stringing me along. This is a brand new garage floor and brand new gutters. I even asked for the name of the gutter company. I also called to day and got his insurance company's name in case I have to file a claim for the garage floor.

Desired Settlement: I would like the floor fixed ASAP and the gutter fixed ASAP.

Business Response:

This customer is completely in the right, It is all my fault I will fix the problem before the 15th of Dec. the right way and make the concrete floor ready for the ghost seal.  I'm very sorry that I let her down and I fully plan on making the situation right.  Again ATB was fully at fault and will make it right.  ***** is a great person and she deserves to be treated professionally.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* *.

12/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Above the Board Construction to build our 3-unit apartment building. We have a contract signed and Dave S., the owner of the company was paid 1/3 of the amount of the apartment (over a hundred thousand dollars) the first week of July 2015, but the paperwork needed for permitting has still not been submitted to the City of ******. In particular, the City of ****** required submission of SSP and SWPPP forms and outlined this requirement to Above the Board Construction on July 31, 2015. The owner has promised us several times that he has the paperwork, ready for submission but time and again, nothing is submitted. We have attempted to follow up with this with Dave S. and we have been told six times that he has the paperwork and will submit it "tomorrow morning," but nothing ever gets submitted. It has been four months since we paid over a hundred thousand dollars for the work to start and we cannot get follow through on submitting the required documents for permitting.

Desired Settlement: We need Above the Board Construction to follow through with the paperwork for the permitting and begin construction of our 3-unit apartment ASAP.

Business Response: The delay in the permit process had nothing to do with ATB, we where in charge of getting the paperwork to the city of ****** and everything from the old building and the new build requirements.  Unfortunately the customer left out the part about taking 5 months to get the money and we had to have the engineer and the designer wait to get paid and costs went up as well put we didn't add anything to the contract at the end of the day.  All necessary paperwork is turned in and accepted and the permits should be issued before Wednesday ready to allow ATB to start building.