BBB Accredited Business since

Pioneer Services a Division of MidCountry Bank

Additional Locations

Phone: (253) 588-3003 Fax: (253) 588-3138 12930 Pacific Hwy SW, Lakewood, WA 98499 View Additional Web Addresses

Click for BBB Rating on Pioneer Services a Division of MidCountry Bank

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers personal loans and other financial services including free financial education, exclusively for members of the military. This company offers This company offers consumer loans and financing for military personnel.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pioneer Services a Division of MidCountry Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for Pioneer Services a Division of MidCountry Bank. BBB of Greater Kansas City has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for Pioneer Services a Division of MidCountry Bank.

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 08, 2004 Business started: 06/01/2000 Business started locally: 06/01/2000 Business incorporated 06/30/2000 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Financial Institutions
PO Box 41200, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 902-8700

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Jeff Heinzelman, Director of Customer Operations Ms. Abigail Allred, Administraitive Specialist Mr. Don Heriford, Director of LPO Operations Ms. Emily Wilson, Corporate Affairs Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Abigail Allred, Administraitive Specialist
Principal: Mr. Jeff Heinzelman, Director of Customer Operations
Business Category

Consumer Finance & Loan Companies Financial Services Seals - Notary & Corporation Financial Planning Consultants

Alternate Business Names Military Solutions Corp, The Pioneer Military Lending of Washington Inc Pioneer Services

Additional Locations

  • 12930 Pacific Hwy SW

    Lakewood, WA 98499

  • 12930 Pacific Hwy SW STE B

    Lakewood, WA 98499


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received a letter in December 2014 that I was due a refund from overpayment on 2 previous loans in the amount of $526.65, the letter stated I would need to return the address verification form to them before refund check could be mailed. I have a acknowledgment from them that they received it on 12/29/2014. The refund checks would be issued within 60 days of address verification. It is now March 18, 2015 and I have not received the check. I just contacted them and spoke with a *********, she told me there was no information in the system and unfortunately they would need to investigate what happened, the refund was not processed.

Desired Settlement: Refund should be expedited

Business Response:

02 April 2015

Better Business Bureau of Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

RE:          Complaint ID# ********

Dear Better Business Bureau,

This letter is in response to the above referenced complaint ID filed by ****** **** (“Ms. ****”) on 18 March 2015. Pioneer Services, a Division of MidCountry Bank (the “Company”) sincerely strives for the best in customer satisfaction and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to Ms. ****’s concerns.

In the complaint, Ms. **** states she received a letter December 2014 notifying her she would receive a refund check in the amount of $526.65. This refund is due to a voluntary self-remediation plan enacted by the Company and not due to overpayments made by Ms. ****.

The Company has contacted the remediation distribution administrator, **** ******** regarding the refund. **** advised the Company they received Ms. ****’s address verification and are reviewing their internal system to find the cause of the delay in issuing the refund check. **** has expedited the issuance of Ms. ****’s refund and the check was processed on 01 April 2015.
Mr. ***** ******, **** Systems Project Manager, attempted to contact Ms. **** via telephone to apologize for the delay. Should Ms. **** have additional questions regarding the timeline of the refund, we invite her to call ***** ****** at *************

The Company apologizes for any inconvenience Ms. **** has experienced and trust this response is sufficient to close the complaint.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


****** ****

11/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have unfortunately found myself with the list of people that feels as if Military Pioneer Loans aka Pioneer Services is targeting Service Members and using various tactics such as breach of contract to gauge charges and ruin the military/government employee's credit especially knowing it affects our clearances. I would have never thought a company who works very closely with this community would be associated with such despicable acts and distasteful customer service. I would like to make this short but I cannot. I have to give an account of the series of events that led to my complaint which I feel that this company has taken to be baseless and frivolous. This is demonstrated by the numerous customer service agents I was in contact with and their distasteful and egregious disregard of my situation and the manner in which it was handled. Series of Events: I took out a loan with Military Pioneer Loans while on Active Duty. I ETS'd and was unemployed for almost a year. I called and initiated the debt protection plan that I willingly paid for under the perceived notion that if I ETS, loose employment or was medically unable to function that the loan payment would be covered. What was failed to be disclosed was that is not the case and the benefits only last for three months. I found myself on unemployment and struggling to provide for myself and my family so the added stress of not owing another lender was least so I thought. I finally got a job, was EXCITED, did all of my paperwork and they ran my credit...I was late for almost 7 months with Pioneer Services. Luckily for me, my employer was reasonable and understood my situation and hired me anyway. I called Pioneer Services and was dumbfounded by the response I received. The agent asked me why they (the company) would pay for me to remain on unemployment. Can you believe it? After giving the military over 10 years and sacrificing my life for my country I have some ignorant, inconsiderate so called CSR on the phone acting as if I am a lazy *** looking for a free ride. I was totally caught off guard, I could not believe it. About a month went by and my boss asked me how things were going and if I got that "thing" taken care of. I said no of course and told him I would. I called again, this time I was ready. There was no need though, I explained to the representative about leaving the military, not being able to work and my credit going down the tombs. She told me if I did an allotment, they would start reporting me current but she doubts they would let her remove the previous months of late reporting. She also explained I have a past due balance but as long as I pay extra, it will go towards paying that off. I wasn't happy because my credit report was still showing those late payments and it was false advertisement to tell me debt protection covers my situation but not include that it's for a limited time only. I figured having a current reporting was better than nothing so I moved on as instructed. I checked my report last month and low and behold Military Pioneer Loans is back at it a again and you would not believe the reporting. I am late for 4 months. WHAT???!! How did this happen? It must be a mistake. I called Pioneer Services, spoke to another of their bubbly customer service reps and she told me I was past due. I said ma'am there is no way I am past due when you get an allotment every two weeks. She said, well you are past due and if that's all you called about there's nothing else I can do help you. Not wanting to lose my bearing at work, I hung up. I called the following day; maybe that representative was having a bad day. I guess the CSR from the previous day noted my inquiry because once I verified my account the new CSR asked if I was calling about the same issue from yesterday. Yes, I was....there must have been an error in system because I am baffled about being late for and making monthly payments. Of the course the regular customer friendly Military Pioneer Loan charm came out because she said she doesn't understand why I keep calling about the same issue when someone already gave me an answer. I said ma'am that is my right especially if I feel as if I am being railroaded. Whatever you all are doing is a deceptive practice. When I first set up this allotment I was told I would be current and if I kept up my payments I will have no issues. She then proceeded to tell me that I'm being reported late because I do not know how to pay my bills and that the company was in their right and reporting contractually. I ask how long the company takes to report a debt as a charge off. I decided at that moment to stop the allotment because at this point I still owed $2,000 which was going to take me 4 months to pay. I would be better off with a charge off since they have already done their part in creaming my credit. Now, this is where the fun begins. She transfers me to collections and this lady got on the phone and just got my blood bowling. I explained the situation from start to the point I got to her and she said, well you need to learn to pay your bills. Ma'am, did you hear anything I said. She said well, you are past due because you promised to pay your loan by a certain date (September 2014) and you did not. So I asked who I made that promise with because I do not remember. She asks if I read because that's in my contract. Okay, well if that is the case, this is only October why am I four months behind. She continues to tell me how I could have found a way to pay my bill and that the company is reporting contractually and I'm in a breach of contract and if I know I can't pay my bills I should have never taken out a loan in the first place. At this point, I am still shocked. I am shocked at the disguise these people use to target servicemen and women, the blatant disrespect and the barade of insults. Then to top it off, she tells me I could have SOLD MY *** TO PAY MY BILLS. (I swear I am not lying, if Pioneer Services records their calls as they say they do, they can check for my call on October 23, 2014 @1:15 PM) After that, I was through. I cancelled my allotment, called, begged, besieged and made promises I am hoping to keep to get the $2000. My allotment was too late to cancel, so I cancelled it which sent the last payment of $375 and I made a card payment of $1,880. I just checked this morning and it said my loan is paid is off. Knowing Pioneer they will report me late again because it's not within the month. I would not recommend this company to anyone and warn all young members of the military to learn from mine and others mistakes and stay away. I'm absolutely nothing but offended by this entire ordeal.

Desired Settlement: I would like my credit report cleared of ALL the late charges or be financially compensated for the damages that this business practice is causing me because I have to pay more for a deposit for an apartment and now cannot purchase a house.