BBB Accredited Business since

Valley Construction

Phone: (425) 226-2330 Fax: (253) 638-9511 View Additional Phone Numbers 17800 140th Ave SE, Renton, WA 98058


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers remodeling construction services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Valley Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Valley Construction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Valley Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1997 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1997 Business incorporated 12/07/1999 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Larry Ohmie, President Ms. Sarah Ohmie, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry Ohmie, President
Principal: Ms. Sarah Ohmie, Secretary
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Windows - Installation & Service Hardwood Floor Contractors Countertops Resilient & Vinyl Flooring Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Tile & Marble Contractors - Flooring Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Outdoor Kitchens Contractors - General Garage Builders Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Patio & Deck Builders Vinyl Decking Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Alternate Business Names
Ohmie Construction Inc

Additional Locations

  • 17800 140th Ave SE

    Renton, WA 98058 (253) 630-7870 (425) 226-2330

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July / 2012, I hired Valley construction to build a front deck on my home. The total cost of the project was $2732.03. Within the course of a few months, the stairs began to loosen and I noticed that nails were sticking out of the undersides of the stairs and it was evident that they were not properly secured into the wood. It continued to rapidly worsen and was clearly a safety issue. I contacted Mr. ***** and told him of the situation and strongly emphasized that this was dangerous and if it was not addressed soon, someone was going to get injured on the stairs. He stated he would come out within a week to look at it. I made it quite clear I wanted to show him the areas of concern and he assured me he would call first and let me know when he would be coming. I never heard from him again. Of note, the worker Mr. ***** hired to do the deck had initially built the stairs wrong and redid them. It was evident he did not know what he was doing and Mr. ***** should have recognized that and either had another more qualified employee do them or do it himself. Neither scenario was done. I had someone pound these nails back in but it was clearly not enough. On 4/16/14, someone was going down the stairs and one of the stairs collapsed and he fell through. I hired another contractor to redo the stairs and in the course of removing them, he was quite alarmed of just how unsafe the stairs were built and also found other significant safety issues of the deck construction. For example, one of the main posts should have been secure into the ground but instead a piece of wood was just jammed under it and half of it was not secured by anything at all. Instead of putting a railing on the deck, a 6 " piece of board was used instead in which was way too large for anyone's hands to grasp. There were also other areas in which the deck was not built to code. I have a written report as well as pictures documenting all of this. A significant portion of this deck will have to be totally rebuilt to make it meet code. To date, I have put $547.50 out of pocket to make it safe as possible. I contact WA L&I who indicated I can place a claim against his bond which will become a permanent part of his record and I will proceed with this if it is not rectified at this level including reimbursement for my expenses

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement of the $547.50 I have already paid plus the amount which would be necessary to make the deck appropriate (estimates pending)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/05/09) */ In July 2012 we were contracted by *** ***** to build a front deck and stairs. She liked the job we did and paid in full. I was contacted by *** ***** in May 2013 to come out and tighten a step. I agreed to come out and told her I would call first and set a time and date. I called. Got answering machine left message. No response. I called at least two more times left messages with no response. I have had no farther contact with *** ***** until now. Looking back, I wish my personal health problems would have allowed me to do a better job of following up with *** *****. I had a full knee replacement on June 17, 2013. Due to complications, I was admitted to the hospital 7 times, 6 for surgical procedures between the end of June and Labor Day. It would have been nice to receive additional communications from *** ***** before she filed this complaint as I was unaware that there was an issue. I am more than willing to work with her to resolve this issue to everyone's satisfaction. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/05/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I strongly disagree with the account provided by this company.I never received any further communication from Mr *****. There were no further calls or voice mails received. He also had the option to stop by and speak with me in person or send a letter if he supposedly could not reach me by phone. Again, none of this was done. To state in his response that he was unaware that there was an issue is simple untrue. He was told when I spoke with him of the safety issues and they certainly don't fix themselves. Although it looked good at the time it was built, I was unaware until the stairs began loosening and I had another contractor remove them just how poorly constructed and dangerous this deck is. Final Business Response /* (1000, 20, 2014/07/03) */ We have met with our customer and as a goodwill gesture we will be completing the repairs to resolve her concerns. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 22, 2014/07/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I provided the written documentation and pictures to the company of the improperly built deck as well as the receipt for the emergency repairs done after the stairs collapsed. He was also provided the estimate to rebuild the areas that were defective but chose to complete these repairs himself. On 7/7/14, he corrected these defects to the appropriate specifications as well as provided me the refund for the emergency repairs


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Valley Construction
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)