BBB Accredited Business since

Ovation Restoration

Phone: (888) 995-5581 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 183, Washougal, WA 98671

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers residential home remodeling services including, carpet, roofing, bathroom and kitchen remodeling, decks, fencing, flooring and more.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ovation Restoration meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ovation Restoration include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ovation Restoration
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 09, 2000 Business started: 06/01/1999 in WA Business started locally: 06/01/1999 Business incorporated 07/29/2014 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Rick Arnold, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Arnold, Owner
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Windows - Installation & Service Countertops Fence Contractors Windows & Doors - Installation & Service Windows Windows - Vinyl Outdoor Kitchens Carpet Layers Contractors - General Basement - Contractors Contractor - Remodel & Repair Carpet Installation Floors - Laminate Contractors - Gutters Painting Contractors Painters - Commercial or Residential Patio & Deck Builders Deck Builder Roof Structures Roofing Contractors Contractor - Metal Roofing Contractor - Tile Roofing

Hours of Operation
4 hours a day, 7 days a week
Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Money Order, Visa, Master Card, Discover, American Express, and financing options available.
Refund and Exchange Policy
Buyer has three (3) business days to cancel the contract without liability. Upon the expiration of Buyer’s three (3) day right to cancel the Contract, Buyer may cancel the Contract upon notice to Ovation but in doing so Buyer will forfeit any down payment and all monies paid to Ovation, as of the date of Buyer’s cancelation and will be liable for all contract expenses, labor, and materials provided by Ovation under the contract as of the date of cancellation and may be held liable for the full Sale Price.
Service Area
Portland and Greater Vancouver
Alternate Business Names
Ovation Restoration LLC, a Limited Liability Company of Washington
Products & Services

Roofing, decks, decorative concrete, bathroom remodeling, kitchen remodeling, flooring, carpet, windows, siding, and handicap accessibility.

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 183

    Washougal, WA 98671 (360) 798-1221 (888) 995-5581


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Entered contract with sales manager for Ovation Restoration on March 31, 2015 for roof and gutters replacement. Contract is for fixed price bid for all materials and labor. Down payment was paid by Mr. ******. Work was expected to begin in 3 weeks. Sales manager called to delay job start for 3 more weeks on April 24, 2015. I asked sales manager about the cost of shingle upgrade to 40 year shingles from 30 year shingles. Sales manager came to my house on May 6, 2015 and we agreed and signed an addendum to original contract to upgrade shingles for a fixed price. Work began on June 23, 2015 and was completed on July 1, 2015. Mr A***** and sales manager visited the job site unannounced on July 1 and we reviewed the completed work. Mr A***** presented final billing total amount to Mr ****** and bill was paid in full by personal check. Upon review of contracts later in the day Mr ****** noticed the final bill presented by Mr A***** was $1000 more than agreed contracts price. Mr ****** contacted Mr A***** by telephone on July 2, 2015 and Mr A***** agreed to review contracts and refund the over payment by check. Mr A***** visited Mr ****** on July 24, 2015 and offered a refund check for $500. Mr ****** refused the check and Mr A***** stated he would need 4 weeks to come up with additional $500. Mr A***** mailed a different $500 check to Mr ****** on Sept 9, 2015 and a hand written note saying final $500 refund would be sent in a week or two. As of Oct 23, 2015, Mr A***** has not sent final refund check.

Desired Settlement: Mr ***** requests final refund of $500. Mr ***** requests a final itemized receipt for materials and labor. Mr ****** requests roofing warranty information as promised by Mr A*****.

Business Response: The office manager will research this and process the refund. 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The refund has not arrived.  It is now 18 weeks waiting for the refund from the time I reported the overpayment to Mr A*****.


***** ******

Business Response:

After researching this, our records indicate that a refund check in the amount of $500.00 was mailed out on September 15th. However, bank records show the check has not been cashed, so we will stop payment on that check and issue a new check in the amount of $500.00. If you do not receive the check within 7 business days, please let us know.


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory at this time.

I will expect payment within 7 days and if not paid I will open another complaint.


***** ******



9/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contracted and charged for a cedar deck. When material arrived it was fir. When Mr. ****** was questioned he became very angry. He was told his services were no longer needed. Mr. ****** then offered to knock off $400. The difference between cedar and fir is much greater than $400. I feel Mr. ****** was trying to over charge for the bill. I hired another contractor to do the job. Job needed to be completed ASAP deck also included a wheel chair ramp. By the time I became aware of the material difference the contractor already had part of my deck and ramp torn apart.

Desired Settlement: would like my $4,000 returned.

Business Response:

Response to Complaint ID of ********



I am writing to respond to customer complaint # ******** regarding a construction contract signed on or around June 17th, 2015 for a deck restore project. The homeowner is requesting the refund of their downpayment in the amount of $4000.00.


The contract explicitly states under the heading titled “Returns and Cancellations” that, “Upon the expiration of Buyer’s three (3) day right to cancel this Contract, Buyer may cancel the Contract upon notice to Ovation but in doing so Buyer will forfeit any down payment and all monies paid to Ovation, as of the date of Buyer’s cancelation and will be liable for all contact expenses, labor, and materials provided by Ovation under the contract as of the date of cancellation and may be held liable for the full Sale Price.” By signing the contract, the homeowner agreed to be bound by the terms of the contract and understood by canceling, they would forfeit their downpayment.


The initial contract contained an inconsistency in the description of the decking materials to be used to restore the deck surface. Upon noticing the inconsistency, the Installation Manager went out to the job site address and met with the Mrs. At that time, they discussed and clarified the type of material the homeowners’ desired to be used on the decking surface. The Mrs. signed a change order that spelled out Douglas Fir was to be used to restore all decking surfaces. The Change Order also contains the same Return and Cancellation clause as the original contract, so again, the Homeowner’s agreed they would not receive a refund of their downpayment if they chose to cancel either contract.


On or about July 25th, 2015, an installer from Ovation Restoration, LLC began to tear off the boards of homeowners’ deck. At that time, it was discovered that the deck structure underneath the deck surfaces were rotting in places and needed to be replaced, which was work not included in the original contract. Our installer began to replace the rotten structure using Douglas Fir. At that time, the Mr. came out to inspect the deck and told our installer that the materials were supposed to be Cedar, not Douglas Fir. The Mr. called up the Installation Manager and was very upset that the material was not Cedar, even though there was a Change Order signed to make sure we were clear on the type of material to be used.


In order to appease the Mr., the Installation Manager offered to refund $800.00 back to the homeowner if they chose to use Douglas Fir instead of Cedar. The price difference between Top Choice Douglas Fir and Top Choice Cedar is approx. $1.79 per board at *****. Cedar is actually less expensive at a cost of $10.28 per board, while Douglas Fir costs $12.07 per board. However, the dimensions do differ. The cedar comes in 5/4x6x10 and the Douglas Fir comes in 2x10x12 ft boards.


The homeowner did not agree to accept the refund and insisted he wanted Cedar. To satisfy the homeowner, the Installation Manager told the homeowner that we were willing to exchange the Douglas Fir for Cedar. The original salesman also returned to the home and tried to resolve the issue with the homeowner. The homeowner told the Installation Manager that our services were no longer needed and that he hired another contractor. All this occurred in less than 48 hours. The installer from Ovation Restoration, LLC who started the tear down on the deck informed us that the homeowner conspired to cut Ovation Restoration, LLC out of the project and hired him (our employee) to finish the project. The homeowner hired our installer directly and paid him under the table to finish the project in order to save money. Our employee is unlicensed, uninsured, not bonded, not in compliance with tax withholdings, and does not bare the expense of advertising and business overhead, so of course he could finish the project at a lower cost.


Ovation Restoration, LLC has already invested considerable time, labor, materials, and money in the project, including paying sales commission, time, labor, and fuel to commute to job site to sign contracts, time, labor, and fuel to inspect and measure the project, time, labor, and fuel spent to travel to ***** to purchase and load materials, time, labor, and fuel to deliver and unload materials, material expenses, time and labor to tear off old decking structure, and time, labor, and fuel to return partial decking materials.  Not to mention, legal fees incurred to draft a letter to the homeowner. At this time, we regret to inform the homeowner that they are in breach of contract and are not entitled to a refund. 


Please see attached photographs of cost difference between Cedar and Douglas Fir. Also, see attached copy of our return policy. Our attorney has possession of the original signed contract and change order which can be provided at a later date, if needed. 








Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Mr. A***** only offer 400 not 800 for the difference

Mr. A***** was not honest regarding the price of the material.  According to **** ***** my cost not contractor price is

for top quality fir, 12ft, 12.07 a 10ft, 10.07,a 8ft was 8.05. the material that was delivered was only 8ft fir.

the price of cedar , is 5.625x6x12, is 20.97, 5.625x6x10, is 17.57, 5.625x6x8 , is 13.97.

there seems to be a vast difference in the price of the material , Mr. A***** got the material from **** *****.

Mr. A***** did not return the material ,the contractor I hired to complete the work return the material at my expense.



****** *********

Business Response: Ovation has a copy of a signed change order that states the material to be used for the deck is Fir. Ovation offered to issue a partial refund or to set aside the change order and complete the contract using cedar instead of fir.  The homeowner was unwilling to work with Ovation to resolve the issue. Instead, the homeowner insisted on breeching the contract and using an unlicensed contractor to complete the project. Our contract specifically states that no refunds will be issued if the homeowner cancels the contract after the 3-day right of recession has expired. However, in order to reach a peaceful solution to this dispute, Ovation is willing to issue a partial refund after deducting expenses for time, fuel, labor, legal, and any materials used. We will calculate our expenses and get back to you with a figure within the week. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:Mr A***** was fired because he became very angry and started using very inappropriate language when questioned about the material.  Only $400 difference was offered.  Does Mr. A***** understand what bate and switch means.  Since when is it not ok to hire an unlicensed contractor for my personal  home if I choose.


****** ********* *****

8/5/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contractor gave 2 year warranty on tile floor. It never set right from the beginning and he said he would fix the loose tiles, but has never showed up when he schedule 6 different appointments.

Desired Settlement: A tile floor that does not move when you walk on it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/08/01) */ Unfortunately, one of our tile installation specialists abandoned his job due to unforeseen circumstances. Regrettably, this created a backlog and put a damper on our scheduling department. Earlier this week, we were able to acquire a new qualified tile specialist and plan to have him available to make any necessary adjustments to the floor within 15 business days. I will be in contact with the homeowner to arrange scheduling. We deeply apologize for the inconvenience and thank-you for your continued patience and understanding. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2014/08/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) August 4, 2014 The contractor sent his tile specialist over in mid-June and he stated that the wonder board was not installed correctly and the existing tile would have to be torn up and replace the wonder board correctly and then re-tiled. The contractor has made several appointments and never showed or called us to reschedule. We will accept his offer to fix the flooring within 15 business days. We expect him to honor his word in a timely matter.