BBB Accredited Business since

Sammsoft

Additional Locations

Phone: (866) 761-7638 Fax: (650) 556-1195 23316 NE Redmond Fall City Rd # 667, Redmond, WA 98053 http://www.sammsoft.com View Additional Web Addresses


Click for BBB Rating on Sammsoft

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers remote PC diagnostic and repair services to improve PC and home network performance.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sammsoft meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for Sammsoft. BBB of the Golden Gate & Northern California has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for Sammsoft.


Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 05, 2006 Business started: 12/01/1997 Business started locally: 12/01/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Josh Pickus, CEO Ms. Shelly Schaffer, Vice President Mr. Zak White, Senior Paralegal Mr. Gregory Wrenn, SVP/General Counsel & Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Josh Pickus, CEO
Business Category

Computers - Service & Repair

Alternate Business Names
Sammsoft.com Support.com

Additional Locations

  • 23316 NE Redmond Fall City Rd # 667

    Redmond, WA 98053 (866) 761-7638

  • 336 228th Ave NE Ste 301

    Sammamish, WA 98074

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The product was supposed to be downloaded to my computer to make it run faster. It couldn't be downloaded and support technician stated there was an issue with my computer and I would have to have it serviced before the product would work. I asked for a refund and they gave me a number to call. The number referred to the samsoft.com/support site where I have three times submitted a claim which has been ignored. Through inviestigation I contacted their 3rd party biller who charged my account and did internet searches all of which funnel me back to the toll free number or website of which I have never received a response. So, in essence, I've given them $63.50 of my money with no product and no way to get a refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $63.50 for the product I paid for but never received.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/15) */ In response to a request from *** *******, Support.com (dba Sammsoft) issued a refund in the amount of $63.50 to *** ******* on November 4, 2013. Email confirmation was sent to the address on file for *** ******* at that time. Support.com believes that the desired resolution was satisfied prior to the date of this report.

8/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a download program to clean errors on my computer. the price was 29.95. They Charged my card 80.14. I sent them two emails, called and called over a four day period. They do not answer their phone, just a recording telling you to email customer support. They do not respond at all. I ask them for a refund because the product failed to do what they claimed. The product did not download. and they stole my money.

Desired Settlement: I would like my 80.14 back in full. I do not want their product nor to do business with these people. Since I feel they stole my money I would like to make a criminal complaint.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/05/30) */ Contact Name and Title: *** *****, Paralegal Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@support.com On 5/28/2013, *** **** requested a refund in the amount of $80.14 for the purchase of two software product downloads, plus shipping physical CD backup copies of the two products. The next day, Sammsoft processed the requested refund in full (order refunded 5/29/2013 at 5:16am Pacific). At this time, we feel that we have timely and adequately complied with the customer's request, our generous refund terms, and our regulatory requirements. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/06/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Yes they did respond by crediting my account. However they did not respond by email as they stated by contracting me by email directly. When they took more money than my order they overdrew my account by 32.00. I feel they owe the overdraft fees. I can prove what I ordered and prove that they took more than I ordered. This is a fraudulent company. Thanks BBB. for your help. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 20, 2013/07/25) */ In addition to the computer program download referred to in the complaint, *** **** also ordered another computer program download and physical CD backups of both computer programs. As mentioned below, all orders were previously refunded under our 30-day money-back guarantee. Sammsoft previously satisfied the desired resolution stated in *** ****** original BBB complaint. Sammsoft does not pay for customer overdraft fees.

7/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I Am A 73 year old Man my Birthday is ***************** and to my SUPPRISE I was Billed $24.50 CDN with mention that I will be billed MONTHLEY the same amount which I am on Pension and defientley cant afford that plus I don't need the coverage I was under the impression It was a one time billing hoping you can wave the would be monthly future charges so I wont have to cancell My CREDIT Card My Health is poor to say the Least. Any Compassion shown to my Wife and I would be vvery much Appreciated. Yours Truly **** ******

Desired Settlement: WAVE ANY FUTURE CHARGES. I HAVE PAID JUNE 2013 T $24.50 Again thanking you in advance for your consideration. ****

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/07/08) */ **** purchased software from Sammsoft and accepted a discounted bundle offer to include a monthly service plan. Upon receiving notice that **** did not want the monthly service plan, Sammsoft refunded the $22.99 monthly charge and discontinued his service plan. Sincerely, *** ***** Senior Paralegal & Stock Administrator Sammsoft, a division of Support.com, Inc. *** ********** ****** *** ***** Redwood City, CA XXXXX Office: XXX-XXX-XXXX ****@***********

6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: No answer from support after I got customer service request # CSR XXXXXXXX on XX-XX-XXXX and contact company three times more by e-mail on the same CSR#. I purchased software programs named ARO2013 and SysTweak's system optimizer on XX-XX-XXXX and I was double charged for this purchase on my credit/debit card on XX-XX-XXXX and XX-XX-XXXX for $78.77 (each charge). Products did more damages than help to my computer system. So it also false advertising issue. No support for products and no answer for calls to XXX-XXX-XXXX which suppose to be support number. I smell scam.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of charges as was advertised on their site, www.sammsoft.com. 30 days money back guarantee.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/17) */ We refunded this order Yesterday, April 16th . We had replied to the customer that we were sorry for the delay as we had an issue viewing request tickets from previous weeks.. Order refunded 4/16/2013 5:10:27 AM in the amount of $78.77 for: 1 aro2013, 1 asov3, 1 shipping, The approval code was: AXXXXXXYYY Thank you. ****** ******. Manager Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/04/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Sammsoft did not refund order I placed. They, so far refund ONE out of TWO charges on SINGLE order. I was charge by them twice, on 03/14/2013 and 03/16/2013 each time $78.77 (according to my credit card statement) for SINGLE order #XXXXXXXXX placed on 03/14/2013. Thanks for giving me back money you never should charge. Now I am waiting for REFUND of PURCHASE. I hope to get it as quick as it was charged. And yes, I am frustrated when somebody call operation "refund of purchase", while as a matter of a fact, somebody just gave me back my money which was unlawfully taken from my account by THEIR not my MISTAKE. So, please accordingly REFUND PURCHASE of software advertised as helping "cleaning and tuning" my PC. After use of those programs, namely ARO2013 and SysTweak's System Optimizer all I had to do was REBUILD my PC, after damages done thanks to use of Sammsoft software products. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 19, 2013/05/22) */ According to our records, the total amount that Mr. ***** has ever paid to us is $78.77, which was for a single transaction on 3/14/13. The total amount that we have received from Mr. ***** ($78.77) was refunded in full on 4/16/13. We do not have any further amounts that can be refunded at this time. Since Mr. ***** states that the evidence of a second charge is from his credit card statement, and that both of the $78.77 transactions have a single order number, it may be the case that one of the credit card statement items represented a pending transaction while the other represented a settled transaction (i.e., only one such item should have incurred charges against Mr. *****'s account).

5/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased ARO2013 from Sammsoft under the condition that I would receive a full refund if not completely satisfied. I ran the program There was absolutely no change in my computers performance. The website clearly states that a full refund would be given if not satisfied and when I called the costomer support phone number listed all I got was a recording that told me to fill out a support request ticket on their website. If that was not frustrating enough after 2 full days I had still not received any reply from this company. I filled out a second support request ticket and sent it again and after another 24 hours I have had no response. The product was a scam in my opinion, the costomer service is non- existant and the guarantee of a refund is a lie! Do not do business with this company.

Desired Settlement: All I ever wanted was a refund of $30.32 credited to the card I used to purchase the software. The wesite promised a money back guarantee and thats the only reason I risked trying the product to begin with. Please refund $30.32

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/17) */ Customer placed order for product on 4/3/2013 and filed complaint with BBB on 4/8/2013. Customer's order was refunded in full on 4/15/2013 in the amount of $32.35. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/04/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did receive a full refund for the product but it took a complaint to the BBB and two weeks to hear from them. I feel I would not have received a response from them if I did not pursue the matter. Their costomer service is still diplorable. Two weeks? really? Business' Final Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/04/26) */ Sammsoft consistently honors its 100% customer satisfaction guarantee. While we usually achieve expedient turnaround times, the fulfillment of Mr. ******' request was delayed due to administrative difficulties and we apologize for such delay.

4/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $29 on Visa card on March 30, 2013 for the regular full download (not the 30-day trial). Because of shields they have put up I can't even contact them by phone or email. I keep getting notification that I have not paid and am not registered. My key is ********************************** so you know I paid them for the product.

Desired Settlement: All I want is what was promised. A full download of their Booster product. I have paid for it.