This business is not BBB accredited.

CarTrawler

Phone: (206) 659-0807 Fax: (206) 397-3124 2540 Westlake Ave N Ste A, Seattle, WA 98109 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.cartrawler.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for CarTrawler include:

  • 19 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for CarTrawler include:

  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 19

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on CarTrawler
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 09, 2012 Business started: 01/01/2005 Business started locally: 01/01/2005 Business incorporated 04/30/2010 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike McGearty, President/CEO Mr. Alex Boothroyd, Chief Operations Officer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Alex Boothroyd, Chief Operations Officer
Principal: Mr. Mike McGearty, President/CEO
Business Category

Computer Software Publishers & Developers Travel & Tourism Development and Education Auto Renting & Leasing Computers Hardware, Software & Services

Alternate Business Names
eTrawler Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

CarTrawler has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2540 Westlake Ave N Ste A

    Seattle, WA 98109 (206) 659-0807

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/2/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a car rental reservation with Dollar Rent A Car for 6/16/16(reservation number: ***********). Unknown to me, if you select the "pay in advance" option to get a better price, you are no longer making a reservation with Dollar Rent A Car. You are making a reservation with Carhire/Car trawler on Dollar Rent A Car website. I made the reservation and paid $129.68 with my mastercard and due to pay $91.00 in tax at the time of pick up. On 6/17/16 I went to the Dollar Rent A Car at the Minneapolis/St.Paul International Airport. Upon checking out they wanted a deposit of $350.00, which was way more than the 15% of the total that I was would would be the deposit amount. Because I did not have enough credit on my Mastercard to cover the $350.00 plus the $91.00 in tax, I tried using my personal bank debit card. When I tried using my debit card it was coming back as declined, even though funds were available. I then contacted my bank (Anchor Bank) and was informed that because Dollar Rent A Car card reader at the Minneapolis/St.Paul International Airport shows the transaction is taking place in Oklahoma that I would need to enter my personal pin number, for security purposes. The Dollar associate who was assisting me said that their card reader does not accept pin numbers, therefore I was unable to rent the car that I pre paid for. I first contacted Cartrawler by phone on 6/17/16 about issuing a refund and was told that I need to submit a claim online, which i did on 6/17/16 and have gotten nothing but the run arounds. I have submitted bank statements showing proof of available funds and still no refund. Many of my online cases (********* ********* ********* ********) that I have submitted on the Cartrawler website shows all of my cases as "closed" without any notes to the reason why. I have not spoken to anyone in there customer service department or received any calls as promised.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund in the amount of $129.68, since the rental did not take place.

5/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 24, I booked a car thru this company for pick up on April 15, 2016 at 9:00 am. Okay so I go to the airport only to find out that the car rental is not onsite. Okay so I take the shuttle to the rental only to find out they will not except my credit cards. So I watsed about 4 hrs of my time spent 40 dollars in cab fair.And I was told that since I did not get the car I would be refunded well I'm still waiting and still haven't heard from anyone about my refund. They charged my card 141.97.

Desired Settlement: Would simply like for them to do the right thing and refund my money.

11/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented the vehicle on 7/14/2015. I arrived in Philadelphia on 9/30/2015 to pick up the car, because I was already charged I assumed the car was ready. I arrived at ****** Rental and they would not give me the car because I did not have a credit card. The woman at the counter told me the policy of needing a credit card did not change until 7/17/2015. She instructed me to call CARTRAWLER to get a refund, since I booked through them with a debit card. They only refunded me partially. I called and spoke with a woman and she said because I did not cancel within 48 hours in why they would not refund me fully. However, I had NO IDEA they were not providing me the car so how was I to know I had to cancel.

Desired Settlement: I was charged $90.44 and only refunded 25.44. I would like my $65 back as well.

11/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rented and paid for car rental online. Arrived to pick up vehicle and there was a long line. We were told it would take awhile due to computer issues. Over 45 minutes later it was finally my turn only to find that my rental had been cancelled due to late arrival. I arrived on time, it was their computer issue that caused my late arrival. He told me no problem so he started over which charged my card a second time plus the $65 balance plus a $200 deposit. We have 2 checking accounts and I only left enough in that one to cover the rental. Because they charged it a second time the card was declined and there was nothing he could do because the first charge would take 3-4 days to process. I said to just cancel the rental. He said he couldn't because it was already cancelled. I had him sign my confirmation explaining why it was a late pick up and why it was being cancelled and he said it would take up to 20 days for the credit but someone should be in touch with me within the next few days. I didn't hear anything so I contacted them and they said it showed the vehicle was picked up. I told him it was not and I wanted a refund. I have the signed paper showing everything which I had to send in with my complaint. It has been over 20 days and I have not had a response nor has the refund come through on my card.

Desired Settlement: Receive the credit of all charges on my credit card.

9/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 24, 2015 I pre ordered a rental car on ****** rental car website which was $160. I went to ****** on my pick up date to rent car. With out my knowledge ****** did a credit check (im currently in a bankruptcy) and I was denied the rental car. ****** told me I needed to contact customer service to receive a credit for the deposit I paid. I called customer service and they gave me the number to this cartrawler . I called cartrawler and they told me I had to go on this website to file a claim to see if I can get my money back. I emailed the company and the only pre populated reason for my refund is credit card not accepted so that is what I entered. I received an email back stating in the terms it says that you have to have a credit card or debit card. In which I did, that was not the issue, so I explained that I was denied because of credit and my money has still not been refunded to me for this matter that was beyond my control. I was tricked on ****** website by this company whom I didn't even know I was dealing with,

Desired Settlement: I am requesting my money back for a rental car not received.

8/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THIS IS FALSE ADVISEMENT. I WENT ONTO THE ******* *** WEB-SITE AND BOOK THIS CAR RENTAL. I WAS TOLD INCORRECT INFORMATION. I WAS TOLD IF I WAS USING A DEBIT CARD THEY ONLY NEED $17.00 DEPOIST, I WAS TOLD THEY NEEDED $115.00 DOWN. THEY TOOK THAT OUT OF MY CHECKING ACCOUNT. WHEN I GOT TO ATLANTA FROM DENVER THEY REQUESTED AT THRIFTY 350.00 I WAS UNABLE TO RENT A CAR. I ASK ******* *** FOR MY 115.00 BACK AND THEY TOLD ME THEY HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH THE REFUND I HAVE TO CONTACT CARTRAWLER. I CONTACT CARTRAWLER AND THEY KEPT ON HANGING UP THE PHONE ON ME DOWN TO THE MANAGER BECAUSE I WANTED A REFUND. I AM NOW BACK IN DENVER COLORADO AND NO MONEY. I PLACED A COMPLAINT IN WITH MY BANK IT IS BEEN RESEARCH. THIS IS CRAZY THIS IS A SCAM. SHUT THIS WEBSITE DOWN!!!!!!!!!!!!LOOKING FOR A FULL REFUND IN THE AMOUNT OF $115.00. PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!! Reservation number *********** Driver ***** ***** Pick-up 15 Jul 2015 19:30 Atlanta - Airport Return 21 Jul 2015 17:30 Atlanta - Airport

Desired Settlement: REFUND IN THE AMOUNT OF $115.00. I NEVER GOT A CAR FOR RENT. SHUT THEM DOWN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

7/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i thought I was renting a car through ****** rental car when I was mysteriously rerouted CarTrawler.com. They took $159.90 off my debit card. By the time I got to the airport to get my car they had my money and ****** said they couldn't rent me the car without a major credit card. Mind you I've been renting cars through ****** for over 10 years now and never had a problem. So ****** said there's nothing they could do because I made the reservation through CarTrawler. I go home which is 45 mins away from the airport get my major credit card go back to the airport and my reservation was cancelled because I was late to pick it up. After all that CarTrawler said they were keeping all the money even though I never got the car. Because I didn't have the proper cards. Then when I told her I had both she said I still wasn't there in time and it states in their contract that they can keep the money. No Refunds! Wow I've never heard of this in my life. I just GAVE them $159.90.

Desired Settlement: i want my $159.90 back. Due to I never rented the car

7/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I booked an on-line rental car from ****** **** * ***, and somehow I was directed to give my credit card number. It looks as though this CarTrawler company held my card and charged it. Unfortunatly my flight was cancelled due to weather, and when I called to cancell my reservation, I find that this company will not refund my card. I spoke with the ****** ***** desk at the Boise Airport by phone and they assured me I had a car booked with them and it would be cancelled. However in my e-mail, this cartrawler said my car was ready to be picked up. After finding a telephone number on the web, I called and they said they would not be able to cancell the reservation because I had not called a week in advance. I'm still in the airport after hearing over the intercom our flight has been cancelled due to weather! I filed a complaint, have received to e-mails back both telling me they will not refund my money. The 2nd form said my money would not be refunded because I did not have a valid drivers license to show at the rental desk in Boise. I'm not even in Boise because my flight has been cancelled! Everything they have asked for me to produce I have given them.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my cc reimbursed

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

In reference to complaint #********., the company has made good on the non-rental of the car and reimbursed my cc.  thank you for  your help



Sincerely,

******* *****

6/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I prepayed for a rental car using this companies services. When I arrived to my destination the rental car company, Dollar Rental Car, was closed and unable to fufull the services that were prepayed. I asked the neighboring rental car desk where the attendant at Dollar was at and was informed they had closed and the representative at Dollar was known for "not giving a dam". I was dissapointed to hear that given it was 1am in the morning and needed to be up at 6am in the morning for my travel arrangments. I figured I could just request the credit from the company that the arrangements were made and they could solve this problem. When I submitted my claim I was responded to with the below. "I understand your frustration that the vehicle you requested was no longer available when you arrived at the rental desk later than scheduled due to a flight disruption. However, while we make every effort to accommodate changing pick up times, the Car Rental Agent may not be in a position to hold the vehicle for you after the pick-up time has passed or to keep the rental desk open. Unfortunately, we will not be able to offer a refund on this occasion." Not sure how I am expected to notify the desk that my flight is going to be late when the airline that I was on did not have internet and obviously there is no phones on an airplane. I am frustrated and would like to get my money refunded and at minimum would like to ensure that this companies shady business practices are known for future potential customers.

Desired Settlement: I would like any payments made to this company refeunded. If that is not possible at minimum I would like this to be flagged as a formal complaint against this company as they should not be able to operate their business in this manner.

6/17/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was online renting a car from dollar car rental and it sent me to this website to prepay for the rental but when I got there Dollar ran my credit and told me that I was unable to rent the car because of that I was charged by CarTrawler and told they were not going to issue me a refund because I didn't have a major credit card and that I would not have a credit with them either, so pretty much they stole 33.77 from me and they did nothing

Desired Settlement: I would like my refund because I was unable to rent the car

5/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid for a rental car though ****** ****** and were routed though this company. The total was shown as 81 dollars. We then received a confirmation from the company stating that we owed an additional 59 dollars. These fees are not transparent. Do not book with this company or ****** *******.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund.

5/12/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rent a car through www.*******.com on Dec 19, 2014, I never noticed that when making payment I was transfer to a different URL a third party company, and to them I make a payment in the amount of $ 247.47 for this rental. When I arrived at the Guadalajara, Mexico airport, they said that they are having problems with this company " Cartrawler " and they never received my payment. They rent me a more expensive car and charge my credit card again in the amount of $ 381.71 USD. ******* rental car gave me and email to ask for refund I have emailed them since Dec 31, 2014 with various emails, had call many times and I am being told that they will contact me but nothing has been resolved at this moment. I been waiting for a refund for more than 3 months, paying interest to the credit card company, and no refund has been sent. I need your help on this matter to get my refund back for "" services not received "". I would appreciate your help as soon as possible.

Desired Settlement: I need refund in the amount of $ 247.47, as well for the remaining amount paid to ******* company directly $ 134.24 for a total of $ 381.71 due that I made my reservation paid in advance, and it was not fair to get to wait at the airport 3 hours with 3 kids and still dealing with the stress that I will not receive a car, due that all rental companies I approach at the airport told me they have no cars available.

Business Response: Dear BBB,
Thank you for your email. Please be advised that the customer had disputed the charge via their credit card company. As this case is now closed, we were happy to proceed with our investigation. Please see our email we sent to the customer below.

Kind regards
****** *****
Customer Support Team



Dear ******,

Booking Ref: ***********

 I am following up on our previous communication. I can see that my
colleagues were investigating the case, however, since the issue was raised
with your credit card company, we were unable to proceed with our investigation. Please note that our Customer Service
was happy to assist you with your case and we were ready to process a refund
however we received notification from the bank that the charge is disputed. In
these instances we are not able to proceed with Customer Service procedure.
This is against Visa and MasterCard regulations and they apply when the charge
is challenged through the bank.  We got to know that the case with the
bank is closed now and we are happy to proceed with the refund that had been
already proposed to our finance department.

Please see
our calculations below.

 The amount charged at
the rental desk:

Total: MEX 5,603.25

Amount charged for 5 rental days MEX 2952.08

Amount charged for optional extras
(insurance) MEX 2651.17

 Therefore, I would like to advise you
that a refund of MEX 2952.08 = USD 200.36 will be processed today to the card
you used to book.

******, I would like to apologize for any
inconvenience this might have caused and do not hesitate if you have any
questions.

Best wishes,

****** *****

+***********

CarTrawler Customer Care

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Thanks so much for your response, and I would like to explain the following, and need answers and a prompt refund for the amount paid directly to Cartrawler for "" services not received "

1. You said customer service was happy to help ? but it took more than 90 days my case to investigate a double charge, that since the complaint to your company was file all receipts were sent ??

2. Customer service procedure against Visa or Master Card ? My credit card is American Express, and as my understanding is that you can direct a refund direct to my credit card because I have authorize you to do for "" services not received " for a charge made to my credit card from your company " Cartrawler "

3. A refund of $ 200.36  that was today April 15, 2015 ?  I have checked twice my credit card during the day and "" no refund "" has been credited.

4. A refund of $ 200.36 ?? why ? I paid your Company "" Cartrawler "  $ 247.47 for "" services not received ", why would you refund only $ 200.36 ??? the amount that was paid to ******* was because your Company did not send the payment to them, I paid ******* directly $ 381.00 had to wait at the airport 3 hours with 3 kids, 
make my credit card a double charge, waste time during 3 months contacting your Company to wait for  "" FAIR REFUND FOR SERVICES NOT RECEIVED "" ????

Why should I accept $ 200.36 for a refund that you said was sent to my credit card, when is not true ?? when I pay your Company the amount of $ 247.47 ???













Sincerely,

******** *******

Business Response: Dear BBB,

Thank you for forwarding our mutual customer's response. Could you please provide us with more details regarding this complaint (customer full details, CarTralwer booking ID etc.)as unfortunately, I am unable to find the customer's booking by your complaint ID number only. As soon as I receive it, I will be happy to investigate it further.

Kind regards,
****** *****
Customer Operations Representative

Consumer Response: Good Morning :

I have received previous message with information in regards my case, I was told on 04/15/15, I had a refund on my credit card that has never been credited, can you explain me what is going on with my case, ? I am simply asking refund for an amount of $ 247.47 charge from your company Cartrawler to my American Express card for " services not received ".  Can you read previous messages sent, so you can find out more about my case, and send refund ASAP, this has been waiting since 01/02/15. Attached you will find email send from your company on 01/02/15 with complaint # as well booking #.  There is no reason  not having enough information about my case with so many previous messages sent from your Company.


---------- Original Message ----------
From: CarTrawler Support <************@cartrawler.com>
To: *****@***********.COM
Date: January 2, 2015 at 7:10 AM
Subject: CarTrawler Ref: ***********, Booking Ref: ***********,

CarTrawler Ref: ***********,
Booking Ref: ***********,


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

******** *******

4/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm filing a complaint in regards of the entire company. I didn't go through with getting a car rental due to cars had to be exchange, and the agent I was speaking with from Car Trawler was extremely rude, and would not make the change for me. So a few days went by I was expecting a refund, nothing happened. So, I had to call customer service again, after twenty times of getting the runaround, because when you call your not even speaking with customer service, its reservations the entire time. After that I finally spoke with the agent who took over my case. Who I rarely talked to,****** ******. She is the only person I believe that was trying to help me. Then again after investing my case and finally getting approved for something I didn't have to begin with. I was told it would take 15-20 business days. It's be over 30 days now. So, today still getting the runaround, with the company.It took 48 hours to finally speak with Helena, and now I'm being told another 7 days. This is unacceptable. This company obviously wants to go out of business, because of the staff, the service, timely mannered. It's all a fail, I really wish something can and will be done!

Desired Settlement: All I ask is for my refund, nothing more and nothing less. I would never in 3 lifetimes recommend this company or ******* car rental.

Business Response: Dear BBB,


CarTrawler
Ref:
***********

Customer
Name:
******,
**********

Pick-up Location: Houston

I would like to sincerely apologize for delay in resolving our mutual customer's case. As per our system I can see that my colleague ****** was investigating the case and proposed a refund, as previously advised. I would like to confirm that the refund was processed today, 15.04.15 to the card the customer  used to book in amount of USD 364.80.

Once again I would like to apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Kind regards,
****** *****
Customer Operations Representative



1/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an email from ************* because I had previously used my card to rent from them in august. I get redirected to a third party called car trawler without even knowing they are a different company. However I ordered a car to rent when I got I to Canada. In August I rented from San Diego airport. They said when you travel you can only rent at the airport if you are out of town.so ordered this online and when I got there to pick up the car, they said my card is not acceptable. How would I know that if it was used prior. So they charged me and then didn't let me rent the car.The representative called to get a refund and they said OK we will get this straightened out and get you a refund and they would email me. They emailed me sorry no refund . You card is not a credit card. Which it is a credit/debt.

Desired Settlement: I feel that if they was not going to accept my card.They should have never accepted it to charge nor should they have accepted it in august which really mislead me. I feel that being denied while on vacation is a hassle but to also have to pay for a car that was not used is ridiculous. I never want to go thru car trawler nor dollar rental again since they are affiliated.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/05) */ Dear ******, Case ref.: XXX-XXXXXXX Thank you for your correspondence. I am sorry to hear that you were unable to take the car that you had booked. As per your Rental Conditions applied on the booking, a credit card is required in order to release the vehicle. These conditions have to be read and agreed to prior to the rental. We take any customer complaint very seriously. Having investigated this case in detail, I have not identified any irregularity on this occasion. We can appreciate that car rental is not an everyday experience so unless the terms and conditions on the booking voucher are fully read, misunderstandings can arise. As a gesture of goodwill, we will be issuing you with a refund of CAD 40.33, as compensation for the effort you have gone to bringing this case to our attention. Kind regards, ****** ***** CarTrawler Customer Operations Team Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/01/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you. I felt mislead because I used the same card in person only a few months prior. That's what brought me to rent again . Thank you for understanding. It was very inconvenient.

11/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have gave you and dollar rental car to produce a receipt showing the 129.88 from this e-voucher being used. The only receipts that you produce are the cash receipt. I am going to contact a lawyer and report both companies to the better business bureau and to my local news to investigate both companies. Using your company for the e-voucher was a fraud. My money of $129.88 was taking from my bank account by your company but I keep getting a run-around as to what happen to my money. I will also report your company to my bank as fraud. Below I have produce my receipt of your company taking my money and giving me a receipt but neither company can produce a receipt that my money have been applied. The only receipt that is being produced is the cash receipt for $191.78.

Desired Settlement: I want my refund from the e-voucher of $129.88 or produce a receipt where the e-voucher was applied to the rental car.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/11/05) */ Dear ****, CarTrawler Ref: XXX-XXXXXXX, Booking Ref: USXXXXXXXXX Firstly, let me thank you for your patience while I was investigating your case. I would like to sincerely apologize for the delay in resolving your issue. CarTrawler is not a party to the contract between the customer and a supplier but acts as a disclosed agent for the supplier and only holds monies for and on behalf of the rental agent. It is the supplier's obligation to produce an invoice for the customer as they are the party making the supply of goods/services to the customer in a VAT context. However, I can confirm that I have now received a response from our finance department with a credit card receipt confirming the amount charged at the time of making the booking. Please see below. Credit Card Receipt ________________________________________ IE MID: XXXXXXX TID: XXXXXXXX XXXXXXXXXXXXXX OID: XXXXXXXX_XXXXXXXXXXXX C_XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX MC XXXXXX************ SALE USD129.88 TOTAL USD129.88 Authorisation to Debit Sign: ________________________________________ AUTHCODE: XXXXXX I hope that this has helped to clarify the charges applied on your rental. Kindest Regards, ****** ***** +XXXXXXXXXXX CarTrawler Customer Care

8/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern: I am requesting a full refund for cancellation of my car rental. I travel to Milan, Italy and paid for a rental from 6/20/2014 to 6/23/2014. Without listing the requirement of a valid credit card and qualifications on my email receipt. I arrived at ******* for pick and was denied for lack of credit card. I presented my debit card for verification but was denied. The associate informed me that the policy would be cancelled and I should be refunded. I contacted******** for refund and was denied. I am escalating my request for my refund. Please help. Below are the car rental information: Reservation number: ITXXXXXXXXX Car rental provider confirmation number: XXXXXXX Payment: USD 73.78

Desired Settlement: Full refund of USD 73.78 for car rental cancellation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/07/29) */ Dear ****** Booking Ref: ITXXXXXXXXX CarTrawler Ref: XXX-XXXXXXX, Thank you very much for your correspondence. I am sorry to hear that our mutual customer unable to use your car hire booking with************** reserved through CarTrawler I would like to confirm the rental agent was unable to release the booked vehicle as they did not present a valid credit card at the desk. A valid credit card in the lead driver's name is required for insurance reasons and must be presented on arrival as a security deposit is required until the vehicle is returned. As it is possible to pre-authorise this kind of transaction without processing an actual charge on credit cards only, it is the industry standard practice to always require a credit card and not a debit or a charge card to secure the deposit. The card must be in the lead driver's name as it is the lead driver who is mentioned on the signed rental agreement and is responsible for the rental vehicle during the rental. We include information about the credit card requirements in your rental conditions. However, as a goodwill gesture, I can confirm that, having investigated the case fully, I have now proposed a refund of placement fee amount USD 73.78 I can imagine how inconvenient this situation must have been for the customer and I do hope that they will accept our sincere apologies for this experience. If you would like to discuss this on the telephone, please do not hesitate to contact me on my direct number ************ (available during business hours 09.00hrs / 17.00hrs). Kindest Regards ****** ***** +XXXXXXXXXXX CarTrawler Customer Care

7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used cartrawler to book a ******* rental car. At the rental office, I was not able to rent the car because the Mexican insurance credit card deposit exceeded the credit limit of my credit card. I contacted ******* for a refund and was informed that Cartrawler still had possession of the rental fee that I had paid: "This reservation was booked through and paid to Cartrawlers. ******* does not get paid for the rental unless you pick-up the vehicle. You will need to contact Cartrawlers for a refund as they are the company that you paid." I gave Cartrawlers customer service 6 weeks to refund my payment in full and they declined to do so, offering $58.65 of the entire $140.65. Cartrawlers commission for a third-party car rental is definitely not two-thirds of the rental fee. They need to refund the car rental fee, otherwise they are collecting a third-party's fee for a service that was never provided.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of my $140.65 payment for a service that was not provided.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/07/11) */ Booking Ref: MXXXXXXXXXX CarTrawler Ref: X-XXXXXXX, Thank you for your correspondence. From our records, I can see that our mutual customer booked a basic package which did not include insurance. When they arrived at the rental desk they refused to purchase mandatory insurance at the rental desk. I would like to confirm the rental agent was unable to release the booked vehicle as the vehicle was not insured. We include information about the basic package in the customer's rental conditions and there is no refund for the funds paid at the time of making the booking. However, as a goodwill gesture I can confirm that, having investigated the case fully, I have now processed a refund of placement fee in amount of USD 140.65. I can imagine how inconvenient this situation must have been for Mr ********* and I do hope that he will accept our sincere apologies for this experience. If you would like to discuss this on the telephone, please do not hesitate to contact me on my direct number ************ (available during business hours 09.00hrs / 17.00hrs). Kindest Regards ****** ***** +XXXXXXXXXXX CarTrawler Customer Care

1/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Friday November 15, 2013 I prepaid for a rental car on ******* *** Rental www.*********** $50.58 The rental voucher read that I would only pay $44.23 additional when arriving to actual counter. I reported to ******* *** Rental -Chicago (ORD) **** ***** ******** **** Schiller Park, IL 60176 Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX The final cost was &119.23 additional over and above the &50.58 I had already paid. I refused the rental and was told I would have to call to receive my refund. I called and I was redirected to www.cartrawler.com to file a complaint. After 5 phone calls and three emails and being told I would be contacted. I have still not been phoned. Today I was told I was to attach a rental invoice and agreement; neither of which i received because i DID NOT complete the rental. They are also asking for bank statements. They know what i paid. I was told they already have the rental voucher which shows what I have paid.

Desired Settlement: I would like my refund of $50.58

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/12/06) */ Dear ********* Please send on CarTrawler booking ID. Once we receive we will be happy to investigate it further. Kindest regards, Customer Care Support Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2013/12/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) This is the same answer I have been getting from the is company since November. It is a stall. I would like to receive the refund due to me of $50.58 Reservation number USXXXXXXXXX Car rental provider confirmation number ****** Car rental provider ******* Voucher number USXXXXXXXXX Billing Account XXXXXXX Account XXXXXXX Pick up Details Drop off Details Location Chicago O'Hare - Airport Date 15 Nov 2013 Time 09:00 Rental days 3 Location Chicago O'Hare - Airport Date 17 Nov 2013 Time 17:00

9/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 16, 2012, I departed Philadelphia International Airport for London, England, Heathrow Airport. That morning of my departure, I had reserved a rental car online through **************** and CarTrawler to be picked up on November 17, 2012 and rented through November 26, 2012. According to CarTrawler's website and the receipt it gave me, the TOTAL cost that I was being charged for thE rental car was $212.92 USD. The receipt provided to me further stated that I owed zero Great British pounds for the car rental. In other words, the total cost of the rental car for the period was $212.92 USD with no other additional fees or expenses. The Terms and Conditions provided me identified two different insurance coverages available (presumably at the rental desk), one in the amount of 12 GBP per day and the other in the amount of 15 GBP. The Terms and Conditions did NOT state that these coverages were mandatory-indeed, a plain reading of CarTrawler's Terms and Conditions indicated that such coverages were merely optional. When I arrived at the rental desk on November 17, 2012, however, I was advised that the above-mentioned insurance coverages were mandatory, regardless of the fact that I already had insurance for international car rentals on my Visa card. Thus, CarTrawler made material misrepresentations when it advised me that my TOTAL charges would be $212.92 USD, and fraudulently omitted that I would be required to purchase car insurance in an amount that nearly EXCEEDED value of my rental!! To make matters worse, CarTralwer promised me it would provide me with a "free" shuttle from the airport to the car rental desk. The shuttle was not "free." On the contrary, the shuttle charged me 8.00 GBP! Because of the additional $108 GBP I was going to be charged, and the additional 8.00 GBP I had already been charged, both of which were contrary to CarTrawler's promise and our agreement, I had to cancel my reservation, and did so immediately that morning at approximately 11 a.m. on November 17, 2012. Because I did not have access to the internet or telephone, I was unable to contact CarTrawler's office regarding my cancellation. Even if I did have access, none of the paperwork CarTrawler provided me had its contact information, so I had no way of contacting it. As such, I advised the rental desk that I was cancelling my reservation. I complained to my Visa card and CarTrawler, who did not refund ANY of my money, but instead, charged the FULL value of my car rental, even though I never received the benefit of it. CarTrawler should have, at most, charged me a cancellation fee--even that, it should not have in light of its fraudulent misrepresentations.

Desired Settlement: The value of my car rental: $212.92.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on CarTrawler
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart