BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/22/2014

Receivables Performance Management LLC

Phone: (866) 212-7408Fax: (888) 203-3641

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

BBB serving , maintains a report on this company's headquarters location. Please visit for details or call .

389 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 116 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues275
Problems with Product / Service112
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints389

Additional Complaint Information

On February 25, 2013, BBB recognized a pattern of complaints from consumers regarding sales practice and customer service issues. Consumers allege Receivables Performance Management LLC promises upon settlement, the debt information will be removed from the consumer's credit report; however, the company does not remove the debt information. According to information provided to BBB by the company, they use an automated system to update credit information when an account is marked disputed, settled or paid; as a back-up, a manual process can be implemented to update or delete information from a consumer's credit history. Consumers further allege company representatives exhibit inappropriate behavior, use scare tactics, call multiple times throughout the day or disconnect the call when the consumer answers the phone.

According to information provided to BBB by the company, they discipline employees who are not compliant or respectful when speaking with consumers. The company also states its auto-dialer may attempt to call a consumer up to three times a day, and it may take a few seconds to connect a consumer with an employee; the company states it is working to improve its auto-dialer and reduce disconnects.

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (389)BBB Closure Definitions
01/08/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The calls started on 9-5-14 9:18 a.m. I have been tracking them through an app on my phone. They leave a automated message to call them back. They are RPM debit collectors.
I have outstanding credit so I called them back. I gave them my name and they had nothing. I said you called me... I gave them my number XXX-XXX-XXXX and they said it was for a guy... I have no idea who this was. I told them this and asked them to add me to the do not call list. Since I had this phone number for a short while and it could have been the previous owner.
They were nice and said ok. It can take up to 48 hours to have your number removed. I said Thank you.
Well since that day I have received the following calls and have returned them to demand they add me to their DO NOT CALL LIST.
9-6-14 14:02/ 9-7-14 9:19/ 9-12-14 13:06/ 9-28-14 14:03/ 10-08-14 19:27/ 10-12-14 16:12/ 10-15-14 19:53/ 10-21-14 12:43/ 10-26-14 17:36/ 10-28-14 19:46/ 10-29-14 12:47/ 11-6-14 20:25/ 11-8-14 9:46/ 11-14-14 15:05/ 11-20-14 14:32/ 11-22-14 12:41 And again today 11-24-14 14:57.
After being informed that they have the wrong number and its been well over the 48 hours to add me to the DO NOT CALL LIST, this is absolute harassment.
I do not know the person whom they are calling for. They have been informed of this more than a dozed times. They refused to add me to the DO NOT CALL LIST.
Im sure they are in 50 states including Canada, However that does not give them the right to disrupt and inconvenience my days and night with answering their calls.
I am sure that their customer who gave them the info for the person that are trying to contact money from is the info that they had at that time. However that is no excuse due to the fact that I again have told them over a dozen times that they have the wrong phone number.

Desired Settlement
REMOVE MY CELL NUMBER AND STOP CALLING ME. PUT ME ON THE DO NOT CALL LIST AS I HAVE ASKED TOO MANY TIMES ALREADY.

Business Response
****# XXXXXXXX, **** ******


Dear *** ***********

I am in receipt of and have reviewed the above referenced complaint filed by *** ****** against Receivables Performance Management, LLC (RPM). RPM is a licensed third party collection agency operating in all fifty states and the District of Columbia. *** ******'s complaint is that RPM is calling her home number to reach a person she doesn't know. She alleges that RPM has been advised to stop calling, however she continues to receive calls and request that they stop. After review of our records I offer the following response on behalf of RPM:

RPM received three separate files from three different clients at three separate times for a consumer that was not *** ******, each containing the telephone number of (XXX) XXX-XXXX as the number to reach the consumer. Contractually, RPM cannot share file information between clients. As a result, RPM had no way of knowing the same telephone number was attached to two other files. When *** ****** asked RPM to stop calling, a wrong number code was entered for that telephone number on that particular account. Subsequently, the second and third accounts were placed with RPM and we began trying to reach our consumer again. RPM sincerely apologizes to *** ****** for this inconvenience. All three accounts have this telephone number, (XXX) XXX-XXXX, marked with a wrong number code and her number has been added to our permanent do not call database.

RPM appreciates the opportunity to resolve this complaint. If you have additional questions regarding our handling of this matter I can be reached at (XXX) XXX-XXXX

Very Truly Yours,


***** ** *******
Senior Compliance Specialist

12/23/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They have been calling me daily and sometimes more than once a day. I have written to them and told them I wanted written correspondence not phone calls. They continue to call. I sent them a letter with an spreadsheet attached and showed them what exactly I thought I was responsible for and sent them a check in the amount. I also told them that cashing this check would consider this account paid in full. They cashed the check a few weeks ago and still continue to call. I tried to actually talk to a person at one point, but was tranferred and then hung up on.

Desired Settlement
I want the phone calls to stop. If they don't, I will continue to not disconnect any call that is received and they have used various numbers to call me. The one time I did talk to someone before I was transferred and hung up on, the person was extremely rude.

Business Response
****# XXXXXXXX, ***** ****


Dear *** ***********

I am in receipt of and have reviewed the above referenced complaint filed by *** **** against Receivables Performance Management, LLC (RPM). RPM is a licensed third party collection agency operating in all fifty states and the District of Columbia. *** **** disputes owing a debt and wants all calls stopped. After review of our records I offer the following response on behalf of RPM:

RPM received this file from our client ****** **** ******** on July 7, 2014. On July 9, 2014, RPM sent *** **** an initial dunning notice advising her of the creditor owed, amount due, as well as her rights under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) to the address of **** ********* **** ****** Jacksonville, FL 32244. Upon being notified of the dispute, RPM ceased collection activity, coded the account as a dispute and contacted our client for validation. Validation was provided to *** **** by **** via RPM on October 17, 2014. *** **** has continued to dispute the balance, however it is ******* position that the balance remains due and owing.

Pursuant to *** ****'s request, RPM will cease further attempts to contact her and return the account to ***** RPM appreciates the opportunity to resolve this complaint. If you have additional questions regarding our handling of this matter I can be reached at (XXX) XXX-XXXX

Very Truly Yours,


***** ** *******
Senior Compliance Specialist

12/02/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was informed by ****** that a former bill had been turned over to collections, and was referred to this number. After phoning this company repeatedly, I was finally called back after receiving a recording. The person who called me back stated that the company has a) already sent me a bill in writing stating that this is my bill and b) that the company is not "legally" allowed to send me another bill. I requested that a bill proving that this is my debt be sent to me in writing, as I was not informed that I still had an old debt with ******: I had cancelled my service in July, and then began receiving emails in September and October that my bill was "available online." I am no longer able to log in, and when I contacted ******, was told I had to November 4 to pay the bill. When I called back to make a payment, I was told that I "had until November 4 to make the payment to the creditor" and was referred to RPM.

As I don't even know if this is a legitimate charge from ******, and this company is telling me that it is not legally allowed to send proof that this is my bill, I want this company, and ******, investigated. I have already filed a separate complaint against ******.

Desired Settlement
I would simply like to know whether this is a legitimate charge, and hope that it is not doing damage to my credit report. I do not believe that this charge is mine, and want it reversed.

Business Response
Case# XXXXXXXX, **** **********


Dear *** ***********

I am in receipt of and have reviewed the above referenced complaint filed by Ms. ********** against Receivables Performance Management, LLC (RPM). RPM is a licensed third party collection agency operating in all fifty states and the District of Columbia. *** ********** disputes owing a debt to ****** and requests validation. After review of our records I offer the following response on behalf of RPM:

RPM received this file from our client ****** on August 21, 2014. On August 26, 2014, RPM sent *** ********** an initial dunning notice advising her of the creditor owed, amount due, as well as her rights under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) to the address of **** *********** *** Columbus, OH 43231. Upon being notified of the dispute, RPM ceased collection activity, coded the account as a dispute and contacted our client for validation. That validation has been received and forwarded to *** ********** for her review. After reviewing the validation documents, *** ********** is free to contact our office to make payment arrangements.

RPM appreciates the opportunity to resolve this complaint. If you have additional questions regarding our handling of this matter I can be reached at (XXX) XXX-XXXX

Very Truly Yours,


***** ** *******
Senior Compliance Specialist

11/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company calls and hangs up. Call company back, and they want personal information above name and telephone number. Ends call when non pertanaint information is not provided.

Desired Settlement
Discontinue harrassing calls and get to the point of the call.

Business Response
****# XXXXXXXX, ****** *********


Dear Ms. ***********

I am in receipt of and have reviewed the above referenced complaint filed by Mr. ********* against Receivables Performance Management, LLC (RPM). RPM is a licensed third party collection agency operating in all fifty states and the District of Columbia. Mr. ********* states that RPM calls him and asks for personal information before explaining the purpose of the call which are ultimately terminated with no resolution. After review of our records I offer the following response on behalf of RPM:

RPM received an account from our client ****** on September 19, 2014, in the name of ****** and ****** *********. On September 21, 2014, RPM mailed the ********* a dunning notice, advising them of the creditor, amount owed, and their rights under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) to **** ******* *** North Canton, OH.

In order to prevent a third party disclosure in violation of the FDCPA, RPM must first confirm we are speaking to the right party. This is done by confirming the consumer's name and a second piece of personal identifiable information such as an address, birthdate, or last four digits of a Social Security number. If Mr. ********* refuses to confirm any of this information we are prohibited under federal law from disclosing any further information about the purpose of the call. If either of the ********* would like to call our escalation department at (XXX) XXX-XXXX one of our representatives would be happy to assist them once it is confirmed that they are responsible for the subject account.

RPM will assume this response has resolved the complaint. If you have additional questions regarding our handling of this matter I can be reached at (XXX) XXX-XXXX

Very Truly Yours,


***** ** *******
Senior Compliance Specialist

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In regards to Mr. ********** response to the Complaint I have filed on September 25, 2014.

It is true that Receivables Performance Management, LLC had sent a dunning notice that I received after the recorded telephone conversation discussed in the Complaint and after the actual filing of this Complaint.

Mr. ******* attempts to argue that I should have known in what regards Receivables Performance Management, LLC was contacting me when the dunning letter sent is dated September 21, 2014 and the call in question was made at 3:19 PM Eastern on September 22, 2014. Mr. ********** statement attempts to make one believe that a presorted First-Class mailing would be in my possession in less than one day when traveling virtually across the country from Lynnwood, Washington to North Canton, Ohio.

Furthermore, Mr. ******* attempts to address Federal regulations preventing third party disclosures when in fact; Mr. ******* had no reserves going into great detail in his response with the BBB without my permission to do so. This action in itself shows that Receivables Performance Management, LLC is rather loose with the regulations mentioned.

In closing, the aforementioned shows that Mr. ********** arguments are misleading and false on their face. By his own words he has stated that Receivables Performance Management, LLC had my name and phone number. He has cited no regulation dictating what is required for identification, and after researching for myself, I can locate no regulation requiring anything more than what I had provided.

If proper to do so, I request a mediation regarding this Complaint.

Final Business Response
Case# XXXXXXXX, ****** *********


Dear Ms. ***********

I am in receipt of and have reviewed the above referenced follow up complaint filed by Mr. ********* against Receivables Performance Management, LLC (RPM). Mr. ********* appears to now be alleging that RPM violated the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA), specifically about Third Party Disclosure by responding to the Better Business Bureau's (BBB) complaint. In addition, he alleges that RPM's response was false and misleading when we quoted the FDCPA since he can't locate any regulation. After review of our records I offer the following response on behalf of RPM:

When Mr. ********* made the decision to involve the BBB, he gave permission for RPM to divulge aspects of the account. When RPM quoted the FDCPA, we were not being false or misleading. The FDCPA requires that a dunning notice be sent to a consumer within 5 days of the initial communication. Thus, RPM was not expecting Mr. ********* to have the letter in his hand when we called because that is not required under the statute.

If Mr. ********* wishes to contact RPM about negotiating payment, he can call our escalations department at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. After verifying it is Mr. *********, one of RPM's representatives will be able to assist him in resolving this debt.

RPM will assume this response has resolved the complaint. If you have additional questions regarding our handling of this matter I can be reached at (XXX) XXX-XXXX

Very Truly Yours,


***** ** *******
Senior Compliance Specialist

11/17/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I keep receiving phone calls daily from this company. They have the wrong person, as my name is not ******. They say they will remove my phone number but they continue to call me each day anyway. I do not have any debt problems and this is very aggravating to have to put up with this harassment when I am not the person they want.

Desired Settlement
I want them to leave me alone and stop calling me everyday or I will intend to sue them for millions for harassment and adding stress to my life.

Business Response
Case# XXXXXXXX, ****** *******


Dear *** ***********

I am in receipt of and have reviewed the above referenced complaint filed by *** ******* against Receivables Performance Management, LLC (RPM). RPM is a licensed third party collection agency operating in all fifty states and the District of Columbia. *** ******* states that RPM is continuing to call her home number for a person that does not live there. *** ******* wants the calls to stop. After review of our records I offer the following response on behalf of RPM:

RPM received a file from our client * ****** for a consumer who is not *** ******** RPM is withholding that consumer's name to prevent a third party disclosure in violation of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA). The telephone number (XXX) XXX-XXXX was obtained from a vendor as a good number to reach our consumer. RPM began attempting telephone contacts, however none were made until November 6, 2014. At that time RPM was advised this was a wrong number, that number was termed as such and no calls have been attempted since. RPM apologizes if our attempts to contact our consumer have inconvenienced *** ********

RPM appreciates the opportunity to resolve this complaint. If you have additional questions regarding our handling of this matter I can be reached at (XXX) XXX-XXXX

Very Truly Yours,


***** ** *******
Senior Compliance Specialist


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The phone calls have stopped.

Page 1 of 71
01/23/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
calls many times a day
refuses to tell me what company they are from and what do they want they lack good customer service i and my mom told them that my dad****** *********** IS DEAD he died last year so they need to stop harrasing me and my mom.

Desired Settlement
DO NOT KEEP CALLING OR CONTACTING THIS HOUSEHOLD AT ANYTIME! Or Legal action will be taken.

Business Response
December 31, 2014




Better Business Bureau
1000 Station Dr. Ste 222
DuPont, WA 98327

Email: ******************@thebbb.org


****# XXXXXXXX, ******** ***********


Dear *** ***********

I am in receipt of and have reviewed the above referenced complaint filed by *** *********** against Receivables Performance Management, LLC (RPM). RPM is a licensed third party collection agency operating in all fifty states and the District of Columbia. *** *********** is complaining that RPM is calling several times a day and not stating why we are calling. He wants the calls stopped since his father, *****, has died. After review of our records I offer the following response on behalf of RPM:

RPM received a file from our client **** on December 9, 2014 for ***** ***********. RPM mailed the initial dunning letter, advising *** *********** of the creditor, amount owed, and his rights under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) to the address of XXXXX ***** ******* Boca Raton, FL 33428 on December 12, 2014. When there was no response to that letter, RPM began telephone attempts to (XXX) XXX-XXXX, which number was provided by the client as a good number. There was no contact until December 19, 2014, at which time RPM was advised to stop calling, which we stopped all calls. Our client has been advised of *** ***** *********** death and we are waiting for their instructions about the account's disposition.

RPM appreciates the opportunity to resolve this complaint. If you have additional questions regarding our handling of this matter I can be reached at (XXX) XXX-XXXX

Very Truly Yours,


***** ** *******
Senior Compliance Specialist


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
He owe no money to ****. I will be taking this to the feds if you guys don't stop this criminal game your company is playing. **** says he owed no money and his accounts have been closed. If you guys want we can drag this into court with phone logs.

Final Business Response
****# XXXXXXXX, ******** ***********


Dear *** ***********

I am in receipt of and have reviewed the above referenced rebuttal filed by Mr. *********** stating his deceased father does not owe any money to ***** After review of our records I offer the following response on behalf of RPM:

RPM has ceased all collection activity since the initial complaint was received. RPM has notified **** that Mr. *********** is deceased and taken no further action to collect the account. I am unclear what "criminal" games Mr. *********** believes RPM is playing when we have ceased attempts to contact on the account.

RPM appreciates the opportunity to resolve this complaint. If you have additional questions regarding our handling of this matter I can be reached at (XXX) XXX-XXXX

Very Truly Yours,


***** ** *******
Senior Compliance Specialist

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Once again i will hire a lawyer and sue both RPM and **** there customer service is beyond bad and **** Should drop them for debt collection my dad has been died for all most 2 years HOW dose he owe money dose he use a cellphone or whatever the so called "bill" is from in the grave? RPM is playing games and this is a joke. i am going to file a complaint with the federal government RPM needs to be investagated my dad owes att NOTHING

10/27/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On August 1, I received notification from my credit monitoring that RPM has added an account of derogatory status to all 3 reporting agencies. I have never heard of RPM nor had anyone from said company attempt to contact me prior to this date. I received a letter on 8-23-14 from RPM advising me of this debt. This letter is dated 8-20-14 and a demand to settle before 8-28-14.

If them placing derogatory entries on my credit reports is the initial contact, according to FDCPA 809(a), they then have 5 days to contact me in writing . As anyone can see they have violated this federal law and are subject to according fines. This violation will be reported to my state AG, Washington state AG, the FTC and I will hire legal counsel if needed.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting immediate deletion from all 3 credit reporting agencies and conformation that a request was in fact send to all 3 credit reporting agencies.

Business Response
****# XXXXXXXX, *** *******


Dear Ms. ***********

I am in receipt of and have reviewed the above referenced complaint filed by Mr. ******* against Receivables Performance Management, LLC (RPM). RPM is a licensed third party collection agency operating in all fifty states and the District of Columbia. Mr. ******* states that RPM reported his account to the credit reporting agencies prior to sending him an initial dunning letter. He is alleging this violates the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA). After review of our records I offer the following response on behalf of RPM:

RPM received this file from our client **** ******** on June 17, 2014. That same day, RPM mailed an initial dunning notice advising Mr. ******* of the creditor, the balance, and his right to request verification of the debt to his last known address, **** *** *** Hartville, OH XXXXX. RPM was unable to make telephone contact with Mr. *******. The account reported to the three major credit reporting agencies on July 30, 2014 due to non-payment. A subsequent letter offering a settlement was mailed on August 20, 2014, that is the letter I believe he is referencing in his complaint. Based on the above I believe RPM acted in accordance with the FDCPA and other applicable laws. If Mr. ******* wants to discuss payment options he can call our Escalations department at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.

RPM will assume this response has resolved the complaint. If you have additional questions regarding our handling of this matter I can be reached at (XXX) XXX-XXXX

Very Truly Yours,


***** ** *******
Senior Compliance Specialist

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is unacceptable. I have not owned that PO box in over a year. This can be verified by the postal service. Both purported letters that were sent by the company had to be returned as undeliverable by the Postal Service. I had NO chance to pursue the options available to me in the FDCPA or the FCRA regarding this account. I am still requesting immediate deletion from all 3 bureaus until I have had an opportunity to follow the due process that has been afforded to me by federal laws.

Final Business Response
****# XXXXXXXX, *** *******


Dear Ms. ***********

I am in receipt of and have reviewed the above referenced follow up complaint filed by Mr. ******* against Receivables Performance Management, LLC (RPM). Mr. ******* now states that he has not had the P.O. Box on file for over a year. He claims he was denied his "due process" under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) and the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA). After review of our records I offer the following response on behalf of RPM:

RPM mailed the initial dunning letter to the last known address (the P.O. Box), which is what the act requires. The fact that Mr. ******* chose not update his creditors of his address is beyond RPM's control. RPM relied on the last known address provided to us by our client. Mr. ******* is not precluded from disputing the balance or any other protections provided by either act.

At this time, RPM believes we are accurately reporting the status of the account and have complied with all applicable laws. If Mr. ******* is disputing the balance I suggest he send written notification of the same and RPM will request validation from our client and update the credit trade-line accordingly.

RPM will assume this response has resolved the complaint. If you have additional questions regarding our handling of this matter I can be reached at (XXX) XXX-XXXX

Very Truly Yours,


***** ** *******
Senior Compliance Specialist

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They are still in violation of federal reporting laws. RPM has the technology to secure my address and in fact my current address is and has been a part of my credit file since May 2013. They obviously seen the dunning returned as undeliverable. Complete negligence on RPM's part. I am prepared to take this matter to the next step.

06/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In the past 2 weeks I have been contacted by this agency to collect a debt. I have been screamed at, badgered, and called at my place of work, when I asked them not to.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting that this agency does NOT contact me, my friends, family, and especially NOT TO EVER CALL ME AT MY OFFICE! I do not know how they found my office phone number, as it does NOT appear on anything relating to credit or an application for anything.
I feel the manner in which they speak is threatening, upsetting, and totally unprofessional...it is HARASSMENT.

Business Response
Case# XXXXXXXX, ***** ******


Dear Ms. *******

I am in receipt of and have reviewed the above referenced complaint filed by Ms. ****** against Receivables Performance Management, LLC (RPM). RPM is a licensed third party collection agency operating in all fifty states and the District of Columbia. Ms. ****** alleges that RPM's representative began calling her within the last 2 weeks at home and her place of employment and was screaming at her, badgering her and continued calling her employment even after being told to stop. After review of our records I offer the following response on behalf of RPM:

RPM received this file from our client ******* on March 18, 2014. RPM mailed Ms. ****** an initial dunning notice advising her of her right to request verification of the debt on March 20, 2014 to the address of *** ** ********* **** West Grove PA XXXXX. RPM began attempting to contact Ms. ****** by telephone. Ms. ****** called our office 3 times: March 28, 2014, March 31, 2014, and on April 1, 2014. She was questioning the amount of the debt. RPM contacted Ms. ****** two times: May 24, 2014 and June 5, 2014. I listened to the recording of both calls.

During the May 24, 2014 call, RPM's representative became too assertive, but not screaming, while trying to negotiate this debt. When he found out he was calling at an inconvenient time, he should have ended the call. This representative has been disciplined for his actions. The June 5, 2014 conversation Ms. ****** asked us to cease calling, which RPM did. Our client recalled the account on June 6, 2014 and RPM is no longer attempting to collect the debt.RPM does wish to apologize to Ms. ****** for any grief this matter may have caused.

RPM will assume this response has resolved the complaint. If you have additional questions regarding our handling of this matter I can be reached at (XXX) XXX-XXXX

Very Truly Yours,


***** ** *******
Senior Compliance Specialist


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Although I accept their apology..I want it to be part of this record that on May 24th or 25th, when a rep from RPM contacted me while I was dining at a public restaurant...and I asked if I could contact him back as I was eating...his response was 'WELL, WHAT'S MORE IMPORTANT TO YOU, FOOD OR PAYING YOUR BILLS?" This is an example of how I was spoken to and harassed.
I also DEMAND to know exactly how RPM found my private work phone number, since it is not listed on anything other than my tax returns. Is it common practice for them to access your personal information through tax returns??? I THINK NOT!!!

04/14/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
this company has placed some type of collection on my credit report I have no idea what it is
no one has tried to call or sent a letter about a collection - all my bills are paid and up to date

I have no idea what this is about other than they are ruining my credit

Desired Settlement
restore my credit

Business Response
Case# XXXXXXXX, ******* ********


Dear *** *******

I am in receipt of and have reviewed the above referenced complaint filed by *** ******** against Receivables Performance Management, LLC (RPM). RPM is a licensed third party collection agency operating in all fifty states and the District of Columbia. Unfortunately I can't locate a file in our office by name, street address or e-mail address.. If *** ******** can provide additional demographic information: a telephone number RPM is calling; social security number; etc, RPM will attempt to locate the file and answer this complaint.

RPM apologies for any inconvenience and will search for a subject file once more information is provided. If you have further questions I can be reached at (XXX) XXX-XXXX

Very Truly Yours,


***** ** *******
Senior Compliance Specialist


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have called and spoken to this company after seeing the phone number in the response after speaking with them they agree that the person using my SS# is not me and stated that they have sent a request for the collection they placed to the credit reporting agencies to be removed. unfortunately this has not happened as of yet and I am requesting that the BB case stay open and not be closed until the false collection is removed from the credit agencies

thank you
******* ********

Final Business Response
****# XXXXXXXX, ******* ********


Dear Ms. *******

I can sense the frustration Mr. ******** is experiencing, however RPM has done everything it can to correct this error. RPM has searched it records and can not locate any debt placed at RPM that he owes. Apparently RPM sent a report to the 3 major credit bureaus on another consumer. That report was mistakenly placed in Mr. ********'s credit report by one or all of the credit reporting agencies. RPM has sent a request to the agencies to delete that rating that was erroneously placed. RPM has no control when or if the credit bureaus will remove this rating. Mr. ******** has the right to dispute this rating directly with the credit bureaus and I suggest this may be his best course of action.

RPM apologies for any inconvenience and will assume this response has resolved the complaint. If you have further questions I can be reached at (XXX) XXX-XXXX

Very Truly Yours,


***** ** *******
Senior Compliance Specialist


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
as of this time I am still showing the collection on my credit history of the three credit bureaus

until this information is removed from the credit history I do not want to closed the BBB complaint

As soon as I have been informed from the credit bureaus that the collection has been removed I will update the BBB complaint

otherwise all I have is an email saying the collection will be taken off - that is not the same as the false collection being removed from by credit history

thank you
******* ********

11/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Aside from the poor customer service experienced. RPM was suppose to send information out to help settle the debt to **** ******** as promised and did not send the requested invoice. Also the boxes were never shipped to the address to send back equipment. She received call at her daughter's house everyday since the request. my Mother is a senior citizen who had to move from her home due to failing health reasons. She is on a fixed income and had agreed to make payments to settle. She is being penalized for cancelling the account due to health and harassed in the process. I called **** network to inform them of the company that is representing them and informed them of their behavior. If I receive any harassment of any sorts to my house via phone or mail from RPM in this matter my attorney has been notified as they have all of our contact information. I hope you can help with this matter.

Desired Settlement
If we receive any harassment from RPM at this time an undetermined cash settlement will be requested.

Business Response
****# XXXXXXXX, ***** ********


Dear *** *****

I am in receipt of and have reviewed the above referenced complaint filed by *** ******** against Receivables Performance Management, LLC (RPM). RPM is a third party collection agency operating in all fifty states and the District of Columbia. *** ********'s complaint is that RPM has been calling her daughter's house everyday, even after *** ******** agreed to settle the account. In addition, RPM's representatives were rude and never sent them the boxes to return the equipment for credit. After review of our records I offer the following response on behalf of RPM:

RPM received this file from our client **** on September 16, 2013. On September 17, 2013 an initial dunning notice advising *** ******** of her right to dispute the debt was sent to the last known address on file, ** **** ******* **** Graniteville, SC. This is the same address as listed on the complaint from your office. RPM never received a response to that letter. When RPM began making telephone attempts, we made two contacts with *** ********. The first contact was on September 25, 2013, at which time *** ******** indicated she couldn't presently pay the account, but perhaps she could in October. RPM did not resume call attempts until October. The only other contact was on October 13, 2013. I have reviewed a recording of the call where *** ***** ******** gave verbal permission to speak with her daughter. RPM was advised the boxes to return the equipment had never been received. RPM's representative advised *** ********'s daughter that we could have the boxes shipped to her, however there was a contractual charge of $17 to ship the equipment back. *** ********'s daughter asked to speak with a supervisor and RPM's representative provided her a toll free number to our Escalations Department. RPM's Escalation's Department has no record of receiving a call from *** ********'s daughter. In my opinion, RPM's representative was professional and not rude.

RPM will cease further attempts to contact *** ********, however if *** ******** wishes to resolve the underlying account, I invite her to contact our Escalations Department or our Director of Compliance **** **** at (XXX) XXX-XXXX

Very Truly Yours,

***** ** *******
Senior Compliance Specialist


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Agent needs additional training.

Final Business Response
It is evident that *** ******** is not satisfied with RPM's handling of this matter, for that we apologize. As I stated in my original response, I did listen to the recording of the October 13, 2013 call. RPM's representative did act in a professional manner. **** has since advised RPM that there was a direct payment of $69.04 and a $0 balance on the account.

RPM will consider this matter to be resolved. If you need to contact us further, please call XXX XXX-XXXX.


Very Truly Yours,

***** ** *******
Senior Compliance Specialist

Page 1 of 8

Industry Comparison| Chart

Collection Agencies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.