Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Grimm Collections

Phone: (360) 754-6333 Fax: (360) 754-6342 View Additional Phone Numbers 1677 S 2nd Ave SW, Tumwater, WA 98512 http://www.grimmcollections.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers debt collection services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Grimm Collections meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Grimm Collections include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 9
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Grimm Collections
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 08, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1945 Business started locally: 01/01/1945 Business incorporated 08/28/1962 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Grimm, President Ms. Lora Olson, Client Service Manager Ms. Laura Sweet, Office Manager Mr. Derrick Webster, Collection Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Grimm, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Laura Sweet, Office Manager
Business Category

Collection Agencies Collection Agencies (NAICS: 561440)

Alternate Business Names
Account Managers Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Grimm Collections has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1677 S 2nd Ave SW

    Tumwater, WA 98512 (360) 754-6333 (800) 584-8908

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/13/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a debt of $303.00 that was sent to them. I am currently going through a bad divorce and can't afford much in payments. I set up payments with them to pay the debt off in a year and original told them that I would try to increase that amount within 4 months. It hasn't even been 4 months. I had it set up on auto pay with a older credit card. When the payment for 7/2016 didn't go through they contacted me. I called them back not even 3 business days later to make god on the payment and fix the credit card issue. When I spoke to Jennifer she informed me that the payments were only temporary and I told her that that was simply not true. When she didn't get the resolve with me by strong arm methods then she transferred me to her manager Derek who basically just did nothing but harass me over the debt and said he would gladly take a payment plan for the full amount. Instead of working with me to continue the payments and collect the debt, what I received were threats of legal action and no resolve to an affordable payment plan. I was told basically that the debt was owed when it got there and he was nothing but rude. He kept saying how the conversation is recorded and I said that is fine then listen tot the conversation when I made the payment plan as the only thing I stated was after 4 months I would try to increase it. I have no issue paying the debt just I need some help in a payment plan that is affordable at the moment and this company has always been about threats and not helping the people that ask for it. Their money is paid by the interest charged and collection fee yet they say an affordable payment plan to the consumer is not acceptable.

Desired Settlement: I would like an affordable payment plan set up. I would like for them to do what their company statement says and work with clients and customers to resolve the debt in a fair and easy manner. I would like to not hear threats of legal action when someone is trying to pay the debt on a payment plan that will get rid of the debt.

Business Response:

Mr. ***** called our office on 04-21-16 to make a payment arrangement, for a possibly paid in full in may.  Mr. ***** set up $27 a month for 4 months, then would increase the payment amount.  Mr. *****'s payment on 07-21-16 was denied.  Mr. ***** had set his payments up on a credit/debit card. On 07-26-16 Mr. ***** called in and told the collector that he had a payment agreement for $27 for 10 months.  The collector told Mr. ***** that the notes state he had a 4 month payment plan for $27 a month.  Mr. ***** asked for a supervisor and was transferred to the Collection Manager.  The Collection Manager told Mr. ***** that was a temporary 4 month arrangement and that his 3rd payment was declined.  The Collection Manager told Mr. ***** that his balance was now due in full.

 

In the spirit of compromise, I will be happy to discuss a new payment arrangement with Mr. *****. My name is Laura D**** and I can be reached at 360-292-4255.

7/19/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Grimm Collection was representing a home owner association named Rainer Vista. I live in a HOA area but when I bought my land and home there was nothing I signed agreeing to be part of or pay into an HOA. I haven't been harassed since the time I moved in until 3 years later. I had many different HOA members come to my door wanting me to pay my dues owing. I have asked for a sign copy of the agreement because i don;'t remember ever signing anything when I purchased my home. After asking for that one of them brought me the rules and a blank contract saying i owed the HOA $ 1,000 dollars. I told them that I wasn't paying anything till I see a signed contract. I never heard another word from them after that until 2015 when I received a call from Grimm Collection saying that they were given the case from Rainer Vista to solve and wanted me to pay $1,180 to them to satisfy the HOA they are representing. Again I asked the collection agency if they received any paperwork with my signed signature on it and I will work it out to catch up on the payments. They told me I will send you what we have and about 2 weeks later received another copy of the Rules and a blank signature area. I called Grimm collections back and told them this paperwork was blank there is no signature on it. That is when the lady told me are you going to pay the bill or not. I told her I need to get a signed paperwork before I will agree to pay for anything. After that I received a notice that something affected my credit rating and went to Credit Karma to check it and seen that Grimm Collection filed as a collection against my credit. In January 2016 I received a notices of hearing for a law suit against me. I had to pay an attorney to handle the law suit and in March Grimm Collection Attorney dismissed the law suit. But never told my attorney until June 2016 which I was still paying my attorney till then.

Desired Settlement: I want my Attorney Fees paid back and I want damages for attacking my credit rating $500 and for all the harassment the HOA caused me and my family. Making my family an Out Cast on the block. I am asking for damages of $1,000 and all harassment stops as it is still going on now. If I take this to Small Claims I will seek the full amount Small Claims allow for damages and they would be required to pay all cost to file in small claims.

Business Response:

Rainier Vista HOA assigned an account on 05-14-2015 against **** *******.  Our client represented the fact that Mr. ******* owed the past due balance of $1180.80, and we rely on our creditors assertion that the monies are owed.

 

Suit was brought against **** ******* 2-14-2016.  When Grimm Collections received a response to the Suit, Mr. ******* raised issue with the balance owed.  This caused some concerns for Grimm Collections related to the HOA Covenants and restrictions.  Grimm Collections dismissed the legal action without prejudice and cancelled the matter back to Rainier Vista HOA, and removed the account from Mr. *******’s credit file.

 

There was no adjudication and  there are no attorney’s fees owed to Mr. *******.  Mr. ******* is free to file in Small Claims Court and we will defend our action.

 

As previously stated, this account has been cancelled back to our client and we have not and will not be contacting Mr. ******* regarding this matter any further.


Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: They are the ones that agreed to take the case and file the Law Suit against me. Its not my responsibility for them to have evidence before attacking my credit and filing a law suit which forced me to seek out an Attorney which cost money for a False Law Suit. Grimm Collection is responsible for the Attorney Fees and the damages they caused on me and my family. 

 

Again it is the Responsibility of a Collection Agency who is supposed to be professional at what they do to have all evidence before they act against an individual. Grimm Collection is to be held fully responsible for the Actions of filing a fictitious Lawsuit. This type of action was dismissed by Grimm Collections own Attorney and never relayed to my Attorney which again made me pay months later even know they Dismissed the Case.

Sincerely,

**** *******

Business Response:

Grimm collections provided Mr. *******’s attorney with a copy of the Motion and Order to Dismiss the lawsuit in question with prejudice.  While this account has been returned back to the original creditor and Grimm Collections is no longer involved with the collection of the debt, that does not mean to suggest the debt is not owed.  Grimm collections relied on the original creditors statements that the debt is owed, as they are allowed, as a third-party debt collector, to do.  I would suggest that Mr. ******* take his complaint to his Home Owners’ Association which chose to turn the debt over to Grimm collections.

Consumer Response:     
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  
 
 Grimm Collection is the one that filed this law suit and if they were given the okay from HOA ( Rainer Vista ) then Grimm Collection need to file a law suit against the HOA to recover anything in Damages.  If Grimm Collection can  file law suit against me and cause me to seek an Attorney then  they are the ones I am holding responsible for their actions against me. All my documents that I have has Grimm Collection on it such as the Law Suit and the Credit Attack if the HOA gave them false information than that has nothing to do with me. Grimm Collection should of been more responsible and have facts on paper before they go after someone with a Law Suit. It caused nothing but pure Harassment against myself and my family so until they take responsibility I will not agree to anything or cancel this complaint.   Not only did they attack me by Law suit they also attacked my credit and then pulled out when their attorney dismissed the case.

 ( Lets talk about the Dismiss of the Case it was done back in March 27 2016 I want to have Grimm Collection explain why it took till June 2016 to notify my attorney every time my attorney made a call to find out a status I was being charged for it. My attorney would never get a response until I told my Attorney that I will pay what it takes to file a Motion for Dismissal. This way we can get this over with and when my attorney called Grimm Collection Attorney and left a message that he was going to file for a Motion of Dismissal that is when he received a fax copy of the Dismissal from Grimm Collections Attorney showing it was dismissed back in March 2016. If they would of sent my attorney the information back then it would of saved me from paying more into my attorney so they are responsible for all of this they have caused.)



Sincerely,

**** *******

7/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was contacted by an employee named Sara today & I was called an "idiot" after she thought I hung up the phone but was still on the line. Apparently I have an unpaid city of Olympia parking ticket that I was unaware of. I tried telling her I don't own the vehicle & was hoping she could tell me when the ticket happened... she was rude & treated me like crap. I have no problem paying the bill if it is indeed mine.

Desired Settlement: I hope to find out more information as to the nature of this ticket & I hope that im treated with respect and understanding.

Business Response: I have made contact with the consumer regarding the alleged complaint.  I have ordered the call recordings from our Compliance Department and I will be reviewing those calls as soon as they get sent to me.  We do not condone or support any of the alleged assertions from the consumer and will fully investigate the claims being made.  We maintain our rating with the BBB based on our business practices that focus on customer service and efficiency.  If in fact the alleged statements were made, we will resolve the matter with the employee mentioned as well as reinforce further training with all staff ensuring that excellent customer service remains our primary objective with consumer interactions.

4/20/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am in collections with a debt now owned by Grimm Collections. They sent a process server to my work, in attempt to take me to court. The problem is, the process server gave me a bundle of papers regarding someone else's divorce case, and nothing involving by debt. Apparently, a judgement was filed against me (without my knowing, since I was never served a proper document) and now Grimm Collections is attempting to garnish my wages. This would be okay, if the process server did his job correctly, and gave me to proper papers. The process server did not deliver proper papers, and now I am being held accountable for his incompetence. A judgement was filed against me in court, and I was not given proper communication. I have attempted communication with Grimm Collections several times, every time I have contacted them, they want me to drive to Tumwater (from Seattle) and give them the papers the process server gave me. These papers are not the property of Grimm Collections, but I will show them to a judge to furnish proof.

Desired Settlement: I will write a check for $1151.04 to Grimm Collections, they will drop all legal proceedings, and correct any damage to my credit they have caused.

Business Response:

Here are the events according to our business records. 

1.  TwinStar account assigned to collections 01-16-14 for an account that went delinquent 11-04-13.

2.  Summons and Complaint filed 06-13-14.

3.  Summons and Complaint served 09-19-14. (see attached Proof of Service)

4.  Answer received from Mr. ******** 09-24-14. (see attached answer with Address provided.)

5.  Court Hearing set 01-04-16.  (See attached with Date and address documents were mailed to.)

6.  11-02-15 Court Hearing Notice mailed to Mr. ******** to the address he provided on his answer. (See Attached)

7.  01-04-2016 Judge awarded Grimm Collections Judgment against Mr. ********. (See Attached)

Mr. ******** has at not time provided any proof of his claim of improper service.  He did not appear at the court hearing.  Mr. ******** has confirmed with our Attorney that the address the Court Documents were mailed to is correct.

3/24/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recently pulled my credit reports on found this company on them.

Desired Settlement: I have not idea what this is for. I would just like to pay in full in exchange for a pay for deletion. I would like this removed from my credit reports after payment.

Business Response:

03/16/2016

We are in receipt of a complaint filed to your office from Mr. *****.  We have investigated this matter and we are not certain why Mr. ***** did not contact us directly.  We have attempted to reach him at the numbers we located as well as the number he provided in his complaint without returned correspondence.    We would be able to resolve this matter with Mr. ***** immediately, but not by using the BBB as a communication forum for a private matter.

                        

I would implore Mr. ***** to give me a call directly at the number below, or return the voicemails left to him and we can assist him immediately.

If any further attention is required on this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.  My contact number is 360-292-4263.

Sincerely,

Derrick W******

Collection Manager

Consumer Notice:       This communication is from a debt collector.  License No. ************

11/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After a call from Grimm, Collections at my business phone, I immediately requested that the business not call me at my place of employment, and the employee threatened to file non-compliance on my debt. This is not true- I just cannot have calls relating to my personal business at my workplace. I am the point of contact for tech support for over a hundred users, and the business line needs to stay open. I have an abundance of medical bills as well due to my son's pediatric cancer. I feel refusal to stop contacting me at my business is a form of harassment, and I was forced to hang up on the caller after I provided my address for a letter and he continued to press.

Desired Settlement: They implement a strict policy to adhere to the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. https://www.ftc.gov/enforcement/rules/rulemaking-regulatory-reform-proceedings/fair-debt-collection-practices-act-text

Business Response: We are in receipt of a complaint filed to your office from ***** ****.  We have investigated this matter and carefully reviewed the account owed by Mr. ****.  We believe his alleged “complaint” to be completely unwarranted as we are in full compliance with Federal and State law when attempting communication with Mr. ****.  The matters of fact are below.

We have attempted, over the years (since at least 2012) to contact Mr. **** in regards to his private matters at many different times/in many different ways without any type of returned communication.  Through the normal process of skip tracing, when a debt collector finds new location information, they are permitted to attempt contact with a debtor there.  This was only our 2nd attempt at Mr. ****'s place of employment, the first time we were restricted to leaving a voicemail in which Mr. **** didn't return (this was on 10/28/2015), our 2nd attempt was the call being brought to your attention on 11/13/2015.  Now that we are aware Mr. ****’s place of employment is considered to be an inconvenient location for contact, the #’s have been removed and the place of employment flagged as a no contact location.

In accordance with RCW 19.16.250 and 15 USC 1692C § 805 of the federal law, a collection agency is permitted to contact a debtor at his or her place of employment once per week unless previously notified that this was an inconvenient place of contact.  Prior to the phone call that our employee had with Mr. **** on 11/13/2015, we had no knowledge that his place of employment was an inconvenient place of contact.  Once we were notified of this information, the employee followed the appropriate internal policies and procedures to abandon any further efforts of contacting Mr. **** at his place of employment. However, it doesn’t absolve Mr. **** of his responsibilities and I would implore him to contact our office.

If any further attention is required on this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.  My contact number is ************.

Sincerely,

Derrick W.
Collection Manager

Consumer Notice:       This communication is from a debt collector.  License No. ************

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The company DID NOT agree to stop contacting me at my place of employment- he told me he would file me as "non-compliant", something that is not true. I am as compliant as my debts (I have a huge medical debt for my son's pediatric cancer) allow me to be.  This debt is old, but hindering my ability to do my job and make money does not behoove anyone.  The representative continued to cajole me for several minutes after I told him to not contact me at my place of employment and advised him I knew the law.  I had to terminate the call by hanging up.  

Sincerely,

***** ****

2/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
10/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recently became aware of debt collection reported in my name 8/7/14. Prior to 8/7/14, I have NEVER received any communication from ***** ******* *******, nor ***** *********** pertaining to debt. On 8/7/14 ****** contacted listed name ***** ******* ******* to request debt verification. ***** referred ****** to ***** collections. ****** verbally requested debt verification. A settlement for $850 was offered. On 8/9/14, ****** spoke with *****, informed him of the settlement offer through ***** and her request for verification of debt. Inquired about lowering the current settlement offer so matter could be resolved quickly. ***** verbally agreed upon final settlement offer of $425, and notified ***** same day. Intentions to pay $425 on or by 8/29/14, upon verification of debt as required by the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. ***** contacted ****** 8/29/14 seeking payment. ****** reminded ***** that she still had not received verification and verbally requested once again proof of debt. ****** also inquired of new settlement offer $425 from *****. ***** verified ***** had contacted them 8/9/14, but said they were unwilling to settle at $425. The lowest they would go was $650. Mailed request letter to ***** on 8/30/14. Letter from ***** pertaining to account finally received 9/8/14. Copy of contract lacks accurate information, appears tampered, and has no signature. ***** contacted ****** seeking payment 9/11/14, with disregard to substantiate charges. ****** informed them of lack of evidence/accurate information on contract. Requested full contract twice (once while speaking with ***** and second time when speaking with ****). Also brought to attention the failure to uphold $425 settlement and dishonesty, idiosyncrasy involved when all ****** and I have been more than honest and helpful while seeking resolution with ***** ******* and ***** collections, . I dispute this debt because failure to substantiate charges.

Desired Settlement: Because I am disputing this debt, ***** ******* *******/Grimm Collections should not report it to the credit reporting agencies. They need to contact the credit reporting agencies, inform them that the debt is disputed, and ask them to delete it from my credit report. Reporting information that ***** ******* *******/Grimm Collections know to be inaccurate, or failing to report information correctly, violates the Fair Credit Reporting Act.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/18) */ To whom it may concern: We are in receipt of a complaint filed to your office from ****** ******. We have investigated this matter and carefully reviewed Mr. ****** and ****** ******'s file. We find their allegations to be misleading as well as untrue. Here are the matters of fact in this case. On November 11th 2008 we received a file from our client ******* of ***** ******* for a balance due totaling $735.00. We sent out our initial notice in compliance with the FDCPA to the last known address/address provided from our client allowing Mr. ****** to dispute the validity of the debt within the 30 day validation period. He did not nor did we receive any mail returns so we had the right to legally assume the appropriate party received our communication attempt. We have attempted over several years now to contact Mr. ****** in regards to this balance and have received no returned correspondence. In accordance with the FCRA as well as other applicable state and federal laws, once the declared validation period expired, we reported the delinquent collection balance to Mr. ******'s credit report beginning on 12/31/2008. As for the claims of "no knowledge", we also have the signed contract from our client on file that can be provided to the BBB if needed for investigation. On August 8th 2014, we received a call from ****** ****** in regards to wanting to settle the balance. The total balance due at this point was about $1,235.00 (the account accrued interest in accordance with RCW 19.52.020 and is also legally due in full). Mrs. ****** stated that she and Mr. ****** were attempting to get a car loan and needed this derogatory off of their credit report. In accordance with federal law, even if they did settle the debt or pay it in full, we as a credit reporting agency only have a legal obligation to report the file as paid or settled in full and not remove it entirely. In the spirit of compromise and to assist the ******'s, the collector offered to remove over $450.00 from the balance due for a settlement amount of $850.00 AND remove it from their credit files. At this time, ****** then contacted our client directly and falsified information in regards to the actual balance due stating they only owed a total of $850.00. Our client, ***** ******* stated he would accept $400.00 as his portion (reducing his principle balance down by $335.00), but that she would need to contact ***** *********** in regards to the remaining balance. ****** called back in claiming that our client said we had to take $425.00 to close the file. The collector let her know that was not true and AGAIN attempted to compromise and said the lowest we would go would be $650.00 and still remove it from their credit file. ****** refused this and said we had to listen to our client; as the collector's manager I came on the line and let her know that our clients do not dictate the portion that ***** *********** retains and everything we've done has been in accordance with state and federal law. If she wanted a settlement, I would honor the collector's offer of $650.00 and remove it, but it was not going any lower as that would mean we were taking a loss on our portion of over $650.00 and this was our final offer. She continued to argue demanding we take her offer of now $425.00, so I let her know I would be terminating the call. Neither the ******* of ***** ******* nor ***** *********** is legally obligated to take a settlement on the account or remove the reporting from either party's credit bureaus. In the spirit of compromise I will still honor the settlement offer of $650.00 and remove it from their credit files, but this offer will expire by close of business on September 26th, 2014 and funds will need to be in office on or before this date. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As of 9/26/14 legitimate validation of reported debt has not been recieved. Subsequently, I am disputing this debt. ***** needs to contact the credit reporting agencies, inform them that the debt is disputed, and ask them to delete it from my credit report. Reporting information that ***** ******* Academy turned over to *****- known to be inaccurate- or failing to report information correctly, violates the Fair Credit Reporting Act. Seeking resolution for ***** *********** and ***** ******* ******* to discontinue collection due to failure to substantiate debt. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/10/13) */ As previously stated, ***** *********** has followed the requirements of all laws and governing parties of the collection industry while handling this account to an exactness. The proper notification of the debt was sent to Mr. ****** in November of 2008, and he failed to dispute the debt within the 30 day guideline as specified by the FDCPA. Furthermore, the FDCPA requires disputes to be put in writing and sent to the business within those 30 days, and this was never received by ***** *********** from Mr. ******. Throughout the process of finally hearing from ****** ******, not once was a "dispute" mentioned, simply that this was on their credit file and they were trying to buy a car and wanted it removed. Regardless, in accordance with the FCRA we did flag the debt as disputed on their credit bureaus once we received written notice on 09-19-2014 , however, this does not remove it from their credit file, it simply flags it as "information disputed by consumer". Additionally, on 09/02/2014 the collector working the file verified the ******'s currently mailing address and sent a copy of the contract as well as a statement of account as a courtesy, and we have not received any returned correspondences from the ****** family nor did we receive any mail return from our efforts. Mr. and Mrs. ****** are simply attempting to use the BBB as a negotiating forum when they couldn't get our client to take any amounts less than agreed upon by ***** Collections on behalf of our client. Neither our client or ***** *********** is to take a further loss on the matter (we are already reducing the total balance by almost 50% and offering to remove it from their credit in which we are not legally obligated to do). We would implore the ******'s to contact us directly to resolve the matter.

9/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As of April 10th 2014 my collection was paid in full. As of today*********** is still showing an open account with an unpaid balance of $112. They have a responsibility to report to the credit agencies when a bill has been paid in full. and close the collection, not continue to destroy my credit because of their failure to do their job.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking someone audit their business practices, if they can collect they can also update the credit agencies when a bill is paid in full.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/21) */ We are in receipt of a complaint filed to your office from ***** *****. We have investigated this matter and carefully reviewed ********** file and we find her allegations to be misguided and at no fault of ***** Collections. Here are the facts in this matter. Our company utilizes credit reporting on balances in office on a regular basis in accordance with state and federal guidelines and regulations. Ms. ***** had accounts placed in our office on multiple occasions through August of 2008 and April 11, 2013 and failed to have the final balance paid until August of 2014, well outside of the 30 day validation period, therefore, legally allowing us to report the balances due on her credit bureaus. In addition to Ms. *****'s inattention to the matters and lack of voluntary resolve, we had to pursue legal action and obtained judgment against her on December 5th of 2013 in Thurston County District Court. When ***** Collections received the funds from our garnishment against Ms. *****'s wages, which was on August 8th of 2014, we applied those to the balance due and closed the file. Much like the many entities that report to credit bureaus, we only do it once, on the last business day of each calendar month at 5:00pm. The accounts that were just paid on August 7th are scheduled to be reported as paid in full collection accounts on August 29th, 2014 at 5:00 pm. We will report each account as a paid in full collections account. Additionally, we do not report court judgments to a responsible party's credit bureau, the courts do. We have submitted the satisfaction of judgment to Thurston County District Court as of August 7th, 2014, and cannot control the court's internal processes and procedures, or what their time frame is to report the judgment as satisfied to the credit bureau agencies. Additionally, a simple phone call from Ms. ***** to our office would have afforded her the same explanation without using the BBB as a complaint forum. ***** Collections has been in business since 1945 and we have a local reputation as a company that is more than willing to go above and beyond in assisting parties that have been placed in our office. Had Ms. ***** called in, any one of our agents or managers would have been happy to provide this information at that time. If any further attention is required on this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

5/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received a bill from company on Saturday 29 March 2914. Stating my wife owed a bill of $91.75 for a check written for $25.00. On Monday I received a phone call from them I need to make a payment. I told them that this is the first I had heard of this, that I had no prior notice of this bill. They said they sent one out and that I need to pay them and how would I pay them. I told them I was upset with them for no notice and demanding a payment a day before I receive my retirement funds. My wife has had more than 20 strokes and does not remember writing a check. What should I do?

Desired Settlement: If I do owe should I pay 700% of the debts they request, without prior notice? Are the charges of $66.57 legal on a $25.00 debt? I am 100% disabled and I think I am being taken advantage of. What are my options?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/04/21) */ We are in receipt of a complaint filed to your office from **** **** in regards to the balance placed in our office for him and ****** ****. We have investigated this matter and carefully reviewed Mrs. ****'s file. Here are the facts in this matter. Our company utilizes the United States Postal Service to deliver the initial notice of an account being placed in our office as well as the notices of dishonored checks in compliance with RCW 62A. 3-522. The address we sent those notices to is the exact address that********* and his wife ****** own, confirmed by the Thurston County Tax Assessor's office; it is also the precise address they used to register this complaint with. ***** Collections has acted within full compliance of Federal as well as State laws in regards to notification and the adding of fees, and the balance is currently due in full. At this point ***** Collections is more than willing to work with Mrs. and Mr. **** as he stated they are on a fixed income, however, either of them would need to contact our office directly to set up those arrangements. If any further attention is required on this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. My contact number is XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ******* ******* Collection Manager


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Grimm Collections
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart