BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Pacific Northwest Outfitters LLC

Phone: (425) 822-2570Fax: (425) 822-2350

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues3
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints11

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)BBB Closure Definitions
05/20/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of products

Complaint: I placed an order (#****) on March 28, 2014. It is a full two weeks later, and the order has not been processed. I have left at least 3 voice messages and several email messages, but have gotten zero responses. I want the item I ordered, but with my order pending, and the merchant having my credit card, I cannot go ahead an order the item from another merchant while I'm stuck waiting for this merchant.

Initial Business Response
** ****** ****** ordered from us on March 28th, 2014 , order no. ***** We liquidated all our stock around May 1st and the inventory was frozen preventing us from shipping anything to any of our customers at the time. We officially canceled his order on 4-18, along with 12 others, and he was sent the email below telling him that the order was indeed canceled. His VISA card was never charged and if his CC company has not released the hold, I can not do that. However, since he has not checked his email stating that order was canceled, he may not have checked his credit card either. Since he was never officially charged because we could not ship his item (the transaction is not 'captured' unless the item is marked as 'shipped', at which time he would get a confirmation of shipping email and we would be paid. Until something is 'shipped', we do not receive any funds), the temporary hold would automatically be released via CyberSource to his CC provider once we cancel the order. However, it may not show up in his statement as a transaction because one did not occur. One thing you might notice is that he neglected to add his phone number to the order, which until he started calling us, we had no way to get a hold of him with the exception of email. In practically all of our situations where we cancel an order, the order cancellation confirmation suffices - unless they do not read their email.

Please let me know if you need any more information or I need to do anything else. I will email ****** today about the cancellation and tell him to look in his spam folder if he did not see the cancellation email. I will copy you on that email as well.

Thank you!

***** ******
Project Manager, The ****** Lake House
******* ************ *******


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The company canceled my order and did not charge my credit card.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

04/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: I placed an order for a pair of boots from them on Jan 6th 2014 I ordered a size 7 which it says on my receipt and the boots arrived on Jan 16th and they were a size 9 obviously the wrong size. I have tried on numerous occasions to contact someone. I have called nearly close to 20 times within their business hours and I only get an answering machine which I have left at least 6 or more messages and I have also sent emails. No one has responded to my phone calls or emails to simply exchange the boots so I can get the boots in the right size that I paid for

Initial Business Response
We sent teh following to ******** at 7:49 03-25-2014:
__________________________
Hello ********,
Sorry we have not gotten back to you. We have been migrating our company to a different business model and, unfortunately, the retail side has been neglected since about 1-15-2014. In any case, we can take the boots back and either we will ship the correct size if we have them or refund you your money and shipping. I am truly sorry for the inconvenience. Ship the boots back to :

Pacific Northwest Outfitters, LLC
*** **** ***
****
Kirkland, WA 98033

PLEASE place the boot box within another box for shipping, If the boot box is destroyed with shipping labels, we can not resell it and can not give you your money back or exchange them

Thanks, ********!
____________________________________
Once she sends back the items in saleable condition, we will gladly either exchange at no cost to her or refund her order amount. Normally we only refund the cost of the item, if that is the outcome, but in this case we will refund her shipping as well.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

11/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: I would like to return a rain jacket I ordered on line on 9/8/2013(order/invoice#****) because it is too small for me and I don't like the color of the jacket (the color doesn't look like the one showed on line). Pacific Northwest Outfitters states (on their web site) that in order to return an item, you must contact them to request an RMA (return merchandise authorization) number, and that you would have to do so within 7 days after receipt of your order.I received the jacket on 9/19/13 by ***** Since then, I have sent 3 e-mails and left 4 voice messages on their phone (XXX-XXX-XXXX)requesting a return authorization number (RMA number)and leaving with my order(invoice) number and contact information. I RECEIVED ABSOLUTELY NO RESPONSE WHAT SO EVER.

Initial Business Response
We carelessly had not responded to her inquiry about getting an RMA. I responded to her today with the following cut and paste email:
START
Hello ******,
I am truly sorry we have not responded to your inquiries regarding an RMA to return your items. I have no good excuses - only bad ones.

That being said, we do not typically refund items that are marked down over 40% because they are on clearance. It is written on the top of every page of our website. This item you purchased is on clearance for 61% off! A great price!!

In your case, since we communicated so poorly, we will make an exception. Just send the item back with a copy of the packslip to:

Pacific Northwest Outfitters, LLC
*** **** **
****
Kirkland, WA XXXXX

Again, we apologize sincerely for our mistake of not getting back to you!
Once we receive the package, we will refund her the entire amount of her order, including shipping which we do not typically do, either.

***** ******


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
1)As *** ****** pointed out in his e-mail, there is "All sales final on items marked over 40% off" on their web site and I missed it. In this case, I will not return the item I ordered (I will probably donate it).

2)In the future, they should improve their online communication with the customers. They state in their policies online that they will reply customers' email within 1 business day. In my case, I sent mutiple emails and left voice messages on their phone. I never hear from them until BBB steped in.

Thanks BBB!

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

12/26/2012Delivery Issues
11/01/2012Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Clothing - Retail, Sporting Goods - Retail

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.