Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Closet Factory, The

Phone: (425) 513-2700 View Additional Phone Numbers 12326 Beverly Park Rd Ste 118, Lynnwood, WA 98087 http://www.closetfactory.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers custom closets and accessories.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Closet Factory, The include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Closet Factory, The
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 23, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1995 Business started locally: 01/01/1995 Business incorporated 01/01/1997 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bill Farris, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Farris, President
Business Category

Closet Systems & Accessories Construction & Remodeling Services

Alternate Business Names
Farris Corporation, The The Farris Corporation

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12326 Beverly Park Rd Ste 118

    Lynnwood, WA 98087 (425) 513-2700 (800) 355-2567

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract with Closet Factory to build 7 closet systems in my home in March of this year and paid 75% of the total bill for them to begin installation on June 8, 2015. Closet Factory sent inexperienced installers to install my closets and for the past 3 months they still have not completed the job. Bill F***** came to our home on August 7 after numerous complaints by me to see the unfinished job. He sent a"top" installer out to fix all the issues and complete the job within two weeks. My husband had called Bill on August 8 to discuss the issues further and make sure the closets would be completed. Bill got angry and told my husband to **** *** and that the job would cost him too much money to fix and he then instructed his installer to completely dismantle our master closet and take everything with him. I stopped the installer half way through the destruction and told him to leave our property. That was over a month ago and I have sent certified letters requesting my money back since they have failed to fulfill our contract. I have only heard from Bill once on Sept. 1, stating he would need to pick up the dismantled closet pieces and give me a portion of my money back or he would reinstall the closet with the same person who could not finish the job. His installers damaged the paint on our walls as well as millwork, he will only pay for damaged paint. He will not give us a date for completion of the job so we had to hire someone else to complete the work. He will not answer emails or letters I have sent. I gave him four days to pick up the damaged closet systems which have been in my dumpster for a moth. We took everything to the dump on 9-11 since he did not answer me again. He did not fulfill our contract and the other closets systems are not installed incorrectly. I have pictures of everything and witnesses to back up the extremely poor job this company did in my home. His sales manager is also aware of the extreme unprofessionalism of the owner

Desired Settlement: I would like to have 100% of my money back plus damages that the installers did to my walls and millwork. Bill F***** did not fulfill our contract and provided incompetent workers for the installation and needs to return my money. I have been more than patient and put up with excuses all summer why he cannot fit us into his schedule to complete the job. He does not want to fix it because it will cost him too much money and mess up the scheduling of other jobs. I cannot hold out for ambiguous completion dates nor can I have inexperienced installers in my home creating more damages. I will be filing a lawsuit if he does not return my money which will cost him much more money and time.

Business Response: Mr. & Mrs. ******* signed a contract for a Master
Closet, Linen Closet, Angliques Closet, ****** Office, Mathew Closet and
Michael Closet on 3-24-15. At that time we collected a deposit of $15,991.19.

On June 8th we collected an additional $7995.19
at the beginning of the installation. We installed all of the areas except for
the Master Closet which we began. I was contacted about the Master Closet and
the amount of time it was taking and the quality of the work. I brought my team
out to make a list of everything that needed to be done and agreed to have two
of my people work all weekend and the next week to complete this job.

Saturday morning I returned a call from Mr. *******. He
demanded a 30% discount on his project and that I pay for the apartment he
rented and his painter. When I refused to give him this discount, which to me
was an attempt at legalized extortion, he told me he wanted me to stop work on
his project and remove everything. He said he was going to sue me. My
installers stopped and started loading things into our truck. Mrs. ******* came
home and said she knew nothing about this and ask our guys to leave.  

Our designer and Mrs. ******* worked together and we set a
new installation date staring on 8-31-15 and would last for about four days. We
decided that it would be best to put backing in the Master Closet since the
walls were not straight at our own expense.

Next thing we hear is that Mrs. ******* wanted her job
completed by 8-31-15 and if we could not do that then they didn’t want the
Master Closet. We received another letter that said they would sue us.

On 9-11-15 we received an email from Mr. ******* that said
they were throwing out all of our materials.

We would still like to complete this job. We just need
enough time to complete it. If they don’t want us back I believe that they
should at least pay for the areas that are completed. I sent a letter to them
outlining this.

 

Bill F*****

CEO

Closet Factory

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

First of all Mr. F***** is not being truthful in several areas. I spoke to him about the delayed project on the phone in early July. When I emailed him again in August that things were still incomplete he denied ever speaking to me! Secondly, my husband did not attempt extortion, or threaten a law suit on August 8 during their phone call. He asked him to pay for damages and give the 30% discount due to all the delays in the project and damages done and delaying other subs. Bill said no to his request. So my husband said fine tell your guys to leave until I work this out with ********. Then Bill said he was sick of the******* project it costs him too much to fix the problems and pay his guys time and half. He said sue me if you want I don't care, **** *** and hung up. Bill then called his employee and told him to dismantle the entire closet and leave. His guy, Adan told me that himself. That is when I asked him to leave the property immediately. I did not threaten a law suit until late August when everything when Bill was refusing to communicate. The first offer we were given was to start mid September! This offer was given on August 11th by Jennifer. I told her no it needed to be done by the end of August. Once again they went silent on me until I sent another letter threatening to sue them. It was not until I threatened to sue that they came up with a start date of August 31 and that they hope to complete by Saturday. What Saturday? Never gave an exact date and they wanted to send the same guy who could not complete the job all summer to do the work! There was never any mention of them installing backing in my closets at their costs due to uneven walls, that is an outright lie! I have all the pictures, emails, and one letter saved to prove my side of the story. Bill does not want to complete the work in a timely fashion and only agrees to pay a portion of the damages his workers did to our walls. He is too late, just as he has been all summer long. I already hired someone else to do the job, it was done in 3 days. Yet Closet Factory started the job on June 8th and could not finish for over 3 months. I want all the money I paid them back.

Sincerely,

******* *******

Business Response: First I would like to say that I find it interesting that
****** who was not on the call I had with her husband seems to be able to quote
our conversation. What she quotes is not the conversation I had with her
husband. To my knowledge I only talked to her once when she ask me to look into
getting her an install date. We had a customer who needed to move their
installation out so I moved them into that time spot. I didn’t hear from them
again until they ask me to come out and look at the master closet. We had already
completed six other spaces in their home. I brought my Operations Manager and
my Installation Manager and we made a list of everything that we would needed
to complete their installation and they agreed with it. We had our people there
on the next Saturday. That’s when her husband called and demanded a 30% discount
plus money for their rental because the only reason he had to rent a place was
because their closets were not complete plus money for a painter that moved on
to his next job. If their priority was to get this job done as quickly as
possible, we could have had it done, but when their priority changed to seeing
what they could get for nothing it was extortion. When you demand money or they
are going to sue you it is extortion.

We had them scheduled again for installation on August 31,
2015 to be completed by September 4, 2015. ****** demanded it be completed by
August 31st and canceled the installation. Every time we try to
complete this job they cancel. She expected us to move other customers to make
room for them.

I noticed that she didn’t mention the six other spaces we
did. It seems that they are going out of their way to try to get something for
nothing. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Mr. F***** continues to avoid his responsibilities to return my money for a failed master closet install. There are some issues with two other closets they installed as well. When someone does not fulfill their end of a contract, money should be returned. I have never cancelled install dates. Their first offer to start re-installing my closet was mid Sept. Jennifer and I both agreed this would not be acceptable. Then 10 days later you merely offered to squeeze me in on August 31st. The completion date was ambiguous and you wanted to send the same guy, Keenan to help re-install closets. This is the same guy who for 2 months could not get the job done and was using WD40 to clean the closets!

Regarding my abilities to quote my husband's phone conversation with Bill, why would I not be able to quote the call, am I supposed to believe you who cussed my husband out and hung up the phone on him, then went into a rage and had your employee destroy the closet?

Regarding only speaking to me once on the phone regarding the failed closet install, is because Jennifer M******, your sales manager begged me to call you, and your staff and demand to send someone out to complete the project because every time she brought the matter up at work and the need to finish the project, her requests were repeatedly ignored! I have texts messages from her and emails proving those points. I had to call Chantel several times before even speaking to you Bill. I was continually pushed aside because you had too many other projects and not enough installers.

Because I had to have the closet done before carpet install at the end of August I had to hire someone else to do the job. So at this point the only thing left is for you to return my money plus the damages I requested that your installers did to my walls. If you don't want to do that then I will see you in court, and you can call that whatever you want, but you have left me with no other choice.


Sincerely,

******* *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Closet Factory, The
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)