BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers medical care.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Virginia Mason Federal Way meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Virginia Mason Federal Way include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Virginia Mason Federal Way
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1983 Business started: 01/01/1920 Business started locally: 01/01/1920
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd SE, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.doh.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 525-0127
hsqa.csc@doh.wa.gov

Business Management
Ms. Sarah Patterson, Chief Operation Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sarah Patterson, Chief Operation Officer
Business Category

Clinics

Alternate Business Names
Virginia Mason Medical Center

Additional Locations

  • 33501 1st Way S

    Federal Way, WA 98003 (206) 233-6616 (253) 838-2400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was scheduled to have a colonoscopy done at the Virginia Mason Federal Way. I was given les than 48 hours to prep for the colonoscopy. The prep instruction said I needed 5 days to prep for the procedure I asked them about this they said it would be ok. I left the office and went directly to get the clean out kit from the pharmacy. I had my colonoscopy done at 10 am staying up the night before to drink all of the drink. The doctor biopsied me on the way in 8 times and then found I had a bad clean out. Then he aborted the procedure halfway thru. I woke up and immediately had to go all over myself. This caused me to flush my new wounds from the biopsy with my stool. That night I had a fever of 103.5 and uncontrollable shaking. I told the nurse the next day of this and they have no report of this on file. They wanted to schedule me for another colonoscopy two months later. In the 2 weeks to follow I got very sick to the point I could barely walk. After complaining several times to Virginia Mason I was sent to see a specialist in Seattle where I was given a large dose of steroids to recover from the infection. This was all caused by poor scheduling and lack of care by Virginia Mason. During the 2 weeks I missed time from work and was extremely ill. I was billed by VM for the procedure and I refused to pay them. Now they are taking me to court over the procedure. I have talked to patient services about this several times. They have no record of my complaints they also have no record of the steroids given to me on my file. They claim that they are not at fault for the bad scheduling of my colonoscopy and they are not at fault for a bad cleanout. The doctor should have never biopsied me if my cleanout was bad. Virginia Mason has done nothing to work with me to resolve my issue. They just came after me with collections and had no care for what I was going thru. A huge company coming after a sick patient that they made worse. I will never go back to this hospital!

Desired Settlement: Virginia Mason shouldn't charge me for there mistakes! They should drop the case against me and should fix my bill.

Business Response: We are going to reach out to the patient and help him.  He is encourage to call us directly at *** *******

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I have contacted the number given several times and they are unwilling to help. They are the reason for coming to the bbb. They have not reached out to help me in anyway. They have my number and know how to contact me but have none done so.

Sincerely,

Business Response: Mr. ******,

We have sent you a letter today to follow-up on your concerns and provide you a resolution.  Should you have concerns after you receive my letter, I invite you to contact me directly on *** *** ****.  Thank you, ******** *******

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**********