BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/27/2010

Zulily Inc

Phone: (877) 779-5615Fax: (206) 724-0534

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

229 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 144 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues29
Billing / Collection Issues13
Delivery Issues70
Guarantee / Warranty Issues5
Problems with Product / Service112
Total Closed Complaints229

Additional Complaint Information

On November 21, 2013, BBB recognized a pattern of complaints from consumers regarding delivery and refund issues. Consumers allege the orders they place with Zulily Inc are delivered late or are not received at all. Consumers also claim they receive incomplete orders. Consumers further allege Zulily Inc does not provide refunds as promised when they cancel, return or do not receive their orders.

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (229)BBB Closure Definitions
02/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
You order from them and it takes them over 20 to 30 days to ship to you because they state they want to bundle your order together in one package. However I received mine in two different shipments. One box was damaged and torn. I refused the first order and sent that back on 1/14/2015 after I spoke with ****** and was given the run around about their service and how the payment was taken out and then back and then out again. The second package came a week later damaged sliced in the side of the box I refused that as well and returned that package on 1/21/2015. Both packages were returned to the Independence Ohio Postal Office. I contacted Zulily today to ask if they received the packages and they are still stating they have not. We are talking within the same state. I dont beleive it takes 2 weeks within one state to recieve packages. They claim they have different procedures for their shipping and returning and can take up to 30 days. While i was talking to her i heard another lady on the phone stating the same thing to another caller. I ordered with them on 12/29/2014 the money was debited out of my checking out that day. Then 2 days later it was back in my checking account and then few days later back out again.
Product_Or_Service: Sweater, Earings, Purse
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXX and ******

Desired Settlement
My order was done on 12/29/2014 and was taken out of my bank on that day then returned back to my bank and then on 1/7/2015 taken back out of bank in the amount of $62.56 and i would like my full amount returned either back to my bank or in a check.

Business Response
Hello ******,

Thank you for getting in touch with us via Better Business Bureau for Order #XXXXXXXXX. I would be more than happy to address all of your concerns in attempt to clear up any confusion.

First, we do want shopping with us to be a fun experience and not a frustrating one and I do apologize it looks like we missed the mark with this order.

I see you are new to our site and because your first order has caused so much frustration, we have issued a full refund of $62.56. I do see that we received and checked the items in on 1/29/15. We issued the refund then as well. The refund is going back to the original method of payment. You will see this credit process in 3-5 business days.

I would also like to take the time to tell you a little bit about how we work and why we are a final sales site. We are a flash sales site and our sales last 72 hours. Once these sales are over we contact the vendor and they ship the items to us in 10-14 days and then we check them in and ship them out to you in 2-6 days. Therefore, we don't house any inventory after our sales end and therefore are unable to process returns.

Typically, since we do not house our own inventory vendors will ship the products to our fulfillment center then we will package and ship out to you. This process, as well as, not housing our own inventory allows us to pass ***** wonderful savings to our members. Since we do not house inventory when items are returned to our fulfillment center without prior authorization they take a while to process. We want you to be delighted, so please give our customer service team a call X-XXX-XXX-XXXX or email *******@zulily.com if something does not meet your expectations and we'll review available options to make it right.

In addition, since these items seemed a bit off, I have added a $20.00 store credit to your account that you can use on a future order with us. If you do decide to give us another try I am confident it will go much more smoothly.

Thank you for your patience and getting this issue resolved. Shopping with us should be fun and easy. You are a valued customer and if something ever comes up we would love to make it right. Please reach out to me directly if you have any other questions or concerns.

Have a Magical day,

**********
Customer Service Supervisor
Zulily.com
*******@zulily.com

02/18/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The website stated 14 days for delivery. I ordered my item and an email came saying it wasn't to even be shipped for 2 months. I called and tried to cancel the order and they would not let me. The item was a gift, I couldn't wait 2 months. They would not cancel the order or let me return it. They charged my card when I ordered it though. 3 months later it arrives.

Desired Settlement
A full refund for my item

Business Response
Hello ********,

Thank you for reaching out to the Better Business Bureau and letting us know about your experience with order #XXXXXXXXX. I am sorry to hear about the delay of your item. I am more than happy to address all of your concerns in attempt to clear up any confusion.

First, we want shopping with us to be a fun and easy experience. From what it looks like we have missed the mark on this one. Since this is very out of character for zulily I have taken the next steps to make this right for you.

I see you are new to our site and because your first order has caused so much frustration, we have issued a full refund of $60.94 back to your original method of payment. You will see this process back to your credit card in 3-5 business days. I see that your order was placed on 1/9/15 and was delivered on 1/26/15, with an original estimated shipping date from us to you as 1/28/15.

I would also like to take the time to tell you a little bit about how we work and why we are a final sales site. We are a flash sales site and our sales last 72 hours. Once these sales are over we contact the vendor and they ship the items to us in 10-14 days and then we check them in and ship them out to you in 2-6 days. Therefore, we don't house any inventory after our sales end and therefore are unable to process returns.

Typically, since we do not house our own inventory vendors will ship the products to our fulfillment center then we will package and ship out to you. This process, as well as, not housing our own inventory allows us to pass along wonderful savings to our members. Since we do not house inventory when items are returned to our fulfillment center without prior authorization they take a while to process. We want you to be delighted, so please give our customer service team a call X-XXX-XXX-XXXX or email *******@zulily.com if something does not meet your expectations and we'll review available options to make it right.

In addition, since these items seemed a bit off, I have added a $20.00 store credit to your account that you can use on a future order with us. If you do decide to give us another try I am confident it will go much more smoothly.

Thank you for your patience and getting this issue resolved. Shopping with us should be fun and easy. You are a valued customer and if something ever comes up we would love to make it right. Please reach out to me directly if you have any other questions or concerns.


Have a Magical day,


**********
Customer Service Supervisor
Zulily.com
*******@zulily.com

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

02/17/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On December 9, 2014 I placed 2 separate orders. Order #XXXXXXXXX and #XXXXXXXXX. ALL items were guaranteed for delivery by Christmas. I have contacted them several times because the items had not been shipped. I received a tracking number for some of the items and not the others. One item they told me was shipped from somewhere else (not their warehouse) but they guaranteed it would arrive in time. I received a tracking number and it will not arrive until December 29! This is not on time, I have called and no one seems to know anything. I can clearly see that it has been shipped Ground shipping. It doesnt matter how often I contact them they still do not know anything, dont know when the package will leave, some reps tell me that items are going to be shipped out any minute (its been over a week since I was told that and it still isnt shipped!)

Desired Settlement
I want my items over nighted to me so that they will arrive by December 24

Business Response
Hello *******,
Thank you for contacting us via BBB with your concerns on orders XXXXXXXXX and XXXXXXXXX. I am so very sorry that it has taken so long for us to get back to you on this matter.
Because it has taken so long for our response I am going to refund you for all items on your orders back to the original method of payment. The total amount for the returns from today for the boots and the dress as well as shipping will be $63.96 and that will go back to your original method of payment in 5-7 business days. I know that the two items arrived on time, but we really missed the mark here and we want to make it up to you. I am also very sorry that the instrument set did not arrive on time and I hope that the refunds on the other items will help to make that up to you. I see that a refund was done for the instruments on 12/22/2014.
I wanted to also remind you that you have $20 in Zulily credit to use the next time you are on the site and I really do hope that there will be a next time. I know that if you give us one more chance we can create a magical experience for you. If you have any concerns in the future please feel free to contact us at *******@zulily.com or by phone at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.
Have a great day,
****** **
Customer Service Supervisor
Zulily.com
********@zulily.com

02/17/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
ZULILY

Was telling friends the great stuff I have purchased from this company.....welllll...RENEGE AND RETRACT! I recommend avoiding them like poison. I purchased really cute pairs of shoes, made by a well- known designer. Paid > $350 to Zoolily on Nov 11, thinking shoes would be here by Thanksgiving. None of the five pairs was here at Thanksgiving. Two pairs arrived over a month after purchase, and one of the 2 pairs was not the size I had ordered. When I contacted Zulily, they said the item was no longer available in the correct size and sent me a shipping label. Today I got notified that the other 3 pairs are being cancelled because they became "unexpectedly unavailable" and they would refund the > $200 that they have had since Nov 11 to me "within several business days". Seriously? I called them, spoke to a supervisor and told I am firing them as a go-to company. wWillalso file a complaint c the BBB. ****** company.

Desired Settlement
Interest on the $217 that they took in payment for the items that were cancelled without reasonable explanation, 7 weeks after I gave the money to them. And I mean the $217 that will be returned to me "in several business days"

That money sure would've come in handy at christmas.

Business Response
Hello ********,

Thank you for contacting zulily through the Better Business Bureau about order #XXXXXXXXX for the five pairs of shoes. I am more than happy to address all of your concerns in attempt to clear up any confusion.
First, we do want shopping with us to be a fun experience and not a frustrating one and I do apologize it looks like we missed the mark with this order.

Since three pairs of these shoes were canceled we have issued a $200.35 refund back to the original method of payment. I have also issued a refund of $27.36 for the shoes that arrived in the wrong size. The refund can take 5-7 business days to process with ******* Please feel free to keep or donate these shoes.

I would also like to take the time to tell you a little bit about how we work and why we are a final sales site. We are a flash sales site and our sales last 72 hours. Once these sales are over we contact the vendor and they ship the items to us in 10-14 days and then we check them in and ship them out to you in 2-6 days. Although in extremely rare and unfortunate instances, we do have the right to accept, decline, or cancel your order (in whole or in part) for any reason prior to the shipment of ordered items. Therefore, we don't house any inventory after our sales end and therefore are unable to process returns. Please accept our sincerest apologizes.

In addition, since this order was a bit off, I have added a $25.00 store credit you can put towards a future order with us. I am confident your next order will go much more smoothly and I hope you give us another chance.

Please reach out to me directly if you have any other questions or concerns.


Have a Magical day,


******** ******
Customer Service Supervisor
zulily.com
*******@zulily.com

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Because despite the apparent good will that was presented in the response,
1) they still had my hundreds of dollars for months, which is money they are earning interest on and money I am not earning interest on. Yet it is MY money.
2) the very day I received this response, yet another item I had ordered months ago, for which they had my money for months, was cancelled because it had become "unavailable".

Really? REALLY??

This is poor business practice. It should not require a complaint to BBB to be treated right by a business.

Final Business Response
Hello ********,
Thank you for contacting zulily through the Better Business Bureau about order recent canceled orders. I am more than happy to address all of your concerns in attempt to clear up any confusion.
First, we do want shopping with us to be a fun experience and not a frustrating one and I do apologize it looks like we missed the mark with this order.

Since these orders did not go as planned and were canceled due to unexpected inventory issues I have issues a refund of $29.55 back to your ****** account. This refund is 10.23% of the total cost for the two orders that were canceled and did not work out. I was able to get this one time exception made for this to be refunded back for the interest on these orders, as well as the frustration you experienced.

Although in extremely rare and unfortunate instances, we do have the right to accept, decline, or cancel your order (in whole or in part) for any reason prior to the shipment of ordered items. Therefore, we don't house any inventory after our sales end and therefore are unable to process returns. Please accept our sincerest apologizes.

Since these orders were a bit off, we had added some zulily store credit to your account. You currently have a total of $45.00 available for use right now. I am confident your next order will go much more smoothly and I hope you give us another chance.

Please reach out to me directly if you have any other questions or concerns.


Have a Magical day,


******** ******
Customer Service Supervisor
zulily.com
*******@zulily.com

02/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In November I ordered online several clothing items for Christmas gift. The online ordering was confusing so I called Zulily's toll free number to make sure that I didn't order the items twice. I was assured the order would be correct. Shortly before Christmas a box arrived and it had two of each item. I ordered the wrong size and some of the items had to be returned. Since the duplication was the fault of Zulily I expected them to send a mailing lable to cover cost of postage. After a couple phone calls and three emails I still have no mailing label and no instruction on how to return the items for refund.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund of my purchase and I want this large box out of my living room.

Business Response
Hello ****,

Thank you for reaching out to the Better Business Bureau and letting us know about your experience with order #XXXXXXXXX. I am sorry to hear the order was duplicated and it took so long to get this issue resolved. I am more than happy to address all of your concerns in attempt to clear up any confusion.

First, we want shopping with us to be a fun and easy experience. From what it looks like we have missed the mark on this one. Since this is very out of character for zulily I have taken the next steps to make this right for you.

Since this was a mistake on our end we have issued a full refund of $82.67 back to the original method of payment. This will take 3-5 business days to process back to your MasterCard. I had a return label emailed to the email address ***********@aol.com as you requested. Please print this off and send the package back to us. You can schedule a pick-up with your local postal service or drop it off at any post office.

I want to thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to email in and let us know about the issue with duplicated order as well as sending them back to us. We are a final sales site however, we feel that we needed to make an exception for you and get this taken care of in an appropriate manner.

In addition, because this order did not work out as planned we have issued a $30.00 store credit to your zulily account. This situation is not ideal and we do want to give you a little something extra as a treat!

Thank you for shopping with zulily and being such a valued customer since 2/28/2014. Hopefully this helps make this right. If you have any questions or concerns regarding this feel free to reach out to me directly.

Warm Regards,

******** ******
Customer Service Supervisor
zulily.com
*******@zulily.com

Page 1 of 45
10/21/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have ordered from Zulily and found that not only does it take a month to receive the package but on more than one occasion there has been at least one item missing from the shipment that was paid for and expected. The packing slip will say that the item is in the box but in fact the item has not been packed. This has occurred on more than one order. I have also had packages that they claim were delivered but were never received. I have found that they have a practice of selling more inventory than available. Offering an apology and a refund upon discovery is to be expected, but certainly not a proper remedy to an ongoing and deceptive business practice that needs to stop.

Desired Settlement
Stop swindling customers out of there hard earned money.

Business Response
Hi ******,
Thank you for reaching out to me via this channel. We truly appreciate feedback from our members and are very interested to hear when we have missed the mark. We want shopping on zulily to be a fun, simple, and enjoyable experience and are working hard throughout our organization everyday to make sure that the issues that you have experienced are minimized.
Please allow me to extend our sincere apologies for any frustrations we may have caused you. If there are any unresolved issues that you have personally, please feel free to reach out to me directly.
Best,
*** ********
Customer Service Supervisor
zulily.com
*******@zulily.com

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response was acceptable...the first and second time this problem occurred. At this point, what I am concerned about is the processes that are in place or not in place to protect consumers in this regard. There is an ordering side and a fulfillment side.

There is definitely protocols and systems in place to make certain that consumers do not receive merchandise they have not yet paid for. There are systems to ensure that payment has been received before orders are fulfilled. This is for the benefit of Zulily. In the dozens of orders I have placed and several thousands of dollars I have spent, never has there been an issue with me receiving unpaid merchandise. Therefore, we can say that this system is effective.

On the contrary, I am alleging that there are not systems in place to ensure that consumers receive the items they have already paid for. There should be a system in place to ensure that all items ordered are placed in the shipment before delivery to the consumer. In the dozens of orders I have placed with Zulily, on multiple occasions I have been sent a package without the contents containing all the items for which payment has been collected, and there have also been numerous times where the order was not received at all....ever. This is therefore evidence that the system currently in place is not effective.

So, at this point, it is beyond offering an apology. It is at a point where a new policy must be instituted to ensure that with the same diligence Zulily's assets are protected, the consumer is protected as well. I am not interested in trading words with this company, it has already been revealed to me what they are really about.

It is my hope that the Better Business Bureau can investigate these allegations and advocate for reform so that other consumers don't have to experience the same outcome that I have on numerous occasions. I have no doubt that many people have experienced this throughout the country and if this isn't resolved a class action suit will emerge and impact Zulily's profits more substantially than simply instituted an effective protocol to ensure that when someone's money has been accepted the product is deliveredevery time, just like payment is collected every time.

09/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dealt mostly with ****** in email, customer service. First online order: Dec 26/13, after receiving the goods in separate shipments, I returned some items. After (multiple calls) and emailing on Jan 11, 16, 21 and Feb 4/14 I was finally able to return by mail one item and receive a refund to my credit card and also store credit, which I didn't want but they wouldn't return it to my credit card. I was dismayed as 1) product was not as described, 2) pricing was not transparent, 3) Upon ordering, the individual cost of the item was not visible anymore, so my invoice was just a listing of goods with a grand total for purchase. I had no way of knowing how much an item was and duty charges were hidden. The ordeal was time consuming and I did not feel confident in making future purchases. I funded the shipping cost myself ($15.14), to return two items. One was not as described, the second was not a new first quality item but looked like a second quality item (manufacturing defect - item too large) was not advertised as such. The sales rep I spoke with assured me it was a first quality item. I requested the cost of shipping reimbursed as I would otherwise have kept the products had they been as described and expected. I did not receive a response. 2nd online order: May 26/14. I wanted to use up my credit and close my profile with this online vendor. The invoicing was improved, but still not transparent. I purchased 2 items in 2 separate transactions as they have a policy of charging shipping on the first item, then you qualify for free shipping on subsequent orders in the same day. I used store credit for transaction #1. I then ordered my second item using up the rest of my store credit and charged the remaining amount to credit card. The item I selected was clearly marked Duty Free. I know duty charges exist, so the company must be footing the charges themselves to give the consumer a deal. Yet after I purchased it, the invoice showed Duty charges. I emailed *******@zulily.com, same day, May 26/14 and ********* responded that she could not see that the item was Duty Free. I tried to go back to look at the product listing but could not find the item as I had purchased the last one and the listing was immediately removed. I did the next best thing which was to send screen shots of similar items from the same brand, each of which is clearly marked DUTY FREE under the item name. I emailed it back requesting the refund to my credit card. This time ****** *. emailed (May 27/14) to refund the Duty costs as store credit, advising that it had to first be refunded to Store Credit, then to my credit card as that is how their system works. Having seen my request was not completed I emailed a third time (June 6/14) to request my Store Credit be returned back to my credit card. I received a response from ******** (June 7/14), who had forwarded the same response from ****** ** with no further explanation. I emailed a 4th time to specifically request the credit be returned to my credit card (specifically underlining the passage ** ****** **s response) and also advised I had contacted them 3 times prior to get this resolved. ****** ** emailed (June 8/14) stating they could not return the funds to my credit card, THEN proceeded to deflect my inquiry telling me about their free shipping policy. I just want the original Duty charge of CDN$12.46 credited back to my Canadian credit card. And the amount of my listed credit also lowers and increases online daily. I was advised in a prior conversation that it is to do with their USD pricing, which is converted to my local currency. The online invoice of my 2nd purchased item now doesn't show the Duties & Taxes line again and also shows incorrect totals. I can't afford to play these games. Feeling frustrated and cheated.

Desired Settlement
Shipping charges for returning a defective product,
$15.14 and duty charges on an item that was advertised as Duty Free $12.42. Total = $27.56. I want the funds to be reimbursed to my credit card, so I may close my zulily account.

Business Response
Hello *****,

Thank you for contacting us regarding your recent experience with us. We always aim to provide high quality customer service, so I would first like to apologize for all of the frustration you have experienced with your orders. We clearly did not meet your expectations and we thank you for allowing us to further investigate and address your concerns.

I reviewed the email history regarding this order and as requested, I have processed a refund of $12.46 for the duty charges and another $15.14 for your return shipping fees. You should see both refunds post to your credit card account within the next 3 to 5 business days.

If you have further questions, please let us know.

Best Regards,

******** *******
zulily Customer Service Supervisor

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It's Saturday, July 19th and a full 5 business days following their response has lapsed.

I agree to the amounts to be refunded, however, I have not received the refund to my credit card as stated. Upon logging into my account, I see that they have refunded the funds back to "store credit" on July 11. Not what I had asked.

I would like to request again, that my store credit balance be refunded in entirety to the credit card of my most recent purchase. Once I see that my zulily account is at $0 and that the total funds have been refunded to my last used credit card I will close my Complaint.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The total on my zulily account shows:
Date Action Credit Added Credit Used Balance
8/11/2014 Used CDN$-40.47 CDN$0.00

My credit card (which is Canadian) shows:
Aug 11, 2014 ZULILY XXX-XXX-XXXX WA
33.91

What happened to the $6.56 difference? Did zulily convert my balance to USD, then credit my CDN VISA, thus shorting me on the double currency exchange as VISA needed to convert the USD back to CDN to credit?

This is another reason why my shopping with the company was so confusing. Nothing is presented properly in the purchasing currency. (My account is CDN, I'm shopping in CDN, and I believe the billing is USD which is later charged as an FX on my VISA, so the billing would be different in the end.) The selling FX rate and buying FX rates are never equal as the foreign institutions make money on the exchange and give different rates.

If zulily continues serving clientele from outside the US, they will need to upgrade their system account for the FX rates correctly or it would appear fraudulent to show one total, but charge another. I'm surprised if others haven't issued a complaint on this yet.

As to my $6.56, is that my misfortune of losing it to FX conversion in dealing with a company who transacts in USD?

Final Business Response
Hello *****,

Thank you for contacting zulily about your order # XXXXXXXXX that was placed on May 26thth, 2014. We always aim to provide a seamless and magical shopping experience for our customers on our website, so I'd like to apologize again for the confusion you have experienced when shopping our site. I have issued an additional refund of $6.56 to your original method of payment on today. You should expect to see your refund to your credit card in three to five business days.

Again, I apologize for any frustration caused by this situation. If you have further questions or concerns, please let us know. You may contact our customer service department at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. We are open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. Pacific Time Monday through Friday, and 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Saturday and Sunday. We may be reached by email anytime at *******@zulily.com.

Best Regards,

*** *****
zulily Customer Service Supervisor

05/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company has robbed me of my money. I was owed $11.49 back to my credit card last month which was promised by their CR ***** and then confirmed by their rep **** that I should be receiving it between 3-5 days. It's been a month since then and Zulily has denied my money return back to my credit card. I was humiliated by their tier 2 rep ********* when I asked for my money back. I asked them to listen to the phone conversation between me and ***** where he had confirmed that the refund had been issued to my credit card. Clearly, this company has conducted an act of racial discrimation against me. I ask consumer court to listen to the conversation that took place between ek and their

Desired Settlement
A

Business Response
Hello ***,
Thank you for reaching out to me via this channel to discuss your recent experience with our website. Upon looking into your account, I saw that we have sent the following communication regarding this refund/order:

Thank you for reaching out to us today about your recent order # XXXXXXXXX. I did take some time to review the order history and the way this order was handled. I am sorry if things were not handled the way an agent advised they would.

When you spoke with ****** on April 3rd he advised that you would need to return these shoes at your expense to our fulfillment center and only then would be issued a refund for this item. We did advise that you would be receiving the refund back to your original method of payment, which did include the $11.94 back to your Visa card. However, this item was never sent back at your expense.

Furthermore there were three store credit refunds that took place. One for $11.49 in 4/8, one for $13.50 on 4/8, and one for $13.50 on 4/12. This makes the total refund given for this order to be $38.49, which is more than the order total. All of these refunds have already been spent on other orders. Because of this, we are not able to issue any additional refund to any method of payment.

If you would like to cancel some of the items you paid with the store credit given in order to get the refund back to your original method of payment that is something we can do as a one time service gesture.

To be clear, moving forward we expect that you abide by all the terms and conditions that were outlined by ****** on 4/3. I have pasted them below. You have an opportunity to adhere to these terms and conditions moving forward and continue doing business. If these terms and conditions are not adhered to, we will close your account. If there is any part of the terms and conditions that you do not understand please let us know.

http://www.zulily.com/terms-conditions

2.6 Return Policy

(a) Return Policy. zulily will only accept returns on products that are identified on the Product information page as eligible for return or as provided in Section 2.6(c). Once zulily confirms that your Product was returned in accordance with Section 2.6, your sole and exclusive remedy is a store credit in the amount charged for the applicable Product; provided that the credited amount will not include the applicable Delivery Fee, which is nonrefundable. Store credits may only be used for future purchase of Products on the Web site (excluding gift cards) and are subject to the restrictions set forth in Section 14.

(b) Exchanges. We do not accept any Product exchanges.

(c) Damaged Products. If the Product arrives damaged ("Damaged Product"), zulily will accept returns for a full refund only in accordance with the Return Procedures below. Once zulily confirms that you received a Damaged Product that was returned in accordance with the Return Procedures below, your sole and exclusive remedy is that (a) we will issue a refund to your credit card or PayPal account in the amount charged for the Damaged Product (if your credit card or PayPal account has already been charged for the Product) or (b) we will not charge your credit card or PayPal account for the Damaged Product. The refunded amount will include the applicable Delivery Fee.

(d) Return Procedures All returns must be made within 14 days after the Product shipment date. All returned Products must be unused (e.g., not worn, washed, damaged, or altered) and returned in accordance with the instructions received from contacting customer service at *******@zulily.com. You are solely responsible for the cost of shipping the returned Product. All Products not returned in accordance with the Return Procedures shall be sent back to you, and no credit or refund will be issued.

If you have any questions please let me know. Thank you!

As you have already been refunded (and subsequently spent the store credit we initially offered you) will will be unable to provide any additional refunds for this order. I am sorry that this particular order did not work out as planned, and truly hope that this message offers some clarification.
If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to call us at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX or send an email to *******@zulily.com

Best,
*** ********
Customer Service Supervisor
zulily.com

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept this resolution. On two occasions, I was assured that the money will be returned to my credit card.

On another occasion, one of the outfits I bought from zulily had coffee stains (yellow dress) on it. You could tell that it was packaged shabbily on purpose simply to disrespect the customer. Zulily claims that they do a quality check before they ship out merchandise.

On another occasion, one of my orders was cancelled after a month and a half.

Zulily has purposefully been prejudice towards me.

I ask Consumer Court to get a copy of the notes and the phone recordings so they can hear the tone and responses of their customer representatives


10/02/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Five months now and still have not received my oder. Customer refuses to refund me. Worst company I have eve dealt with.

Desired Settlement
I ordered a table and chair set and put my apartment building address to have it delivered to. I never received it to this day. Order date Tue 2/26/13 Order # XXXXXXXXX. I waited and waited. There was a sudden family tragedy and I had to leave to go abroad. I just returned and my friend who stayed in my apartment has still received nothing. I paid this company for the items. They charged my credit card for the item and has not delivered. This is unethical and unfair. It is not in keeping with policy. When I first called Zulily I was told that they would contact *** and then they would proceed to either refund or reship the items. Now they are saying that because of the time they can do nothing and fabricating excuse after excuse to avoid refunding me. I find this very dishonest for a company to do this to a customer. I have heard much horror stories about this company. But you never fully understand until it happens to you. You cannot charge a person for something you failed to deliver. It is robbery. I used referral credit and credit card to pay for the items. I am requesting that the funds from my credit card be refunded in the amount of $129.94. If you are a potential customer and reading this I warn you beware this company is unreliable and cares not for their customer. They do not deliver and they still charge you. I do not even want the referral credit back because I am certain that I will never shop here again. You cannot make a verbal agreement to refund or reship an order and then go back on your word. It is not in keeping with policy. You must honor your verbal agreement. I want the money put back on my credit card. You can keep your referral credits (which I worked very hard for by the way) But I cannot bring myself to shop here again. You are dishonest and does not care for clients. Refund me credit card the amount it was charged $129.94 United States Dollars

Business Response
Hello ******,

Thank you for taking the time to contact zulily regarding your order # XXXXXXXXX, placed 26 February 2013. I can see from our correspondence history that you first contacted us about this order on 22 July 2013. At this time you stated that your item, a Princess Table & Chairs Set, had not arrived despite the fact that the *** tracking, *****XXXXXXXXXXXXX, showed that the item had been delivered on 4 March 2013. You spoke to a supervisor who advised you that he would investigate the situation and get back to you. The next day he emailed you to inform you that we would not be processing a refund for this item. This was not the first time that there were difficulties delivering to your address. You had on separate occasions contacted us about order XXXXXXXXX from 26 August 2012 and order XXXXXXXXX from January 2013 saying that you had not received either of them, despite the fact that they were all listed as delivered by the ** ****** ******** We refunded you for both of these as a courtesy even though each had a delivery confirmation. In his email from 23 July 2013, the supervisor stated "you may remember that despite the delivery confirmation provided by the carrier we decided to process a full refund for you on February 19. According to our records we extended this courtesy to you as a one-time gesture and instructed you to choose a delivery address other than XXXXX ** **** ****** **** *** for future orders. At that time we also advised that we would not be able to process further refunds on missing parcels sent to XXXXX ** **** ****** **** ******

When I received your complaint, I was concerned and did some investigating. A quick search of your shipping address, XXXXX ** ** *** *** *** Miami, FL 33172, showed that it houses a company called ******** ** ******* ************** a freight forwarding company. Upon calling them, they not only confirmed the address, but they were kind enough to confirm that they have an employee in receiving with the last name ******** which is the same name on the proof of delivery of the item in question, Princess Table & Chairs Set.

I am sorry for the frustration that you have experienced, and I hope you can understand why we will not be able to accommodate your request for a refund at this time.

Please do not hesitate to contact our customer service department again should you have any further questions or need for assistance. We can be reached by phone at (XXX) XXX-XXXX, and are available Monday through Friday, 6 am to 8pm, and Saturday and Sunday, 6am to 6pm PDT or by email anytime at *******@zulily.com.

Kind regards,

******
Customer Service Team Lead


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
That has nothing to do with me. That is between Zulily and the unintended recepient. You must and will take responsibility for this mishap. Don't give me work by asking me to do your job. I am not an investigator. I ask that the money be refunded to my credit card. I never received the item. Furthermore by saying that ******* signed for my item is admitting that I did not receive it. That is not the name on my order. And it is I who should have signed and received the item. I am asking that you represent your company in the best way by providing me with my refund. Thank you for your prompt response.

Final Business Response
Hello ******,

The address that you are providing us and that you have listed as your address in this BBB filing is for *** ******* & ******* ******** The package was delivered to that address and signed for by last name ******** When we contacted *** ******* & ******* ******** they advised that they do have an employee by the last name of ******** My recommendation is to contact them and ask to speak with that employee to determine the whereabouts of your package.

Regards,

**** **
zulily - CS Manager

03/20/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Childrens & Infants Wear - Retail

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.