BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/1986

Nielsen Brothers Carpets

Find a Location

(206) 783-3040View Additional Phone Numbers8130 240th St SW Unit B-2, EdmondsWA 98026-9119 Send email to Nielsen Brothers Carpets

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and installation of floor coverings including carpet, hardwood, tile, stone, vinyl, laminate, and ceramics.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/1986

BBB has determined that Nielsen Brothers Carpets meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Nielsen Brothers Carpets' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Nielsen Brothers Carpets

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
08/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I recently purchase ******** Smartstrand carpeting for my home. I was never told that I would need a specific vacuum cleaner for this carpeting. My sales rep even came to the home to measure for the carpeting and went into the room where both of my vacuums are in full view. I have a Dyson vacuum cleaner. It was expensive but easy to use and I love it. I have a bad shoulder so I put alot of thought into this vacuum. Nielsen Brothers told me (after the installation) that using a Dyson voids the warranty on the carpet. Had I known this prior to the purchase I would have simply chosen another type of carpeting. I had no idea. My ***** cannister when set on the highest setting can only be used in one direction. I have to physically pick up the attachment and move it in order to vacuum. The ******** website has suggestions for vacuums but no where does it state that my Dyson wouldn't work. My ***** cannister doesn't work.*****, the manager at Nielsen Brothers, contacted the ******** rep who offered to purchase a replacement vacuum cleaner for me. He said he would bring out a Hoover UHXXXXX for me. This model got 80 1 star reviews out of 232 on their own website. I advised that I would not accept an inexpensive and poorly reviewed vacuum to replace my Dyson. I have asked for a vacuum with a comparable warranty (5 years) and comparable value (about $500). At this point in time and after leaving numerous voicemails neither ***** at Nielsen Brothers nor **** at ******** will return my phone calls.

Desired Settlement
I looked at the list of "recommended" vacuum cleaners that Nielsen Brothers emailed me. The only vacuum of similar quality and warranty is a Miele 8 series. The Miele has to have the elctro Plus Brush and it's expensive. Both of my vacuum cleaners were expensive. I would like the Miele model requested to them by email or I would like $500.00 and I will choose my own vacuum and not have to settle for the one offered by the ******** rep. If they cannot do this I want new carpet. This whole debacle could have been avoided by a knowledgeable sales person. Neglecting to give me a pertinent factor regarding this carpeting put me at a complete disadvantage and neither ******** nor Nielsen wants to make this right.

Business Response
We thank the client for her business, and have gone out of our way to provide her with unrivaled service and an exceptional product. After reading the clients complaint, as well as listening to her voice-mails, and reading all of her emails, one thing has become clear. She is not dissatisfied with the carpet we sold her or the installation of that carpet, or even the service we provided before or after the sale and installation of the carpet, her dissatisfaction is with her Dyson vacuum, a product we did not sell or recommend.

I believe that through the various emails and conversations the client has had with our sales department, she has developed a misunderstanding of the issues the Dyson vacuum creates. In her complaint, the client states that had she known that she would need a specific vacuum for this carpet and that her Dyson would void this carpets warranty she would have simply chosen a different carpet. This is an oversimplification of the Dyson issue. Dyson vacuums do not carry the Carpet and Rug Institute Seal of Approval, and are known to unravel carpet fibers, and destroy carpet backing. This is not an issue specific to the carpet the client purchased, but to the Dyson vacuum. The warranty issue is not that using a Dyson voids the carpet warranty; the issue is that there is no carpet manufacturer that warranties against the damage that Dyson vacuums cause. Consequently, changing from this carpet to another carpet will not solve the warranty issue.

The second issue that the client is having with her Dyson is that the combination of high suction, and no adjustability of the cleaning head height, makes the vacuum difficult to push through the carpet. Once again, this is not a problem with the carpet, but a design flaw of the Dyson. There are not specific vacuums that are recommended for specific types of carpet, but higher quality carpets will make the design flaws of a vacuum more obvious.

In her complaint, the client makes reference to the list of vacuums recommended by ******** ******* ************ these vacuums are not suggested for the specific carpet the client purchased, but for all carpets across their product line. All other manufacturers have similar lists, and none of the lists recommend Dyson vacuums, and although the ******** list does not outright ban the use of Dyson vacuums, some manufacturers do, and the damage that Dyson vacuums are known to cause are not covered by any manufacturer's warranty.

In an effort to please the client, we have provided several options...

1) We have offered to provide the client with a new carpet of her choice to replace her current carpet. The new carpet would be provided free of charge, but she would have to cover the installation, as there was no issue with the original carpet or installation. As stated before, this would not rectify the warranty issues created by the use of a Dyson vacuum, and unless a much lighter weight of carpet was selected, it is likely that the client would still have difficulty vacuuming with the Dyson.

2) We have offered to provide the client with a vacuum from the list of ******** recommended vacuums, specifically, the Hoover UHXXXXX, which we use in our showroom without issue. Unfortunately, in the words of the client, "The one that looked most promising is the Miele S8380 Cat and Dog model. It is $949.00...In addition to the cost of the vacuum I am once again faced with having to purchase replacement bags. 8 bags run about $37.90....having to forever purchase replacement bags is also very frustrating and I am hoping that there is some way to compensate for that expense in addition to the replacement vacuum." We believe this to be unreasonable.

The client appears to believe that our offer to provide her with a different carpet or to give her a free vacuum is an admission that we owe her a different carpet or a free vacuum. This is not the case. We provided her with a high quality carpet and professional installation, and the offers we have made to try to satisfy the client have been made in an attempt at exceptional customer service. To that end, despite the fact that we did not recommend, sell, or have anything to do with the clients purchase and use of the Dyson vacuum with which she is having issues, we would be willing to credit her back $200 toward the purchase of any vacuum of her choosing.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

05/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased $6,888 in new flooring from ******* Brothers in November 2012. It was installed in December 2012. Within six months, the planks were buckling up at the edges and ends. I contacted ******* Bros; they sent their installer (**** ****** back over to assess the problem. He indicated that the floor could not be repaired, and that a claim would be filed with the flooring manufacturer (**********) to completely replace it. Before he left, **** took photos to be used for documentation in the claim process, and indicated that **** ****** ********** from ******* Bros would be handling the claim, and would be in touch with me shortly. That was on June 21, 2013. Ten days passed.

I called **** on July 1, 2013 to check on status; he said he had no record of this claim, but would check into it and call me back. He didn't. Three weeks passed.

I called **** again on July 22, 2013. Again .. "no record" of the claim. No progress. Again, was told **** would call me back right away. He didn't. Three days passed.

I called **** again on July 25, 2013. He was on vacation. I spoke with **** who agreed to 'start' the claim form that day, on ******* behalf, since he was out. She told me **** would call me when he returned. He didn't. Two weeks passed.

I called **** on August 6, 2013 and left him a message to call me back. He returned my call on August 8, 2013 (this was the first phone call he actually returned). He indicated that a claim was in progress, and he would keep me appraised of his progress. Eight days passed.

I called **** on August 16, 2013. He indicated he had just sent ********** the photos and other documentation they had requested. (Note: he'd had those photos in his possession since June 21). Five days passed.

I called **** on August 21, 2013 to ask if they needed anything else from me. He indicated that he'd sent ********** all the information, and it would take them 10-15 days to respond. He told me that I could call ********** directly for a status update. Three weeks passed.

I called ********** on September 12, 2013. They indicated that they were denying the claim, and had left **** two unreturned messages, but were having a hard time getting him to call back. ********** agreed to hire an independent certified floor inspector, to settle the dispute.

The independent floor inspector ***** ********) inspected the floor on September 23, 2013. He concluded that the floor was failing due to improper installation. (******* Bros had not used the manufacturer's recommended adhesive.) He wrote up his findings in a report which was sent to **********.

I received a call from ********** on September 25, 2013 indicating that they had alerted **** at ******* Bros that the claim was officially denied. Based on the report from the independent inspector, the product was not deemed defective; it had just been incorrectly installed. Three days passed.

I called **** on September 25, 2013, asking what was next. At this point, he was trying to get his adhesive rep to pay for the floor replacement. **** asked me if that representative could come look at the floor, to provide his own review.

******* Bros' adhesive rep came over in October 2013. He looked at the failures and indicated that the installers had either a) not used the spray adhesive correctly; or b) there had been some sort of 'unusual' chemical reaction between the spray adhesive and the leveling compound, which caused it to not adhere properly.

After several more discussions with **** (all initiated by me), he finally agreed to replace the floor, using the manufacturer's recommended adhesive compound. The 'replacement' floor was installed at the end of January, 2014.

**** called me in early February, 2014, and left a message asking how the new floor looked. I had already noticed that the new floor was rife with bubbles and air pockets, as if it had not been professionally and properly installed. At this point, I am completely frustrated and fed up with ******* Bros - given that it's just taken seven long months to correct the errors from their first installation. I'm really not looking forward to starting over again.

I called **** back in February 17, 2014 and told him about the new problem with the new flooring. I emailed him photos. He agreed to personally come look at it.
***** and **** ***** (the installer) came over on February 19, 2014 to look at the bubbled up floor. They could not explain why it was happening. We discussed a theory I had that 'maybe' the planks were already creased, before installation. I showed them a few unused planks that showed a slight creasing, right out of the box.***** agreed to start a new claim with **********, and took one of the creased planks with him. Two weeks passed.

I called***** on March 12, 2014 and left him a message, asking for status. He called me back on March 13, 2014 and said he was fed up with **********, because they were such a pain to deal with. He asked me to email photos of the floor as soon as possible, so he could move the claim forward. (Note: I had already emailed these photos two weeks prior.).

I emailed***** more photos on March 14, 2014. In that email, I asked him to reply to confirm he had received them. (He didn't reply, but that message is in my Sent folder, so it did go through). I also wrote that I was tired of waiting on him to do something. I asked for the name of someone else at ******* Bros that I might work with, more expediently. I also stated that, given our history, I either wanted my money back, or an entirely new floor of equal value. He never responded. One month passed.

I called***** on March 14, 2014 but was told he was on another line. They took my phone number and assured me he would call me right back. He didn't.

SUMMARY
I spent a considerable amount of money on this new flooring. I purchased it from a more expensive, higher end flooring company that has a 'Lifetime Installation Warranty.' I spent this extra money to receive professional installation and customer service support. I got neither. It took seven months of squabbling to get the first floor replaced, after it was proven that the installation was to blame for the failure. Now that the second floor is defective for a different reason, which also appears to be installation related, I'm unwilling to go through the same lengthy process.

My complaint focuses primarily on***** ******'s lack of initiative and response time. Throughout our relationship, he has repeatedly claimed that he will make it right. And yet, he makes no forward progress on his own, and pays no attention to this dispute unless I initiate the conversation, and hound him to move it forward. I expect him to step up to the plate and make something happen, without me having to take the lead at every step. I want, expect, and have paid him to make this floor right, in a reasonable amount of time.

Desired Settlement
I either want a full refund of the $6,888 I spent on this flooring, or I want an entirely different but comparably priced flooring installed. I want this to happen within a reasonable timeframe. (I suggest six weeks from today, or approximately the end of May 2014).

I do not want to have to take the lead on this claim any longer. I want **** to call me regularly and keep me apprised of his progress in resolving this.

Business Response
We are working through the process of completing a second claim with *********** and will be working with ***** to find a suitable replacement product from a reputable supplier.

02/27/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New, Carpet Layers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1969Business started: 01/01/1949
Contact Information
Principal: Mr James Nielsen (President) parent pays dues Eric Lauer (Office Manager)Mr Grant Sjostrom Mr Grant Sjostrom (Controller)
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New, Carpet Layers

Alternate Business Names
Nielson Brothers Flooring

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Nielsen Brothers Carpets

8130 240th St SW Unit B-2

Edmonds, WA 98026-9119

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Nielsen Brothers Carpets is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (206) 783-5454
  • (253) 939-0422
  • (425) 776-9191
  • (425) 746-1962

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (425) 967-5697
  • (425) 746-4213
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

Industry Tips for Carpet & Rug Dealers - New

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.